Charlotte, NC 
Reedy Creek Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #6
3 / 275ft.   3 / 358ft.   3 / 358ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 64
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
Reedy Creek - A CLT Staple

5+    9/14/2017   11/2/2017
Review By: JKieb704
Played: 20  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 8.2 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Reedy Creek is a great course for beginners learning the sport; however, seasoned players can find value in the course's variety and technical style of play. The course is forgiving, as it's not very overgrown. Venturing outside of the fairway won't completely wreck your score. For a short course, it can provide challenging situations on certain holes: A very fast green on hole 3 will test your approach. Hole 8 is a tight tunnel shot from the tee. Hole 14 is all downhill, and your disc can role away from you if you're not careful. Hole 17 is great since you can lob your biggest hyzer (RHBH) and have a look for birdie almost every time! In a nutshell, Reedy Creek has the variety you're looking for in a wooded course, and it will probably be one you play more than once.
Cons: Reedy Creek is busy most weekends, especially when school is in session at the nearby university. Most people are courteous and will let you play through if you're a quick player, or if they're taking their time. The course has been around for awhile and you can see the wear and tear on the park (new baskets have been added recently - Aug. 2017). Personally, I think some of the tees are short and don't provide adequate space for a proper run-up. Other than that, there's not much to complain about. Events held at the park sometimes crowd the parking areas, but I've always managed to find a spot somewhat close to hole 1 when this happens.
Other Thoughts: Reedy taught me many things about throwing discs when I got started. It will always be the course I compare all other courses too, because I know it so well.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Good Course for Forehands

5+    7/31/2017   8/3/2017
Review By: devingprice
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Well Kept Up - the course has a bit of undergrowth but has been cleaned out so it isn't hard to find discs.

Nice variation in holes - distances/ heights/ shots are varied enough to keep the course interesting.
Cons: Holds Water - the course has several valleys in it that hold water after rain and have damp soil even when it hasn't rained in awhile. It can mess with footing if a disc land's in it.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Reedy is reborn!!!

5+    7/31/2017   7/31/2017
Review By: bsburch1
Played: 8  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: New baskets
Every hole is reachable and birdyable for all players
Not too short
Nice signage
Mostly cart friendly
Short and long pads
Cons: Some pads need to be bigger
Alot of roots
Other Thoughts: Reedy Creek is Reborn!!!!
FINALLY new baskets installed (veterans). Just what this course needed to make it better. Short course but a blast to play. You gotta play it now!!

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Came back for all 18, thankfully.

2-4    6/24/2017   6/18/2017
Review By: Klingmeyer
Played: 22  Reviewed: 17
This review was updated on 6/24/2017
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Tee boxes are well signed. Tee pads are in good condition, concrete. Many trees, but not too many. Little underbrush to deal with. Hilly, but not too hilly. Basket placement is just right. A good course for novices on up.
Cons: Some of the tee pads were dirty, possibly from the frequent rain this summer. A lot of roots to watch out for. I didn't see many directional signs from basket to next tee.
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed this course, some challenging holes because of basket placement and topography. This is a challenging course, mostly wooded holes. The water doesn't really come in to play. You'll need your whole arsenal of throws here.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Historic disc golf course in Charlotte, circa 1989

2-4    4/22/2017   4/23/2017
Review By: bdupree
Played: 17  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 1.1 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This weekend was literally the first time I stepped foot in this park since the late 80's. During that time, I was in school at UNCC. Reedy Creek Park seemed like it was out in the middle of nowhere at the time, and I would vist every now and then to play basketball. The outdoor full court is still there, sitting right in the middle of a bunch of tall pines and hardwoods. At least once or maybe twice back then, I vaguely recall playing this disc golf course. I'm pretty sure I played it with one of those HUGE old-school frisbees, because I hadn't even heard of the modern golf disc yet. To put this into perspective, Innova had only been born about 5 years before the Reedy Creek course was established.

The only thing I remember about playing this course back around '89-'90 was that it seemed to be really hard, the course was in the woods, but I definitely recall the fairways being a lot wider! Amazing what 25 years of forest growth can do to a course. From my round this weekend, I came away as a relative newcomer to disc golf just thinking this is a really tough course. We played the short tees, and I just kept thinking the holes should be much easier to score par on with the short distances. I was completely wrong about that. Do not let the difficulty of this course deter you as a beginner, though. This is a really beautiful, scenic course.

