Hinsdale, IL 
Katherine Legge Memorial Park Share
Uploaded By: notapro Hole #15 (Taken 8/2012)
3 / 250ft.   4 / 350ft.   3 / 350ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 White Tee


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 37
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
Legge'ing It

1    9/2/2017   9/2/2017
Review By: davetherocketguy
Played: 68  Reviewed: 59  Exp: 13.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Set in yet another multi use park and is sort of away from other activites.
- Unlike most courses in this type of setting the signage was quite nice. Pay attention to the "Next Tee" marker on the tee pad signs and you can really go wrong. Never once needed a map.
- The baskets are some version of Mach whatever and are in decent shape. Of course the 90 mph 15' McCray putts might "spit out" off the center pole. *rolleyes*
- Grass is mowed
- Tee pads are perfect. Flat, level and grippy.
- Sort of thought 8 was the signature hole. A very reachable downhill pin placement with a OB creek behind it.
Cons: - Not a lot in the way of benches. Would have been nice with the hilly nature of this course.
- Not sure if this is an issue or not but it sure seems some of the holes play mighty close to what appear to be Lacrosse fields. The holes in question are 12, 13 amd 14.
- Speaking of the aforementioned holes, those just seemed like some filler holes. Only purpose is to get dg'ers from point A to point B.
- 15 was a serious poke 'n hope hole. This probably would not bother me so much had there not been a nice OB fence adjacent to it with lots of no trespassing signs on it. One little random kick off a tree and it's hasta la vista Mr. Disc.
- In fact, all three holes (14, 15 and 16) along that fence kinda bothered me. Seems like an easy spot for a grip-locking newb to toss one over.
- Uphill holes...somehow it seems like there are more uphill shots than downhill.
- Don't have a lot of confidence in the distances on some of the signage. Some of them just seemed a lot shorter than what they should be.
- Didn't see concrete tees for anything other than the white tees although some of the tee signs indicate there are three separate tees on this course. Looks like when the blues and reds are separate from the white those tees are teeing off the grass apparently. Didn't see signage indicating where the blues or reds where.
Other Thoughts: Katherine Legge is a nice park to be sure. No serious design flaws in the course anywhere really. But it's average-ness is what holds this course back. It's just as simple dg walk between holes in a fairly open park interspersed with trees and filled with mowed grass. Nothing really wow'ed me here. That said, it's a nice place to get out and play. With a few exceptions along the fences there's very little opportunity to lose discs. I guess I just didn't get as excited as some of the reviewers here.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


1    7/14/2017   7/15/2017
Review By: Qikly
Played: 133  Reviewed: 113  Exp: 5.3 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Katherine Legge Memorial Park is a beautiful and well-tended setting to host a disc golf course. The rolling hills throughout the course provide some great variety in terms of elevation to contest with, especially on the front nine. The first half of the course includes a shallow creek as well, and there are several downhill shots made significantly more hair-raising owing to the need to consider this hazard. At the same time, the water is shallow enough to easily retrieve your disc, which is nice (or at least it was during my visit).

Trees dot the landscape throughout, and while the course is far from technical there are certainly obstacles to consider on most holes, be they barriers to bend around or ceilings to avoid. The course plays plenty open all the same, lending a free-wheeling sense in which a variety of lines can be thrown on most holes. There are some opportunities to really let loose regardless of how studly your max D is. The result is a fun and casual course that plays more quickly than its overall length may first suggest.

Navigation is easy, parking is plentiful, tees are well-signed.
Cons: The light tree cover and straightforward hole layouts ultimately made this a boring course for me. You can throw hyzers on every hole, especially if you're even passably FH/BH versatile, and there's nothing to punish landing a bit or often even a lot wide of your mark save for the creek at a few points. You're never forced to think or adapt your game, and there is no line-shaping beyond the very basic. As such I found myself coasting by the end of my round.

DGCR lists three sets of tees but only one, the long, was visible by my assessment. This course had only a single layout from what I could see although it's easy enough to be welcoming to players at all levels.

For a course that encouraged pushing for distance I found the concrete tees to be too short at times.

Player traffic seems higher here than many other Chicago-area courses I've visited.
Other Thoughts: Katherine Legge makes for a casual round that plays quickly for 18 holes at almost 6000 total feet. It's a solid option to stop at as part of a larger day trip, but not a course I'll likely return to again as a visitor to the area. If you're looking for a light round then I'd recommend it; if you want something technical, try the excellent nearby Central Park.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Come on baby, get in the road. Come on now, in the middle of the road, yeah.

