Willow Street, PA 
Ship Rock DGC Share
Uploaded By: shiprockdiscgolf  
Course Sign



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Two-thirds great

1    7/18/2013   7/18/2013
Review By: Crooow
Played: 196  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 30.2 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great tee pads (fly pads). Great new DISCatcher baskets. Really interesting holes (but see below). Area is dedicated to disc golf so no interference. Nice mix of hole lengths. Mostly open but some wooded holes as well. All the par 3 holes were fun and not ridiculous. Plenty of opportunities to air out your arm. Pretty easy to find your way around.
Cons: Lots of long wide open holes that get boring after a while unless you can accurately throw 450-500 feet (see below). No amenities. Directions here are accurate but the turn-in comes up unexpectedly on a heavily traveled road with fast moving cars.
Other Thoughts: As I played the opening 12 holes, I was thinking "4.5". When I played the last 6, I was thinking "3.5 or lower" so I settled on 4.0 as a compromise. I got par on all par 3s (actually birdied #5) but I don't have a big arm so I bogeyed most of the longer holes (with at least one double bogey).

It starts out great with a par 4 curve around a wooded area and the basket tucked here the hill side which wasn't that hard despite being listed as 704 feet. #2 is a short from the hillside through some woods to a basket on the other side on a clearing. #3 is a short one up a narrow path with a small landing area (big roll away possibility).

#4 is the first long open hole (par 4, 723 feet, gradual downhill) and was fun to air it out. #5 is a picturesque 244-footer around the remains of a stone building to an elevated basket. #6 is an 853-foot uphill par 5 which was fun for the first one of these.

#7 is a 696-foot par 4 slightly downhill with a mando and a tree line that you need to negotiate. #8 is a fun little 358-footer downgrade with the basket protected by a few trees.#9 is a 486-footer that follows a curving fairway that narrows to a basket in the woods up a small incline.

#10 is a fairly easy straightforward hole with a few trees to get your confidence back. #11 is the shortest hole (204 feet) but perilous as you have a sharp left turn with a cliff and the basket at the base of the cliff. If you overshoot, your disc goes into a large creek where you may lose it. For #12, you throw off a wooden deck through some light woods with the basket out in a clearing.

After this is where I got disappointed. #13 is a flat straight 298-footer in a wide open field. #14 is a flat straight 614 footer farther down that same wide open field. #15 is a 579-footer up a big hill but also wide open. #16 is a 640-footer down the same hill with one tree line to negotiate. Then #17 is a 538-footer up the same hill again (just farther down). Then you finish with #18 which is a 325-footer that starts up the hill and then levels out. It is also wide open and not bad except that the previous 5 holes had already bored me as just drudgery.

It seems such a shame that the course ends on such a boring but still difficult set of holes. If/when I return I will probably just play 1-13, then 5-13, and then 5-6 back to my car.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Great Addition to the Lancaster Circuit

1    4/9/2013   4/10/2013
Review By: Caelstrom
Played: 13  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - This course was very easy to follow. The signage was simple and never left you guessing. The progression of the holes felt very natural. Somebody obviously put a lot of thought into the design/layout of this course.

- Holes 3, 10, and 11 added some great variety to the course with tight shots and several obstructions.

- Lots of fun elevation changes and some interesting mandos.
Cons: - As of 4/9/13 a large pile of debris in the middle of hole 5 (looks like they tore down an old barn) made this hole a little dangerous.

- This may seem a little petty, but a bench or two (and maybe a few trash cans along the way) would be great amenities for this course. Right now there's no place to sit and rest (save for on the ground), and you will notice the occasional litter (which hopefully would be solved by the addition of trash cans).
Other Thoughts: - Don't overshoot the baskets for holes 2 and 16 unless you want to go swimming for your disc. These baskets are backed-up by a large creek.

- This course is very open (not much shade) so bring sunscreen and be prepared to fight the wind on holes 1, 4, 6, 7, 8, 15, 16, 17, and 18.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Big Arms Delight

1    1/12/2013   1/14/2013
Review By: Airubus
Played: 43  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 14.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/3/2013
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This area is clearly designated for disc golfers only! You wont find any hikers, or sunbathers, or dog walkers, etc.. This place is a beautiful property with great elevation changes and a winding creek, with overlooking cliffs, well off any road. That said:

The views are great. keep your head up and look around on every hole. It's just beautiful.

The signage is great. Not only the tee signs with distances, but also the arrows under the baskets pointing to the next tee.

All the tee-pads are fly-tees, and were level with plenty of run-up, (save for hole 12).

With holes abundant in 600ft or more, this is a great course to practice throwing hard and getting that big D. If you've a big arm and can throw 350-400+ ft...you'll be ringing in birdies. If you're looking to practice a 700ft downhill dream, it's here. Likewise, a 700ft uphill monster? it's here.