I believe just about every hole had long tees (called "stout tees") and short tees. Some were barely a few feet apart, but some were drastically separated to create completely different looks on some of the holes. I think 80% or more of the tee areas had nice benches, and many had permanent trash cans. I did not see any random trash out on the course, either. Maybe saw one or two old beer cans, but the course was really clean overall.

The first hole starts out with a classic split fairway on a very open short hole, but you immediately get hit on the second with a maze of trees and a tee shot over a fairly steep ravine. The third hole hands you a very narrow fairway with a right-to-left tilt. That basket was perched on the edge of a built-up green area using cross ties. Number four is the first one that shows you dramatic differences between stout tees and short tees. Stout tees create somewhat of a left-to-right dogleg, while the short tees show you the basket straight from the pad. Great story here on my shot. I let mine go too early and hyzered hard left onto what I thought was some old roadway. Turns out it was a muck-layered lagoon at the end of the pond behind the tee pad. As I was trying to reach it with a long limb, this guy playing behind us just walks up and takes his shoes and socks off to dig that disc out of the drink. What a great sport, right?

Five is another brutal ravine crossing with uphill to the basket, and then you have to know where you are going for the next tee. There just aren't any directional signs on this course from last basket to next tee (see my "cons" next). The long tee is across the hiking path and to the left, but the short tee is way down the path off to the right. I didn't love this hole from the short tee. Sharp downhill, trees everywhere, and unable to see the basket until you were almost on top of it. Number seven is an unusual twist to the course. I'd love to know what the story is here from the past, because it definitely looks like there were two and maybe three pin locations at one time. This hole drops downhill and to the left, and then you see one short basket over to the left and another perched precariously on the edge of a creek bed ravine. I played the long basket, which turned out to be disaster! Still, a great little hole.

After you complete the first nine, you cross over the road and drop into some of the best holes on the course. It seems to open up from this point, giving you some slightly wider fairways but at the same time longer holes. As you go by the cricket pitch and tee off around by number 14, you start to see some drastic slope to the next holes. This stretch just ate me alive. After looking at the GPS map here for 15, it looks like we never saw the short tee for that hole which should be up to the right of the 14 basket somewhere. Instead, we went all the way down the hill and I think we played the stout tee. That was brutal, straight back up a steep incline to the basket. It builds character, right?

The last stretch of holes ease up on you a bit. I came within 15 feet of my first ace on the downhill right-to-left number 17, and still missed my putt. The last two are pretty good finishing holes.
Cons: I've been playing all around the Charlotte area now as a beginner for about 6-7 months, so I have grown used to these great courses in the area having well marked directional arrows either on the bottom of the basket pole or up on nearby trees pointing you to the next hole. I was really surprised by the fact that I didn't really see any of these at Reedy Creek. In a couple of places, the next tees are a good distance away from the last basket. You can also struggle a little figuring out where the short tee pad is, too.

This is a minor con, and I think it is really driven by the age of this course and equipment. All of the baskets are dark grey, with a metal white circle sign on top with the hole number. On some of the heavily wooded holes with slope or doglegs, it was really hard to spot the basket. Pay close attention to the hole signs!
Other Thoughts: For any disc golfer living anywhere near the Charlotte area, playing here is a must-do. This one is truly a historic layout from the very early days of disc golf in the eastern part of the country. I think I would have rated it closer to a 3.75 if that was an option on the scale. WIth a little work on signage and possibly doing something to make the baskets more visible, I can see this course easily getting back up to a 4.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 B-e-a-utiful park and historic course

1    10/11/2015   10/11/2015
Review By: Notverygood
Played: 57  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 8.3 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The park this course is in is awesome! Beautiful pine woods and a nature preserve mean a beautiful walk through the woods.

The wood tee signs give the feel of "ball golf" tee signs, and add to the appearance of the course, instead of the laminated paper signs, or no signs typical of some courses. Not only are they a nice touch, but they're also useful, and accurate. Indicating the multiple layouts and tee pads.

