Boyertown, PA 
Boyertown Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: sbleiler Hole #6 (Taken 6/2013)
3 / 219ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Basket



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 27
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3
Great course for the area

1    5/12/2022   5/12/2022
Review By: lukedpt
Played: 37  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 22.4 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Older discatchers, but in good repair
-Diverse shots, good balance of wooded and open holes
-Wooded holes typically have lanes to shoot, often challenging but rewarding
-Good use of available space, including changes in elevation and even a few small creek crossing shots
-Excellent tee signs with apparently accurate distances
-Plenty of parking in multiple areas
-Bathrooms available
-Well kept grounds
Cons: -extremely short concrete tee pads, some have drop offs both in font and back
-would like to have some marking on each basket for where the next tee is
-Only single pin positions, even one extra position on most holes could make the course much more dynamic
Other Thoughts: Of the courses in close proximity to Pottstown, this is by far my favorite because of it's diversity of shots and cleanliness of the park. I really hope to see the tee pads lengthened as they are borderline unsafe. Overall, this is a fantastic course that can be enjoyed by players of all skill levels.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Throw ‘em straight!

1    12/21/2019   1/17/2020
Review By: HyooMac
Played: 278  Reviewed: 241  Exp: 4.9 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Very nice town park par 3 layout with elevation changes, a few open holes, and lots of trees everywhere else


+ Good baskets, concrete teepads and very good signage

+ A park course with wooded holes - throwing lines threading through tall oaks. Reminded me of the opening and closing holes at Tyler East, Thompson Park in central NJ, and Landis Park in southern NJ

+ Hole #1 is a great opener to give you an idea of what you'll be facing: it's only 230', but it's an alley through a lot of big trees

+ Holes #4 and #5 are wide open, and really let you air it out

+ There's a hillside that covers many of the holes in the middle of the course (most of holes #6 - #13). It's not steep, but there's enough elevation change to have to consider - whether it's compensating for extra fade on the downhill holes, or having enough disc on the uphill ones. It's the combination of elevation change and wooded throwing lines that gives Boyertown its personality

+ Hole #14 was a standout because of hazards: a fairly deep ravine all along the left, and a narrow landing zone with a stream behind it

+ Hole #18 is a very good finishing hole for this course. Other than #11, it's the longest hole - and its open enough to really try for a lot of distance. There's a huge tree about 300' out on the right side of the fairway that makes a great target

Cons:
- Muddy areas - there's a low area that cuts its way through parts of the first 9 holes, and following rain, your feet are gonna get wet

- Holes #15 and #16 felt like the weakest part of the course, but you can bag a couple of birds before reaching the somewhat more challenging finishing holes

Other Thoughts:
~ I felt like there were a lot of RHFH / LHBH holes on this course - or, more call for forehand off the tee than usually asked for. If you are a rightie who throws a great forehand or a tight backhand turnover/flex of 250' - 300', you're going to eat up this course

~ You're gonna hit trees. They'll spoil your shot, but because of the relatively clear ground around the trees, missed shots won't put you in jail. Much of my round was: 1) hit early tree, 2) scramble to get up and down for par

~ This is a really well-maintained course. It's probably some combination of the Park Department and the local club. The effort is evident everywhere, in the equipment, grounds care, the cleanliness and the upkeep

~ ~ Try nearby Boyertown HS for field practice. It's not on this site, but you can find it on uDisc. 9 new numbered Innova baskets around the playing fields. No tees or signs (a rangefinder really comes in handy to figure out distances), but it's worth a visit for field throwing. The layout of #8 challenges you to throw down from a bluff and you can shape your throw to fly through the uprights on a football practice field


6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Best Community Course For Quite A Ways

5+    4/6/2021   11/25/2018
Review By: itsRudy
Played: 56  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 5.9 Years
This review was updated on 3/21/2022
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
I like playing this park for an honest beginner par 3, a forested course without dealing with rough or bushes. Just bare tree trunks without a ton of branches near the ground. It required trajectories more often than not but isn't exactly surgical precision like with nearby Hanover. A previous review called this a California type course, unique in PA, and if that's the case, I guess I have to get out to CA more often.

