Norman, OK 
N.E. Lions Park Share
Uploaded By: wake_rider Hole #13 (Taken 2/2012)
3 / --   3 / 321ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Tee: Tunnel with OB fence on right, water on left.



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 25
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
 Pretty good

1    4/9/2012   5/14/2012
Review By: mashnut
Played: 828  Reviewed: 775  Exp: 16.6 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There are some really excellent lines here. The park has a handful of open holes, many of which are around the pond. The rest of the course plays fairly wooded, with brushy rough and tight tricky lines. I enjoyed the variety of shots required in the woods, with a balance of left and right turning holes to challenge your line shaping skills.

The water offers some great risk/reward options on a few hole. A couple greens have roll away potential to the water, including a nice basket placement on a mound at the edge of the pond. A couple other shots offer birdie shots if you risk a water carry and more forgiving lay up options if you are satisfied with a par. The concrete tees are in ok shape, plenty of room and texture for a good teeing surface. Baskets show some age, but catch ok.
Cons: Signage is lacking here, many are missing and that gets a little frustrating on blind holes. A lot of the wooded shots don't have baskets visible from the tee so we had to do a lot of extra walking to know where to throw. A few of the holes (including the first and last) are pretty wide open and don't offer much in the way of challenge. The distance on this course isn't all that varied, with a lot of similar length shots and nothing all that long.
Other Thoughts: Other than the risky water shots, this is a pretty beginner friendly layout. The lengths are reasonable and the toughest shots have layup options. More experienced players won't find this to be too tough a test, but there are some fun holes that will challenge anyone. I would recommend a stop here if you're in the area.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 a classic gem

1    3/24/2012   3/28/2012
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 316  Reviewed: 252  Exp: 11.4 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -fun, challenging layout; very high fun factor
-concrete long tees, natural short tees on most holes
-great shot & distance variety, great variety of terrain & use of elevation
-decent signs, Mach 3 baskets in good condition
-lots of woods on the front 9, lots of water on the back 9
-mostly obvious navigation except for a few spots, well-worn trails
-nice, friendly locals
Cons: -gets a bit crowded, lots of big groups and casual players
-no water fountains, one by the parking lot but it didn't work
-very little parking, lots of cars on the street (i heard they will be moving the first hole in order to enlarge the parking lot)
-water is murky but not too deep, try to avoid the drink unless you're willing to get wet to get your disc back
Other Thoughts: Whereas Woodson Park is an old course that has aged badly, NE Lions is an even older course that has aged gracefully. The holes here are lots of fun and demand a variety of shots but more importantly accuracy. Even though the course is mostly short, you really have to be accurate to stay dry & in the fairway and to score well.

The multiple tees are great for replay value or accommodating various skill levels. Lots of trees provide good shade and the water on the back 9 will keep you on your toes. The course is well-maintained and the baskets and tees are mostly in good condition (some of the tees are cracked or piecemeal).

Great use of the land available. Elevation is used well and the holes move through various areas of the park with different terrain: some are open and grassy, some tightly wooded, and of course there are the water holes on the back 9. Many well-protected pins mean that even if you can reach the green from the tee, you might not have a putt. Accuracy is everything.

A fantastic old school course that is well worth going out of the way to play. This and Griffin Park across the street make a great pair and are the best 2 courses I've played in Oklahoma.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Heaven and Hell

5+    2/19/2012   2/24/2012
Review By: WoogieBoogie
Played: 6  Reviewed: 4
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has a little of everything, don't expect to bomb any drives as the longest hole i think is like 350 feet +/- 50ft.
However most holes are blocked in some way offering a challenge. Most of the holes have two pads the am's are natural pad except for hole 5 and 8 which are concrete like the pro pads. 5's am pad is about 50 feet in front and to the left of the pro pad, and gives a straight shot to the basket.
Cons: Perhaps the biggest con is the mud after a rain, it will get on everything your discs, pants, shoes and hands. Another thing i noticed is some of the pro pads are cracked/broken and seem to be shorter than i am used to. Also almost everytime i play this course people just appear out of nowhere, there dosent seem to be any walking path but you will see them walking the course sometimes mostly on holes 8 and 9.
Other Thoughts: The front 9 are heaven and the back 9 are hell, to me anyway. Do be careful of the water monster on holes 12,13, and 16 he is consumed with a ravenous hunger for discs, between me and my buddy he has eaten 6 discs. So if you find a red Buzzz elite x, white buzzz pro-d, red vulcan star, black archon star, red teedevil star, or orange striker gold please call the number on the backs thanks.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Crowded, but Nice

