Plymouth, MI 
NorthRidge Church Share
Uploaded By: Jiggy202 Hole #7 (Taken 10/2013)
3 / 234ft.   3 / 233ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 13
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2
 New layout plays very well

5+    4/18/2019   4/18/2019
Review By: boosted_ruxbin
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Love the new layout. Easy to navigate. Wider selection of shots with the mandos. And the new triple Mando is a lot of fun. Look forward to playing this course a lot more this year.
Cons: Wind can be a little unpredictable on the expressway side, but not a big deal most days.
Other Thoughts: Really happy with the progress this course has made. Keep up the great work!

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

1    3/11/2016   3/11/2016
Review By: torihanus
Played: 26  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 4.2 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1.) An 18-hole course that surrounds the outskirts of a mega-church in the western metro Detroit area. The designers used the land to its advantage, especially with the slight amount of trees on the property. There are three water holes too, which gives you a challenge, especially when you know you're at a high risk of losing a disc with one simple mistake. Terrain and width of fairways also varies throughout this course. I genuinely felt like each hole gave you a new challenge that you had to prepare yourself for.

2.) Something new that I did not know when I came to the course: the baskets are now double-chained. According to my boyfriend, last summer they were only single-chained. This is always a bonus. The chains gripped easily too. In addition, baskets are cemented into the ground.

3.) The course is relatively easily to navigate. I was fortunate enough to have my boyfriend leading the way; however, it wouldn't be hard to figure out if you are a newcomer.

4.) Since the course is on the property of a mega-church, there shouldn't be a problem with parking whatsoever.

5.) Even though it is only the beginning of spring, the maintenance on the fairways seems to be well-maintained. You aren't constantly walking through long grass or weeds, unless you shank your disc out into left field.

Cons: 1.) Tee pads are all natural, which has caused erosion over long periods of time. Most of the tee boxes were muddy (due to the recent melting of snow and rain). This can be somewhat hazardous, especially when roots and large rocks have the potential of sticking out. Many of the holes, I threw slightly outside of the tee box. This was probably the biggest downfall on this course. I would have given this course higher than three discs, if the tee pads were kept up.

2.) Signage was mediocre. There were a couple holes that didn't have any signs whatsoever. The other signs were basic: hole number, par number, and feet from basket. It could have been helpful to have a simple guide from where the tee pad is to the basket.

3.) Although it didn't seem like trash was a huge issue at this course, a few trash cans around the course could have been nice.
Other Thoughts: I may be biased, since this is the church I attend; however, I was PLEASANTLY surprised with this course! I have heard mixed things about this course from other local players. I believe that the designers did an incredible job with the land they were given to utilize. This is a course that will keep you on your toes, every time you play it. One must learn to execute well at all different shot approaches here.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Not Too Bad

1    11/9/2015   11/9/2015
Review By: kw83028
Played: 64  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 9 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - 18 holes that plays on a very large plot of church land
- Routing/Nav pretty straight forward
- A few holes where water comes into play
- Nice course for a quick round
- Pin placements were pretty decent, using the terrain
- Brand new baskets that look like Chainstars. Cemented in perfectly!
Cons: - Rough natural teepads, had to tee off on the side of them on quite a few holes
- No risk/reward shots
- Quite a few short, blah, putter tee shots
- No trash cans, so there was some garbage laying at the tee signs. But, come on, take the garbage with you, you lazy bums
Other Thoughts: We decided to check this course out since we didn't have time for another round at Cass. I was pleasantly surprised! The course is definitely a shorter, easy course, with not too many obstacles, but the use of the terrain and water is great in my opinion. I would easily bump this to a 3.5 if there were concrete teepads. Overall, I liked the course for a nice and easy play!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Quick, fun, and clean

5+    6/12/2014   8/1/2014
Review By: Jiggy202
Played: 59  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Course has a really nice layout with a good variety of holes. Pins are located very well making every hole a different challenge
-Easy to navigate with the nice metal tee signs.
-Well maintained course, I have never seen garbage/cans on this course which is a nice change from other courses I've been to.
-Course is typically not very busy at all.
Cons: -Tee signs way too close to the tee box on most holes making drives slightly more difficult.
-Many of the baskets and tee signs are not cemented in the ground very well. A few of the baskets are starting to lean over already.
-The rough is pretty thick on the back 9.
- a few holes are almost too short easy 2s
- some holes play close to the expressway, roads, and parking lots
Other Thoughts: Over all this is a decent course for a friendly, quick, and fun round. The course is well thought out but not really very challenging. Great course for beginners or if you are looking to avoid crowds at other courses in the area. The church maintains this course and keeps it in really nice shape.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Simple as can be

