Tyler, TX 
Noble E. Young DGC Share
Uploaded By: wellsbranch250 Hole #3 (Taken 4/2018)
3 / 203ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 7
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
Lindsey Park Green... If Located In That Park

1    4/8/2018   6/27/2018
Review By: wellsbranch250
Played: 326  Reviewed: 311  Exp: 4.9 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: (1.655 Rating) A simple short 9 hole course.
- ACEABILITY - Six shots under 230 feet in length and couple of these are obstacle free. Players are probably fives time more likely to ace here than at a normal course.
- BEGINNER FRIENDLY - New players should enjoy this course. The course is mostly open with a few lightly wooded holes. Hole (1) is probably the most difficult line being 10 feet wide play through several rows of pine trees. I failed making the gap on both of my typical first hole throws. Overgrowth is limited to fridge plays, and there is no water in play.
- CHAINS - DISCatchers. Basket (3) was damaged
- TEES - Mostly 5 foot by 13 foot concrete tees which is a bit of a shocker for a course this small. Two tees were not poured yet on my visit.
- QUICK PLAY - It will be over in a heartbeat and I personally finished in 25 minutes. Figure a group of four players could be done in 45 minutes.
- MAINTENANCE - The course was completely mowed on my visit and there was little trash.

Cons: Not really any major flaws, rather it's just inadequacies compared to the average course out there.
- LACK OF CHALLENGE - Players that have progressed into the Recreational ranks will find the challenges presented here to be a bit light. I think that players with about a 830 to 840 rating should average course par out here. This would mean Novice (green) level. Other than hole (1), accuracy is not a requirement. The max length on any one hole is 325 feet, so distance isn't going to be a challenge either.
- UNIQUENESS - Not the worst out there, but nothing here is inspiring either. There really isn't too much to work with in the park other than a spattering of trees. No water elements and elevation is limited to a few 10 to 15 foot changing gentle slopes. The designer could have engaged the park boundary trees a bit more, but I think the goal was to deliver a beginner friendly course, and if so, design success.
- POISON IVY - It was everywhere, including in some of the mowed fairways.
- CHARACTER - Other than tees and baskets, the extras are nonexistent. No practice basket, alternate baskets placements or multi-tees. No seating, community board or trash cans. Signage is very basic.
- NATURAL BEAUTY - A touch below average. The course plays around a skateboard feature and it's in view almost the entire time. More than half of the layout is just open fields of mowed grass. To end on a positive note, the surrounding perimeter is almost entirely wooded.

Other Thoughts: Considering I was running out of daylight I decided to check out this shorty instead of Lindsey Park. It will work for newer players for sure. I've read a bit up on the other Lindsey Park courses and it appears that those are more for seasoned players. Beginners and novice level players in the area who are looking to stay low key will find Noble park to be the perfect little place to practice without feeling inadequate next to the local advanced players.
- NAVIGATION - OK. There isn't a course map on site or online. There are no directional aids between holes and signage as is just a number and distance. Baskets are clearly numbered. The thing that makes navigating this layout not much of a headache is namely the confined park area and general openness. I spent maybe 2 extra minutes total trying to find my bearing between holes.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Nice Closeout to My Day

1    4/7/2017   4/10/2017
Review By: MadGame32
Played: 43  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 1.9 Years
This review was updated on 1/25/2018
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Easy to follow layout.
-No guesswork to basket locations.
-Hole that really needed signage had signs.
-I doubt this park gets a lot of traffic.
Cons: -Tee sign on #3 has been pulled up and the basket has been bent up a bit.
-Lots of poison ivy if a disc goes astray.
- There was one shady dude hanging out in the park, and it was a bit secluded. It may be best to go with someone. But, I had no issues being there on my own.
Other Thoughts: -This is the easiest course I have ever played. I scored my first under par score for 18 holes. (I played it twice.)
- I would say #6 is the best hole on the course, but #1 is really good as well.
-This was a nice confidence booster after just having played at Lyndsey Park.
-I would agree with the previous review that this would be a great course to take a kid to, or for someone just getting started in the game.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Beginners course

1    11/19/2016   12/4/2016
Review By: Pizza God
Played: 575  Reviewed: 276  Exp: 30.7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: easy to follow once you find the first tee
Has baskets and most tees are marked
Cons: few grass/dirt tee pads
Very short course
Other Thoughts: The is a GREAT course to bring someone out to play for the first time.
Not easy to throw into crap, but interesting enough to get them hooked.
From the parking lot, walk towards the skate park and you will see the tee pad for hole one throwing to the right. Then the course just throws around the perimeter of the park. Only one hole over 300 ft.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Good for Beginners

5+    5/31/2015   6/2/2015
Review By: Dang_Yankee
Played: 11  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 14.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well maintained fairways and nice baskets. Good amount of trees to work with. Good practice for your mid-range discs and fairway drivers.
Cons: Can reach all but holes 6 and 8 with my putter. Very short holes. Only get the chance to stretch out my drives on 2 holes.
Other Thoughts: Probably not the best area to be in around dark, beginning to get into the seedier areas of Tyler.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Best Beginner Course in Tyler

1    4/19/2013   4/19/2013
Review By: hph04a
Played: 12  Reviewed: 6
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: New Baskets, well marked tee areas, course is easy to navigate
Cons: dirt tee pads, only 9 holes,
Other Thoughts: Very easy, very straight forward course. Only two holes are over 300 feet, the rest fall between 180' and 225'. This is a great quick play if you're close by. Absolutely the best course in tyler to take beginners. Its open with no water, so there's not a huge chance of anyone loosing a disc. Also, a great place to make a few ace runs. I played the entire course with a midrange and a putter.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 I was impressed

1    3/9/2013   3/9/2013
Review By: chalos13
Played: 35  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 11.5 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is set in a very nice park, unlike a lot of Tyler courses, the course is almost completely grass. Many courses in the area are very sandy, this one is not. The baskets are in great shape, still like new. Tee boxes are clearly marked, and easy to figure out the flow from one hole to next.
Cons: This is a short course. My group of three played all nine holes twice in just over an hour. Nothing terribly challenging here, the longest hole was 325 feet. Most of the stone tee markers that are supposed to tell you feet and hole number are broken, but it's easy to navigate anyway.
Other Thoughts: I like this course, the park is super clean, well maintained, and it's a great course to help new people learn or take your kids. If you're at Lindsey Park, it's five minutes away, and it adds 30 minutes to your day. Play this course, it's not the best in town, but it's good for what they had to work with.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Good simple course

2-4    8/20/2012   11/30/2012
Review By: dagger1504
Played: 9  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 13.5 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Wide open spaces to play
-9 hole course makes for a quick game
-no water hazards
-not very difficult, par 3 holes
-has a skate park, if you are interested in that.
Cons: -Some tee markers are missing/vandalized
-9 hole course makes for a quick game
-May be seen as boring and too easy
-Giant fire ants
Other Thoughts: I am pretty familiar with with this park since I used to skate at it all the time. I recently discovered the disc golf course and thought I would give it a try. I pretty much played it 3 times in a row. The course is very simple, not challenging and makes for a nice relaxing time to play.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.