Charlotte, NC 
Reedy Creek Park Share
Uploaded By: YonderScott Hole #3 (Taken 7/2009)
3 / 273ft.   3 / 305ft.   3 / 273ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Basket (Long Postion)



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 60
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3
Historic disc golf course in Charlotte, circa 1989

2-4    4/22/2017   4/23/2017
Review By: bdupree
Played: 15  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 0.6 Years
Pros: This weekend was literally the first time I stepped foot in this park since the late 80's. During that time, I was in school at UNCC. Reedy Creek Park seemed like it was out in the middle of nowhere at the time, and I would vist every now and then to play basketball. The outdoor full court is still there, sitting right in the middle of a bunch of tall pines and hardwoods. At least once or maybe twice back then, I vaguely recall playing this disc golf course. I'm pretty sure I played it with one of those HUGE old-school frisbees, because I hadn't even heard of the modern golf disc yet. To put this into perspective, Innova had only been born about 5 years before the Reedy Creek course was established.

The only thing I remember about playing this course back around '89-'90 was that it seemed to be really hard, the course was in the woods, but I definitely recall the fairways being a lot wider! Amazing what 25 years of forest growth can do to a course. From my round this weekend, I came away as a relative newcomer to disc golf just thinking this is a really tough course. We played the short tees, and I just kept thinking the holes should be much easier to score par on with the short distances. I was completely wrong about that. Do not let the difficulty of this course deter you as a beginner, though. This is a really beautiful, scenic course.

I believe just about every hole had long tees (called "stout tees") and short tees. Some were barely a few feet apart, but some were drastically separated to create completely different looks on some of the holes. I think 80% or more of the tee areas had nice benches, and many had permanent trash cans. I did not see any random trash out on the course, either. Maybe saw one or two old beer cans, but the course was really clean overall.

The first hole starts out with a classic split fairway on a very open short hole, but you immediately get hit on the second with a maze of trees and a tee shot over a fairly steep ravine. The third hole hands you a very narrow fairway with a right-to-left tilt. That basket was perched on the edge of a built-up green area using cross ties. Number four is the first one that shows you dramatic differences between stout tees and short tees. Stout tees create somewhat of a left-to-right dogleg, while the short tees show you the basket straight from the pad. Great story here on my shot. I let mine go too early and hyzered hard left onto what I thought was some old roadway. Turns out it was a muck-layered lagoon at the end of the pond behind the tee pad. As I was trying to reach it with a long limb, this guy playing behind us just walks up and takes his shoes and socks off to dig that disc out of the drink. What a great sport, right?

Five is another brutal ravine crossing with uphill to the basket, and then you have to know where you are going for the next tee. There just aren't any directional signs on this course from last basket to next tee (see my "cons" next). The long tee is across the hiking path and to the left, but the short tee is way down the path off to the right. I didn't love this hole from the short tee. Sharp downhill, trees everywhere, and unable to see the basket until you were almost on top of it. Number seven is an unusual twist to the course. I'd love to know what the story is here from the past, because it definitely looks like there were two and maybe three pin locations at one time. This hole drops downhill and to the left, and then you see one short basket over to the left and another perched precariously on the edge of a creek bed ravine. I played the long basket, which turned out to be disaster! Still, a great little hole.

After you complete the first nine, you cross over the road and drop into some of the best holes on the course. It seems to open up from this point, giving you some slightly wider fairways but at the same time longer holes. As you go by the cricket pitch and tee off around by number 14, you start to see some drastic slope to the next holes. This stretch just ate me alive. After looking at the GPS map here for 15, it looks like we never saw the short tee for that hole which should be up to the right of the 14 basket somewhere. Instead, we went all the way down the hill and I think we played the stout tee. That was brutal, straight back up a steep incline to the basket. It builds character, right?

The last stretch of holes ease up on you a bit. I came within 15 feet of my first ace on the downhill right-to-left number 17, and still missed my putt. The last two are pretty good finishing holes.
Cons: I've been playing all around the Charlotte area now as a beginner for about 6-7 months, so I have grown used to these great courses in the area having well marked directional arrows either on the bottom of the basket pole or up on nearby trees pointing you to the next hole. I was really surprised by the fact that I didn't really see any of these at Reedy Creek. In a couple of places, the next tees are a good distance away from the last basket. You can also struggle a little figuring out where the short tee pad is, too.

