Richmond, VA 
Gillies Creek Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #14 (Taken 7/2008)
3 / 300ft.   3 / 300ft.   3 / 300ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
1 2 3 Next >
 Gillies

5+    3/23/2009   3/23/2009
Review By: dobsonr
Played: 23  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 9.3 Years
This review was updated on 11/2/2009
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Gillies is a great course. It's the first course I ever played on and I still play here often. It has a good mix of open and wooded holes, and lots of interesting shots are required throughout the course. There are uphill shots (#6 is great but watch out for that nasty creek), downhill shots (#9), tunnel shots (#11, 18), etc. There really is a bit of everything here. While the holes aren't particularly long, there are plenty of trees around that make them difficult to reach par on. Many of the holes have pesky trees right in front of the teepad, and trees come into play on every hole except #3.
Cons: The most noticeable downside to this course is the lack of any signage. This really only presents a problem for first timers - the teepads are confusing because they have numbers on them from a previous course layout. If you are playing here for the first time I recommend trying to get someone to show you around, or follow somebody.

Gillies is a technical course - there are some opportunities to air it out, but overall the course requires more finesse than it does power. I enjoy the variation, but if you prefer a longer course I would recommend Bryan Park.
Other Thoughts: The varied holes provide a nice contrast to heavily-wooded Dorey and the longer, more open Bryan Park. If you're passing through town, I would definitely recommend stopping by and playing a round - so long as it's at a time when other people will be playing the course to show you around.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Inner City Course

1    2/7/2009   2/13/2009
Review By: nygfaninva
Played: 34  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 9.6 Years
This review was updated on 7/6/2011
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good mix of wooded and open throws. Baskets and concrete Tee pads.
Cons: Near Impossible for first time players (Visitors). The concrete tees are poorly marked and in some cases improperly marked. Some holes nearly overlap. Trash all over the place.
Other Thoughts: Ok, To be fair, Gilles Creek is a nice 18 hole DG Course if all you are concerned with is baskets and throwing, but if you want an entire DG experience (Fun atmosphere, nice setting, good hike between throws) I feel it falls short of other area courses Bryan, Dorey, White Bank and Goyne offer 18 baskets in far better shape and with far better flow. I must mention again, that for a player coming here for the first time it was almost impossible to navigate this course. We needed to rely on the kindness of a pair of players in front of us. I titled this as Inner City Course, and that it is...to the letter. The tee pad on Hole one is part the street corner, and if your forehand goes too far right you will be hitting a car! Litter can be found everywhere on the course. One of the other reviews mentioned it being in a rough neighborhood, but when playing on a Saturday afternoon it seemed great. Looked like a neighborhood on the rise, families and people out everywhere. I know Gilles is well known and beloved by locals, but remember I reviewed the course as a first time visitor and to be honest it was somewhat disappointing. Sure it has baskets and is in a park, but there are nicer places and courses with a lot more to offer nearby. Thus the average score.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Gillies Creek

5+    12/13/2008   12/18/2008
Review By: Ragmagnet
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Open field shots, urban setting, and forest trails.
Cons: Being an urban park renders Gillies more littered than most courses, but that is part of it's charm.
Other Thoughts: Gillies is Richmond's Disc Golf Course. It is one of the first. Back in the 60's projects in Richmond's Church hill district were bulldosed to the ground. Trees were planted over the foundations and the area was left dormant for years. Transients over took the place and the area became a trashy wasteland, yet the trees continued to grow. Around 2000, a group of disc golf enthusiasts, along with the city of Richmond, cleaned up the area, and turned it into a disc golf course. Gillies echos the ghosts of it's past. It's urban setting oozed through it trees and green fields. Old remainants of the former drug infested neighborhood still stand, overgrown with plant life, yet serving as an eerie reminder of Gillies less peaceful past. This park is a must. Though it may not be the prettiest, it is amongst the most fun.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Nice course for a quick game.

1    4/6/2008   12/2/2008
Review By: Disc Dog
Played: 82  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 10.2 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: A great place to play if you just want to hang with some friends and enjoy the day. Concrete tees were nice and the park is reasonably well maintained. Some of the tee areas are a real challenge because of some steep drops behind them.
Cons: This park is in a rougher part if Richmond and could be a bit uncomfortable if you play alone.
Other Thoughts: A great place for a quick game.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 2nd place richmond course

5/27/2008   5/27/2008
Review By: smowen
Played: 16  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 16.6 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a fun course. 2nd best in Richmond I'd say. All par 3. I've played the course about 30 times now, and have liked it a lot since the second time I came and knew where I was going on each hole.
Cons: The course is a little hard to navigate your first time and is a little short. The concrete pads are short in length (I like to take off from a little further back on the 2 longer holes, but the pads are raised too high so it would make it awkward to take off from the dirt behind them.)
Other Thoughts: Favorite holes: 5: nice downhill open shot. 9: down hill to the left wooded shot. 18 - a little longer left turn alley shot.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Richmond's Old School Course

5+    8/3/2011   9/10/2007
Review By: jaymon1
Played: 77  Reviewed: 77  Exp: 16.3 Years
This review was updated on 8/3/2011
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Variety of shots and skills required.
Cons: Tough to follow for first-time visitors.
Other Thoughts: The first course I ever played, and still my original home course, so I'm biased, but the variety and superior layout of this course makes up for shortcomings in terms of setting and lack of signs. Gillies Creek is a basic par 3 course, but features a good mixture of longer and shorter holes. Plus, while most people just play one set of tee pads, several holes have pro teepads or an alternate approach, which means the course length can vary a good bit, especially since a couple of holes can be moved around entirely. Even as I play more and more courses, this one remains one of the more varied and flexible.

Yes, except for the long version of one hole, Gillies Creek is definitely a strict par 3 course, but to get a good look at a birdie you're going to need a different kind of throw on every hole; just throwing long won't help you much out here The course is about half woods, half open, eight of the baskets have two placements and another two holes can be moved around entirely, about six of the holes have long tees, and you need to break out left and right fades, a fair number of control shots, a couple of just straight-out chucks, and two cool downhill holes. So little distance, no water, and not much uphill, but Gillies has everything else, and a couple of views of the Richmond skyline too.

Again, I'm biased, but Gillies is a great course to build your game, holds up well after many plays (though perhaps doesn't make the best first impression), is kept mowed and somewhat litter free most of the time now, and looks pretty good on a nice spring or fall day. All in all, Gillies Creek has a great balance of holes and shots - long and short, right and left, tight and open, and even a little bit of up and down. In addition, every hole has at least one good concrete teepad, the only course in Richmond with this significant benefit. Since playing is the point, Gillies Creek stacks up well.

Way finding notes: Every basket is correctly numbered, and most (but not all) teepads have the number painted on them. Ignore the embedded rock numbers on some teepads; they are remnants of a much older version of the course. #2 has one tee, but a short basket and then (don't ask me why) a much longer basket set maybe 300 feet beyond the first basket. The tee for #3 short is to the right after #2 short; #3 long is just beyond the #2 long basket. #4 is straight walk up the thin alley beyond #3 to a tee next to a big rock, next to the tee for #9. The extra teepads in between #2 and #3 are confusing; one is for the alternate hole #12 (which is rarely set up) and the other one must be left over from an earlier layout. If it's not too crowded you can use these extra tees to make up three extra holes in this area if you want. Otherwise the course isn't too hard to follow, as the next tee is pretty close to the previous basket.

Favorite Hole - #9 - long downhill into a wide alley of established hardwoods.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.