Charlotte, NC 
Reedy Creek Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #5
3 / 250ft.   3 / 262ft.   3 / 250ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 60
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6
Historic disc golf course in Charlotte, circa 1989

2-4    4/22/2017   4/23/2017
Review By: bdupree
Played: 15  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 0.6 Years
Pros: This weekend was literally the first time I stepped foot in this park since the late 80's. During that time, I was in school at UNCC. Reedy Creek Park seemed like it was out in the middle of nowhere at the time, and I would vist every now and then to play basketball. The outdoor full court is still there, sitting right in the middle of a bunch of tall pines and hardwoods. At least once or maybe twice back then, I vaguely recall playing this disc golf course. I'm pretty sure I played it with one of those HUGE old-school frisbees, because I hadn't even heard of the modern golf disc yet. To put this into perspective, Innova had only been born about 5 years before the Reedy Creek course was established.

The only thing I remember about playing this course back around '89-'90 was that it seemed to be really hard, the course was in the woods, but I definitely recall the fairways being a lot wider! Amazing what 25 years of forest growth can do to a course. From my round this weekend, I came away as a relative newcomer to disc golf just thinking this is a really tough course. We played the short tees, and I just kept thinking the holes should be much easier to score par on with the short distances. I was completely wrong about that. Do not let the difficulty of this course deter you as a beginner, though. This is a really beautiful, scenic course.

I believe just about every hole had long tees (called "stout tees") and short tees. Some were barely a few feet apart, but some were drastically separated to create completely different looks on some of the holes. I think 80% or more of the tee areas had nice benches, and many had permanent trash cans. I did not see any random trash out on the course, either. Maybe saw one or two old beer cans, but the course was really clean overall.

The first hole starts out with a classic split fairway on a very open short hole, but you immediately get hit on the second with a maze of trees and a tee shot over a fairly steep ravine. The third hole hands you a very narrow fairway with a right-to-left tilt. That basket was perched on the edge of a built-up green area using cross ties. Number four is the first one that shows you dramatic differences between stout tees and short tees. Stout tees create somewhat of a left-to-right dogleg, while the short tees show you the basket straight from the pad. Great story here on my shot. I let mine go too early and hyzered hard left onto what I thought was some old roadway. Turns out it was a muck-layered lagoon at the end of the pond behind the tee pad. As I was trying to reach it with a long limb, this guy playing behind us just walks up and takes his shoes and socks off to dig that disc out of the drink. What a great sport, right?

Five is another brutal ravine crossing with uphill to the basket, and then you have to know where you are going for the next tee. There just aren't any directional signs on this course from last basket to next tee (see my "cons" next). The long tee is across the hiking path and to the left, but the short tee is way down the path off to the right. I didn't love this hole from the short tee. Sharp downhill, trees everywhere, and unable to see the basket until you were almost on top of it. Number seven is an unusual twist to the course. I'd love to know what the story is here from the past, because it definitely looks like there were two and maybe three pin locations at one time. This hole drops downhill and to the left, and then you see one short basket over to the left and another perched precariously on the edge of a creek bed ravine. I played the long basket, which turned out to be disaster! Still, a great little hole.

After you complete the first nine, you cross over the road and drop into some of the best holes on the course. It seems to open up from this point, giving you some slightly wider fairways but at the same time longer holes. As you go by the cricket pitch and tee off around by number 14, you start to see some drastic slope to the next holes. This stretch just ate me alive. After looking at the GPS map here for 15, it looks like we never saw the short tee for that hole which should be up to the right of the 14 basket somewhere. Instead, we went all the way down the hill and I think we played the stout tee. That was brutal, straight back up a steep incline to the basket. It builds character, right?

The last stretch of holes ease up on you a bit. I came within 15 feet of my first ace on the downhill right-to-left number 17, and still missed my putt. The last two are pretty good finishing holes.
Cons: I've been playing all around the Charlotte area now as a beginner for about 6-7 months, so I have grown used to these great courses in the area having well marked directional arrows either on the bottom of the basket pole or up on nearby trees pointing you to the next hole. I was really surprised by the fact that I didn't really see any of these at Reedy Creek. In a couple of places, the next tees are a good distance away from the last basket. You can also struggle a little figuring out where the short tee pad is, too.

This is a minor con, and I think it is really driven by the age of this course and equipment. All of the baskets are dark grey, with a metal white circle sign on top with the hole number. On some of the heavily wooded holes with slope or doglegs, it was really hard to spot the basket. Pay close attention to the hole signs!
Other Thoughts: For any disc golfer living anywhere near the Charlotte area, playing here is a must-do. This one is truly a historic layout from the very early days of disc golf in the eastern part of the country. I think I would have rated it closer to a 3.75 if that was an option on the scale. WIth a little work on signage and possibly doing something to make the baskets more visible, I can see this course easily getting back up to a 4.

B-e-a-utiful park and historic course

1    10/11/2015   10/11/2015
Review By: Notverygood
Played: 49  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 7.7 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The park this course is in is awesome! Beautiful pine woods and a nature preserve mean a beautiful walk through the woods.

