Morristown, TN 
Rotary DGC Share
Uploaded By: Baysinger Hole #10 (Taken 9/2012)
3 / 310ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 11
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
If the other Morristown courses had a baby...

1    7/11/2017   7/11/2017
Review By: dr.chainslove
Played: 144  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 18.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Morristown is a wonderful area for disc golf--4 great courses sandwiched between Harmon Hills/Warriors and the stout Knoxville offerings. I've played a ton of HB Clark's courses and I think some of his best work resides in this area (Panther, Cherokee, Kiwanis, and Rotary). Rotary is a perfect blend between the short/technical Kiwanis and the long/super-elevation Cherokee.

Just like the other Morristown courses, you'll have top-notch signage, tees, baskets (discatchers), maintenance, and amenities. It looks like a ton of fairway trimming and mulching was recently done and the course looks and plays great. Like the others, Rotary also benefits from the figure-8 layout with 1 and 10 meeting back at the parking area.

Lot's of fun holes. Fun downhill bombers (1, 3, 12, 18) and tight tree lines (7, 8, 9, 14-17). 9 was a fun risk/reward option with the safe par line on the right or the crowded deuce line to the left.

18 isn't a great score-separation finishing hole, but it was a nice downhill grip-and-rip with a well designed raised island pin location.

The soccer fields are perfectly leveled with nice short Bermuda grass. Anyone who wants to get some "field work" accomplished would enjoy doing so here.

3 practice baskets right next to a nice covered pavilion at hole 1?! yep.
Cons: As others have stated, this park will have plenty of non-discing revelers near the soccer fields. Although I think the lines on 11, 12, and 13 were out of the way, I understand how some would worry about altering their shot to avoid other users.

The 17 teepad dangerously hangs out on the right side of 16s fairway

First-timer beware: signage on #3 might suggest playing straight/left to #6's basket but the hole actually bends to the right.

10 and (arguably) 11 are your straightforward filler holes to help get you to the good stuff on the other side of the park.


Other Thoughts: Trying to be rational, I'd say this course is a strong 3.5'er. However, the fun-factor and the great balance round Rotary up to 4 for me. To me, it's right in line with Cherokee and Kiwanis but really does offer the best of each. That considered, I'll give Rotary a sight bump above those two (although not near the Panther epicness level). Don't skip Rotary if you make it to this area!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Well designed course

1    6/2/2014   6/2/2014
Review By: Nashvillian
Played: 32  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 10.7 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Course is very easy to play and Navigate
good mix of elevation and available trees
Lot more birdie ops than I expected being that I throw around 300. The elevation gave me chances and I ended up 2 up.
Cons: Was a perfect day not many park goers but maybe because they have all the soccer fields closed.
Other Thoughts: The first person I really played with was HB and this course was similar to Cedar Hill in Nashville.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Great mix

5+    1/10/2013   1/11/2013
Review By: Slingtastic
Played: 10  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.3 Years
This review was updated on 1/12/2013
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has a great mix of open and wooded course with many technical holes.

They have super nice concrete tee pads and brand new Innova baskets with great signs at each pad and arrows on the basket pointing you to the next tee pad.


It's a happy mix of the Cherokee Park and Kiwanis course that we have in town because it's got the short, technical, wooded holes of the Kiwanis course and the long, open holes of Cherokee Park.

The grounds are super nice and kept up with trash cans on many holes. Though you still have the usual bottle or wrapper laying around from where people are to lazy to use the trash cans.
Cons: With this being a newer course, the parks and rec are still working on ironing out the wrinkles as far as like wooded fairways being a little to overgrown and growing grass around certain boxes and fairways so it can get a little muddy.

During a busy weekend, the back nine can get crazy because they play mostly along the soccer fields so you have to be really careful about where you throw.

It would be nice if there were more bathrooms along the course and water fountains.

Holes 4, 5, and 6 kind of run close to one another so you have to keep an eye out especially while in 4 and 5's fairway and on 6's tee box.

If you miss a fairway in the woods during summer, be prepared to spend some time looking for your disc because the woods get super think and there are thorn bushes about every 5 feet.

The park closes at dusk so for now the opportunity of a glow round is out of the question.
Other Thoughts: If the gates to hole 1 are closed you can park at the baseball field parking lot and walk about 500 ft to hole 1 basket. Or you could park at 4 and just start with hole 4 and end with 3 to end where you parked if by chance the baseball field gate is closed.

Holes 4, 13, 14, 15, and 17 require very accurate drives and approach shots or else you could get into some difficult shots.

Holes 1, 2, 3, 5, 6, 10, 11, 12, and 18 are the open holes with the others being all wooded or mostly wooded.

Hole 13 to me is the hardest hole because it starts out open and then does a 90 degree into the woods about 175 ft from the box. It's literally like an L, and for a lefty like me who's a newbie it kicks my butt.

Hole 4 is also difficult because you have a wall of trees about 75 ft from the box with narrow gaps to hit then opens up into a super long fairway.

It's a very nice course to play because it's big enough to where you don't have to worry about other disc golfers on a majority of the holes (4, 5, and 6 are really the only ones where others come into play) so it's a pretty safe place to play.

Disc golf is starting to take off in Morristown and we even have the Tennessee State Championships coming in June so if you are in the area I would definitely suggest checking it out if you're wanting something more than the Kiwanis course but not as long as the Cherokee Park course.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 pro

5+    1/10/2013   1/10/2013
Review By: motownACEslinger
Played: 10  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 8.5 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Great layout nice mix of open and woods a few ace runs but not many takes around 2 hour per foursome.
Cons: Cons well the park service is very annoying always hassling you where you're going very strange for a city park and if you don't want to have to walk a 1/4 mile to hole 1 you will need to park at hole 4 it is the bottom parking lot they lock the gates to the skate park, soccer fields and disc golf course they have nice practice baskets at hole 1 but you have to park a 1/4 mile away very strange but the park service will park there company trucks at hole 1 one and play during the middle of the day and hold the vistors up

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Another great MoTown Course

1    9/10/2012   9/10/2012
Review By: Chris A
Played: 61  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 11.4 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great use of land that was given. Long technically challenging par 4's. The flow of the course is really good. The course is listed as wooded, but most the woods holes have large open fairways.
Cons: The flow is good, but some of the tee pads are extremely close to fairways and on at least 3 holes I could see this as a problem during a large event.
Other Thoughts: Really looking forward to seeing this place in about 2 yrs after some tree trimming and solid play. Just like the other 2 H.B. Clark courses in this area he has really done a good job. Morristown has quickly become a DG destination!

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.