Boyertown, PA 
Boyertown Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: sbleiler Hole #7 (Taken 6/2013)
3 / 259ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Basket



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 25
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3
More than a Community Course But Not a Destination Course

5+    11/6/2018   11/25/2018
Review By: itsRudy
Played: 32  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 2.6 Years
This review was updated on 12/17/2018
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
Boyertown Park DGC is a busy park smack dab in the middle of town and the best par-3 intermediate level community course within at least a half hour's drive.

The overall experience is just ahead of many other community courses around here. It has okay tees, excellent signs, and yellow-banded discatcher baskets. And a fun par-3 layout with both open and forested variations as well as gentle slopes at play.

It's a treed course but not heavy enough to annoy even players of bad aim in the forested fairways. The terrain also helps it stay relatively dry when others course in the area have turned into soggy mud baths.

It's the home of a local club, the Phat Cats and many of their events. Which makes the course busier but also keeps it top notch by staying on top of most issues that crop up.

On days I have time, I like to play this course and Kenilworth, about 15m drive away, back-to-back and then finish up with one of the area's 9ers.
Cons:
It's not quite perfect. My biggest gripe is that the tees are too short for many players and many are also raised off the ground on the frontside, making it a hazard for oversteppers.

Advanced players might find the course has too little shot shaping from the tee to be a real challenge and the holes may just blend together for them.

This is about the only park I've experienced, so far, where they close just the DG course for various reasons, such as during and after extended heavy rainfall to protect the grass. It's not overly frequent but it occurs.

Even on off-days and times, the amount of park crowd can be intimidating for a newbie and it's a place I avoid when one of the frequent community events are happening, mostly in the summer.

#1 is probably the best technical hole, but it tees off right by a busy playground that almost always seems to have kids running about and I skip it often for safety, unfortunately.

Autumn's leaves also tend to pile up and can lay here for months on end, sometimes til spring before any cleanup happens. I've lost a disc last winter, it landed at a low angle and couldn't find it despite seeing the landing spot. I've also passed other groups spending at least 20 minutes hunting for their discs amongst leaves. A disc I stepped on back in April looked like it was hidden for years.

The portapotties, if not MIA as they have been lately, are only somewhat near #1 and 17.
Other Thoughts:
Starting Point: Closest parking lot is on the left coming in, right after the baseball field. First tee is located on the left side of the playgound at 40.323622, -75.635959 (google maps).

Tees: Good quality concrete that looks fresh, perhaps 7.5'x4'. Too short imo, nearby Kenilworth is 10'x5' for comparison. Also raised off the ground in front, sometimes by as much as a foot, watch out!

Signage: Big, illustrated signs that are concise and on visible yellow posts.

Baskets: Discatchers.

Terrain: Lightly/Medium forest throughout with slight hills on some sections, but even with trees in the fairways, it's mostly not a hindrance. Some trunks, few branches.

Problematic Wet Areas: #5 just before the stream and 10' after. Area around basket#14. Before Tee#15. It's dry relative to other area courses.

Shot Shaping: Minimal. Surprisingly and extremely LHBH/RHBH agnostic throughout, almost every basket can be reached with a straightish shot from the tee except #1 and #6 which benefit from forehand. There are some thread the needle starts.

Disc Loss Risk: Low to Low Medium depending on season. The stream bisecting #5 if you're unwilling to get pants wet to retrieve it. In the piles of leaves that seem to stay around for months, sometimes till spring.

Experience Level: Medium/Low with 264' average length, shortest at 214', longest at 365'. Not the best spot to learn as a newb due to amount of park crowd but beginners should feel fine after a few courses under their belts.

Park Crowd: This is a busy park with lots of joggers and dogwalkers even during winter and the normal crowd is a factor mostly at beginning holes #1-4 and a bit less so #15-18. Especially #1. There is an asphalt trail winding throughout that will have enough occasional walkers close to some other holes.

Other Players: Busy enough, expect other groups even on weekdays in winter. The fairways of #7, 8, 9 lay side-by-side, so watch out for flying discs and oncoming players here. It's also a home course to the Phat Cats Disc Golf Club and their events.