It has good atmosphere, excellent signs, and yellow-banded discatchers. A small amount of elevation is at play and the forest keeps most of the course playable and dry during moderate rains, long after other local courses have turned into mud pits.

Boyertown Park is near the middle of town and the course is integrated into a well-visited park, with parts taking place along with other park patrons, at the head and tail end of the course. The middle is reasonably clear of park crowd. It's also the home course of the Phat Cats DG club and many of their events. Which keeps it busy but also keeps it in tip-top shape.

Combined with nearby Kenilworth, about 15 minute's drive, these are the best community courses in the local area, meaning having to drive up to Allentown north, Reading west (Laurelain), Sellersville east, and Downington south (Kerr Park) to find comparable community parks.

On days I have a lot of time, I like to play Rez Prk, Kenilworth and Boyertown back-to-back for 48 holes as the combined driving between them is maybe half-hour max and mostly highway.
Cons:
The smallish concrete tees can be dealbreakers. At 7.5'x4', they're serviceable but ankle-breakers for oversteppers. Many are further compromised by being at least 6+ inches off the ground at one end or the other, sometimes both. Side-teeing off maintaining identical lines is sometimes impossible with the tree lines. Over the years, I had 3 bad falls dirt diving off the front.

Even on seeming off-days and times, the amount of park crowd and even players can be intimidating. #1 is probably the best technical hole, but it tees off right next to a perpetually busy playground, along with a bunch of trees all too willing to kick a disc. I end up throwing a meek safety fairly often rather than an attempt an actual drive. #16 & #17 also can have lots of people beside them.

#16 WARNING. There's unfortunately a bench just left of the basket, across the asphalt path, where many people's disc will naturally fade and land. It's all too easy to miss seeing anybody there from the tee but be careful.

Autumn's leaves also tend to pile up and some years it can lay here for months on end before any cleanup happens. I've lost two discs into piles despite seeing the exact landing spot. Also found one. Also passed other groups spending at least 20 minutes hunting for their discs amongst leaves.

This is about the only community park, so far, that I experienced DG closures for various reasons, such as during and after extended heavy rainfall to protect the grass. It's not frequent but it happens.

April 2021. Unfortunately this place has lost a number of trees the past year to noticeably affect one or two holes. I guess, like Nockamixon, we can chalk this up to the invasive spotted lanternfly although I'm not sure if that's the cause.
Other Thoughts:
Starting Point: Drive in, park left right after the baseball field. Course starts by pavilion and playground.

Amenities: I never seen the permanent bathrooms open in 5 years. The portapotties wander around in the parking lot.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Course Was Perfect For Me And That Might Not Be A Ringing Endorsement!

1    5/3/2018   5/3/2018
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 1557  Reviewed: 1502  Exp: 44 Years
This review was updated on 7/24/2020
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Have you ever played a course where everything just seemed perfect? The weather? Your throwing! Just the overall disc experience! My afternoon at Boyertown was one of those days. Boyertown is good sized city park with gently rolling hills, a pretty creek and lots of majestic trees. The park is well used and your game might be interrupted by the other folks out enjoying the park. I played on an unseasonably warm spring day in early May, temperature in the mid 80's. I have been in a bit of funk, disc golf wise, struggling with my release, etc. Suddenly, things just clicked.

The disc golf course somehow manages to avoid the busiest parts of the park. Starting by the children's play area, there were kids everywhere and I thought this was going to be a concern. But very quickly I was away from the hordes and was out enjoying the peaceful solitude of this beautiful park.

