Lincolnwood, IL 
North Shore Channel Trail DGC Share
Uploaded By: jasonc Hole #2 (Taken 8/2012)
3 / 284ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Approach



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 19
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2
 This Course Deserves More Love!

5+    8/29/2020   9/4/2020
Review By: ChampTern
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It's a fun, simple 9 hole course that you can BIKE TO FROM THE CITY. The baskets are in good shape and the grass has always been mowed. Has a bit of topography, some tree obstacles. It's simple but fun.
Cons: It's nothing special. No tee signs. Not particularly challenging.
Other Thoughts: As someone who lives in the city of Chicago (a bit north of Wrigelyville), going out to play is a pain. The only course in the city is pretty far south at IIT's campus and the only pro about it that is that it's in the city. That's it. The next closest nice course is about a 40 minute drive (50 Acre, Central Park, or Katherine Legge). After moving to Chicago, I realize how spoiled I was living in Cincinnati with Mt. Airy, Idlewild and many more right around the corner. With North Shore, I've found a decent course (that's 10+ times more enjoyable to play than IIT) that's a really nice and scenic 6.5 mile bike ride up the North Shore Channel Trail. It's nothing to write home about, but for anyone in the city on the northside who wants a bit of exercise or a shorter 20-25 minute drive, this place is a hidden gem.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Fun little oasis near the City

1    8/5/2020   8/6/2020
Review By: Billyray
Played: 49  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 17.6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Not many courses this close to the city.
Easy to find concrete pads, baskets in good shape.
Park had some nice artwork
Plenty of garbage cans.
Grass was mowed
Good use of the available space.
Cons: No tee signs
Course plays one way so a decent walk back to the parking lot
There was a lot of litter
Not much variety in the holes
No standout hole or memorable shots
Plays through a pretty crowded pathway and a major road

Other Thoughts: Hole 1- a straight 220 foot shot with no obstacles. Would have to really overpower a drive to have any real trouble. There's a thick bush right behind the basket to catch a missed putt so you can run it from anywhere.

Hole 2- 280 feet, play is right to left as there is trees on the left. No real danger, basket is unguarded.

Hole 3- 200 feet, another left to right to avoid the tree in center. A really bad shank left could be in the foliage which slopes sharply to the river below. Plays over the path so be cautious off the tee.

Hole 4- a short little 120 to a guarded basket. Can go around either side to get a look at birdie. Plays over the path again.

Hole 5- straight 200 foot shot. Only risk is a tragic early release. 5 feet from the path so watch for traffic.

Hole 6- open field 230 foot hole. Not much more to say.

Hole 7- 400 foot open field. There is a tree dead center 100 feet out but it should be an issue. Also some thin guardian trees at 300 feet. Plays close to Touhy and a grip lock can definitely get out to the road.

Hole 8- a 210 foot shot to a totally guarded basket. The brush and trees make a half circle 10 feet around the front of the basket. Surprisingly fun little hole

Hole 9- 230 feet with a few trees in the fairway to avoid. Not a difficult shot but requires some shaping.

I would give a 1.75 if possible. I went 2.0 due to the artwork and teepads. I think the designers did well with what they had.

Decent local 9 but wouldn't go out of my way to play again

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Interesting course in Chicago

1    6/7/2020   6/7/2020
Review By: DiscGolfer80
Played: 42  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 1.4 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Open course with minimal obstructions. Free parking on North end of course, just South of Touhy Ave. Mainly mid-range to putter course, and maybe a fairway for #7. Enjoyed that layout and the sculptures within the park.
Cons: No hole map near tee pad, 2 baskets are hidden behind brush. Course is laid out one way, so enjoy the walk back to parking lot. Walking path and traffic on McCormick, could spell issue(s) depending how good your tee shots are.
Other Thoughts: Better play early in morning to avoid traffic on walking path and noise from car traffic.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Good Idea

2-4    8/8/2017   8/8/2017
Review By: KKennedy0909
Played: 9  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 17.4 Years
Pros: Everything is in good shape and it is very close to Chicago.
Cons: It is a straight line with little obstacles.
Very possible to throw disc onto a very busy street.
Other Thoughts: I lived about a mile and a half away from this course and choose on a regular basis to drive 20 minutes further and go to Glenview to have a fun round. This course is more geared towards practicing aiming rather than playing a competitive match.

 Not as bad I was expecting!

