Hinsdale, IL 
Katherine Legge Memorial Park Share
Uploaded By: notapro Hole #2 (Taken 8/2012)
4 / 330ft.   4 / 330ft.   3 / 410ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 White Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 37
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
Beautiful setting and pretty open

1    9/8/2017   9/8/2017
Review By: iri01001
Played: 20  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Course is easy to follow from hole to hole. Perfect setting for an early fall afternoon.
Cons: No real long holes. Actually pretty crowded when I played it.
Other Thoughts: Not too challenging, but a great course that play pretty quick

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Must play for the Chicago land area

2-4    8/2/2016   8/12/2016
Review By: illinoisdiscgolf
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: The whole park is very nice. Very nice practice basket and a lot of fun holes. Multiple Tee pads are nice and change the courses look after multiple rounds. The creek is easy to get discs out of which I like because if you do make a mistake you loose a stroke and not any plastic. Tree's fill the course and make you throw good shots. Over all fun course with a good variety of shots.

Instagram- @illinoisdiscgolf
Cons: The lack of difficulty is one of the only issues with this course. This can easily be fixed by playing all holes as par 3's but would still like to see some longer tee shots.
Other Thoughts: Check out my instagram @illinoisdiscgolf

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Well marked

1    7/15/2016   7/16/2016
Review By: kenlaundra
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Course very well marked with signs and arrows, all tees have signs/maps, lots of undulating fairways and a creek, not crowded
Cons: Avoid 7-10 hours when dogs are being walked
Other Thoughts: Best course I've played in Illinois!

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great Diverse Course

1    9/13/2015   9/22/2015
Review By: mierze
Played: 48  Reviewed: 6
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Based in a beautiful park, this course sports some solid elevation changes and is trickled with some large trees that make for some nice lines to the basket.
Cons: Besides being a little on the open side I truly loved the course.
Other Thoughts: Definitely check this course out if you are in the area!

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  Suburban discing

5+    7/28/2015   7/28/2015
Review By: Groan
Played: 24  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Well maintained and easy to navigate.
-Good signs and concrete teepads at the white tees.
-Decent shot variety for the rec or intermediate player. Better players lament the shortage of technical shots. It can be stretched to a fairly challenging length from the blue tees.
-Big mature trees allow forgiving ceiling and generally avoidable but still cause probs if you miss your line.
- Beautiful well maintained park with more elevation change than most west suburbs courses.
Cons: -Can get busy, and (as others have noted) tons of dogs at certain times of day.
-blues and reds are a bit tricky to find but the signs narrow down area to look
Other Thoughts: the emerald ash borer has taken its toll on the ash trees in the park and many of them have already been removed this year with more marked to be removed. this opens up things a bit more on a few of the holes. the day they take the marked ones out on hole #9 will be a bad day :(
Conversely, they had some storm damage on #15 and removed a couple trees so there is a legit line there now albeit narrow
This is my home course and i play it a lot, its enjoyable disc golf with a solid if not wicked dose of challenge for an intermediate old guy like me - if i want to throw down some tunnels ill go to central park in Oak Brook or if i want a "tourney" course ill drive down to the highlands in Joliet.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun, easy to navigate, busy!

1    10/25/2014   11/10/2014
Review By: BuzzzChief
Played: 77  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 15.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
- Extremely easy to navigate for a first timer. Very clear tee signs, always easy to find the next hole, no long walks between holes.

- Great variety of shots. Left, right, straight. Uses the elevation and natural terrain very well. Lots of risk/reward with the creek that runs through the park. Some of the pin placements make it very tough to make a real run!

- Extremely clean! It's a big, multi-use park. Meaning, it's cut grass everywhere and you're not out in the wilderness too much. Even if you go in the creek, it's easy to find and retrieve your disc. Tough to lose a disc here!

- Nice teepads, nice baskets. Everything in great shape.
Cons:
- Busy, busy, busy. Played late on a Saturday and it was very crowded with non-discers. Had to wait on every front-9 hole for kids or dog walkers. Had to skip a hole because someone was having a picnic right in the middle of the fairway. Play early, or play during the week.

- Hard to find the back tees, but with a few more times playing (or the help of a local) I'm sure it would be no problem.
Other Thoughts: Great addition to the DG scene in this area. Don't think I will be playing Madison Meadows much with this gem in the area. If you can get here when it's not busy, it's tough to beat without an hour+ drive.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Chicago Has Hills?