Driving Practice Fields: Not really. You can try the area before tee#5, but the street is on the left and there are frequent walkers.

Bathrooms: None on immediate course. There are permanent bathrooms near #16 but in two years playing, I have never seen these open once regardless of season. Perhaps open during community events? Portapotties moved around recently, check end of parking lots including the big one across from the baseball diamond, on the right just as you drive in.

Water Fountain: No. Installed by bathrooms, also don't work. Amusingly, the one for dogs does.

Course Layout: RHBH POV. It's 4757' long overall and not your typical clean circular loop but it loops. #1-3 loop. #1 is two columns of trees to navigate a clean shot in between, basket on right. #2 is open. #3 is on left, across path and backtracks to beginning, trees like to be unfriendly here and small stream lengthwise. #4 branches out. It's fairly open with several tall tree trunks to avoid halfway through.

#5-14 is away from the main park. Tee#5 is on high ground as is the basket, in between is a valley bisected by a stream. On the left is road.

#6-11 are a series of down and up and down again forest holes. #6 is an dowhill anhyzer. Fairways of #7, 8, 9 play side-by-side. #11 shoots downwards for 325' with a deeper stream ravine right before the basket. Backtrack across bridge, tee#12 on right. #12-13-14 is a loop.

Go over the bridge for the last time, now back to the main park. #15 is a thread-the-needle start and rest of hole is an alley surrounded by trees. #16 is fairly open, basket in tree cluster. A minute walk down toward playground for tee#17, basket#17 is an immediate backtrack. Tee#18 by outdoor excercise center, 365', basket in tree cluster near playground where we started. Done.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Course Was Perfect For Me And That Might Not Be A Ringing Endorsement!

1    5/3/2018   5/3/2018
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 1316  Reviewed: 1265  Exp: 40.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Have you ever played a course where everything just seemed perfect? The weather? Your throwing! Just the overall disc experience! My afternoon at Boyertown was one of those days. Boyertown is good sized city park with gently rolling hills, a pretty creek and lots of majestic trees. The park is well used and your game might be interrupted by the other folks out enjoying the park. I played on an unseasonably warm spring day in early May, temperature in the mid 80's. I have been in a bit of funk, disc golf wise, struggling with my release, etc. Suddenly, things just clicked.

The disc golf course somehow manages to avoid the busiest parts of the park. Starting by the children's play area, there were kids everywhere and I thought this was going to be a concern. But very quickly I was away from the hordes and was out enjoying the peaceful solitude of this beautiful park.

The amenities here are to notch. The tee signs are the biggest I've ever seen, 18" x 24", mounted on these yellow poles, making them very visible. Most poles had bag hooks to keep your bags off the wet ground or in the case of us old men, keep us from having to bend over and pick up our bags. And these yellow poles are so helpful with navigation. How much easier would it be to navigate a course like Upper Salford if they had these yellow posts and huge signs? The pads are concrete although I personally would have liked them a couple feet longer. The yellow trimmed Discatchers are easy to spot.

# 1 sets the tone with a 229' gentling curving throw down a lovely natural fairway through the trees. Great opening hole! # 5 was fun being a 300' throw from an elevated tee position to a basket across this small valley and slightly up a little hillside. Then # 6 is a perfect little place to sit a spell with a nice bench. I found hole after hole to to be enjoyable, all having fair lines. The course is probably just a recreational level. Better players would destroy this course. Have it for lunch! For my playing ability, it was superb.
Cons: I've heard from multiple sources that the park's department is very quick to shut the course down for reasons such as extra busy days, to chance of falling limbs and even, days when the park is too wet and soggy. I guess I'm jus5 lucky that I got to play on a perfect spring day.

This park is busy. You need to exercise some courtesy when playing. Maybe let that young mother with a stroller pass before throwing.

The concrete pads were adequate but I would have liked about two more feet for my run-up.