This is a minor con, and I think it is really driven by the age of this course and equipment. All of the baskets are dark grey, with a metal white circle sign on top with the hole number. On some of the heavily wooded holes with slope or doglegs, it was really hard to spot the basket. Pay close attention to the hole signs!
Other Thoughts: For any disc golfer living anywhere near the Charlotte area, playing here is a must-do. This one is truly a historic layout from the very early days of disc golf in the eastern part of the country. I think I would have rated it closer to a 3.75 if that was an option on the scale. WIth a little work on signage and possibly doing something to make the baskets more visible, I can see this course easily getting back up to a 4.

B-e-a-utiful park and historic course

1    10/11/2015   10/11/2015
Review By: Notverygood
Played: 49  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 7.7 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The park this course is in is awesome! Beautiful pine woods and a nature preserve mean a beautiful walk through the woods.

The wood tee signs give the feel of "ball golf" tee signs, and add to the appearance of the course, instead of the laminated paper signs, or no signs typical of some courses. Not only are they a nice touch, but they're also useful, and accurate. Indicating the multiple layouts and tee pads.

Great use of land. This course winds through the woods of this great park and covers a lot of ground. The layout of the course takes advantage of the available elevation, the creek and a lake, and even a road for OB in some locations. Excellent design, that uses a lot of the available land and topography

A wide variety of shots are needed for this course. Although not a whole lot of distance on most holes (not including the "stout" layout), this course is not easy by any stretch. A handful of Left to Right playing holes reward the LHBH and offer a welcome change from the typical course design of Right to Left holes. There are several sloping fast greens that can punish a stray putt, and even a water carry hole that can ruin your day quickly! Even some fun elevation changes, although not major.
Cons: Navigation.... Although this course mostly flows well, there are some missing tee signs and missing basket numbers that can cause confusion. With the "stout" layout being a mix of longer tee pads, and longer baskets, things can get a bit confusing. There is a stretch of holes on the front nine that are missing tee signs at either the original or stout pad, or both. A shame, as the wood signs are a very nice touch.

To keep with the navigation theme, although some holes have directional signs leading to the next tee, most do not. Although not a major con, more directional signage could greatly increase the ease of play on this course!


The beauty of this course may also be a curse. The park attracts many people, enjoying the hiking, playgrounds and picnic pavilions. These people often seem to find there way onto the disc golf course.
Other Thoughts: A beautiful and fun course. This course is a moderate challenge and rewards the accurate calculated shot over the big arm power. With the quiet peaceful woods all around, it's hard not to enjoy playing here!

The age of this course also adds to the "cool" factor. A piece of Charlotte DG history, and in great shape considering it's age. With a few updates, this course has some 5 star potential!

Highly recommend playing here, and is also within reach of many other great Charlotte courses. Would be a great stop on a Disc Golf day trip.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Solid, Fun Course

2-4    6/15/2014   6/16/2014
Review By: luckless_pedestrian
Played: 38  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 4.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Like they say, it's more about accuracy than length. You're not going to need your max D bag at Reedy. But you will have to make lots of different shots, especially the forehand if your predominately a RHBH thrower. And a lot of times there's more than one way to approach a hole.

The underbrush in most places was pretty sparse so I wasn't very concerned with losing a disc.
Cons: Sure, it's crowded. But that means you have a better shot of playing a round with someone cool. Or you could be stuck behind a group of eight who don't understand the concept of playing through.
Other Thoughts: I was glad I had my Firebird and Witness for the doglegs. I wish I had brought the Rhyno, too.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Great wooded course