1    12/15/2011   12/16/2011
Review By: jmhoekst
Played: 87  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 11.4 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros:
-Concrete Tee Pads
-Multiple Tee Locations
-Hole Number Signs
-Numbered Baskets
-Several well-protected baskets
Cons:
-Close and overlapping fairways
-Short tee pads
-Clay makes for slippery tee pads when wet
Other Thoughts: Played this course one time on a business trip. It's obvious to me that a club/city/somebody takes care of this course. There is a hand-dug trench running through the low parts of the course to run water away. That's awesome! The tee pads and baskets are all properly numbered, which not too many courses can claim. The baskets are in good condition and having a practice basket is a big plus.

When I played, I was alone on the course. However, it was easy to see that many fairways are very close to others and in some cases, overlap. This would make for potentially hazardous conditions in a tournament or crowded day.

Overall, the course makes good use of the small bit of land provided as well as the large pond. Besides the water runways that keep the course dry, nothing about it was too impressive. Therefore, three stars.

The one idea that came to mind when I played was "Safari Holes". Like I said, the fairways are close together, so if a 8-10 safari layout was concocted, it could be awesome. That would also help add some distance to the holes.

Overall, average course. Worth a stop if you are nearby, but not a must-see by any account. BE SURE TO NOT WEAR YOUR WORK SHOES. YOU'LL TRACK CLAY INTO THE OFFICE!!
:-)

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great overall course.

5+    7/24/2011   7/30/2011
Review By: tylermcdaniel
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Every type of hole put in to one short, yet challenging course.
- Pro tees were all marked and had concrete tees.
- Baskets looked brand new.
- AM pads were perfect for beginners.
Cons: Hole 12 is pretty thick for those who cant throw it over the trees.
Other Thoughts: My favorite course! had short drives, long ones. Holes that faded and holes that turned. Up hill, down hill, open, trees, water, every hole possible in one course.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Nice moderate difficulty

1    4/7/2011   4/7/2011
Review By: ManOnTheDoor
Played: 19  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 11.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is quite a nice course laid out in a park that surrounds a small 'lake'. The course is maintained by the local DG club according to the signs and they do a good job.

I believe most, if not all tees had benches. There are some nice paths to follow between holes and I saw no poison ivy (but I've heard that it is usually out there - it was probably too early in the year).

There is excellent use of elevation and trees. A handful of baskets are isolated on small hills (read: you hit the pin or it will roll away), and a few were the token downhill shots.

The water fountain near the parking lot has nice cold water.

There is a practice basket near the parking lot and first tee pad. The pads were concrete and mostly had an appropriate run-up length.

(PS - if you find a blue Wraith or an orange Beast on #12 or #13 respectively, give me a call at the number on the back. I really liked those discs...)
Cons: Personally, I didn't like holes 12 and 13, but that was because I lost a disc into the lake off of each tee box - dang it! Seriously though, 12 is a well laid out hole that I just didn't play very well. #13 apparently is a little out of my league or I just let the tunnel shots intimidate me.

A few holes had no real playable line off of the tee box. It seemed as if the MO was to grip it and rip it and hope you bounced off the trees in the right direction.

#13 is a tight corridor shot looking south. With a generally prevailing wind out of the south, you have to be precise to not go into the lake like me or OB over the fence (there is a hole/gate in the fence so you can retrieve your disc).

The parking lot is pretty small, so if it is a busy day at the park, you may be parking a ways away into the adjacent neighborhood.
Other Thoughts: This is a really nice course in the OKC metro area. I definitely believe it is worth the drive and you could easily play Griffin, Colonial, or Hillsdale while you are in the area.

