Schwenksville, PA 
Upper Salford Park Share
Uploaded By: runner17 Hole #9 (Taken 9/2012)
4 / 330ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Basket



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 9
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
Down On Upper Salford

1    3/29/2021   4/7/2021
Review By: Ryal
Played: 93  Reviewed: 87  Exp: 3.9 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: + The whole course plays through a peaceful and expansive chunk of tree-peppered fields within a much larger park. It appears to be well upkept and quiet.
+ Some gentle slopes and a sleepy stream give the course some pleasant hints of texture and life.
+ The tee pads, while quite small, appear nicely constructed and are present on all nine holes.
+ There is a practice basket and scorecard container (empty on my visit) behind hole 1.
+ It's not ideal, but all baskets do have that 'next tee tape' visibly wrapped around one of the upper spokes to point players to where they should go next, but....
Cons: - ...That's all the player gets in terms of signage. Navigation is a gallery of guesswork. Thankfully, it's mostly obvious where the player ought to walk, so that can almost be forgiven, except...
- ...There are no tee signs here, either. In the absence of guiding signage, disc golfers seach the middle distance for those vertical posts that typically accompany a tee pad, but there are no tee signs. The only one I saw was on the ground next to hole 5.
- The tee pads themselves are pretty tiny, too. I suppose that the holes' distances don't require a run-up, but new and/or younger players could benefit from them.
- What is that picnic bench doing in the middle of 8's fairway?
- The topography of this course is mostly flat, and the texture is wide open fields punctuated with the occasional tree or stream.
Other Thoughts: My favorite hole here to play was hole 9 because it is the most challenging with its distance. My favorite hole here to look at was hole 3 because of that grassy berm with the pin on top. My least favorite hole was hole 1 because I feel like it plays way too close to that walking path.

This will undoubtedly be one of my more disagreed-with reviews.

I feel the need to pre-emptively apologize to all of the previous reviewers when I say that I simply didn't see what they saw in Upper Salford. It's flat. It's wide open. All of the shots are straight-forward and direct. There are no obstacles and precious little elevation. There is nothing to challenge the player besides the stream that we are asked to cross a few times too many, and the distances would certainly be good training for the newer players, but they are just birdie/ace runs for players who have been playing with any degree of regularity for more than, say, six months.

On the upside, I will say that it is a very accessible course. The flat and treeless fairways are a low-pressure introduction to the sport for the new player. For the experienced player, this course is a fine place to reinforce approaches and power control. There are plenty of birdies and ace chances here. The venue is nice, too.

But none of that compensates for the overall dull nature of the holes. A few of them feel copy-pasted just to pad out the run time. Holes 5, 6 and 7 are a perfect example. Their fairways border each other, and the player crosses that same stream three times in a row. Tedious. All straight, flat and wide-open. Boring.

As I close this review, I'll say what I usually say about courses like this: I am glad that it exists. I may not have had a good time with it, but there are definitely people out there who played disc golf for the first time at this course and liked it so much that they wanted to continue playing, and I think that's wonderful. It's a great novices' course. But when I think about other 9-hole courses that I've played, Upper Salford doesn't quite scratch the itch.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

A Good Use of Open Park Land

1    11/24/2019   12/1/2019
Review By: HyooMac
Played: 180  Reviewed: 164  Exp: 3.8 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
+ Easy but well-maintained nine in a big park

+ Decent variety of holes for such an open park: a few holes incorporate a small drainage stream

+ After a short first hole, #2 and #3 manage to use the little amount of elevation there is to be found at this park

+ Hole #4 is a pretty setting: trees along the left, and a stream that cuts diagonally across the fairway from about 190' to 240'

+ Holes #5 - #7 cross back and forth over that same drainage stream but these are short holes and the stream never really comes into play the way it does on #4

+ Hole #8 is a very short (147') but fun hole. The obvious play is directly at it, but there's a great hyzer route up over the trees on the right - I'm partial to this route because I parked my MD2 for a tap-in

+ Hole #9 has a generous par (4) assigned and it's another straight throw - but the basket is protected by a large tree

Cons:
- Short teepads. Really only big enough for single step or standstill throws. A couple of the new boxes are raised - so they're injuries just waiting to happen. The pads are new and they're really nice - but I wonder if the Parks department has actually seen intermediate or advanced players' runups

- You're playing close to some walkways. #8 and #9 are probably the worst of these, because you're throwing at a walking path for much of the line
Other Thoughts:
~ Mailbox at the first tee with scorecards and pencils

~ I really envy people who live close to nice park layous like Upper Salford. While it's not particularly challenging, it does serve as a great place to introduce newbies to the game, or to play a quick practice round. Plus, the maintenance and upkeep show a real partnership with the local Parks department. Courses like Upper Salford keep the game growing



4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Iím Not Sure How To ClassifyThis Course!