2-4    8/28/2014   8/28/2014
Review By: nivek1385
Played: 34  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 27.6 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Beautifully manicured, 18-hole course with gentle, rolling hills located in and around multiple lacrosse fields and park buildings. The white tees are large, high quality teepads with quality, sponsored signs. Each hole has 3 "tees" though a good portion are shared tees. There's a good mixture of leftrightstraight, updownflat, and opentight holes. Excellent use of the available land. Well-marked OB areas. Water comes into play on quite a few holes, but isn't overdone. Pars seem right or close to right, unlike other Chicagoland courses that seem too easy (I might even venture to say that some are too hard here...might).
Cons: The red and blue tees (when separate from the white) are not well marked, especially for people who haven't been to the park before. I didn't find my first one until hole 11 during my first round. The tees are only marked by ~4 inch diameter circles at ground level with the appropriate color (two circles about 4-5 feet apart). This would be fine, but they're not always very easy to see, especially if the grass is long or is freshly cut (I dealt with both today as they were cutting the grass while I was throwing).

There seems to be a significant amount of people and dogs walking in the middle of holes without paying attention around them. That's not a big deal, but I could see it being a problem if the park gets busy.
Other Thoughts: I really liked this course and it is one of my favorite country-wide. With a little more work with the extra teesor teesigns for each tee (not just white tees) would easily push this to a 4.5, and both would push it to a 5.

I definitely recommend this course for players of all levels, though with the caveat that beginners should really try to find the red tees and pros find the blue tees, or find a local to guide through the course once or twice.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Lots of fun

1    5/7/2014   5/7/2014
Review By: ScottC
Played: 16  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.5 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: A great mix of technical shots, wide open/long shots, and short and ace-able, but really fun shots. I really enjoyed playing this course. There are a number of really great challenges that keep you thinking of the best flight path. Many of the long holes are in wide open fields which lend themselves to great long bombs. And every now and then you have a hole that you could ace, but you still have to have the chops to do it.
The park is beautiful. Very well kept, and the creek going through it is low and very neat. It adds a great non-threatening water hazard to the mix.
Cons: There are some holes that are right along the fence to private property. You definitely have to re-think the shots you want or you risk losing it somewhere you're really not going to get into.
Other Thoughts: A lot of fun overall. A really great course, well thought out and planned. Kudos to the designers.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    10/28/2013   10/28/2013
Review By: Bombsaway21
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Really nice course with a lot of hills and a creek running through the course. Well kept course.
Cons: Lacrosse fields around so it might be congested in the summer time with games going on.
Other Thoughts: One of the better courses around. I will definitely be telling all my friends about this course and I recommend you try it out.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Fun!

1    8/9/2013   8/9/2013
Review By: ElementZ
Played: 143  Reviewed: 134  Exp: 8.4 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I had a blast playing here! I think the pros are best listed as concisely as possible.

+ Awesome flow. I've never played here before or even looked at the map and the flow was excellent. There are no long walks between holes which is awesome. The design of this course really took advantage of the park's landscape e.i. elevation, trees, and creek.

+ Very clean. This park is located in a seemingly really rich area of Hinsdale and is very well taken care of. No trash, grass is mowed, etc... On top of that, the houses you'll pass on the drive here are jaw-dropping.

+ Excellent equipment. The baskets are great and the tee signs are easy to find and very informative. The only slight con is that the tees are dirt, which isn't a problem at all when the park is dry.
Cons: I don't think there were too many cons, in all honesty.

- From my understanding, this course can get outrageously full to the point of being unplayable. I played at 9:45 am after the dog party ended and before the other park goers were awake. When I was here, it was very empty.

- While there were some cool holes, there were no spectacular holes. The course really utilizes the land to make some good holes like 3, 8, 9, and 17.
Other Thoughts: I was up in the air between and 3.5 and 4 and I went to a 4 for these reasons.

My experience was awesome. It's directly off the highway and is one of my favorite courses in the Chicago area. If I get the chance, I'll definitely swing by again. Maybe my second time visiting here will be more humbling and I'll downgrade to a 3.5, but I'm sticking with 4.0 as it is now.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.