There were a few pedestrians walking around, but I didn't see a walking trail. I don't know if they were beating their own path or what, but they did kind of just show up out of nowhere, so always remember to yell 'fore' if you need to.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Dont let the pond bully ya

5+    3/16/2011   3/16/2011
Review By: notBOB
Played: 171  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 14.3 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: GReat O.G. course, offers great challenge

-excellent balance of open holes, woody holes, lefts and rights, longs and tights
-will test every shot in your bag and then some
-varying terrain: elevation, ceiling shots, lake holes, blind throws, unique mandos
-good risk/reward-go big and she'll throw you a bone
-multiple tees for big bawlers..
-many benches and signs are there
Cons: -tends to get standing water after rain, what can ya do?
-can get crowded
-brush gets crazy thick, ticks and all that.
-the pond attracts discs er somethin..hit it in the summer and kids will retrieve them... and maybe sell them back, ha
-7 long's teebox is kinda goofy, cartoon shaped (i like it tho, unique)
Other Thoughts: This course will make you work for a good score but it can be done.

first course in OK???? (correct me if im wrong...)

Definitely a fun trip to Norman hittin lions and griffin, sore arms and cashed feet..wish these courses were in the city.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 The Good Stuff Is Hidden

1    6/7/2010   6/9/2010
Review By: Donovan
Played: 239  Reviewed: 186  Exp: 31.5 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: From the parking lot, you may want to turn around and go back. Sure the water may look nice but the holes do not look like much. However, once you go back beyond the woods you see, things get really cool. There are a few holes where the water does come into play. One shot over a pond will take approximately 230 feet to carry the water. There is some fence like OB and a few mandos. There are some really fun tunnel shot type holes on some of the shorter holes that really keep you focused. There are both lefty and righty type holes that will make you really focus on how far out you want your disc to travel before starting to turn. With that said, the thing that really turned me on about this course was the flight paths. Many of the hole layouts were set up in a way that gave you a few different options in approaching the hole from the tee. Some of these basket locations are fantastic and the concrete tees are in great spots. They also have a nice drinking fountain at the parking lot.
Cons: For first time players, this course has a big negative. You will need to walk each hole to see the basket on 90% of the holes. This will get irritating after a while. Obviously, this is a short lived negative, because once you learn the holes, it will no longer be an issue. I will make this a negative on my rating as most of us come here to see where we would like to go play. Navigation is not easy. Get a guide first, if that is not available, then try the map. There are no holes over 400 feet. This is not really a negative, since it is hardly noticeable, but it should be mentioned. The tee signs are not all present and this course really needs the hole distances measured from scratch.
Other Thoughts: The walking back and forth to find the basket really wasted lots of time and was kind of irritating. However, the Fun Factor was really good outside of that. So, this was a love/hate relationship. If I lived here, I would play here a ton. I would really say if it is your first time, get someone to show you around, outside of that, this was a blast. It is well worth the stop in Norman, OK, to play here and Griffin.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Oldest course in Oklahoma?

2-4    11/4/2009   6/4/2010
Review By: okie_thumber
Played: 26  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 9.4 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Nice, scenic course. Offers lots of shot variety. Cool trails and benches everywhere throughout the course. Technical course.
Cons: Finding some of the tee boxes first time out can get annoying.
Other Thoughts: I was told by one of the locals that this is the oldest course in Oklahoma. Play this course!

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 The Mau5 was here

5+    5/19/2010   5/21/2010
Review By: Mau5
Played: 10  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 9.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very tough course, though at first glance it doesn't seem that tough. Front nine is birdie heaven once you've played the course a few times. Back nine can be tough but it extremely fun to play especially 12 and 13(the two major water holes). 10 has a possibility of putting your disc in the water but it takes a seriously screwed up throw to pull that off haha...I played the course a day or so ago and Sooner Disc Golf is doing alot of work to improve the course. Just a few more improvements and the course would have gotten a 4.5 from me...Oh and the pin for 11 has been moved 100 feet to the south by a large cedar, most people I play with don't like it at that position but I actually really like it, its not that I didn't have the arm to get to the old position, I think it raises the difficulty of approaching and putting on the hole since its 100% more protected by trees and such now.
Cons: It turns into a swap after any kind moderate to heavy rain. In summer course can be a disc eater if you don't pay very close attention to where it goes.
Other Thoughts: A lot of old heads play the course since its been around since 77', so you get a chance to see some really old school players and discs in action which I think is pretty friggin cool..I saw a dude throw an old school Metal head Viper like 500' warming up, its not everyday you see that.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.