(Update June 2013) Now with a garbage can at the bulletin board!
Cons: It's the little things that separate the good courses from the best courses. it's hard to ding courses for the little things, but little things add up to great things.

With the length of the course, i don't remember any benches to take a rest. I could see older/younger, or disabled persons wanting a break.

(Update June 2013 - With the grass high and fairways mowed, the out of bounds was obvious) In the winter-time, the grass is gone and the out-of-bounds ropes were invisible to my eyes until i literally tripped over one. it's a small gauge white string, and in some places, staked in the ground with tree branches. Thicker gauge yellow rope with low profile (1' x 1" lumber) stakes would be a welcome upgrade.

I don't know if it were my eyes or not, but some of the tee signs included trees that just weren't there which left me looking at the sign, then the fairway, back to the sign, back to the fairway...then confusion.

If you cant throw far (as in greater than 350') you'll look at a 700ft hole with little to no obstacles and become bored. there are many - many long holes with little to no obstacles that will leave you with the feeling, "i guess i'll just throw till i can putt"

Safety. Few holes will put you in harms way. Nothing really bad except for holes 4 and 10. Once you finish the previous holes, you will literally walk up the fairway to the next tee-pad. With such a large amount of land and countless 600+ft holes, i still find myself questioning why am walking 40ft up a fairway into someone's drive with so much land around me.

As of now, the parking was limited (for the stone parking) and the driveway was muddy (on this particular day). it's not a big deal, but i think you could fit 6-10 cars on the stone (i think) I don't think you could get stuck, but beware in muddy conditions if you're parking off the stone in a 2WD car.
Other Thoughts: This course is in serious need of short tees (like a Blue tee long position and a white tee short position and even a red tee - recreational position).

I think this course is a prime example of what a course could be if multiple tees AND multiple pins were utilized. That alone could generate countless and unpredictable layouts accessible to players of all skill levels. I can throw 300ft consistently. i would see a 700ft hole and think - "ok...another 4"

On some of the open field shots, i think a roped off "island" hole would add to the challenge, rather than "Drive. Drive. Putt. Repeat"

Little things disc golfers would LOVE to see: A mailbox stocked with scorecards, and drop box for lost/found discs. Buried/painted bricks on the fairways to gauge distance: Blue 300', White 200', and Red 100'. Likewise, how about a buried marker around the pins indicating 40' for a jump putt? One little amenity i just love, is a vertical 4" x 4" piece of lumber with pegs to hang your disc bag at the tee-pads.

If you're playing in the summer-time BRING WATER! There isn't much cover on the back 9 and if the sun is out and the heat is on...you'll be hurting.

This is a great addition to the local courses, and I'm VERY excited to see the direction the local club takes! kudos to a beautiful course, albeit long!

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Better than expected

1    1/5/2013   1/7/2013
Review By: Radarx
Played: 53  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 7.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Excellent use of property and a well layed out course with several signature holes. The course played much longer than I expected but several of those longer holes play downhill for some spectacular drives. Mostly open course with about 4 very unique wood holes. Most of the longer open holes have some sort of elevation involved that gives the course its "fun factor" to play and keeps the holes from becoming to similar. Course flow worked out really well bringing you in and out of the woods throughout the course.

A lot of work seems to have gone into the course featuring new signs & tees, platform tee, rope rails, elevated tees in the hill side and good clearing of the wooded holes & paths to next hole. I thought it looked like a well established course even though it's new.

It's a great addition to the Lancaster area courses and a real change of pace by adding this style of course.

Signature holes in my opinion 5, 15 & 16. Most unique hole I ever played - 11

Cons: Hole 4/6/7 - the fairways need a little more work to determine OB. There is a rope fence but it's still a little difficult to determine and see if playing for the first time. Perhaps a low solid construction fence or hang something from the rope. Hole 6 in my opinion should have a mando to keep you from throwing over 7 fairway. I totally missed 7's mando.

I played on a mostly frozen ground but really concerned this course could become very muddy at times on the lower holes.

Needs directional arrow top of hill on 3 pointing to 4 tee.

Hole 9 should have a mando to keep you from throwing into 13 fairway. Needs directional arrow on 9 basket pointing at 10 tee otherwise everyone without map will walk to 13 tee first.

No rec or beginner tees on the longer holes.
Other Thoughts: If you are looking for a longer course which seems to be trending these days, this is the course for you. If you are a beginner you will struggle with length but this course offers an excellent chance to work on longer drives with less concern of lost of disc.

With Buchmiller only 10 min away it makes a great combo day but this course is worth the travel by itself.

