Biloxi, MS 
Hiller Park Share
Uploaded By: Cgkortz Hole #9 (Taken 2/2013)
3 / 279ft.   3 / 333ft.   3 / 208ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Red Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 21
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Nobody Calls Me Chcken

1    7/14/2017   7/18/2017
Review By: Mr. Butlertron
Played: 123  Reviewed: 90  Exp: 14.4 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:

- concrete tees
- informative tee signs, listed distances, numbered
- challenging layout
- some slight variations in elevation
- covered a variety of shot angles
- mostly open, but had some technical throws in the mix
- some holes near water hazards, easy to avoid for the most part
- well maintained park
- scenic environment
- course ends where it starts
- information kiosk and covered gazebo at the beginning of the course
- beach nearby
- appeals to every skill level
Cons:

- water ob on the first hole, not my cup of tea
- goose and duck shit on a select few fairways
- course soggy in places
- the last few holes aren't quite intuitive, directional signs would help
- some holes located near the park roads
- located in a multi use park
- pedestrians park walkers
- fairway and basket overlap in areas
- backtracking issues
- death putt practice basket next to the water
- dangerous wildlife could be present
Other Thoughts:

Hiller Park is very good park style course. The fairways have a little bit of everything to attract players of all skill levels. I defiantly used my whole bag as I jumped around between blues and reds. Beginners will appreciate the general parablility of most fairways. Advanced players will likely be drawn to the overall length from the long tees. Bigger arms have a chance to show off their prowess from the blue tees, but they weren't obnoxiously long. Both types of players will enjoy the technical holes, as well. I thought the woodsy lines were fair, yet challenging. Honestly, I don't remember much about the white tees, they weren't really on my radar. White tees were much less noticeable than the blue and red pads. I think a majority of them (white) were natural, but I could be wrong.

They did a fine job fitting the course within the available land at Hiller Park, however, I noticed some overlap between fairways. Backtracking was bit of an issue too. The course designers also made good use of the slight variations in elevation and the water ob areas. I don't necessarily like starting a course with a tough water hazard, but laying up for par was manageable. Clearly, a lot of effort has gone into maintaining the course. It shows

I came here early in the morning on a weekday and had the whole course to myself. To my delight, I saw all sorts of wildlife early in my round. Unfortunately, this included an overly aggressive rooster whom I had the displeasure of meeting at the tee for hole 10. Why did the chicken cross the road? To attack Mr.Butlertron, of course! That damn bird followed me for two holes before giving up when I crossed the creek to hole 12. Apparently, he was not willing cross the creek. This brings me to my next point, beware of snakes and alligators at Hiller Park. I didn't see any, but that doesn't mean they're not present. Don't mess around near water that has alligator signage, not even if a rooster chases you.

Visiting Hiller park is a no brainer if you're in the area. It's clean, the park is quite scenic, and the course appeals to many skill levels. For more information regarding league play and tournaments feel free to check out the Hiller Park Disc Golf Facebook page.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Fun Park style golf with a mix of shots

1    3/18/2017   3/28/2017
Review By: Chained Evil
Played: 409  Reviewed: 193  Exp: 7.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Multiple tees with adequate signage and ample tee pads.
Hole 1 was a great way to start the course off with a nice little island hole that had just the right amount of pucker factor.
Good mix of short, moderate, and longer holes as well. Good mix of technical holes and open holes as well. Both dog leg left and right holes are accounted for as well.
There are other amenities in the park as well like basketball courts, playgrounds, dog park, etc.
Some holes had protected baskets upon approach.
There are different pin placements on several holes as well. There were a few holes that had low ceilings to them.
Bridges in the correct spots to assist you in crossing the low lying areas.
Course flows logically for the most part.
There is a good mix of water threat holes here that will challenge you just enough to keep you on your toes.
Few trashcans throughout the course.
The locals are friendly.
Cons: Some backtracking between holes and long walk between other holes slow the flow of the round down a bit here. Places like walking down 4's fairway to get to 5's tee, The walk from 16's basket to 17's tee and also 17's tee to 18's tee are a bit long.
Didn't see any signage for hole 6.
Hole 8 can get a bit spongy in the fairway depending on how much rain the area has received.
10's tee pad seemed a tad shorter than the rest of the tee pads here. This may or may not affect your run up.
Some of the holes play next to a creek/pond area in which there could be other park goers using the area that might come into play. Please be aware before you throw in these areas.
Could use some benches for those that would need to sit down during their round.
Other Thoughts: Overall this is a very solid course that will make you use a variety of shots. There is a nice mix of open and technical holes here as well which coupled with the water factor all make for a fun round of disc golf. This is a great park style course that uses the land and its features to the best of its abilities. I really enjoyed my round here and would play this course again if I were back in the area. This course seems like a great place to play a tournament and I could easily see this course be able to play host to a nice event.
If you are in the area I would recommend you to hit this one up. I'm sure you will find something here to peak your interest and make you play good golf. Plus the beach is just down the road from this course so how could you go wrong.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Long and challenging