2-4    6/12/2014   6/15/2014
Review By: Crazydiscraft
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: As the title says, this course(at least the front nine) is about as simple as a DG course gets. However, that's not necessarily a bad thing. I for one am rather new to the sport and find this to be an AMAZING course for beginners. The front nine is nice and open and with the exception of minor water hazards, it's quite tough to lose a disc. The course is very well maintained and traffic has never been bad. If you are or know any beginners who are new to DG, bring them here.
Cons: On almost EVERY hole, if you throw a Hyzer shot, you will most likely lose your disc. Rather it's into a swamp, The main road, A pond, THE HIGHWAY, or just Into some "Disc-stealing" rough. The Back Nine is not exactly great. With the exception of #10, each hole has narrow fairways and very thick rough, it's easy to lose discs and it's really hard to find them. Along with this, bugs are 2x as bad on the back nine, so make sure you load up on bug spray. Unless you're up for losing discs, when you come here, stick to the front nine.
Other Thoughts: Overall, it's a good course, I just think that adding the back nine was Unecessary.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Fun little course!

1    4/30/2014   4/30/2014
Review By: mball1684
Played: 29  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 22.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/10/2014
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Lots of scoring opportunities. Very accessible and a very good course for beginners to learn on. The holes are very well kept and looked after. Probably the cleanest course I have ever been on.
Cons: More than a handful of holes are too short with easy basket placements. Basic baskets make putting a little difficult at times.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Back 9 actually HURT the score here

1    11/5/2013   11/5/2013
Review By: apdrvya
Played: 317  Reviewed: 298  Exp: 9.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Aesthetic-- plays around the perimeter and back lot of a HUGE church in the rich suburbs.

Teesigns-- very very basic, shows hole number and distance. no map or "next tee" on the signs.

Baskets-- DN freedom baskets in great repair. back 9 seem to have anodized chains and they appear gold.

Routing and nav-- easy. a couple longer walks but nothing crazy

Variety-- there's a little bit of everything here but a little heavy on the little pitch and putt holes.

Cons:
Challenge-- not overly challenging course. a lot of pitch and putt holes. #5 seems to be the biggest challenge with the pond at the bottom of the big big hill with huge rollaway potential.

back 9-- the back 9 seem like a LOT of filler holes. playing through light scrub trees with easy lines and then through a field with no obstacles. there is a long hole 500+ along the highway where wind could be a big issue.

#1 and #18-- these two fairways are VERY close to each other and could present a potential danger.

Other Thoughts:
I dunno, It's a nice course but I felt the back 9 detracted some from the overall aesthetic of the course.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Eh

2-4    10/16/2013   10/24/2013
Review By: jswoods1984
Played: 75  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 18.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Not a lot of people there, can cruise through a round in no time. Great course for glow golf.
Cons: A lot of very bland holes, nothing with any real character. Could have probably made it a little better, but they did what they could with what they had. Just not a fun course during the day

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Go to Church, and play Disc Golf :)

1    5/13/2013   5/14/2013
Review By: danhyzer
Played: 1645  Reviewed: 107  Exp: 31.2 Years
This review was updated on 5/19/2013
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The Disc Golf course is situated on a very large piece of Church property. To most observers, they might not think that this course has any water, but to the contrary, this course has water holes # 4, # 5 and # 6.

Most of the holes has well placed trees or shrubbery that is currently very colorful <middle of May> (like hole # 6, appears to be pink flowering crab apple trees lining the right side of the fairway with a large lake to the left.

Good flow, even without a kiosk one can navigate this course without much of a problem.

I like how the grass was finely manicured. One could play this course barefooted if they chose to play that way :)

No trash present @ this course, even without any trash receptacles. I realize I was playing in Michigan and not Ohio, but this course was so beautiful. I really felt blessed to have played this course.

Mega parking available at this Church.