5+    6/4/2014   6/4/2014
Review By: Khilty
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: First and foremost onr of my favorite things about this course is you can use a variety of differnt shots and discs. It is a moderately wooded course with everything from line drive shots to elevation changes and a fair amount of technical shots as well. Some holes are more forgiving than others (1-9) holes 10-18 ate a bit tighter and more technical. Another great thing about this course is after 9 holes you can walk right to your car or continue on to the back 9 as hole 9 whips right back toward the parking lot. Benches at every tee pad, and multiple pin locations (although rarely changed) make this a fun course to play.
Cons: Lots of overgrowth and trees outside the fairway, so try your best to stay on it or else your hunting for a disc in poison ivy and leaves. No water on the course most days, except sometimes a single cooler in hole 1. Graffiti on trash cans and benches are an eye sore but not anything that affects playability.
Other Thoughts: Great course to improve driving accuracy as most holes are dictated by a tree line/elevation change. One of my personal favorites in the Charlotte area.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun to play

5+    5/7/2014   5/17/2014
Review By: PumaPaws
Played: 17  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 10.9 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: The course itself offers suitable challenges. Not overly difficult but still fun to play. Although in a woody area, the holes are mostly open for experienced players. Some hole placements present enough of a challenge to provide interest.
Cons: A couple of times, finding the next hole can be a challenge if you are not following other players. However, the course appears to be busy, so finding someone to point you in the proper direction is too hard.
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed playing here.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fan Favorite: Reedy Creek

5+    5/20/2013   5/23/2013
Review By: dndelli
Played: 21  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 9.8 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: One of the most popular aspects of Reedy Creek is that it has a secluded feeling that is very nice and peaceful. A lot of amenities accompany the course with trash cans and benches at a lot of the holes. The holes are fairly open which is good for beginners. But a variety of shots with a decent assortment of ranges is needed to play, making it a fun and memorable experience. For more experienced players, the Stout course will provide a fun challenge. Since both courses use the same fairways, you can create your own course to provide you with a different experience each trip, keeping this park from becoming stale. Pins are moved to the short position in the winter to provide avid players even more variety. The recent work on the course to prepare it for the 2012 World's has left the park in a beautiful condition.

Reedy Creek is a great location to take someone on their first Disc Golf outing. The course is not too demanding, and Children's Tees have been added to the fairways for smaller arms. Plus one of my favorite things about the course, because of the heavy foot traffic the brush is kept really beaten back to make losing a disc extremely challenging, even if you miss your line and get a terrible bounce off a tree.
Cons: In the past I heard about a lot of car break ins. (Though I haven't heard as many this past year.) A lot of the signs seem to be missing recently, which can be frustrating for newer players. Especially since the past few times I visited the Original pin for Hole 14 seems to have found its way to the short pin location on Hole 13. This course is also very popular, making it feel overcrowded during peak hours of the day.
Other Thoughts: I love the multiple pin locations. It keeps Reedy from getting stale. Providing the park with a variety of different Course Layouts to be played from. The heavy foot traffic the park gets (and the vast amount of pine trees), keeps a lot of the brush from getting overgrown, making it hard to lose a disc, even with the worst of bounces.

10:30am on Sundays, a similar Am League to the one held at Sugaw started up about 3 years ago. These Am Leagues are a great way for people to get into the competitive scene using a relaxed, fun, yet still competitive handicap format. All while only costing $5.

Favorite Original Holes: 1, 2, 5, 15, 18
Favorite Stout Holes: 4, 6, 7, 11, 14

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 A Respectable Charlotte Course

5+    3/20/2013   3/29/2013
Review By: Mortis Canyon
Played: 31  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 6.9 Years
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The birth of Charlotte Disc Golf.

Park has many amenities with the disc golf course in the back of the Park.

All concrete tee pads on all holes. Some holes have multiple tee pads and baskets.

Challenging holes, but not to the point where it is extremely difficult for beginners.

Trash cans are at most holes.

Practice basket by the parking lot.

Good mix of holes that provide an array of shots to score well.

One of the safer courses in the Charlotte area.
Course is secluded as you progress through the round.

Course is mostly in the woods giving shade on hot summer days.

Locals are pretty good about letting others playing through so no one is being held up.

Course flows pretty well making it easy to navigate.
Cons: Some of the tee signs are missing.

Course can get back up at times for tournaments and because of the proximity to UNCC, however the fact that many others want to play the course isn't a huge con in my book.

Having said in my pros list that this course is in a safer area of Charlotte, it has been reported in the past of multiple car break-ins.