Need a couple of long poles (conduit) or branches on holes 2 & 11 to get your disc out of the water.

Would be nice to have a port-a-pot., picnic table & loss disc return area.

Real interested to see what this course is like in the summer. Course is just missing enough minor things to keep me from rating this a 4 but the course is well on its way.


4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Tough for beginners

5+    12/15/2012   12/26/2012
Review By: hiker300
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Thanks to the designers for bringing another disc golf course to the Lancaster area. Course uses existing terrain well. Very nice signs at each tee box show you what to expect on each hole. Small wooden signs on the bottom of each basket point you directly to the next tee box and eliminate one of the most frustrating parts of playing an unfamiliar course.
Cons: Having taken up the game this year, this course is extremely difficult for a beginner, especially if you aren't able to throw the disc over 300 ft on a consistent basis. Hole 6 is 850 feet uphill and a dogleg right. It takes me five shots to get close to the basket, virtually taking birdie away. The course gets extremely muddy after a rain due to the creek in the lower part of the course,making play difficult, even dangerous at times. Many holes require two or more bomb shots to start and have no trees along the fairways to at least add more visual appeal to the holes and guide you to the basket. This results in several holes looking too similar to each other, though it is understandable for a newly established course. If trees are planted as I have heard they will be it will be a great help.
Other Thoughts: Be very careful when walking up to look over the cliff to the basket on hole 11. There are several small stumps in the ground from trees that were removed, leaving a trip hazard that could send you over the edge of the cliff. This also exists on other holes on the course. Overall this is a good course for an experienced player who can throw with distance. Buchmiller is a better course for a beginner, but playing here and returning to Buchmiller will make the shorter course seem much easier.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Enola Gay

2-4    11/12/2012   12/2/2012
Review By: swatso
Played: 495  Reviewed: 367  Exp: 9 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Nice tee locations, with quality signs, 4'x10' flat, rubber teepads, surrounded by mulch.

New baskets, including a practice basket. Plenty of space to warm-up.
Cons:
Don't know how often the neighbouring creek floods, but it had recently done so prior to our playing, rending teepads 9, 14, and 17 unusable, and the greens/fairways of 2, 13, 14, and 16 quite mucky.

As others have mentioned, the out-of-bounds is inconsistent, and not always well-marked. Probably best to play all parallel airways as ob, and as the course matures, hopefully there will be a narrow strip of high grass to define the lines.

Considering about half the holes are bombers, the 10' long teepad felt a bit short.

Single-tee/basket position.
Other Thoughts:
The course is set on former farmland, bordered by a wide creek along 2/3rds, and fields the other 1/3rd. While the land closest to the creek, which holds a portion of the course, is quite flat, the remaining land, containing the bulk of the course, irregularly slopes down towards it. A rim of woods and an abandoned barn provide obstacles, preventing the course from being just a pure grip-n-rip.

That said, approximately half the holes are 500'+, with the length, relatively-distant ob, and, at times, some squeeze-points near the basket providing the challenge. Another ~quarter of holes are similar in openness to these, but at 325'+/- 25', are reachable from the tee by a larger audience. The remaining ~quarter of holes aren't about distance (~225', +/-), but about touch, with trees to avoid and/or specific lines to hit to have the birdy chance.

Navigation: The dirt, single-track path leading to the parking lot is roughly opposite three blue silos. With the map, navigating the course is fairly simple, as long as you remember to back track on #4 (tee to left ~200' after exiting woods, basket ~500' to the right), and #10 (from basket-9, find path through cluster of small trees along right-side of narrowing fairway-9).

Favourite holes: #5 (Touch), requires you to avoid the barn, along with some branches on the left, to find the basket in an elevated position, just off the corner. #16 (Bomb). Steadily downslope at the start, even a good drive will make you think about how to avoid the tall row of trees between you and the wide-open basket, sitting far away on the other side of them.

Bombers should enjoy this course. Technicians will only be able to scratch that particular itch a couple of times. The course is about a 2.74 for me, and I will certainly consider playing it again when passing through the area.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Ship Rock

