Voorhees, NJ 
Stafford Woods Share
Uploaded By: MichaelWebster Hole #2 (Taken 5/2014)
4 / 355ft.   4 / 509ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee Sign



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 50
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
Top ten course

5+    7/5/2017   7/6/2017
Review By: Obiwankaneobi
Played: 152  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 26.2 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Wide variety of very well thought out holes. Many holes that would be the signature hole on most courses. Meticulously maintained with phenomenal tees, benches and signage. Most holes have alternate tee and or pin placements. Always being upgraded and improved as the volunteers are never satisfied, and it their efforts truely show. Simply a joy and challenge to play regaurdless of your skill level. The type of course that makes you look forward to returning too as soon as you finish your round.
Cons: There are not many. A few of the holes have tees that have yet to be upgraded to the highest caliber. Although there are porta potties a permenant restroom facilities with running water would be great. Although during tournaments there is a top notch pro shop available the course does not have a permanent manned pro shop/club house. The region is known for ticks and mosquitoes so bring your bug repellent.
Other Thoughts: the professional and tasteful man made improvements enhance and preserve the natural elements of the challenging greens.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great Time

1    5/10/2017   5/11/2017
Review By: Sliceanddice
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This place is a real gem! Nice flow to the holes. I played mostly from the short pads because it was my first time playing there and wanted to get a feel for the place. Very much enjoyed my experience and look forward to coming back.
-Has a good mix of open and wooded holes.
-Members there have obviously put their work into this course as it was in great shape.
-Beautiful and peaceful setting which is a fairly congested area
-Very good signage for the most part
-Good test for the experienced golfer and fair for those new to the game
-Not too many chances to lose a disc
Cons: -Sometimes it was difficult to see the baskets and what position they were in
-Would like to see an indicator on the tee signs detailing current positions.
-Exiting the parking lot was a little sketchy onto a busy road.
Other Thoughts: A beautiful and fun course!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Pure Joy

5+    4/6/2017   4/6/2017
Review By: kindableu
Played: 52  Reviewed: 10
This review was updated on 4/9/2017
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -it's a beautiful course. very pretty lined fairways, the understory bushes(laurels?) in the woods bloom in late spring. It's like an east coast version of Golden Gate Park.
-for a long, challenging course it is also very much a fun course to play
-great signage and navigation, easy for first timers to figure out where to go and how to throw
-paver teepads are in great shape
-Decent variety of hole types (2 water carries, 5 out in the open, 11 in the woods) and elevation on about a third of the holes
Cons: -the wooded holes can kind of blend in with each other, less because of the hole designs and ,ore just because the woods has such a consistent look from hole to hole so visually they all kind of look the same.
-while they have redone the parking lot entrance to widen it, the mulched parking lot itself still isn't great
-Baskets are hard to see. For wooded courses I really prefer powder coated baskets for better visibility

These are minor cons though. You generally don't leave a round at Stafford and have a lot of complaints.
Other Thoughts: Highlights:
Hole 4 - Nice flex shot through a meadow with the fairway back in the woods
Hole 11 - Really nice par 5 on a winding fairway
Hole 14 - Hit the gap to get out of the woods and then a crush across a field to a sunken green with the pin nestled in a little terrace on the side of a steep slope. Perfection!
Hole 16 - This hole reminds of the children's story Ferdinand the Bull. With a hanging basket below a very impressive tree. It's a crush too at 545 ft slightly up hill.

Stafford is a great course and it's fun to play. It's worth a stop for anyone passing by and is a must visit for anyone within 1.5 hour drive.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

South Jersey's Best

5+    2/10/2017   2/14/2017
Review By: Greybeard
Played: 21  Reviewed: 3
This review was updated on 2/27/2017
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is a great test of skill. You will know what parts of your game need work when you leave here. If your accuracy is off, you will know it. If you don't putt well, you will know it. If your driver game is lacking...well, you get the idea. There are short technical holes, long bomb holes, lefty holes, righty holes, wooded holes, open holes...it's all here. However, what I've found to be the greatest asset of the course is the core group of locals and club members. They are always there, always working on upgrades, and always friendly. The course is loved. And the crew loves to show everyone how great thier course is. You can always find a friendly local to play with if you want. If you want pointers, there are many qualified players you can get in touch with, who'd be glad to play a round with you. A truly great community of wonderful people.
Cons: There are still to many random trees in the middle of the fairways. Hole 11 and 17, to be precise. They are already very narrow fairways. The removal of one or two strategic trees would define your shot line instead of hoping you can make your disc turn three or four times in one throw. On both of these holes it is the second shot I'm referring to, the tee shots are narrow and difficult but fair. The second shot....not so much. The parking lot is terrible. When the rain softens the ground, big mud holes open up. The county and the locals know it, and are working on it, but it's still bad. The lot is better, but still bad.
The lot has been upgraded! The main run in has gotten a coating of rock. Much better now.
Other Thoughts: I credit this course for the recent improvements in my game. I'm no pro, but the time I've spent on this course has definitely taught me well. Sometimes the feedback a course gives you isn't what you want to hear...(usually after it kicks your a$$) But sometimes that's what gets you motivated to work on your weaknesses. That is what Stafford has done for me, and I'm glad it did.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

A must play course

2-4    5/8/2016   5/9/2016
Review By: pwolfinger
Played: 43  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 3.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 5/8/16 was my first time playing, but definitely won't be my last. I finished the first round and immediately played a second 18. This course is definitely in my favorites, and has the potential to get even better. For a relatively new course, this 18 plays like a seasoned course; its obvious the club puts a lot of work into maintaining and improving..

When you first arrive, you'll notice a parking area off the street with portable bathroom and baskets. There are multiple practice baskets recessed in the woods on your way to hole 1! While I was there, locals from the club were selling new and used discs, which was great (btw they have a lot of new Trilogy plastic and a nice mix of used discs if that's what you're in to).