1    5/2/2018   5/2/2018
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 1505  Reviewed: 1450  Exp: 42.9 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Upper Salford Park is a very large park with a popular walking path running throughout. The park's seem to have everything going on, soccer fields, open spaces, sand volleyball, playgrounds, tennis courts and more.

The # 1 basket is between the tennis courts and a ball field. There is no tee sign here but there is a very nice mailbox and surprise, it was jam packed with course maps and scorecards. There are these small concrete tee pads, just big enough to step on. # 1 plays straight down about 200'. The baskets are old DGA models. # 2 has a tee sign in the form of a board in the back corner of the small tee pad. It's strange to have the tee sign that players will step on.

# 4 is a little longer at 285' but still open. Then 5-6-7 are all back and forth holes that are wide open. # 8 is a little more interesting. At least here, you can have a choice of simple little 140' routes, hyser or annie? Then # 9 finishes with a 330' Par 4.

The course plays as an easy recreational level. Most holes are flat, easy and wide open. This is a good course to bring, not only that newbie, but also any inexperienced player. There is probably zero chance of losing a disc, no serious rough or water hazards.
Cons: Wide open holes.

Short recreation or pitch and putt distances/challenges.

Silly little miniature tee pads.

Difficult to follow the on line map and also slightly confusing to navigate.

# 1 is not easy to locate.

No signage on a couple of holes.
Other Thoughts: Upper Salford DGC is a easy recreational course or a pretty good beginner course. It's wide open terrain makes for a safe, low stress round but it's wide open space also makes for a mostly boring round for most players. I don't see too many players being a good match with this course. A better course for the newbie is Branchwood and players looking for challenge can play at Bootlegger's Cave.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Excellent Beginner Course

5+    9/9/2019   9/24/2017
Review By: itsRudy
Played: 45  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 4.8 Years
This review was updated on 4/6/2021
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
Good niners are rare around these parts, as interest drives the best ones to become fully grown 18s in short order. Upper Salford is an exception to that rule, a simple and quick course in dry times good for total newcomers and beginners, those who throw less than 250ft consistently.

It's good practice for approach game on a generally flat open course with minimal brush but decent variety of small elevation and a few woods, bushes, tree lines, and bits of swamp to try trajectories or new throws.

Median length is 210' and there's only one hole, #9, over 300ft. I'm still playing quick, casual games here after three years, typically two rounds.

+++This is a large, cheery and well maintained community park that hosts team sports, a playground and walkers. After #1, the course is tucked away from most park regulars, other than the occasional trail walker.
++It's one of the few area courses good for combining or creating new holes, especially from #2-7. When no one's here, I do this on my second pass. Play safe, never throw blindly into an area!
+Teepads have just been asphalted Fall 2019. Raised ones have now been made flush with the ground Spring 2020. They're short but still usuable with the grass behind them.
+Spring 2020, #4's stream has been graveled in. Much less disc loss here.
+There are also many large adjacent fields to practice long drives.
Cons:
There are no dealbreakers for the target audience but intermediate players will probably get bored quickly as straight shots off the tee is enough to get at almost all baskets. Kenilworth is a step higher in challenge. Because there's no club actively taking care of it afaik, little issues sometime crop up and stay for months.

Especially in spring, the course tends to be soggy and take forever to dry out. Avoid after rain or have waterproof shoes. It also tends to be the windiest part of the local area and magnifies any breeziness that is going on.