The wood tee signs give the feel of "ball golf" tee signs, and add to the appearance of the course, instead of the laminated paper signs, or no signs typical of some courses. Not only are they a nice touch, but they're also useful, and accurate. Indicating the multiple layouts and tee pads.

Great use of land. This course winds through the woods of this great park and covers a lot of ground. The layout of the course takes advantage of the available elevation, the creek and a lake, and even a road for OB in some locations. Excellent design, that uses a lot of the available land and topography

A wide variety of shots are needed for this course. Although not a whole lot of distance on most holes (not including the "stout" layout), this course is not easy by any stretch. A handful of Left to Right playing holes reward the LHBH and offer a welcome change from the typical course design of Right to Left holes. There are several sloping fast greens that can punish a stray putt, and even a water carry hole that can ruin your day quickly! Even some fun elevation changes, although not major.
Cons: Navigation.... Although this course mostly flows well, there are some missing tee signs and missing basket numbers that can cause confusion. With the "stout" layout being a mix of longer tee pads, and longer baskets, things can get a bit confusing. There is a stretch of holes on the front nine that are missing tee signs at either the original or stout pad, or both. A shame, as the wood signs are a very nice touch.

To keep with the navigation theme, although some holes have directional signs leading to the next tee, most do not. Although not a major con, more directional signage could greatly increase the ease of play on this course!


The beauty of this course may also be a curse. The park attracts many people, enjoying the hiking, playgrounds and picnic pavilions. These people often seem to find there way onto the disc golf course.
Other Thoughts: A beautiful and fun course. This course is a moderate challenge and rewards the accurate calculated shot over the big arm power. With the quiet peaceful woods all around, it's hard not to enjoy playing here!

The age of this course also adds to the "cool" factor. A piece of Charlotte DG history, and in great shape considering it's age. With a few updates, this course has some 5 star potential!

Highly recommend playing here, and is also within reach of many other great Charlotte courses. Would be a great stop on a Disc Golf day trip.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Solid, Fun Course

2-4    6/15/2014   6/16/2014
Review By: luckless_pedestrian
Played: 38  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 4.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Like they say, it's more about accuracy than length. You're not going to need your max D bag at Reedy. But you will have to make lots of different shots, especially the forehand if your predominately a RHBH thrower. And a lot of times there's more than one way to approach a hole.

The underbrush in most places was pretty sparse so I wasn't very concerned with losing a disc.
Cons: Sure, it's crowded. But that means you have a better shot of playing a round with someone cool. Or you could be stuck behind a group of eight who don't understand the concept of playing through.
Other Thoughts: I was glad I had my Firebird and Witness for the doglegs. I wish I had brought the Rhyno, too.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Great wooded course

5+    6/4/2014   6/4/2014
Review By: Khilty
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: First and foremost onr of my favorite things about this course is you can use a variety of differnt shots and discs. It is a moderately wooded course with everything from line drive shots to elevation changes and a fair amount of technical shots as well. Some holes are more forgiving than others (1-9) holes 10-18 ate a bit tighter and more technical. Another great thing about this course is after 9 holes you can walk right to your car or continue on to the back 9 as hole 9 whips right back toward the parking lot. Benches at every tee pad, and multiple pin locations (although rarely changed) make this a fun course to play.
Cons: Lots of overgrowth and trees outside the fairway, so try your best to stay on it or else your hunting for a disc in poison ivy and leaves. No water on the course most days, except sometimes a single cooler in hole 1. Graffiti on trash cans and benches are an eye sore but not anything that affects playability.
Other Thoughts: Great course to improve driving accuracy as most holes are dictated by a tree line/elevation change. One of my personal favorites in the Charlotte area.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun to play

5+    5/7/2014   5/17/2014
Review By: PumaPaws
Played: 17  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 10.9 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: The course itself offers suitable challenges. Not overly difficult but still fun to play. Although in a woody area, the holes are mostly open for experienced players. Some hole placements present enough of a challenge to provide interest.
Cons: A couple of times, finding the next hole can be a challenge if you are not following other players. However, the course appears to be busy, so finding someone to point you in the proper direction is too hard.
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed playing here.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Reedy Needs A Makeover

1    2/1/2014   2/1/2014
Review By: mateobueno
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
2 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: This course has potential. The terrain is great. Several holes are well designed, but one in particular is outstanding: I wish I could remember which number, but it was a par 3 where the basket is just over a ravine, almost like an island green--this was one of the best holes I've seen anywhere.
Cons: Most of the holes are of average design, and many are outdated as far as length goes, but the recreational disc golfer won't mind. The real problem is the lack of signs, many seemingly gone due to theft. It was hard to figure out where to go after completing many of the holes, and on some holes it was even hard to figure out where the baskets were located.
Other Thoughts: With a moderate redesign of the course and better signage, this is the course that could be.