1    3/4/2015   3/7/2015
Review By: KINGDUCK
Played: 34  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 8.6 Years
5 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Long and challenging. You can really let your discs fly and have different options upon which way you want to go to the basket. Three different tees for all levels of players. Nice scenery and wild life to enjoy.
Cons: Bathroom not very nice with no TP. What the heck is the practice basket doing between hole 16 and 17. Need to dig it up and put it where it belongs...there is plenty of room before hole 1. No bridges to walk across the water...have to walk out of the way to get to where you need to go. Hard to find hole five....walked from 4 to 6 and was lost.
Other Thoughts: First hole made it challenging right away. 10 was another big challenge for if you went right you might as well have kissed that disc bye bye into the water. Some holes should be more than a par 3. Nice to have the extra holes for practice. I enjoyed the course. Shot a 61 the first time with heavy winds and on a rainy day.

5 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Very cool coastal course

1    11/12/2014   11/12/2014
Review By: Moose33
Played: 57  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 5.6 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Hiller park is a large multi use park that neighbors a large block of military housing. There are baseball fields, basketball courts, tennis courts, walking paths and a very nice disc golf course.

The start of the course is a bit challenging as its at the back end of the park, but there is a large gazebo by hole number one and a huge map with a slot at the bottom with scorecard/map combos. These are very helpful and well printed.

This course is all about using what they have to make every hole as interesting as possible, and one of the main features is the lagoon that you play over and around on many holes. It's a beautiful saltwater expanse with diverse wildlife and an added challenge.

It hits you in the face on number one, a short tee shot going over some shallow water with the basket up a hill.

Again on three, ten and eleven you throw over some water and it makes for an interesting mental game.

There are three sets of tees for most of the layout, a few markings are shared, but only the red(medium) layout has concrete teepads, the other blue(long) and white(short) are natural, but certainly adequately marked.

Each marker is a small mile marker type sign near the ground with the distances marked on them,

Baskets are nice and well balanced and it looked as if there were pockets for a couple of pin placements on many holes.

One thing I loved was the risk/reward on so many holes. One hole, 6 I think plays around a long U curve, but you can also bomb a tomahawk over the trees and hit close, whih is what I opted to do to great effect.

The use of tree cover and strategically places copes and Mandos were nice as well.

I had a great time overall really pretty park, tons of wildlife near the lagoon(coots, herons, geese, turtles) and very diverse holes.

The short ones(and some are under 200) are largely technical, but there are some great challenging longer holes as well, several over 400 whoch I enjoyed. Especially as they didn't sacrifice the most interesting golf lines for the sale of a long hole.

Cool thing I hadn't seen before, all te baskets had a small pvc pipe with the direction of the next hold on it, interesting and helpful.
Cons: Some parts of the park were not in great repair, including the restrooms(no closeable stall door and no TP).

You may have trouble navigating without the map.

Tee signs are functional but not the best available.

Weirdest thing to me; the practice basket is in between 16 and 17. Why there? What's the point? Especially when there is a very nice area to put one just to the right of the pavilion at the parking lot.

Leads me to thing the holes may have recently been renumbered or the layout altered I. The recent past.

Not much in the way of elevation changes, but it's southern MS, so that's not much of a con.

Other Thoughts: I had a great time at Hiller park the natural beauty of the area paired with the well thought out layout made for a great time. I would play there often if I lived close, I would play often, and in fact met a guy who drove from mobile for a round at Hiller.

If your in the area, come play this park, you won't regret it.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Very Soggy

1    2/27/2013   3/1/2013
Review By: Cgkortz
Played: 255  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.6 Years
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: The variability of play was great. The park was clean and well kept. Baskets all in good order. Friendly people
Cons: Park was very soggy every time I picked up my disc it was covered in mud, not sure it had rained I flew in the day before and it did not rain while I was in MS.
Other Thoughts: For my first out of my area disc golf experience it was great.

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Solid course in Biloxi

1    2/13/2013   2/13/2013
Review By: jfurr
Played: 13  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 17.6 Years
This review was updated on 3/24/2013
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Mississippi Gulf Coast needs more disc golf courses and this one is a solid addition. The designers have put effort and thought into the layout of the holes, and have made the most of the available terrain. The park is mostly flat with some lightly wooded borders, and is also bordered by the Back Bay of Biloxi. Several holes play around a lake in the park. Quite a few holes on this course have water in play, so it's not a bad idea to bring at least one disc where you won't be upset if you lose it. The tees are well-marked, and long and short tees are available on each hole. It is also relatively easy to navigate, even without a map (although one would be helpful). This is a relatively new course, so I have hopes that over time improvements will be made. The fundamentals of the course are solid, though, which makes this a very enjoyable day at the park.
Cons: Natural tees, which seemed to be fairly well maintained, although a couple were muddy. No course map, and no indication on the tee markers as to how long the hole is or what the par is.
Other Thoughts: A challenging course with a nice variety of hole lengths and obstacles. Definitely one of the better courses in the area, and it has the potential to be the best with some minor improvements.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.