Hinsdale, IL 
Katherine Legge Memorial Park Share
Uploaded By: notapro Hole #5 (Taken 8/2012)
3 / 220ft.   3 / 220ft.   3 / 220ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 White Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 34
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4

1    7/14/2017   7/15/2017
Review By: Qikly
Played: 131  Reviewed: 110  Exp: 5.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Katherine Legge Memorial Park is a beautiful and well-tended setting to host a disc golf course. The rolling hills throughout the course provide some great variety in terms of elevation to contest with, especially on the front nine. The first half of the course includes a shallow creek as well, and there are several downhill shots made significantly more hair-raising owing to the need to consider this hazard. At the same time, the water is shallow enough to easily retrieve your disc, which is nice (or at least it was during my visit).

Trees dot the landscape throughout, and while the course is far from technical there are certainly obstacles to consider on most holes, be they barriers to bend around or ceilings to avoid. The course plays plenty open all the same, lending a free-wheeling sense in which a variety of lines can be thrown on most holes. There are some opportunities to really let loose regardless of how studly your max D is. The result is a fun and casual course that plays more quickly than its overall length may first suggest.

Navigation is easy, parking is plentiful, tees are well-signed.
Cons: The light tree cover and straightforward hole layouts ultimately made this a boring course for me. You can throw hyzers on every hole, especially if you're even passably FH/BH versatile, and there's nothing to punish landing a bit or often even a lot wide of your mark save for the creek at a few points. You're never forced to think or adapt your game, and there is no line-shaping beyond the very basic. As such I found myself coasting by the end of my round.

DGCR lists three sets of tees but only one, the long, was visible by my assessment. This course had only a single layout from what I could see although it's easy enough to be welcoming to players at all levels.

For a course that encouraged pushing for distance I found the concrete tees to be too short at times.

Player traffic seems higher here than many other Chicago-area courses I've visited.
Other Thoughts: Katherine Legge makes for a casual round that plays quickly for 18 holes at almost 6000 total feet. It's a solid option to stop at as part of a larger day trip, but not a course I'll likely return to again as a visitor to the area. If you're looking for a light round then I'd recommend it; if you want something technical, try the excellent nearby Central Park.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Grassy, hilly and usually windy

5+    9/18/2016   9/18/2016
Review By: JamesHHolt
Played: 91  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 11.2 Years
This review was updated on 10/31/2016
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Open, but still diffucult.
Beautiful walk with many different kinds of trees.
Elevation!
Cons: DOGS - Dont let them eat your disks.
The park can sometimes have many dogs offleash - beware! I lost a putter there to a happy pup.
Dont let this persuade you to never visit, this is only the occasional saturday or sunday that are awesome days.
Windy some days.
Other Thoughts: The whole course is grassy with a small (5 ft) creek going through the middle of it. If it rains, you can still play.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Must play for the Chicago land area

2-4    8/2/2016   8/12/2016
Review By: illinoisdiscgolf
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: The whole park is very nice. Very nice practice basket and a lot of fun holes. Multiple Tee pads are nice and change the courses look after multiple rounds. The creek is easy to get discs out of which I like because if you do make a mistake you loose a stroke and not any plastic. Tree's fill the course and make you throw good shots. Over all fun course with a good variety of shots.

Instagram- @illinoisdiscgolf
Cons: The lack of difficulty is one of the only issues with this course. This can easily be fixed by playing all holes as par 3's but would still like to see some longer tee shots.
Other Thoughts: Check out my instagram @illinoisdiscgolf

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Well marked

1    7/15/2016   7/16/2016
Review By: kenlaundra
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Course very well marked with signs and arrows, all tees have signs/maps, lots of undulating fairways and a creek, not crowded
Cons: Avoid 7-10 hours when dogs are being walked
Other Thoughts: Best course I've played in Illinois!

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Liked the Course, Didn't Care For The Dogs!

