Marble, CO 
Marble DGC Share
Uploaded By: klay Hole #6 (Taken 9/2012)
-- / --   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Basket to Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
Ethereal

1    7/29/2020   7/31/2020
Review By: jmork_
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The marble ruins were incredible to play through. It gives you a true sense of the history of Marble. The views aside from that are also incredible with wildlife walking through a few times. Course tests your straight-shot on every hole.
Cons: As mentiioned in earlier reviews, there are no real indicators as to where the basket is. Best bring some extra discs, a buddy, and a few beers. You're gonna need a spotter.

Also, there are lots of rusted metal scraps lying around. Be sure to wear boots & maybe pants. I went in Tevas & shorts, not likely to repeat it.
Other Thoughts: Hit up Slow Groovin BBQ afterwards, you will not find BBQ that good outside of Texas.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Definitely Worth The Trip

1    5/28/2017   5/29/2017
Review By: Sideshow775
Played: 12  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 5.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful, scenic drive to the course past some good fishing areas and waterfalls. The course is short, but well laid out. Lots of doglegs and tight tunnels to challenge the average player. My favorite was 7. The basket was surrounded by a gravel mound on 3 sides, but reachable from the tee pad. Pads were concrete, baskets in good shape, rocks on ground with tee numbers and arrows pointing to next tee near every basket. Lots of cool historic buildings along the course. Picnic tables and grills near each tee. Restrooms in historic park. Very kid friendly.
Cons: The course is short. I wanted more holes to play and more to see. Finding 4 was tricky. You need to cross the parking lot behind 3 to get to it. Parking area is small and full of cars with trailers on them. Easy to get blocked in.
Other Thoughts: It's a long drive to get there, and a short course. I would suggest making it part of a day trip. Add in some fishing on the river, shopping in Redstone or at the sculptor's shop at the entrance to town, a trip up to the quarry, or a picnic lunch on the course, and it quickly becomes worth the drive.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Nothing has changed

1    10/1/2016   10/4/2016
Review By: ldtrainman
Played: 11  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 10.2 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Other Thoughts: The pros and cons and other thoughts are the same as the previous 2 year old review. Obviously the course doesn't get played much. If I were local I would play with a set of clippers in my bag and do a little trimming each round. A few simple navigation arrows to lead from basket to next T-box would be very helpful. I little bit of work could bring this course up a full point.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Marble

2-4    9/7/2014   9/8/2014
Review By: Scatman
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The pros of this course are: it's scenic location in Marble on the grounds of the old mill site, the course is short and compact so it plays quick once you learn the holes, tee's are numbered well and parking is right next to hole #1.
Cons: The cons of this course are: baskets are hard to see. The maps provided and tee signs help but additional flagging on baskets would help. The course is simple, more advanced players would want more variety and technical holes. The longest hole is 290'.
Other Thoughts: I gave this course a "2" rating because I felt there is potential for more but it hasn't happened yet. Hopefully the Marble DGC will make future improvements.
Tee boxes could be improved and fairways and greens need clean up on some holes.
As you're playing in and around old foundations even with a map knowing where the next hole can be confusing. Also with tourists walking the area other paths have formed.
A WARNING to those who like to play in sandals or flip flops, there is a fair amount of rusted metal around the course. Be careful not to cut yourself.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.