Easy to follow directions listed on www.dgcoursereview.com (a lot of people take this for granted, but if your a visitor to the area, precise directions are greatly appreciated :)

Ample room to expand to 18 holes :)
Cons: no cement tees, but then does a course really need cement tees? Not really so this isn't much of a con, but might be a con to some.

The t- signs are adjacent to the foot boards or foul line. Not a big deal to me, since I'm a LHBH player. But I could see a "Righty" getting their feathers ruffled with the t-sign's location (But then again I can see another perspective that it's easier to maintain since it's even with the foot board/ foul line)

# 9 hole could present a safety issue as the teeing area is pretty close to the playground area. I would suggest modifying this hole a little to solve this potential problem. Either by moving the teeing area forward and the basket further out or moving the whole hole a little.

The tee signs weren't very descriptive of the layout of the hole itself. Very generic.

Some long walks between holes, but when one is Disc Golfing one is walking, so I don't see an issue with this at this course as another might, since this courses is so beautiful to walk through anyways :)

Only one set of tees (since this course doesn't have cement tee's, I don't see any reason why they can't have multiple tees per hole and for that matter multiple basket positions per hole), but then again it isn't really an issue because of the people this course plays to. But this Church has ample room to expand to 18 holes, if they chose to do so.
Other Thoughts: I've played a few different "CHURCH" Disc Golf courses over the years and on a couple of them they have t- signs that had a Biblical messages stated on the t- sign. I think it would be cool if more "CHURCH" curses did this with their t- signs (After all the courses are on their respective "private property").

I pray that there is some kind of "Church activity program in which Disc Golf is taught for all the youth/ adults to enjoy at this Church.

Thank you North Ridge Church for having Disc Golf for your parishioner and guests. I was very blessed to have played this course and will use this course as a good model when I try to promote and install courses in my area where there's a Church with potential for a Disc Golf course on their respective property.



4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Hole-y Hole-y Hole-y DG Gods Almighty

2-4    5/2/2013   5/3/2013
Review By: bygwyllay
Played: 93  Reviewed: 78  Exp: 12.1 Years
Pros: A disc golf course!
Ten minutes from my house!
WAY BETTER THAN FREEDOM PARK!

A decent nine holes play counter-clockwise around a truly massive spiritual complex. Course has natural tees, and a few have wooden stoppers marking the edge. Every tee has a bright blue sign, and navigation is easy enough, although there seems an unnecessary walk betwixt two and three.

Most of the holes are the standard wide open/straight ahead type I've come to expect on courses like these, but there is a nice string in the middle:

#4 is almost 400 feet (the longest of the course) and is a gem. A decent sized pond is to the right, the fairway sloping down towards it from the hillside on the left. A few smallish trees dot the landscape, but the wind is your biggest enemy, forever blowing your drive towards the water. Two drives are needed here to set up an easy par.

#5 is near 300 ft, shooting over a smaller pond and into a clearing. The risk of losing a disk in the drink here is minimal, but its a scenic hole.

#6 ends the trio with its basket on a thin strip of fairway; the biggest pond yet stationed to its left, and a thick line of tall pines on the right.

These holes were very well thought out and surprised me after the first three. I would consider them "legitimate holes" that one would find on a 3+ star course.
Cons: Tee sign placement is absolutely unforgivable. You are not able to throw at the edge of the tee because these tees are jammed right next to the stopper! Throwing RHBH, I recommend standing well behind so you don't slice your hand/arm open on your follow through.

While the baskets are nice and nearly new, I did not like the chain spacing or thickness. I had a few easy putts clang the main post and bounce back out. Way too much give on these babies.

I found it odd that there was not one trash can anywhere. Not even by the playground where the course begins and ends. Still, the grounds were immaculate (pun intended).
Other Thoughts: There is so much space here, it would be a sin not to expand this course! I would easily rate this another full star if it was 18. Honestly, they might be able to put 24 in; there is that much land to work with. The huge field between #1's fairway and M14 could fit 4-5 holes alone. And there is some elevation there, something this course could definitely use. I also think another 4-5 could be put in the wooded area by #7 & #8, between the church and the subdivision, adding a wooded element that would complement the openness found currently. And you can't tell me these people don't have money - the church building alone had to cost around $50 million! Bottom line, this place is ripe for expansion.

As it stands now, this place is a huge upgrade over Freedom Park's 9, but not the best alternative to an always-packed Cass Benton. At least, not yet (fingers crossed).

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.