1    6/24/2016   6/24/2016
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 1028  Reviewed: 977  Exp: 39.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/16/2016
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is another large sprawling park in these parts, only this park has the great terrain for disc golf, rolling hills and a creek to add to the courts ambience. The designers laid out a fine course using the hills to their fullest. The course definitely has some fun downhills.

The course has two practice baskets and a kiosk with an excellent course map. There are Porti-Potties at the start. Katherine Legge has nice sized concrete tee pads and the same tee sign poles as every other course in this area. And these signs also list three different tee pads when I could only find one. There are next tee signs which help with the navigation. The baskets are decent with small red numbers on them. There are about 10 holes listed at Par 4's. They're pretty generous with their pars here at Legge Memorial allowing an old, rec player like myself to shoot 6 under. I imagine advanced players are shooting 12 to 15 under the listed pars. And there's nothing wrong with good players shooting well under par.

I was liking on this course and then I walked up to # 15. It's a beautiful hole, 350' slightly downhill to a basket sitting in a grove of about two dozen trees. The park fence runs along the right side of the fairway. I like it as the signature hole here. As much as I liked # 15, # 17 was another lovely hole. It's 270' downhill and then over the creek.

Cons: I played early on a Friday morning and the dogs were a pain in my behind. Two or three times they came charging up behind me and then one grabbed one of my favorite discs from under the basket. Luckily, the mutt didn't leave any teeth marks. Dogs are like kids-Everyone thinks theirs in the cutest in the world when it might just be a ugly mutt.

I really disliked # 18 as a finishing hole, 480' up a small hill and completely open. Blah! And here I was, really excited after playing the two lovely holes, # 15 and 17.

There were two groups of cross country runners running the park today. I had to wait a couple of times for them but it was no biggie.

Other Thoughts: The creek and the rolling hills just make this course rock. There are so many opportunities here for classic throws. The creek was running low this morning but I heard that it can swell up after a rain and be a disc eater.

After reading other reviews, I would really try to play at times when every dog in Illinois isn't here.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Beware the Dogs

5+    3/7/2016   12/11/2015
Review By: jnmayer37
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.1 Years
This review was updated on 3/7/2016
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: **(3.7.2016 Update): The course is a little sloppy around the baskets. But otherwise it is in great condition right now. Unless we have super bad weather I think this course will play well through the spring and into the summer. There are still dogs that linger after 10 AM even during the weekday, but it's really fine. Great course in the area and super pretty.

This is a very fun course with a lot of variety. Water comes in to play on almost half the holes. But it's a little creek, and not likely that you will lose your disc. Overall, the course is well kept even in the late fall. There are changes in elevation and the course gives you a variety of ways to approach the basket. I love this course because it is beautiful and not to difficult to play. Even an errant shot can be made up with a good up shot.
Cons: Dogs. Do not go on Sunday morning. Lots of dogs. I played with someone today and he said that it used to be a dog park. Either way, I played last Sunday and there must have been a 100 dogs running around without a leash. And a few times the dogs picked up my disc.

** Update - It still is a dog park. Dogs need to be on leash south of the creek at all time. North of the creek dogs are permitted to run around without a leash until 10 AM. So if I were you, I'd play the course after 10 AM. I recently had a small, friend dog return my just thrown disk...with two little holes in it from her teeth. Ha. Oh well.
Other Thoughts: Do not let the dog part scare you. This is a great, average length course. The dogs were only a problem on Sunday morning. I have played every other day of the week, and it's not that bad. There is also a league that plays there, but I am not part of it.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Great Diverse Course

1    9/13/2015   9/22/2015
Review By: mierze
Played: 46  Reviewed: 6
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Based in a beautiful park, this course sports some solid elevation changes and is trickled with some large trees that make for some nice lines to the basket.
Cons: Besides being a little on the open side I truly loved the course.
Other Thoughts: Definitely check this course out if you are in the area!