Will get extremely muddy when it rains.

Erosion is pretty obvious.
Other Thoughts: Other Thoughts:
Reedy is the course I learned to play disc golf on back in my UNCC days. I still play it today more than any of the other Charlotte courses, but I will get out and play other courses. Having said all that, Reedy has a special place in my heart. I'm not the greatest disc golf player so this course is always challenging for me. Would recommend this course to any disc golfer.

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 A course built by our disc golf ancestors...

1    1/18/2013   1/18/2013
Review By: apparition
Played: 44  Reviewed: 38
This review was updated on 9/12/2013
9 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: + Reedy is part of a sweet park and you drive a little bit off the main way to get to the course, so it feels secluded
+ Even though it was busy at times, once we hit our momentum, nothing stopped us. Everyone was cool with us playing through and people were nice when they wanted to play through. Good vibes all around.
+ Tee pads are all in good shape, and so are the baskets
+ There weren't many spots where you could easily lose a disc (stream to the right of #4)
+ Basket placement with wooden structures felt like the course was built in a respectful way
+ Some tee signs had nicely carved and colored maps showing am and pro tee and basket locations
+ Many holes have more than one line choice, which made it fun to choose different discs for BH/FH (great variety)
+ Minor elevation changes/hilly
+ Fairly convenient 9 hole loops
+ Multiple tees/pins
+ Fairly easy to navigate as a visitor
Cons: - No indication of basket position other than line of sight
- No directional signage
- Some tee signs not in the best shape
- Trash bags nailed to trees were a bit nasty, but appreciated
- Definitely a lot of erosion at Reedy, but it didn't stop us, slow us down, or change the way we played at all. Just watch your step.
Other Thoughts: After playing Reedy four times as an out of state visitor, I have to say that it really is a solid course. The unique and aged feel of a few wooden structures, exposed soil and roots, stomped and carved fairways, and mature trees really set a good mood.

In terms of how this compares to other Charlotte courses from a beginner/intermediate standpoint, I would say it's middle of the road in terms of quality and difficulty. Not far behind the top courses in terms of fun, though. There definitely were a couple holes on the back nine that have higher chances to lose discs than other courses mainly due to the leaves being dry on the hills, which discs could easily slide under. The rough isn't super rough, though, and I've played this course with beginner females who didn't have a problem and even parred a couple holes.

Reedy really isn't super wooded like some courses in Charlotte. Yes, there are defined lines that are a bit challenging, but the if you want to throw under par, you have to hit long accurate lines. This is a course where discs of different stabilities are necessary. I've played here with fairly neutral discs and had a more difficult time than when I've played it with a full bag.

Overall, Reedy is solid. Really good disc golf in a nice setting.

Thanks for reading!

9 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 23 years and it's still great.