The next thing I noticed was how beautiful the wooded area is the course is in. There are multiple rustic hiking trails throughout the course that allow players to navigate the course. The course setting was enough to make it enjoyable.

most holes have multiple tee's and multiple baskets. Signage is good. You will still find challenge playing from the shorts if you don't have much time/daylight, but the longs make the holes even better; either adding length, changing approach angle to fairway, or increased technical shots with more trees.

The layout seemed to favor a RHBH player, but I found myself throwing some forehand shots. There is a nice mix of open and heavily wooded. There is also a nice mix of shorter holes 200'-350' vs 350'-500' when playing the short layout. There are a couple holes (e.g., 11, 15, 16) that you'll need to bomb.
Cons: I recommend printing a map or playing with a local your first round. Even with the signage and "next tee" arrows, it is easy to second guess whether you are headed the right way or not.

Only major layout Con is that hole 18 finishes with a minor walk back to the lot. But the woods are so peaceful I didn't even care!

Not that its a big deal, but the "par" doesn't change when you are playing the short vs long tee position (at least from a signage perspective). I realize if its league or tournament, par doesn't much matter anyway. But there were some par 4's that would likely be a par 3 from the short tee.

I could see leaves in the fall being a problem with discs. Also, the entrance to the park sneaks up on you from the road. There is a small sign, but for a first-timer I almost missed it. The mulched parking lot was also very sogged/muddy lots of rain. Sounded like the locals were hoping for a stone lot in the future.
Other Thoughts: I absolutely loved playing this course. If you are even remotely close to it, I recommend making the trip. The South Jersey DG folks were nice and have a facebook page that will give you some additional information.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Very good

5+    3/6/2016   3/6/2016
Review By: Gavin0
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: The new holes are very good. The old holes are fun too. There are a variety of holes. Not very hard to find discs because the trees are well spaced and there isn't much underbrush
Cons: If you get your disc in the pond, it is impossible to find unless it floats and even if, it is hard to get out.
Other Thoughts: Very challenging because of the high amount of trees.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 great hidden gem

5+    7/4/2015   7/6/2015
Review By: specsman
Played: 7  Reviewed: 4
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I thought it was a great course when I started and it was 9 nice holes; but the back 9 really turned out great and added some shots with changes in elevation. Now it has everything I could want.
Cons: Minor nitpick: the parking lot entrance could be widened and the parking lot gets rutted when muddy.
Other Thoughts: I'm just a recreational "beginner" that gets out about once a month; but I consider myself very lucky to have Stafford woods be really close by/home course.

I've been bringing my son here since he was 2 and its a great spot where he can play in the "woods" and not get lost or hurt -- I throw my disc and he runs em down, finds them. Sometimes when he was younger we would come here just to walk the course for fun (and pick up any trash we might find). He follows and points out the "clues" (arrows and maps). This course is so well marked up and laid out that even a 4yr old couldn't fail to find every tee and basket. Now he's old enough to start throwing the disc a bit and I hope to get out here even more.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome!

1    6/22/2014   6/26/2014
Review By: EWSdiscgolf
Played: 78  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 3.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: You need a variety of shots to get through this course. I need to do overhead, rollers, forehand, and backhand. There was also a good balance of par 3's and par 4's, and a monster par 5 was also there! There were great baskets, new ones and the signage was great! The tee pads also had carpets on them on some holes for better footing, too. There were a lot of benches for resting after a long hole, and that was also a plus. There was good elevation, some were uphill, some downhill, and some straight. I LOVED hole 16, it was a 500 foot bomb and there was a hanging basket. It was a bit of a challenge because if you had a bad shot to the left, you could say bye to your disc (at least look for it first). There was a high rough on many holes to the left and right, but I thought it was good to have a little bit of a challenge. There were two water holes that weren't that hard, so I thought they were really fun because you had to go over water.
Cons: There were a lot of people, but I don't blame them because Stafford is a course that is so nice. Other that, no cons. This course was the bomb!
Other Thoughts: There are tournaments here so hopefully I can come to one, because this course was supreme!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 One of the best in New Jersey

2-4    6/22/2014   6/23/2014
Review By: LaserShow
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course offeres almost everything you could want in a DG course. A few strategically placed walls would make it incredibly difficult but so much fun. It uses the little elevation available well but could use more. With that said, very well done.
Cons: The course does have some danger spots with barbed wire so be careful. The parking lot needs to be improved. Also, for a newcomer, it could be a little challenging to navigate. I look forward to bigger tournaments here.
Other Thoughts: South Jersey Disc Golf is doing an amazing job of growing the sport. New courses are popping up and existing ones are expanding. Keep an eye out for future pros out of New Jersey!

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Heavily wooded yet open ?

1    6/17/2014   6/17/2014
Review By: nwinnie34
Played: 11  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 3.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: First time playing this course. Easy to miss, keep an eye out for the Stafford Woods Disc Golf sign !

Great course, very very wooded, yet open enough to drive a car around each hole, great mix of hyzer and anhyzer shots needed to play well. Two pretty cool water hazards that give some risk/reward points, I almost holed the 2nd water hole !

Plenty of longer holes to open up on, yet plenty of technical holes that challenge every part of the game.

Well kept, awesome signage, never once got lost, woods are very bare so tossing a disc off the beaten path turned out being very easy to find throughout all 18 holes

I can't wait to go back again with friends, two tee box options per hole. A+
2 practice baskets, port-o-potty near practice tees
Cons: Not many, no course map posted (nice to take a photo of before playing), parking was very limited, i had to make my own spot vs driving thru a huge mud patch
Other Thoughts: Great course, would love to come back soon.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.