1    8/31/2013   9/5/2013
Review By: Three Putt
Played: 132  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 22.8 Years
This review was updated on 9/30/2013
15 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: When I was planning to get to the new Oak Book I was excited to see a new course in the area (Pros: I wouldn't have to stop at Madison Meadows.) I was a bit confused; I wondered why I had never heard of this new, highly-rated course.

KLM is a cool park. It's a really well maintained park with a cool old lodge on site and a long walking path that winds through the park. The park has a nice rolling topography with a creek cutting through the low spot. It really is a very, very nice park.

The course itself works its way back and forth along the contours of the park, using the elevation changes well. The site is lightly wooded so there are some trees in your way as you wind your way around. A few holes seemed memorable: One hole shot downhill toward a pin by the creek, # 9 was a pretty shot that went over a hedgerow, #17 shot downhill at a protected pin past the creek. There are good tees signs and the course flows well. There isn't a ton of distance shots, but the course ends on a nice 400'+ uphill shot that you need to bring your big boy pants for.
Cons: The course isn't wooded enough to force you to do anything in particular off the tee and doesn't really punish bad shots. It's an "equalizer" design in that you can get outdriven by a large margin, but unless the long drivers convert their birdie putts the shorter throwers can easily catch back up on the approach shots. It helps keep players with a wide variety of skill levels all close and can lead to some fun rounds, but in the end it's so-so golf. I threw RHBH hyzers all day; there never was a reason to throw anything else.

The holes shoot back and forth and get pretty close together. Given the popularity of the course, it gets to be a shooting gallery. Add in how close some shots get to the walking path and it adds up to not the safest design I've ever seen. There is also what looks like lacrosse fields on the back; #12/13/14/15 could all be unplayable if those fields are in use (hole #13 shoots directly across one of them.) It seems like the course might not fit in with all the other park uses very well.

The tees are dirt and well worn. With the type of traffic the course is getting, it needs a solid tee off area. ***UPDATE-Word is that concrete tees have been installed as of 9/27/13***

#15 is a pinball shot, but there is an open field to the left so I don't know why anybody would try to pinball it through there. Just throw it out to the left and take the open approach.
Other Thoughts: History: Katherine Legge Memorial Park originally was a weekend getaway for the President of International Harvester. When his wife Katherine died, he built a lodge specifically for retreats for the women who worked at IH. The land was donated to the Village of Hinsdale in the 70's. The lodge is still there, available for rentals. Oddity: The park seems to be home to the laziest squirrels on the planet; they just sack out and sun themselves on the picnic tables and don't really seem to care if you are there or not.

KLM is a decent course in a really nice park, but after a few holes I realized why I had never heard of it before. It's a very average, middle-of-the-road course design. There are some nice holes but no standout holes. It's the type of place recreational players love because they can hang in with the big boys and good players hate because there are no risk/reward shots to give them any separation from the pack.

The rating is a crapshoot. It depends on what you value as a player. If you value the shots over everything else, this course really doesn't deliver. If you value the "fun factor" this course has plenty to offer. I ended up just rating it in the middle; if there were better tees I'd probably bump it up to a 3. I will go back; I love Oak Brook and KLM is definitely an improvement over Madison Meadows for a course to play on those trips.

***UPDATE-I will possibly bump up my rating a bit when I get a chance to play the new concrete tees***

15 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 Decent park course

1    8/25/2012   8/26/2012
Review By: mashnut
Played: 828  Reviewed: 775  Exp: 15.6 Years
This review was updated on 9/2/2013
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course plays through a nicely kept grassy park. There is some elevation change throughout the park, especially on the front 9. Several of the holes take advantage of the hills to add some challenge and variety. There are mature trees in play on the majority of the course. Most holes have multiple lines to the pin, offering different challenges depending on which way you go.

There are a couple longer holes mixed in to add some variety, with some shorter ace run chances as well. A few holes have the creek in play as OB around the green, it adds some risk without too much chance of lost discs. There are posts for tee signs, so I assume signage will be added in the near future, even without it the course is not terribly difficult to follow.
Cons: The holes get a little repetitive at times, with lots of holes in the 225-275' range that have a couple obstacles to avoid. A little more length variety and a little more care taken to use the trees in ways that defined different lines would go a long way. There isn't any rough and most holes don't have all that dense of trees, so you don't really get into much trouble if you miss your line.

The natural tees are ok, a few aren't quite flat but they're not terrible. That said, they are already showing signs of wear. The grass is dead or dying on all of them and they will quickly turn into mud pits with a good amount of traffic and a little rain.
Other Thoughts: Beginners will find this a very approachable course, the lengths are reasonable and there is little punishment for errant shots. More experienced players can have a nice relaxed round, this isn't a course that will test all your disc golf skills but there are a few fun shots.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.