Great use of land. This course winds through the woods of this great park and covers a lot of ground. The layout of the course takes advantage of the available elevation, the creek and a lake, and even a road for OB in some locations. Excellent design, that uses a lot of the available land and topography

A wide variety of shots are needed for this course. Although not a whole lot of distance on most holes (not including the "stout" layout), this course is not easy by any stretch. A handful of Left to Right playing holes reward the LHBH and offer a welcome change from the typical course design of Right to Left holes. There are several sloping fast greens that can punish a stray putt, and even a water carry hole that can ruin your day quickly! Even some fun elevation changes, although not major.
Cons: Navigation.... Although this course mostly flows well, there are some missing tee signs and missing basket numbers that can cause confusion. With the "stout" layout being a mix of longer tee pads, and longer baskets, things can get a bit confusing. There is a stretch of holes on the front nine that are missing tee signs at either the original or stout pad, or both. A shame, as the wood signs are a very nice touch.

To keep with the navigation theme, although some holes have directional signs leading to the next tee, most do not. Although not a major con, more directional signage could greatly increase the ease of play on this course!


The beauty of this course may also be a curse. The park attracts many people, enjoying the hiking, playgrounds and picnic pavilions. These people often seem to find there way onto the disc golf course.
Other Thoughts: A beautiful and fun course. This course is a moderate challenge and rewards the accurate calculated shot over the big arm power. With the quiet peaceful woods all around, it's hard not to enjoy playing here!

The age of this course also adds to the "cool" factor. A piece of Charlotte DG history, and in great shape considering it's age. With a few updates, this course has some 5 star potential!

Highly recommend playing here, and is also within reach of many other great Charlotte courses. Would be a great stop on a Disc Golf day trip.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Solid, Fun Course

2-4    6/15/2014   6/16/2014
Review By: luckless_pedestrian
Played: 39  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 4.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Like they say, it's more about accuracy than length. You're not going to need your max D bag at Reedy. But you will have to make lots of different shots, especially the forehand if your predominately a RHBH thrower. And a lot of times there's more than one way to approach a hole.

The underbrush in most places was pretty sparse so I wasn't very concerned with losing a disc.
Cons: Sure, it's crowded. But that means you have a better shot of playing a round with someone cool. Or you could be stuck behind a group of eight who don't understand the concept of playing through.
Other Thoughts: I was glad I had my Firebird and Witness for the doglegs. I wish I had brought the Rhyno, too.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Great wooded course

5+    6/4/2014   6/4/2014
Review By: Khilty
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: First and foremost onr of my favorite things about this course is you can use a variety of differnt shots and discs. It is a moderately wooded course with everything from line drive shots to elevation changes and a fair amount of technical shots as well. Some holes are more forgiving than others (1-9) holes 10-18 ate a bit tighter and more technical. Another great thing about this course is after 9 holes you can walk right to your car or continue on to the back 9 as hole 9 whips right back toward the parking lot. Benches at every tee pad, and multiple pin locations (although rarely changed) make this a fun course to play.
Cons: Lots of overgrowth and trees outside the fairway, so try your best to stay on it or else your hunting for a disc in poison ivy and leaves. No water on the course most days, except sometimes a single cooler in hole 1. Graffiti on trash cans and benches are an eye sore but not anything that affects playability.
Other Thoughts: Great course to improve driving accuracy as most holes are dictated by a tree line/elevation change. One of my personal favorites in the Charlotte area.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun to play

5+    5/7/2014   5/17/2014
Review By: PumaPaws
Played: 17  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 11.5 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: The course itself offers suitable challenges. Not overly difficult but still fun to play. Although in a woody area, the holes are mostly open for experienced players. Some hole placements present enough of a challenge to provide interest.
Cons: A couple of times, finding the next hole can be a challenge if you are not following other players. However, the course appears to be busy, so finding someone to point you in the proper direction is too hard.
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed playing here.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Reedy Needs A Makeover

1    2/1/2014   2/1/2014
Review By: mateobueno
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
2 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: This course has potential. The terrain is great. Several holes are well designed, but one in particular is outstanding: I wish I could remember which number, but it was a par 3 where the basket is just over a ravine, almost like an island green--this was one of the best holes I've seen anywhere.
Cons: Most of the holes are of average design, and many are outdated as far as length goes, but the recreational disc golfer won't mind. The real problem is the lack of signs, many seemingly gone due to theft. It was hard to figure out where to go after completing many of the holes, and on some holes it was even hard to figure out where the baskets were located.
Other Thoughts: With a moderate redesign of the course and better signage, this is the course that could be.

2 of 10 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.