Voorhees, NJ 
Stafford Woods Share
Uploaded By: hawk12 Hole #1 (Taken 3/2017)
3 / 251ft.   3 / 251ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 55
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6
Favorite course around

5+    12/25/2017   1/9/2018
Review By: Frodz
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Where do I start. It's all around one of the best layouts and design it's got holes that are all wooded and then they have two holes over the lake and then they even have open field holes and some holes that are woods and open field together. And it's got hills on some holes to for the ups and downs. This course just has it all. By far my favorite spot to play.
Cons: Can't think of anything besides that there are just a couple of the short tees pads that aren't all the way complete yet but are being worked on and will be set in here in the near future. They are all in just redoing and making them better to just certify that
Other Thoughts: And all the locals here are really nice and are also helpful. And even at times the guy that designed the course will even come out and shoot rounds with us. It's always a blast.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great course

2-4    9/9/2017   10/28/2017
Review By: DiscGolfingSteve
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 0.6 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Clean course
Well maintained
Well marked
Variety of shots types and hole
Has port-o-potty
Offer days where they sell discs, and have lost and found
Cons: Can be crowded
Muddy parking lot, not that bad though
People brake branches often here to "fit" their needs

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Tough

1    10/19/2017   10/19/2017
Review By: Jmk5704
Played: 48  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 3.2 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This course has a good variety of shots and will challenge you in many areas. It had nice tee pads, the baskets were in good condition, and tee signs that were big and easy to see from afar off. There were good path markers and the areas around the baskets and the tees were built up to make a level surface. The course was clean.
Cons: The baskets were really difficult to see especially in the thick woods. The tee signs were incorrect on a couple holes. Hole 18 did not end anywhere near the parking lot and did not have markers to point us back to the parking lot.
Other Thoughts: Too many tunnel shots.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Date: 10/24/2017 Designer Response by: hawk12
thank you very much for your review. I do feel this is fairly accurate for the current conditions.

As we have made a few changes, some of the signs are not 100% accurate, and when the remaining changes, additional anchors, short tees, etc are complete we will update all the signage. Thank you for the point about the sign pointing to the parking area, the temp sign pointing to the parking area has gone missing and I'll add that to the list for future signage updating.

I expect quite a few of 'finishing touches' in the next 1-2 years....

Another professional feel

1    6/24/2017   9/22/2017
Review By: Redzo
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 2.3 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Amazing course. Very clearly marked and well maintained teeboxes, greens, and fairways. Very wooded, but sensible clearings. Awesome and extremely fun layout. Hidden deep in nature gives it an awesome feeling as well.
Cons: Wooded.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

one of the best courses in NJ

1    8/7/2017   8/7/2017
Review By: globetrotter
Played: 103  Reviewed: 93  Exp: 5.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - good variety
- multiple par 4 and par 5 holes
- multiple tees and baskets
Cons: - a couple of long walks between holes
- the back nine relies a little too heavily on tunnel shots and tight gaps
Other Thoughts: Stafford Woods has a mix of wooded and open holes (probably about 2/3 wooded). It is well maintained, with fair lines and minimal undergrowth. There is some tall grass on some of the open holes, but the fairways are wide enough that it isn't a big issue. There is a small pond on the front nine which is utilized in two of the holes.

I loved the front nine. It is a great mix of tighter wooded holes, long open holes, and holes that are in between. There are reachable par 3's as well as a number of multiple shot holes.

The back nine also has a couple of long open holes, but otherwise feels a lot more repetitive -- a lot of minor variations on "throw it straight through this gap and then...".

Overall, it is a solid course. I plan on going back when I get the chance, and I would definitely recommend playing it if you are in the area.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Jersey's Finest

1    7/9/2017   7/10/2017
Review By: jjtwinnova
Played: 48  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 2.6 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: As someone who travels a lot, and plays a lot of new courses, designing a road trip around the Philadelphia area is tough. So many great courses, so little time. I had not played in the state of New Jersey before, so adding a new state, as well as a stellar course was a must. Stafford Woods was just right.

Although I may not be a pro, or even an advanced player, I played the Gold tees. I would recommend that to anyone who knows anything about disc golf, because it is definitely a better round from the Longs than the Shorts.

The course itself was in pristine condition. Rough was well kept, the fairways were clear of debris, and all the paths were marked. In fact, I would've guaranteed one of my discs would have gotten lost, but the grass was short enough to find my disc with ease.

The paver tee pads were in very nice condition, and gripped very well. I was able to air out on drives without fear of slipping, and they were also very professional looking, as the brick was very well placed.

The tee signs were very descriptive, with a very nice map, the distances, and the par. All in full color. The baskets were Chainstars in great condition, and they caught well. Nothing outstanding, but absolutely a fine basket.

The holes themselves were very well designed. Left turns, right turns, both on the same hole. Uphill, and downhill. And even open holes, along with the killer wooded holes.

There were quite a few features that I would like to point out, as I believe the designer did a fantastic job, as well as the people who maintain the course.
-The stone terraced greens, as well as the brick tees, and wood work were extremely well crafted. Top notch work, that looks like it will stay in place for a long time.
- The one hanging basket was well hung, and added unique challenge to that specific hole.
- The two water carries were easy enough that you could cross without massive power, but also had a possibility of a tree kick to splash. Very nice holes.

Navigation was a breeze. There were lots of next tee signs, and if there wasn't, the next tee was self explanatory.
Cons: As much as I loved playing the course, I have to point out a few things.

The white tees were still a work in progress. The holes that did have two tees were done nicely, and I am sure that two tees will be completed shortly.