I'm sure some players would like more challenge, maybe some advanced tee pads. Personally, I like the simplicity of only having one pad and one basket placement.
Other Thoughts: This course fits me like that perfect pair of old Levi's that you can't stand to part with. It was long enough to provide me with the challenge I want but open enough not to be frustrating. If I throw well, for me, I can birdie these holes, is not then it's par time. I could play this course everyday if only the over zealous park's department officials could stop meddling with things and just leave the course open. Boyertown DGC has been entered into my favorites and my only regret is I doubt whether I'll ever get back to these parts again.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Good for beginners and great for boosting your ego

2-4    7/31/2017   7/31/2017
Review By: B_Murray
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nowhere to lose a disc. Extremely well maintained. Fun and easy course. Even a baddie like me can make a few birdies here. Unlike some reviewers, I like the park atmosphere as long as you are careful not to throw towards joggers/walkers. Slightly hilly terrain.
Cons: Fairways are too close together. A bad tree skip will easily send your disc into an adjacent fairway on about half of the holes.

It's a super easy course.
Other Thoughts: If your arm and ego need a vacation from the area's bigger courses, this is where to go. It's actually a really charming little course, but ultimately underwhelming.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Dangerous Tees Ruin an Otherwise Fun Course

2-4    7/16/2017   7/19/2017
Review By: cheesemuffin
Played: 8  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.7 Years
This review was updated on 7/24/2017
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Most of the holes aren't too memorable as the course runs through a congested park, but on average they are designed better than most holes on other p3 courses.

The course is very well maintained.

It's not too noticeable at first, but elevation comes into play frequently.

Lots of chances for aces, but baskets are often well guarded and demand precision.

You're not going to lose any discs here unless you are already having a bad day.

It's easy to find your way around without a map or markers.


Cons: NOT THE TEES! Seriously.
I present exhibit A: http://imgur.com/a/tyAch

The raised concrete tees are very short and extremely hazardous. The tee on hole 8 has a 8" drop onto a downward slope with concrete, rocks and tree roots. My friend took a half step too far and went over, rolling his ankle and needing transport to the hospital. Many of the tees are like this, short and raised so you are sure to injure yourself should you have a misstep. They really need to be completely reworked before someone else gets hurt. There were several holes I chose to take a standing drive and not risk injury.

The park is congested and there is a walking path along almost half of the holes. You will have to really watch out for people on some of the holes, and you may get stuck behind a group. Two holes have intersecting fairways.
Other Thoughts: Aside from the congestion and unplayable tees the course is very nice. I would give b-town a 3.5 if they fixed the tees, but I can't recommend it currently.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Very Nice Park

2-4    12/28/2016   1/3/2017
Review By: MarcB
Played: 9  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.4 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Very easy to navigate.
Nice Woods-trees spaced good
Cons: Concrete Pads could be a little longer
Other Thoughts: This is an excellent course, visiting my Daughter who lives less than 5 miles from here. She just got into Disc golf so excellent home course for her.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Birdietown

2-4    3/27/2016   3/27/2016
Review By: Zunz
Played: 81  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 5.2 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Concrete tee pads
Awesome tee signs
Easy to walk
Intuitive navigation (next tees are marked on tee signs)
VERY beginner friendly
Cons: No online map
Been there 4 times and have never seen the bathrooms open
Other Thoughts: Boyertown Park DGC is the most, "California" course I've played outside of, well... California. What I mean by that is; it's a crowded, multi-use park where the course seems to cover every square inch of the property while still minimizing interactions with other park patrons. There were only a couple of occasions during my round today that I had to wait for people walking along the paths to move out of errant shot range. West Coast style course in this case also means that there are quite a few trees on the course but you're not in the woods on any of the holes. There's no real understory to speak of, just the trunks of tall trees to miss. There aren't any tunnel shots and none of the holes are spray and pray. There are multiple lines to hit depending on how you want to go around the trees standing between you and the basket. There are distinct fairways but getting to the basket isn't dependent on staying in them. The design also maximizes all of the available elevation the park has to offer, making even the straight shots more interesting.
One of the things I like the most about Birdietown is that it makes me feel like I have a big arm when the reality is I'm a noodle armed rec/am player. None of the holes feel short, but I can reach every basket from the tee. There are a couple of open field shots early in the round to let you flex your muscles before moving into the more technical wooded sections. There aren't many places on this course where the penalty for a bad shot is all that severe (other than a very early tree and a massive kick to the side), you'll generally find yourself with a decent putting lane no matter where you ended up off the tee.

