Conroe, TX 
Little Egypt DGC Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ Hole #6 (Taken 8/2012)
3 / 240ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 10
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
Tech Support

1    6/9/2017   6/9/2017
Review By: sisyphus
Played: 300  Reviewed: 283  Exp: 6.1 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Boasting 18 wooded lane holes in a separate part of a nice family park just north of Conroe, Little Egypt will pose a technical control challenge for even Intermediate to Advanced layers, and will really improve your skills at hitting a release point and managing a course. With fantastic, large, level, trapezoidal concrete tees and still-new DGA baskets, the infrastructure is really top notch. There are plenty of trash barrels and benches to go with a good course map and excellent tee signage. Logical flow with minimal walks from basket to tee mean you probably won't miss the fact that the course lacks 'next tee' signs.

The tall pine trees and sandy soil here appear to drain pretty well, and minimize undergrowth, so even when you do get off the tight fairways (you will), it's pretty tough to lose a disc. There are two shorter holes (8 & 10) with the ravine just behind the green. 8's won't be a problem, but 10 gets really steep. They use the gradual slope well on the first half dozen holes and the finishing 18th, and the rest of the course has minimal slope. It would be a cart-friendly course, but you might not need a huge selection of discs: control mids and maybe fairway drivers will help keep it down the middle.

The shadedness of the course will definitely be a plus when the weather gets warm. Compliments to the course installers for clearing the trees they have, and for creating a relatively challenging track, without trying to make it too long. In all, "Little Egypt" (in John Burge Park") will only be easily mastered by higher rated players with pinpoint control in the 300 foot range. Folks who throw shorter, but can control their tee shots to stay in the fairway, may add a stroke on most holes, but still enjoy the challenge.
Cons: The lack of next tee signage may become an issue after holes 12 and 17, where the paths cross, but if you just remember you'll be crossing the bridge after each, you'll be good to go. The biggest issue with the course is that after the first five holes, you feel a little like it's starting to get repetitive. Have patience: there are a couple of deuce chances and left to right shots through the middle of the course. Note that (right now) holes 6 and 7 are unplayable due to some construction over there, so (even though you could play hole 5, you might just decide to walk straight past the 4th basket to play from the 7th fairway on, and keep the flow going. Finally, bigger arms will lament the lack of any 'grip and rip' holes.
Other Thoughts: I added the following to the course directions: One mile on the right (past Shadow Lakes) is the entrance to John Burge Park. Immediately turn right on the gravel drive to the turnaround in the woods, 1st tee is on the left.

Reviewer Background as of this writing: played 293 courses and written 277 reviews, with skills hovering around a 900 rating, with folks ranging from age 7 to 87, so I try to write reviews helpful to all.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

nice woods!

1    12/21/2016   12/29/2016
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 300  Reviewed: 237  Exp: 10.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -excellent concrete tees and excellent tee signs
-great Mach V baskets in good condition
-entirely wooded course, 18 holes in thick trees but fair tunnels
-good variety of righty and lefty shots and minor elevation
-requires accurate shots to score well
-easy navigation
-fairways cleared of brush and the rough is not too bad
Cons: -the holes get repetitive right away
-the holes are mostly in the same distance range (15 holes from 230'-350')
Other Thoughts: This course does one thing really well. It is a great wooded finesse course with excellent amenities. The tees, baskets, and signs are top notch and the course is easy to navigate but the holes are repetitive. The fairways are well defined tunnels on basically every hole. Most have varying numbers of trees to avoid in the middle of the fairway and hole 4 has a cool split fairway.

As others have said, the middle portion of the course is the most interesting. It has the most variation in fairway shape and distances and there are a few small ravines. I also liked hole 18 as a finishing hole: a right turning uphill drive to a flat wooded area with scattered mature trees.

It's hard to find much to say about the course. There are not really any memorable holes since they are all a bit of a blur. It is definitely well done and a great place to practice accurate driving. It's also a good complement to the other courses in the area. If I lived nearby I would play here a lot but I prefer this kind of golf, even if this one is a bit vanilla.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Been a while

1    2/22/2015   2/22/2015
Review By: DeadEye
Played: 43  Reviewed: 11
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Very wooded and tight course, good teeboxes, challenging course I would love to play often. I played it on a roadtrip with a couple other courses about 8-9 months ago so I can't remember much, I do know that it was far more challenging than McDade.
Cons: The fairways are fair, but the rough is a little too rough. I recently designed a course in east texas that's pretty similar to this in the narrow fairways aspect, but the rough is a little redic.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/22/2013   5/22/2013
Review By: c_a_miller
Played: 209  Reviewed: 146  Exp: 5.5 Years
14 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: When coming out to Little Egypt my expectations were low. But I left having a fun time at a tight course in a scenic forest near Lake Conroe.