The amenities here are top notch. The tee signs are the biggest I've ever seen, 18" x 24", mounted on these yellow poles, making them very visible. Most poles had bag hooks to keep your bags off the wet ground or in the case of us old men, keep us from having to bend over and pick up our bags. And these yellow poles are so helpful with navigation. How much easier would it be to navigate a course like Upper Salford if they had these yellow posts and huge signs? The pads are concrete although I personally would have liked them a couple feet longer. The yellow trimmed Discatchers are easy to spot.

# 1 sets the tone with a 229' gentling curving throw down a lovely natural fairway through the trees. Great opening hole! # 5 was fun being a 300' throw from an elevated tee position to a basket across this small valley and slightly up a little hillside. Then # 6 is a perfect little place to sit a spell with a nice bench. I found hole after hole to to be enjoyable, all having fair lines. The course is probably just a recreational level. Better players would destroy this course. Have it for lunch! For my playing ability, it was superb.
Cons: I've heard from multiple sources that the park's department is very quick to shut the course down for reasons such as extra busy days, to chance of falling limbs and even, days when the park is too wet and soggy. I guess I'm just ucky that I got to play on a perfect spring day.

This park is busy. You need to exercise some courtesy when playing. Maybe let that young mother with a stroller pass before throwing.

The concrete pads were adequate but I would have liked about two more feet for my run-up.

I'm sure some players would like more challenge, maybe some advanced tee pads. Personally, I like the simplicity of only having one pad and one basket placement.
Other Thoughts: This course fits me like that perfect pair of old Levi's that you can't stand to part with. It was long enough to provide me with the challenge I want but open enough not to be frustrating. If I throw well, for me, I can birdie these holes, is not then it's par time. I could play this course everyday if only the over zealous park's department officials could stop meddling with things and just leave the course open. Boyertown DGC has been entered into my favorites and my only regret is I doubt whether I'll ever get back to these parts again.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Good for beginners and great for boosting your ego

2-4    7/31/2017   7/31/2017
Review By: B_Murray
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nowhere to lose a disc. Extremely well maintained. Fun and easy course. Even a baddie like me can make a few birdies here. Unlike some reviewers, I like the park atmosphere as long as you are careful not to throw towards joggers/walkers. Slightly hilly terrain.
Cons: Fairways are too close together. A bad tree skip will easily send your disc into an adjacent fairway on about half of the holes.

It's a super easy course.
Other Thoughts: If your arm and ego need a vacation from the area's bigger courses, this is where to go. It's actually a really charming little course, but ultimately underwhelming.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Dangerous Tees Ruin an Otherwise Fun Course

2-4    7/16/2017   7/19/2017
Review By: cheesemuffin
Played: 8  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 9.1 Years
This review was updated on 7/24/2017
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Most of the holes aren't too memorable as the course runs through a congested park, but on average they are designed better than most holes on other p3 courses.

The course is very well maintained.

It's not too noticeable at first, but elevation comes into play frequently.

Lots of chances for aces, but baskets are often well guarded and demand precision.

You're not going to lose any discs here unless you are already having a bad day.

It's easy to find your way around without a map or markers.


Cons: NOT THE TEES! Seriously.
I present exhibit A: http://imgur.com/a/tyAch

The raised concrete tees are very short and extremely hazardous. The tee on hole 8 has a 8" drop onto a downward slope with concrete, rocks and tree roots. My friend took a half step too far and went over, rolling his ankle and needing transport to the hospital. Many of the tees are like this, short and raised so you are sure to injure yourself should you have a misstep. They really need to be completely reworked before someone else gets hurt. There were several holes I chose to take a standing drive and not risk injury.