-No course signs for the uninitiated. Since tee asphalting, tees signs have been MIA. With the short holes, it's no big deal. "Next Tee" signs on baskets would help navigation.
-#5, 7, 8 are all short and similar. Wish they'd move #7's basket back and right behind the gap in the treeline to change things up.
-Disc loss is most likely at #9's treeline and swamp before basket.
-The Philadelphia Folk Festival weekend in August fills this entire park way past overflowing. Avoid.
Other Thoughts:
Terrain Potential: XXx - Typical for disc golf, above average for a community course.
Actual Execution: XXXX - Excellent. They made about the best 9er this park could support. Tweaks are still possible but no major missed opportunities.
Upkeep: XXXx - Fully and often mowed, no major problems.
Difficulty: XX - Elementary. If you can shoot straight, you can come in under par.
Fun Factor: XXXx - Very good for beginners. I'm still playing here after 4 years while it's not my closest course.
Overall: XXX - Good, solid course for players that aren't quite intermediate.

Amenities: Portapotty between #8 and 9, along treeline by maintenance shed. Others around in park, but not so close. Pavilion bathrooms closed.

Course Layout: 9er going in a 1960' loop counterclockwise around the perimeter of a large, still farmed field with forested windbreaks. There is a walk from #7 to the #8 near the front of the park.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Tweet tweet

5+    9/28/2015   2/18/2016
Review By: Zunz
Played: 81  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 7.5 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well maintained park
Mailbox with scorecards and maps by hole 1
Bathrooms and portos
Tee pad markers with pictures of the holes and distances
Quick and easy practice round
Cons: Short
Some of the treeline rough still has pieces of barbed wire hiding in it.
The 6-7 transition, bad flow and it's basically the same shot with the tee pads close together and both baskets along the same tree line. Both throws also go across the walking path. The area would also benefit from another bridge or two across the drainage ditch.
When the park is crowded, holes 8 and 9 can be unplayable.
Hole 1 can be hard to find
Other Thoughts: This is a beautiful park course on a former farm where you will be walking on manicured grass all day. Except when you go in the rough which consists of wind-break tree lines (some barbed wire still exists in there, be careful) and a farmed (usually corn) field.

Hole 1 is between the tennis courts and baseball field that lies to the right of the main pavilion. Its a straight throw with several trees dotting the fairway and a row of bushes along the right side.

Hole 2 is a straight throw slightly downhill to a green that falls away left and long.

Hole 3 plays to an elevated green shaped for a straight throw with a hyzer finish (rhbh) or coming in at it with an annie or a forehand. There is a thin patch of wooded rough behind the green and tall grass to the left of the fairway.

Hole 4 has a fairway that doglegs right at the end, perfect for a lhbh or forehand. Rhbh means throwing a big annie or flying over and through the tall grass and then trees on the right (it can be a thorny mess in there). The left side of the fairway is guarded by the tree line that separates it from 3's green, ending just in time to open up an area where a late fade could land you in tall grass rough.

Hole 5 is a short throw that can be approached straight off the tee (rhbh) or with a forehand as the basket sits on the edge of a tree line

Holes 6 and 7 are almost the same throw, the tee pads are close together and the baskets are side-by-side along the same tree line. 6 has an early tree to worry about, 7 has a late one.

Hole 8 is a bit of a hike from 7 for which you are rewarded with the shortest hole on the course. The tee and basket are on opposite sides of a picnic area. If you can throw a hyzer bomb over the top it's an easy little shot, if not, you are throwing through several small trees and about half a dozen picnic benches. If anyone is using this area, the hole should not be played.

Hole 9 is the longest hole on the course with a low straight line open to the basket. Several trees dot the right side of the fairway and there's an area of tall grass (can be swampy) before the green forcing the choice between laying up and risking it. The basket has trees guardian trees all around it.

Overall, this is a nice little practice course. It's an easy place to get in a quick round. Nothing too challenging and you don't need to carry your whole bag, 3 or 4 discs should do it, better players might consider this a putter course (except perhaps #'s 4 & 9). When the park is crowded, several of the holes become unplayable and several others have a walking path along side or across the fairway. I've seen the park so crowded that holes 2, 4 and 5 were the only ones that can be safely played without risking hitting other park patrons. With that said, generally it's not an issue on any hole, not even hole 8 where there are picnic benches directly between the tee and basket (I've played here dozens of times and I've never seen anyone using the picnic area).
I wouldn't go out of my way to play here, but if you're close by it's a nice little practice course. If you need to throw a sub-par round to boost your confidence, come here.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 All in the fields

1    8/27/2015   8/27/2015
Review By: owvanguard
Played: 156  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 12.9 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Minimal rough

Very open

Hole 9 was challenging and fun.
Cons: Finding the first hole was difficult and not marked.