Although the course had some very challenging holes for me, I felt that the golds would not provide the challenge to a pro. The course was challenging, and fair, but not overly challenging. This can be both a con and a pro, especially for a park course.

On the flip side, since there is currently only one always permanent tee, at a course with easy access to chuckers, the golds were a bit of a challenge. I saw some people who probably didn't know any better throwing 50 foot hyzers off the gold tee of a par 5.

The walk back to the parking lot was longer than most courses. There was a sign guiding you out, but after an 18 hole round in 90 degree weather, the cooler full of water in your car was screaming for attention.

The parking lot itself was not paved, or gravel. It was like a mulch, dirt, and leaf carpet. Just know that this is the actual parking lot. I was lucky kit was not a rainy day, but I have a feeling it could get bad after a good rain.

There was no significant wow factor. I didn't throw a 500 foot drive off a mountain. Stafford is just really, really, REALLY, solid golf. Nothing fancy, but definitely an easy 4 star course.
Other Thoughts: I teetered between a 4 and a 4.5, but settled with a strong 4. I absolutely feel that a strong 4 will show that this course is definitely worth a play.

I would like to say how different every course feels. You have your destination course, and the solid courses, and the dinker courses, with lots in between. This is between a destination and solid. It felt a lot like a home course that you could play every day and not get bored, I think that courses like that are very important. I don't think you can play an 11,000 foot course every day. It is not worth it, and it takes a toll on you. Save those for special occasions. Have this for those every day plays, but also add it to your destination trip. That is what I did, And I loved every second of it,

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Top ten course

5+    7/5/2017   7/6/2017
Review By: Obiwankaneobi
Played: 152  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 26.7 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Wide variety of very well thought out holes. Many holes that would be the signature hole on most courses. Meticulously maintained with phenomenal tees, benches and signage. Most holes have alternate tee and or pin placements. Always being upgraded and improved as the volunteers are never satisfied, and it their efforts truely show. Simply a joy and challenge to play regaurdless of your skill level. The type of course that makes you look forward to returning too as soon as you finish your round.
Cons: There are not many. A few of the holes have tees that have yet to be upgraded to the highest caliber. Although there are porta potties a permenant restroom facilities with running water would be great. Although during tournaments there is a top notch pro shop available the course does not have a permanent manned pro shop/club house. The region is known for ticks and mosquitoes so bring your bug repellent.
Other Thoughts: the professional and tasteful man made improvements enhance and preserve the natural elements of the challenging greens.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Great course

2-4    6/1/2017   6/1/2017
Review By: Dino
Played: 25  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7.5 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nicely maintained course, tees marked well, signage for the next hole marked at every basket. Course is easily navigated first time out.
Couple of holes shoot over water (rake provided at the bunker for disc retrieval)
Decent elevation and a good mix of long and short holes.
Cons: Parking lot is the only con I have.
Lots of wet mulch in the center, small cars beware.
Other Thoughts: Plenty of seating while waiting to tee off at almost every hole, Although it hasn't been crowded anytime I've played, I've only had to wait a couple of times
The course is mostly wooded with several open shots. Accuracy is key here.
We will definitely make this part of our regular rotation
Easy to get to, just a couple of miles of 295.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great Time

1    5/10/2017   5/11/2017
Review By: Sliceanddice
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This place is a real gem! Nice flow to the holes. I played mostly from the short pads because it was my first time playing there and wanted to get a feel for the place. Very much enjoyed my experience and look forward to coming back.
-Has a good mix of open and wooded holes.
-Members there have obviously put their work into this course as it was in great shape.
-Beautiful and peaceful setting which is a fairly congested area
-Very good signage for the most part
-Good test for the experienced golfer and fair for those new to the game
-Not too many chances to lose a disc
Cons: -Sometimes it was difficult to see the baskets and what position they were in
-Would like to see an indicator on the tee signs detailing current positions.
-Exiting the parking lot was a little sketchy onto a busy road.
Other Thoughts: A beautiful and fun course!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Pure Joy

5+    4/6/2017   4/6/2017
Review By: kindableu
Played: 55  Reviewed: 12
This review was updated on 4/9/2017
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -it's a beautiful course. very pretty lined fairways, the understory bushes(laurels?) in the woods bloom in late spring. It's like an east coast version of Golden Gate Park.
-for a long, challenging course it is also very much a fun course to play
-great signage and navigation, easy for first timers to figure out where to go and how to throw
-paver teepads are in great shape
-Decent variety of hole types (2 water carries, 5 out in the open, 11 in the woods) and elevation on about a third of the holes
Cons: -the wooded holes can kind of blend in with each other, less because of the hole designs and ,ore just because the woods has such a consistent look from hole to hole so visually they all kind of look the same.
-while they have redone the parking lot entrance to widen it, the mulched parking lot itself still isn't great
-Baskets are hard to see. For wooded courses I really prefer powder coated baskets for better visibility

These are minor cons though. You generally don't leave a round at Stafford and have a lot of complaints.
Other Thoughts: Highlights:
Hole 4 - Nice flex shot through a meadow with the fairway back in the woods
Hole 11 - Really nice par 5 on a winding fairway
Hole 14 - Hit the gap to get out of the woods and then a crush across a field to a sunken green with the pin nestled in a little terrace on the side of a steep slope. Perfection!
Hole 16 - This hole reminds of the children's story Ferdinand the Bull. With a hanging basket below a very impressive tree. It's a crush too at 545 ft slightly up hill.

Stafford is a great course and it's fun to play. It's worth a stop for anyone passing by and is a must visit for anyone within 1.5 hour drive.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.