1    2/5/2012   11/21/2012
Review By: Bennybennybenny
Played: 90  Reviewed: 88  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 1/2/2015
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Reedy creek is a more isolated park in Charlotte. It's a great park that has everything you could ask for in a park. In fact, once you get to the entrance, you go straight past the dog park and follow the arrows where they point which way to take to get to the course.
-Nice, long teepads that are in good shape. I love the long one on #15 because it make it a fun, tough, huge uphill shot. The course has two set of teepads on almost every hole. #7 doesn't and a few others dont but almost on every hole, there are two basket locations.
-Practice basket by the parking lot on your way to #1.
-Reedy creek has GREAT elevation and it's even better on the longer tees. For example, #6 has a sweet drop (-45) or so and #5 long has maybe (-30) and goes back up. Most players find it awesome to watch your disc go and go and go. Those aren't the only holes which great elevation, #15 long has maybe a 40 foot elevation gain!
-I remember some trash cans around the course. I think there was on the way to #1 but I don't remember a lot.
-The teesigns in my opinion are very cool and they are in good shape. Look at them closely because the baskets need new basket plates.
-The baskets are in good shape.
-I say #2 and #5 are fun teeshots but I love hole #7 as well. It's another ace run that is tricky if you don't throw a decent hyzer. If you are playing the original tees to short pins. A more straighter shot could get you closer to the long pin because it's a straighter shot. It happened to me.
-There were benches to sit on and for the older players, they are definitely useful (no matter how old they are) because walking up and down those hills will make you want to sit for a while. I am a teen and on #15 I needed to sit for a while.
-There is a hardees nearby and a bunch of other restaurants. Love me some buffalo chicken and a large soda.
Cons: -If you have read in the prevous reviews, you will find out that erosion is a problem, it's filled with limbs, roots and all that crap. Some things are in the wrong places, and It is trashed quite a bit and there are actually trashcans.
-The next tees signs were also trashed. Badly. I had a hard time telling if that is the way to the next tees that I was looking for. I will admit I should've brought a map and that's recommended for you people who read this.
-The basket plates were vandalized as well and they are not accurate on some baskets. Like prelube said, #14's basket was labeled as "17".
-Some holes are love it or hate it. For example, #11 is a dogleg right par 3 from the short and has a couple of long pin positions. I thought #11 was kind of boring although it is a bit downhill. There is a long position at about 420 and the extra long maybe 610 or so.
-The measurements are not too accurate, on most holes especially on #2 and #5, they say 180 on the short pins but really they were maybe 235". Some were believable and accurate but some should be remeasured.
-#6's basket wasn't numbered, I found the tee and eventually found the basket. It's another great drop in elevation, the hole is definitely no con but it outta be numbered on the basket plate.
Other Thoughts: Yes erosion isn't good and the baskets aren't all accurate and it's a bit trashed but c'mon! It's lots of fun elevation is magnificent, there are good chances for an ace especially on the short course (mainly #16) and by the time you play here, you will be glad you did. It's got great variety with a couple open holes (well sort of) and wooded holes, uphill, DOWNHILL!!!, and even doglegs. Honestly, I love dropoffs behind baskets and there are on both pin positions on #14. #14 is the make you or break you hole, it's a bit downhill and starts off easy and open but once you're in the woods maybe 220" feet, It's tough! The baskets are on a ledge with large dropoffs.
Overall in my opinion, there are several stand out holes #2 is a straight downhill shot and #5 is a bit similar but has two routes, one for sidearmers and a for right hand backhand throwers. Lefties will probably take the sidearm route. #6 has another straight downhill shot with a small ditch behind the basket, also the greatest use of elevation on the course (-40) It's really 380 or so, plays 260. #7 is a fun hyzer hole with a dropoff behind the short and if you leave it short on the long position, you have a tough jump putt. #13 is a fun anhyzer hole and the longest so it's considered the "monster" of the course. #14 is probably the best on the course which I just described and #18 is a great finishing hole but those are not the only fun holes on the course with the long tee maybe drops -40 feet, with the short pad, maybe -20. Play this course if you live in the Charlotte area although it was a long ride for me in Gastonia. It was a 40+ minute ride. It's more isolated so bring a GPS so you wont have a hard time finding it. Since the baskets are not numbered right, I would recommend watching the video of Will and Jake at Reedy creek so you will know the holes better.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Where I learned to play

5+    5/26/2012   5/26/2012
Review By: BraveThrower43
Played: 364  Reviewed: 58  Exp: 6.2 Years
10 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course is the oldest in charlotte and is a very fun course to play.

It has two sets of pads. The shorts are very getable and the stouts will test your game.

The course goes through seasons where the baskets are moved in the fal/winter to short positions which make the course much easier and great for beginers. Then in the spring/summer the course is lengthend to make it more difficult. If you introduce a player to the game at this course in the winter/fall they will be able to learn in steps.

I love the technical yet getable design of the course.

Great teesigns, pads, benches and trashcans
Cons: Erosion, it is very bad here. The course is full of exposed roots.

It is an easier course within 5 min of Uncc so it is likely the most popular course in charlotte thus it has times of major backups.
Other Thoughts: This course is where I learned to play and I have a soft place in my heart for reedy creek. It is one of my favorite places to play even if it is a shorter course it is a great place to hone your skills.

It is often overlooked with all of the Major courses in charlotte but Reedy is well worth your time if you are visiting and it is close to many other courses in charlotte so you can get multiple courses in one day

10 of 13 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.