2 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 

1    11/26/2013   11/26/2013
Review By: JrodMan
Played: 16  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.2 Years
1 Helpful / 14 Not
Pros: Reedy Creek is one of the oldest parks in the Charlotte area and it is very very broke in which is nice. Also the fairways are not really tight so its nice for new players and also expirenced players. There are a lot of bridges so your not constantly climbing up hills or falling in ditches.
Cons: Having only played this course once I was not very pleased! For the first fews holes the signage is pretty good but after 5 you've really got to look if you have not played there before. The benches that are there have graffiti all over them and the garbage bags are nailed to the trees. There are a ton of leaves so its easy to loose a disc or spend a lot of time looking for it.
Other Thoughts: most likely won't play here again for a while. Would be a awesome course if the signs were layed out better for new players to the course.

1 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 Great course

2-4    6/19/2013   6/19/2013
Review By: jared18
Played: 30  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.2 Years
This review was updated on 11/7/2013
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: This is easily my favorite course in the area. I try to go to reedy creek every weekend which i do because its only 25 minutes away! it is a great course because even though it looks heavily wooded its not as tight placement for the fronts the back is a good challenge but the fronts are alot better to most people! Nice people there they talk to you you can talk to them and i have played a round with some of the people i just met there that are really nice and friendly.
Cons: There is graffiti on the trashcans and benches. Some places still have cut posts from where the basket will never be again. Leaves are everywhere so you do have to take that for account.
Other Thoughts: I love the park from the sites down the friendly people there. They even have kids weekly there i love it and playing there

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Fan Favorite: Reedy Creek

5+    5/20/2013   5/23/2013
Review By: dndelli
Played: 21  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 9.7 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: One of the most popular aspects of Reedy Creek is that it has a secluded feeling that is very nice and peaceful. A lot of amenities accompany the course with trash cans and benches at a lot of the holes. The holes are fairly open which is good for beginners. But a variety of shots with a decent assortment of ranges is needed to play, making it a fun and memorable experience. For more experienced players, the Stout course will provide a fun challenge. Since both courses use the same fairways, you can create your own course to provide you with a different experience each trip, keeping this park from becoming stale. Pins are moved to the short position in the winter to provide avid players even more variety. The recent work on the course to prepare it for the 2012 World's has left the park in a beautiful condition.

Reedy Creek is a great location to take someone on their first Disc Golf outing. The course is not too demanding, and Children's Tees have been added to the fairways for smaller arms. Plus one of my favorite things about the course, because of the heavy foot traffic the brush is kept really beaten back to make losing a disc extremely challenging, even if you miss your line and get a terrible bounce off a tree.
Cons: In the past I heard about a lot of car break ins. (Though I haven't heard as many this past year.) A lot of the signs seem to be missing recently, which can be frustrating for newer players. Especially since the past few times I visited the Original pin for Hole 14 seems to have found its way to the short pin location on Hole 13. This course is also very popular, making it feel overcrowded during peak hours of the day.
Other Thoughts: I love the multiple pin locations. It keeps Reedy from getting stale. Providing the park with a variety of different Course Layouts to be played from. The heavy foot traffic the park gets (and the vast amount of pine trees), keeps a lot of the brush from getting overgrown, making it hard to lose a disc, even with the worst of bounces.

10:30am on Sundays, a similar Am League to the one held at Sugaw started up about 3 years ago. These Am Leagues are a great way for people to get into the competitive scene using a relaxed, fun, yet still competitive handicap format. All while only costing $5.

Favorite Original Holes: 1, 2, 5, 15, 18
Favorite Stout Holes: 4, 6, 7, 11, 14

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 A Respectable Charlotte Course

5+    3/20/2013   3/29/2013
Review By: Mortis Canyon
Played: 31  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 6.9 Years
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The birth of Charlotte Disc Golf.

Park has many amenities with the disc golf course in the back of the Park.

All concrete tee pads on all holes. Some holes have multiple tee pads and baskets.

Challenging holes, but not to the point where it is extremely difficult for beginners.

Trash cans are at most holes.

Practice basket by the parking lot.

Good mix of holes that provide an array of shots to score well.

One of the safer courses in the Charlotte area.
Course is secluded as you progress through the round.

Course is mostly in the woods giving shade on hot summer days.

Locals are pretty good about letting others playing through so no one is being held up.

Course flows pretty well making it easy to navigate.
Cons: Some of the tee signs are missing.

Course can get back up at times for tournaments and because of the proximity to UNCC, however the fact that many others want to play the course isn't a huge con in my book.

Having said in my pros list that this course is in a safer area of Charlotte, it has been reported in the past of multiple car break-ins.

Will get extremely muddy when it rains.

Erosion is pretty obvious.
Other Thoughts: Other Thoughts:
Reedy is the course I learned to play disc golf on back in my UNCC days. I still play it today more than any of the other Charlotte courses, but I will get out and play other courses. Having said all that, Reedy has a special place in my heart. I'm not the greatest disc golf player so this course is always challenging for me. Would recommend this course to any disc golfer.

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.