First of all the tee pads are monsters. Easily the biggest pads in the greater-Houston area. The signs of each hole were pristine and were very informative and they jumped out at you.

One problem that comes with heavy wooded courses is navigation. There are usually turn arounds or holes that do not connect to each other. This course was super easy to follow and the next tee pad could usually be seen from the previous hole. With the big bright course map at the beginning, the course was that much easier to follow.

The course itself is a different feel then most Houston courses. 100% of the holes need a controlled drive to make sure you can get through the narrow fairways. The basket placements are challenging but fair.

Even after a rain this course does not seem to hold water and can be played all the time. There was elevation change on a few holes which probably drains the water into the ditches that go through the course.

The course is still new and it is quite empty it seems throughout the day.
Cons: They say it is better to be lucky than good. And unless you are a 1000+ rater player you may need a few lucky shots to get through VERY small gaps in the fairways. I thought a few holes were quite unfair with just a few two many trees clustered together on a few holes. I guess that was the point of this course so it is sort of nitpicking from a guy who likes to throw his discs far and without care.

Repetition will get you out here. Playing here once it is hard to pick a favorite hole because there is not a hole that sticks out in my mind as THE hole. Everything was tight and 250-300~ ft so it made the course seem repetitive.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course and should not be overlooked or turned away from because of it's difficulty. The Woodlands/Conroe area already has great courses and Little Egypt is a great addition and adds what this area has been lacking, a heavily wooded finesse course.

14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Quality Course without the "Wow Factor"

1    9/1/2012   1/24/2013
Review By: srm_520
Played: 153  Reviewed: 140  Exp: 13.6 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There is nothing better than a new professionally installed course to give you a great first impression. As with many of the DG consultant courses, the concrete pads a huge and the signage is great. Plus, the Mach V baskets are some of the best pins to play on, so you're not worried about spit outs. Other amenities include plenty of parking, a playground for the kids, and bathrooms.

Design aspect pros include a stronger middle portion of the course with tighter and more technical lines. Many of the holes will make you work to stay on the fairway and punish you for wayward drives into the rough. The overall length is good considering the majority of the course course is carved out of thick trees. And though many of the holes are straightforward - there are just enough blind shots that force you to throw anhyzers and hyzers to keep you entertained.

BEST HOLE/S: #10; & #12
Cons: Repetition is the greatest enemy of Little Egypt. You essentially start the course by playing the same uphill hole (#2, #3, #5) and the same downhill hole (#1, #4) the exact same. Even though the holes are challenging with the foliage and minor elevation change, the lack of variation is a big negative.

Moving beyond the first six holes, truly the course as a whole suffers from this problem. Basically, you have a great looking course that is enjoyable, but nothing ever really stands out. I finished thinking I couldn't really decide if I even had a favorite hole, or something that made me want to come back and play again.

WORST HOLE/S: #1; #6
Other Thoughts: It may be a bit unfair to downgrade a course solely on it's lack of variation or creativity, but it seems to be a theme that echoes many of the greater Houston courses designed by DG Consultants. It's ironic too because overall I typically like their product, and think others could take note to how they do their finishing touches around the box. I even enjoy the technical courses over the huge open courses, but I just didn't love this course like the others in the area.

Players uninitiated to the Houston DG scene may not realize this, but if you've played the majority of the greater Houston courses - I believe you'll agree. You'll notice the same design themes at courses like Oak Meadows Park, Timber Lane Park, or Spring Valley DGC finesse 18.

However, I believe the differences between a course like Oak Meadows and Little Egypt is that it may look bright and tight at first glance, but just misses the mark on incorporating other features that capture your attention and make it truly memorable.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

  New Course

2-4    8/11/2012   8/12/2012
Review By: BirdMane
Played: 104  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 13.5 Years
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: This course rewards you for good shots and punishes you for bad shots. The fairways are wide enough to be fair but if you are off prepare to take another stroke. Good variety of shots for both right and left hand players and side arm. Great pavilion and restrooms and easy access of I-45.
Cons: Lots of brush all around because it is a new course. This will be cleaned up over the next few months I am sure. Could use a few more benches to be really critical and a bridge over the creek.
Other Thoughts: Do not cut down too many more trees. It is open enough as is and will get broken in over time

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.