1    7/3/2017   7/5/2017
Review By: cdelosr1
Played: 6  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Great course for a beginner
- Not a ton of other options in the north-side/north shore area
- Would be great for an ace race
Cons: - Once you finish, you need to walk the entire course in reverse to get back to the start
- A couple more trees/foliage would help to break up the course
- Numbers on the baskets are a bit worn
Other Thoughts: This course wasn't nearly as dinky as I was expecting. Yes, holes are short. And foliage is light. But given the size of Chicago and what feels like a lack of courses in the city, I'm glad it exists. Also, the need to keep shots in control (canal on one side, busy road on the other) means that drives are a bit more challenging than the distances would indicate (I find myself not throwing 100%).

I wonder if anyone has considered turning this into an 18 hole out-and-back, double-dipping on the existing pins. It's a shame that when you finish you need to walk the entire course to get back to the start, it really feels like a missed opportunity.

Overall, happy to have this as an option and I'll definitely be back.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Not Worth It

1    2/5/2017   2/5/2017
Review By: SpartanDisc
Played: 206  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 18.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -- Nice, large cement tees
-- Good baskets that are in good shape
-- Course map at the beginning is quite nice
-- Location. The city of Chicago really needs more courses that are fairly easy to reach via public transport. I live in the city and don't own a car so I thought that a 45 min train and bus ride was worth it to check this course out (read below to see how I was wrong). This location is reachable by multiple CTA routes depending where in the city you are
Cons: -- This park is long and narrow and the course goes in just one direction. Aside from the inconvenience of starting and stopping at two ends of the park, there is a very busy road on your right the entire time. With the park being so narrow, the possibility of an errant shot going into the road is very real. This seemed very dangerous and I was nervous throwing on several holes. This was compounded for me as a LHBH thrower by a strong tailwind. I was afraid to actually throw hard on the one long hole (450ft) because a slight mistake and the tailwind is taking my disc into a very busy road.
-- Wide open. There is very very little in terms of obstacles on most holes. Two holes are tucked behind thick bushes and trees, but are tucked in so close in such a location that there is no line to the basket (you can't even see the basket). Everything else is just a tee, a field, and a basket straight ahead. A 125 ft hole where you can't see the basket and there is no ace run possibility isn't much fun when the only shot is to go straight and long of a bush just so you can putt back to the basket that is tucked into said bush.
-- Very short. When combined with being wide open, there is no challenge or anything interesting being offered here.
-- Walking and biking path close by many holes. On a busy summer day, I can see a lot of potential of hitting someone walking or biking
-- It was very windy when I played, and given the fact that the long park and parallel street basically create a wind corridor, I feel like the wind is likely exaggerated here most days
Other Thoughts: At the time of this review I have played 140+ courses and can easily say I can't remember another one I disliked more than this course. A lot of this is due to the very real and dangerous road hazard along the entire park. I honestly didn't enjoy myself at all during most of the round (and I obviously LOVE playing this game) due to the road and pedestrian hazards in the back of my head. I have never played a course before that I just couldn't wait to finish and leave.

While I am all for more courses and especially more courses in Chicago, I feel this course almost shouldn't be there. The risk of hitting a person or car traveling 45 mph is just too high and such incidents would not help the reputation of our sport to the general public.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Course can be challenging if you play it with strict rules

5+    11/8/2016   11/9/2016
Review By: j2thafree31888
Played: 16  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is the closest course to my house. Actually close enough that I can play it quickly on my own during lunch if I work from home. I have also devised (what I consider challenging) a full 18 layout for this course. As stated in other reviews, it is a one way course. I have made a new course guide with updated rules and pictures so players can use this to get more out of this small course.
Cons: Recently, for whatever reason, they removed quite a few of the trees. this includes the tunnel shot that was hole 5. Now its just wide open. Sometimes the bike/walking path is very busy and its important to be mindful of the others using the park. Also McCormick running the length of the course bothers some. It's not that bad if you select the correct disc and are mindful of the wind.
Other Thoughts: Course guide OB/strict hole rules coming soon for my full 18 layout.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Change the Channel