2-4    12/1/2012   12/2/2012
Review By: Thenshaw
Played: 71  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 9.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: New Course. New Tees. Well thought out holes. Good Use of Elevation. Excellent signage and navigation. Right off main highway and easy to find. Nice scenery. Great flow and some nice risk/reward with the rough and water coming into play at times. Extremely fun and definitely challenging course.
Cons: Ob's are a little unclear sometimes especially on some of the long open holes. No noticeable restroom facilities or trash cans. (picky, i know, but not a whole lot to place as cons)
Other Thoughts: This is my second run through this new park. I played here in early September and the rough was still pretty unforgiving and the view was totally different due to the cornfields and other foilage being plentiful. As i have mentioned before, I have no real arm and do not drive far at all. However, this was not an issue despite some long holes. I loved the layout and brought a friend who had not played here yet, and he was very impressed with the fun factor of the holes from the get go. Most holes are fairly open but they all add some challenge with obstacles and the ob's. The wooded holes are especially fun and seem placed perfectly to add to the flow. holes 1, 3, 5, 11 and 12 were definitely my personal favorites and each had special touches that made them unique. The first time I played here was early in the morning and the dew made for an extremely wet day due to the open fairways. Today, even though Hurricane Sandy was over a month ago, the holes in the back of the course closer to the creek were just crazy muddy. It made it extremely difficult to walk let alone to tee off, but at the same time does not seem like it will be a regular issue. Overall this course is quickly becoming one of my favorites. It is a good almost two hour drive for me to get to, but it is definitely worth it especially with other courses not too far. It is challenging and could be frustrating for some beginners due to the long holes, but I enjoy a challenge and look forward to playing here again soon.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

solid, but not spectacular

5+    10/28/2012   10/28/2012
Review By: globetrotter
Played: 87  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 4.9 Years
This review was updated on 7/18/2017
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: - Has a couple of unique and interesting holes.
- Good complement to other courses in the area.
- Opportunity to air out some drives.
- Multiple legitimate par 4 and 5's.
Cons: -- Can get a little repetitive due to the long, wide open nature of many of the holes.
-- Relies a bit too heavily on OB.
-- The lower half of the course by the creek retains a lot of water and will be muddy if it has rained recently.
-- The upper half of the course doesn't provide much cover from the sun.
Other Thoughts: Ship Rock is a long, mostly open course with a large amount of OB and a creek that comes into play on four or five holes. I guess it would fall under the category of a park style course, although it was built on a fielded area that used to be farmed, in the middle of Amish country, so it has a bit of a different feel to it than a typical park style course.
Ship Rock is a solid advanced level course. Not spectacular, but definitely a good course. It has a couple of really interesting holes, including one that plays to a basket located down over the edge of a severely sloped 15 foot "cliff". There are also a couple of good multiple shot holes where placement off the tee is crucial. On the other hand, there are also a couple of uninspired holes without any real obstacles. It can also get a little repetitive, especially towards the end. There are just too many long, wide open shots.
There have been improvements made since the course went in. Notably, much of the undergrowth and tall grass has been removed. There have also been trees planted on at least one hole, which will add a little more challenge and variety. I also believe there are plans to install shorter tees.
Overall, I think Ship Rock is a good course. Like I said, solid, but not spectacular. However, between Ship Rock and some of the nearby courses (Muddy Run, D.F. Buchmiller Park, etc.), I think it is definitely worth making a trip to the area.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Solid

1    9/13/2012   9/13/2012
Review By: Shamis
Played: 53  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 7.1 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Beautiful scenery.
Nice layout.
Good mix of distance holes and precision holes.
Wonderful Signs.
Very Nice new rubber tees.
Cons: high grass in many places. Long pants recommended.
Other Thoughts: Once this gets broken in a bit, and perhaps once they plant a few more trees this course could be a 5/5.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 A good play

1    9/5/2012   9/7/2012
Review By: chariotherr
Played: 11  Reviewed: 3
This review was updated on 3/30/2013
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great new course for the area.

-Great tee pads and marking, not difficult no navigate at all.
-Good use of elevation and reasonable fairways, challenging, but not obnoxiously tight.
-Some really creative holes. One plays around an over grown barn, one drops off a 20 foot cliff (with the basket right at the bottom). It provides for some very fun holes.
-Just because my "pros" list is shorter than my "cons" list, don't be fooled. It's a good course.
Cons: -New and still rough, not in hole design, but in upkeep. Lots of grass, so unless someone is spending a lot of time keeping it up, it'll likely get fairly over grown.
-A lot of open field rolling terrain, which while sometimes very fun, also gives you practically no reference points to find your disc. As soon as it flies over a slight hill and its landing point is out of view, it'll likely take you a good amount of time to find your disc, even if it's not hidden. I spent a frustratingly large amount of time looking for discs in the wide open. The grass wasn't all that long, but long enough to hide the disc unless you were within 10 or 15 feet.
-Spotters are useful for many holes. Playing solo would be doable, but far from preferable. There's a few blind corner/obstructed view shots
Other Thoughts: -Make sure you know exactly where you're going. The driveway is very well hidden in the corn fields and marked with a sign that doesn't currently stick out very well.
-If you're from the area, this course is a definite play. If you're just passing through, Buchmiller park offers a shorter, but more well done course. You pick.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.