The park is congested and there is a walking path along almost half of the holes. You will have to really watch out for people on some of the holes, and you may get stuck behind a group. Two holes have intersecting fairways.
Other Thoughts: Aside from the congestion and unplayable tees the course is very nice. I would give b-town a 3.5 if they fixed the tees, but I can't recommend it currently.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Very Nice Park

2-4    12/28/2016   1/3/2017
Review By: MarcB
Played: 9  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.7 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Very easy to navigate.
Nice Woods-trees spaced good
Cons: Concrete Pads could be a little longer
Other Thoughts: This is an excellent course, visiting my Daughter who lives less than 5 miles from here. She just got into Disc golf so excellent home course for her.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Birdietown

2-4    3/27/2016   3/27/2016
Review By: Zunz
Played: 85  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 8.6 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Concrete tee pads
Awesome tee signs
Easy to walk
Intuitive navigation (next tees are marked on tee signs)
VERY beginner friendly
Cons: No online map
Been there 4 times and have never seen the bathrooms open
Other Thoughts: Boyertown Park DGC is the most, "California" course I've played outside of, well... California. What I mean by that is; it's a crowded, multi-use park where the course seems to cover every square inch of the property while still minimizing interactions with other park patrons. There were only a couple of occasions during my round today that I had to wait for people walking along the paths to move out of errant shot range. West Coast style course in this case also means that there are quite a few trees on the course but you're not in the woods on any of the holes. There's no real understory to speak of, just the trunks of tall trees to miss. There aren't any tunnel shots and none of the holes are spray and pray. There are multiple lines to hit depending on how you want to go around the trees standing between you and the basket. There are distinct fairways but getting to the basket isn't dependent on staying in them. The design also maximizes all of the available elevation the park has to offer, making even the straight shots more interesting.
One of the things I like the most about Birdietown is that it makes me feel like I have a big arm when the reality is I'm a noodle armed rec/am player. None of the holes feel short, but I can reach every basket from the tee. There are a couple of open field shots early in the round to let you flex your muscles before moving into the more technical wooded sections. There aren't many places on this course where the penalty for a bad shot is all that severe (other than a very early tree and a massive kick to the side), you'll generally find yourself with a decent putting lane no matter where you ended up off the tee.

Final Thoughts: Boyertown Park DGC is simply A LOT of fun to play. It's not the most challenging course in the area and it's certainly not the easiest, but the feel of the course is quite unique and unlike any of the other local courses.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

5+    9/6/2015   9/6/2015
Review By: Ktbauer
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 29 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This a very well laid out course with great sight lines. Some nice wide open shits and some tighter ones as well. Poison ivy abounds but they spray it regularly so it isn't really an issue. Go early to play so you don't have as many people meandering around the course exercising and getting in your line of fire.
Cons: Only con is that it would be nice if it were a little longer.
Other Thoughts: Final thought is that it is a great course you'll love playing time and time again.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Easy, even for beginners.

2-4    7/3/2015   7/7/2015
Review By: The0ldMan
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fairly easy to follow layout. The middle holes involve just going up and down the same hill a few times but there's some good variety of left and right drives. There's a few wide open drives which are always nice after bouncing off a couple trees. Very fast course with short walks from pin to next tee. We typically play 2 games on most courses and that takes us 4-5 hours. We played 3 games here in less time. If you want to bring some friends for their first game, this is the easiest course I've played. For more experienced players, birdies will be very common.
Cons: Hole 17 can be a little tricky to find the first couple times you play through. And the walking paths can get crowded. There is a small creek running through the first half of the course. It's shallow enough that you won't get your feet wet even if you land right in the water, but the surrounding banks were a pretty soggy after some rain.

Poison ivy...everywhere, not everywhere, but a lot of it. There was a whole field of it to the right of hole 4 I think, and it was climbing up a lot of the trees. It looked like it had been sprayed recently and I didn't have any breakouts after even after trudging though a lot of it. If you're particularly sensitive to it, just be careful out there.
Other Thoughts: There is a really big swimming pool at the same park and some very nice playgrounds for kids. I think the pool was $10 for a day pass but we were there to throw discs. If you arrive and the parking lot is packed, most of them are probably there to swim. Even with a lot of golfers, most holes are short enough that you'll never have to wait long, and a lot of the holes have benches or other seating. A good amount of trash cans scattered around as well.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.