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Good for a fun, hassle-free round

5+    9/10/2015   9/14/2015
Review By: DrewbieDoobieDoo
Played: 112  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 4.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -well maintained, clean park in a very wealthy area of Chicagoland
-open design allows for variety in tee shots. no holes have "must hit" lines. You can get creative and throw the whole bag, or stay simple and throw only your best shots from the tee
-most holes have elevation change. good mix of uphill and downhill holes
-several ace runs always add to the excitement of a round here
-well marked maps at each white tee box. Every hole has red, white, blue tees, although many are combined into one. easy layout to follow with good flow. very hard to get turned around.
- small creek comes into play on many holes (i think about 8 or 9 use this water). This creek is small and very easy to get a disc from. Almost zero chance of losing a disc here
Cons: -busy, busy, busy. Being a multi use park, expect to see non-discers in your way sometimes. joggers, dog walkers, photographers, and picnicers usually have no clue they are in the middle of a course so keep an eye out. One day there was even a cross-country race in the park that shut down about 9 holes.
-although there is variety in hole layout, there is no variety in throws required. (pretty much don't hit the first tree next to the tee and you are good for the hole). can get to easy/ repetitious for better players
-bad shots are too easy to recovery from (could be a plus for some, but imo bad shots should negatively influence your score). You can throw two fairways over and still have a good look at par
Other Thoughts: Overall Katherine Legge Memorial Park is an amazing park that contains a fairly average disc golf course. The designer did a great job with the land given and the fact that it is multi use to the max, but the holes lack any "wow factor" for me to give it a higher rating.
I recommend anyone who is in the western suburbs go play this course, but to me it isn't worth a long drive

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Suburban discing

5+    7/28/2015   7/28/2015
Review By: Groan
Played: 22  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Well maintained and easy to navigate.
-Good signs and concrete teepads at the white tees.
-Decent shot variety for the rec or intermediate player. Better players lament the shortage of technical shots. It can be stretched to a fairly challenging length from the blue tees.
-Big mature trees allow forgiving ceiling and generally avoidable but still cause probs if you miss your line.
- Beautiful well maintained park with more elevation change than most west suburbs courses.
Cons: -Can get busy, and (as others have noted) tons of dogs at certain times of day.
-blues and reds are a bit tricky to find but the signs narrow down area to look
Other Thoughts: the emerald ash borer has taken its toll on the ash trees in the park and many of them have already been removed this year with more marked to be removed. this opens up things a bit more on a few of the holes. the day they take the marked ones out on hole #9 will be a bad day :(
Conversely, they had some storm damage on #15 and removed a couple trees so there is a legit line there now albeit narrow
This is my home course and i play it a lot, its enjoyable disc golf with a solid if not wicked dose of challenge for an intermediate old guy like me - if i want to throw down some tunnels ill go to central park in Oak Brook or if i want a "tourney" course ill drive down to the highlands in Joliet.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun, easy to navigate, busy!

1    10/25/2014   11/10/2014
Review By: BuzzzChief
Played: 77  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 15.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
- Extremely easy to navigate for a first timer. Very clear tee signs, always easy to find the next hole, no long walks between holes.

- Great variety of shots. Left, right, straight. Uses the elevation and natural terrain very well. Lots of risk/reward with the creek that runs through the park. Some of the pin placements make it very tough to make a real run!

- Extremely clean! It's a big, multi-use park. Meaning, it's cut grass everywhere and you're not out in the wilderness too much. Even if you go in the creek, it's easy to find and retrieve your disc. Tough to lose a disc here!

- Nice teepads, nice baskets. Everything in great shape.
Cons:
- Busy, busy, busy. Played late on a Saturday and it was very crowded with non-discers. Had to wait on every front-9 hole for kids or dog walkers. Had to skip a hole because someone was having a picnic right in the middle of the fairway. Play early, or play during the week.

- Hard to find the back tees, but with a few more times playing (or the help of a local) I'm sure it would be no problem.
Other Thoughts: Great addition to the DG scene in this area. Don't think I will be playing Madison Meadows much with this gem in the area. If you can get here when it's not busy, it's tough to beat without an hour+ drive.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center