The tee pads were tiny. Run ups were very difficult.

Holes 5,6,7,& 8 are all very short birdie runs.
Other Thoughts: The person mowing was nice. He showed me my disc and worked around it.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful Park, Great beginnerCourse

1    5/23/2015   5/23/2015
Review By: xjwigluszx
Played: 7  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.1 Years
This review was updated on 11/8/2015
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course along with the rest of the park is beautifully maintained. Great confidence builder for beginner players, such as myself. For the most part you have wide open shots without the walking path getting in the way. Minimal chance for disc loss.
Cons: I felt as though the tee boxes were a bit on the small side, but that might just be me. Also the tee boxes could greatly benefit from a post, a marker, anything vertical so you can spot it from the previous basket. #8 basket is close proximity to picnic table and a bench, thought empty on my trip could be trouble on a busy day
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed this course and look forward to bringing my family back to enjoy the park. As a beginner I shot +2 and +1 on what I feel was a sloppy round. This will definitely be my first under par course and definitely look forward to returning. I could see the course feeing a bit crazy if it was crowded, but on my late morning round, peaceful and tranquil. Other mentioned the drainage ditch through the course, which didn't appear to be issue, but it's been a dry month so that may have something to do with it

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 nice variety, pretty park

5+    11/6/2013   9/19/2013
Review By: TSivhar
Played: 11  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 7.9 Years
This review was updated on 11/6/2013
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Update: From late Oct on, there is little risk of dis loss, including holes 4 and 9, due to mowing and die off. // First reviewer gives an accurate, detailed account including mention of Holes 4 and 9 as the most challenging (as well as highest risk of disc loss). Still #9 can be birdied, even eagled by advanced player. The reason I give course a 3.5 ("very good") is good variety; good maintenance (for the entire park really); plus it would be hard to create a better 9 hole course in this space than has been created. Great job by park.
Cons: Risk of disc loss substantial at Holes #4 (either right or left) and #9 (left only). Holes 5 thru 7 are a bit similar and a bit short (50 to 70 yd) however they still may be enjoyed not to mention birdied. Agreed that picnic benches are too close to Hole #8... ideally this hole will eventually be tweaked. The major 'con' for better players maybe be the sense that the course does not offer enough challenge beyond the first few rounds.
Other Thoughts: Every hole should be a birdie opp for better players except perhaps #4 -- which will be tough to birdie for anyone but elite players. The upside : it's a great course to boost your confidence, keep all your discs, and just enjoy... the downside being fewer challenges. Update: #4 too can be birdied later in the year.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 softball spectators

2-4    9/30/2012   9/30/2012
Review By: beaverwoods
Played: 12  Reviewed: 3
This review was updated on 10/4/2012
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: First tee is a direct line with the large flag pole and right next to a softball field. fI the softball players are warming up you may have very interested and friendly softball spectators. Mailbox near first tee has scorecards/maps. Baskets are in good shape with course having a good variety of lengths for holes. Three holes are potential deuce holes. Course is mostly level with most holes having few trees. Tees are gravel and average in length. The directions to the next tee are painted on the preceding tee box as well as a rough shape of hole. Frequently there is tree line/fence behind or beside the basket. The course is outlines by a hiking trail which does not come in play most of the time. One interesting par 4 hole on hole 9 with some trees. Hole 4 is a challenge with a split fairway around a drainage ditch and is longest par 3 on course. (Some may consider hole 4 a con.)
Cons: Biggest con is drainage ditch with tall weeds. On nearly half the holes this comes into play with limited places to cross ditch. In many places the ditch is about three to four feet wide on holes five to seven. Warning the center of ditch is significantly deeper than the sides so be careful in you choose not to go around ditch. On two holes for players who cannot throw 170 ft. in air readily the ditch comes into play. Layup options are there. A low tech bridge would ease speed of play (could be as simple as a 2x 6) for holes five and six. Picnic table in play near hole 8 and could be moved or basket moved. Tee boxes are totally flat and adding a short colored pole would help tee boxed to be found quickly.
Other Thoughts: For course that has not been around for long it is good shape. Between some tall grass and drainage ditch there is a chance of disc lost. Park is well maintained. More of a challenge than nearby Branchwood.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.