Final Thoughts: Boyertown Park DGC is simply A LOT of fun to play. It's not the most challenging course in the area and it's certainly not the easiest, but the feel of the course is quite unique and unlike any of the other local courses.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

5+    9/6/2015   9/6/2015
Review By: Ktbauer
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 25.7 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This a very well laid out course with great sight lines. Some nice wide open shits and some tighter ones as well. Poison ivy abounds but they spray it regularly so it isn't really an issue. Go early to play so you don't have as many people meandering around the course exercising and getting in your line of fire.
Cons: Only con is that it would be nice if it were a little longer.
Other Thoughts: Final thought is that it is a great course you'll love playing time and time again.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Easy, even for beginners.

2-4    7/3/2015   7/7/2015
Review By: The0ldMan
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fairly easy to follow layout. The middle holes involve just going up and down the same hill a few times but there's some good variety of left and right drives. There's a few wide open drives which are always nice after bouncing off a couple trees. Very fast course with short walks from pin to next tee. We typically play 2 games on most courses and that takes us 4-5 hours. We played 3 games here in less time. If you want to bring some friends for their first game, this is the easiest course I've played. For more experienced players, birdies will be very common.
Cons: Hole 17 can be a little tricky to find the first couple times you play through. And the walking paths can get crowded. There is a small creek running through the first half of the course. It's shallow enough that you won't get your feet wet even if you land right in the water, but the surrounding banks were a pretty soggy after some rain.

Poison ivy...everywhere, not everywhere, but a lot of it. There was a whole field of it to the right of hole 4 I think, and it was climbing up a lot of the trees. It looked like it had been sprayed recently and I didn't have any breakouts after even after trudging though a lot of it. If you're particularly sensitive to it, just be careful out there.
Other Thoughts: There is a really big swimming pool at the same park and some very nice playgrounds for kids. I think the pool was $10 for a day pass but we were there to throw discs. If you arrive and the parking lot is packed, most of them are probably there to swim. Even with a lot of golfers, most holes are short enough that you'll never have to wait long, and a lot of the holes have benches or other seating. A good amount of trash cans scattered around as well.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Boyertown

1    11/28/2014   11/28/2014
Review By: adlacro
Played: 110  Reviewed: 90  Exp: 12.6 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 holes with nice DIScatcher baskets in great shape. The course weaves its way through the park with a mix of lefty and righty holes with a little elevation, a little water (its OB but shallow), and some other additional challenges. Some greens are quick for an added challenge. It is a par 54 course that will challenge good players for birdies and at the same time encourage people to pick up the game without overwhelming them. While quite wooded, the course doesn't really have any pinball holes, which is a plus.
Cons: There is a walking path that comes into play on a significant number of holes. It is OB, and when it is busy the temptation will always be there to just throw anyway. That is a quick way of getting a course pulled and negative publicity on this game. Take care when people are nearby, and skip a hole if you have to. There is a little bit of repetition here, and I understand the limited room the designer had, but just can get repetitive from time to time.
Other Thoughts: This breaks up the number of courses in the area with long bomber holes. If you don't mind packing the patience and want to work on the short game, or have friends that are starting to pick up the game, bring them to Boyertown.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Home course #1

5+    11/3/2014   11/5/2014
Review By: Onenationunderpar
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Excellent wooded course with great tees and baskets. Course has a great flow to it. Mostly technical mid range shots, some that benefit the flickers and others that traditional throwers will prefer. Park is maintained very well. Almost no brush to contend with as far as loosing discs. Hole 14 is the only one where that becomes a problem on the left side. Good course for beginners but yet challenging enough for pros to enjoy as well.
Cons: In fall the leaves become a huge problem with discs sliding under and becoming buried. Lots of foot traffic in the park so there are times you may have to wait as to not endanger other park goers.
Other Thoughts: This is my home course and is located not even 5 mins from my house. I've played this course when it was only a small nine hole and am very happy to see it progress and become bigger better and more followed by the pro league. I have hole #16 aced here that was documented by BDGC one night at there random draw dubs event! All the guys that go out to this weekly event are great people and fun to play with. Record round for me is a -9.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.