1    9/6/2014   9/6/2014
Review By: Jukeshoe
Played: 250  Reviewed: 197  Exp: 11.3 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - North Shore Channel Trail DGC is located on a well-groomed narrow strip of park located between the namesake water channel to the left and a busy roadway to the right. The nine holes play through mostly open grassy areas dotted with the occasional tree, bush, or art sculpture.
- Baskets, tees, and general signage is sufficient enough. The tee pads are, like the majority of Chicago 9ers, ridiculously good for the short lengths. While no signage exists at each hole, the tee pads are all pretty much immediately visible and the flow is smooth enough to not really need signage. The course map at the beginning is really all one would need.
- Well placed pin positions help keep this course from being completely one dimensional. #1's basket has a pine bush backdrop that makes anything long and to the left a bit of a hassle to recover from. Bushes line the left of several fairways, preventing everything but the most unlucky or terrible shot from reaching the downward slope to the water, but also offering enough punishment for such a shot.
- #5 is a nice tunnel shot between a row of tree trunks, with a low ceiling provided by the leaves.
- The holes are open and short enough to be reachable by beginners, or suitable for a putter only round.
- #7 allows more experienced players to air it out a bit, clocking in well over 400 ft.
Cons: - This is a multi-use course all the way: expect to have to yield to pedestrians and bikers regularly throughout each round. The narrow nature of the park really accentuates the interweaving of course and pathways. Since the road is to the right, there's less chance of discs noob hyzering into the street, but I can still imagine the occasional turnover shot not coming back and getting blasted by traffic.
- #'s 4 and 8's baskets are placed blind behind bushes, with the next tee about 30' further. Dangerous as neither the people playing to the basket nor the people on the next tee can see each other.
- Despite the attempt to mix up the hole lengths, overall the course plays very short and will not provide much of challenge to more experienced players (excepting perhaps one disc rounds).
- The course does not play in a loop, leaving you the entire length of the course to walk back to the car. See comments below re: safari.
Other Thoughts: - This is a pleasant enough park, with flowers, well-trimmed bushes, regularly mowed grass, a pretty smattering of trees, and the sculptures that pop up along (and in) the fairways. The main problem is the lack of a true challenge, any sort of real elevation change, and the masses of bikers and walkers.
- Definitely nothing to avoid if you're nearby, but not something to go out of your way for; the course is sufficiently designed to "scratch the itch" but it's not going to wow anyone.
- The potential to safari from 9 back to the parking lot is a possibility, but with anyone else on the course it might not be advisable.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Sculpture Fun

5+    6/22/2014   6/22/2014
Review By: shai
Played: 14  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 21.5 Years
This review was updated on 7/5/2017
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Short mostly open holes, with hole 5 the signature hole - through a 220' foot tree tunnel. A 900 rated player -- I regularly shoot 3 or 4 under. The tees are excellent, and some holes are nicely tucked away behind protection by bushes and trees. The length keeps this course fine for beginners, but the proximity to a busy street requires accurate throws that beginners will find intimidating.
Cons: Many of the fairways and natural lines cross running and bike paths that can be busy. There are even park benches within 20 feet of some holes! These hazards make the course inappropriate for casual players. Experienced players need to yield to other park users, but will have no trouble avoiding obstacles. The left side of the course are heavy woods protecting a canal, and the right side is a busy highway with no barrier. I have more than once left my disk in the middle of highway on a windy day, narrowly missing passing cars. And, once a truck dragged and bumped my disk an extra 100 feet and back on the fairway! Nice.

The signature hole is now gone and lame. All the trees that made the tunnel are cut down. So now it is just a 200 foot nothing hole... Ugh
Other Thoughts: The course can be played in reverse with a nice variation and a tougher collection of 9 holes. This makes a nice 18 hole loop. Bottom line is that the course is a great plus for Chicago, and I enjoy playing it -- so I give it 2.5.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Dangerous, but OK practice spot

1    8/6/2013   8/8/2013
Review By: Furry Lint Trap
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 17.6 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Nice Concrete tees & New Baskets

- Free Parking north of course

- OK mid-range/putt practice

- Well manicured, easy to follow

- Fairly close to City
Cons: - Dangerous for beginners. VERY close to busy 4 lane

- No Tee markers with hole info

- 1 direction course, which means LONG walk back

- A couple baskets are just plopped right behind huge bushes, and with no tee signs with info, hard to tell where they are unless you walk to find it
Other Thoughts: - A beginner course, no doubt, that lacks any dimension at all. Most holes are short (one is even 90'..par 2?) and a mid-range (or even putter) can be used on all holes for the experienced player. Be careful using a driver as I had my XL turn on me and land in the median of McCormick (which I played obviously)

- Hole 5 is the coolest hole, but only because of the placement of the trees, and not the actual hole layout. (It's directly straight from tee to basket)

- Might play it again if up in the area, but IIT is a tad better IMO.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.