Clarksville, OH 
Gulley Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #6 (Taken 5/2009)
3 / 140ft.   3 / 140ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 35
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3 4
Gulley By Golly

5+    5/23/2018   5/24/2018
Review By: mrclc
Played: 361  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 5.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There's a little something for everyone at Gulley Park, a secluded rec/int layout that shows its teeth if you stray from the fairway. Most holes place a premium on hitting your lines cleanly and avoiding the thick, brushy rough. A significant minority are open, offering a chance to air it out after being hemmed in by the aforementioned brush. There's nothing too revolutionary design-wise, but the fun factor is high, and there aren't any holes that seem unfair or outside the intended skill level of the rest of the course. Highlights include Hole 5, a funky RHBH blind hyzer that places the course's largest premium on accuracy, as the fairway narrows significantly as you approach the pin. Hole 13 requires a downhill drive either through a gap in an undergrowth-ridden grove of trees or a bomb over the top before a gentle uphill approach to an open green.

Holes 16 & 17 come as a pleasant surprise at the end of the round as traditional woods holes with thin rough, and provide welcome relief from the predominant underbrush found elsewhere on the course.

The course's relatively rural location means it gets little traffic, and even on gorgeous days there's typically only two to three groups out at any given time.

The compact tee signs provide distance, recreational par, and a simple hole diagram.
Cons: Most of the rough here is pretty thick, especially in summer, and there's poison ivy everywhere.

This is one of the buggier courses in the area, with flying insects abounding in the woods. I've also picked up ticks here, so make sure to check yourself and any furry companions.

Gulley unsurprisingly holds quite a bit of water, and mud often lasts days after rain. Waterproof shoes and boots are a big asset, especially on the wooded holes.

The old carpet tees have been replaced with turf tees - a major improvement - but the tee boxes are still a little small. Some are currently set above ground level by 2 x 4's, which makes it difficult to start a run up from off the pad.
Other Thoughts: Gulley Park has that intangible fun factor and the ability to be challenging without punishing, and I think that's why it resonates with rec and int level golfers. If you live closer to either Dayton or Cincinnati, this one is best played in a tour of the area courses, possibly in conjunction with Osage Grove or the niners in Lebanon and Mason.

PROTIP: If you're playing without a map, make sure to turn to the left after putting out on Hole 5 or you might inadvertently skip Holes 6 & 7.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


1    3/25/2018   3/28/2018
Review By: gcoghill
Played: 72  Reviewed: 66  Exp: 18.4 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good course. Easy to find, not too far from the highway but still secluded. Exclusive land for the course. Challenging but not insanely difficult holes. Well maintained. Clean. Secluded area. Nice mix of holes.
Cons: Tees are a bit dilapidated. Nothing particularly exceptional about the course or any of the holes.
Other Thoughts: A solid 3.0 ("Good") course. Maybe even 3.5. Clean and well-maintained. Holes are fun, but serious players might find it lacking in distance and challenge. Great for us casual players.

While there is nothing notable about this course, it's a well-thought-out and enjoyable course. Extra points for cleanliness and exclusive, secluded land that's also easy to reach from the highway.

The last few holes are a bit bland, but the early holes all have enough character to make the overall course a good one.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.


5+    3/11/2018   3/11/2018
Review By: Grippenripp
Played: 6  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nicely maintained course. Even mix of moderately wooded, open and heavily wooded holes. Course is challenging but not frustratingly so. Decent parking, even when the lot's full you can wiggle in somewhere. Moderate, low elevation changes.
Cons: The only facilities are a port a john. Some places are a little swampy sometimes.
Other Thoughts: All in all this course is beautiful in my opinion. I have a lot of fun here always and feel that this course is helping me become a better golfer in general.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Hidden Gem

2-4    4/5/2017   4/27/2017
Review By: ad166809
Played: 39  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 4.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great basket placements. Elevation Changes, Dog Legs, Woods Holes.

Tee Pads are okay, not great but playable.

Maps are pretty generic, but give yardages and have decent illustrations to the baskets.

This course holds true to its namesake. Lots of Gulley's and Elevation Changes through the first 12-13 Holes, then starts to straighten out towards the last holes.

The course foliage is pretty well kept. Park is clean and usually not busy at all.
Cons: No real benches out in the park. A couple holes have man made benches.

This course is out in the middle of nowhere.

Other Thoughts: Good variety of hole distances. Some long open holes like #11 & #13. Some shorter woods holes like #16-#17.

No running water, only a porta-potty, no water fountains.

This course is usually never very crowded, however the trade off is usually a long trip out there.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


5+    3/28/2017   4/4/2017
Review By: Adownard
Played: 32  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 4.4 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Beatiful park/course
-Really fun holes with many gulley type holes
-Challenging but can still shoot well there on any given day
-Variety of open and wooded holes
Cons: -Nothing too bad to say about this course
-Plays a little bit easy
-Can get pretty muddy on the wooded holes
Other Thoughts: This is a regular course for me and i love playing it. The park is in really nice shape and you do not have to worry about other park attendees being in the way.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Gully Park

5+    10/22/2016   12/3/2016
Review By: Xelto
Played: 29  Reviewed: 24
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: * Nice mix of open and technical shots, good variety of distances and throw styles, and a bit of elevation
* Rarely crowded
* Nicely maintained, ample parking, and maintained port-a-potties on site
Cons: * Out of the way
* Poison ivy has been a problem at times, though I haven't noticed it recently. Others have complained about ticks, but I've never had any issues here.
* Marshy after rains
Other Thoughts: They finally got real tees in! The course sees a decent amount of disc golf traffic (though usually not so much you would call it crowded), and combined with the swampiness of the park in general, that put a lot of wear on the tee areas. And it looks like they have done some things to combat the marsh effect, especially on hole 1, although I would still be cautious about going after a soaking-type rain.

They mix the shots up nicely, with a nice selection of wide-open, lighly wooded, moderately wooded, and full-on forest, plus varying distances, and almost half the holes have some sort of elevation effect, though none have steep hills.

My ultimate judgement for any course is "How far is it worth driving to get to it?" And for Gully Park... it's worth going out of your way to play, but not worth making a special trip for, by itself (although combining it with the nearby Osage Orange course might be worth a special trip.) Definitely one for nearby players to add to their 'good course' rotation.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    4/20/2016   4/20/2016
Review By: Glorch
Played: 7  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Gulley has a great variety of holes ranging from heavily wooded that require control, to wide open holes that are good for beginners. Theres has a nice map that clearly shows the layout of the course. The crew does a nice job keeping the place in good shape. It's also never very busy, usually only 2-4 groups on any giving day. Gulley is all around really fun if you're looking for almost every type of holes in one course.
Cons: The tee pads are kind of a joke. They used to be carpet. None are intact anymore. Could really use concrete.
Other Thoughts: It would be nice if there was some way they would let people sponsor holes to have new tee pads put in. I would certainly be willing to sponsor a couple.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great course!

2-4    9/1/2014   8/8/2014
Review By: JDS3105
Played: 14  Reviewed: 14
This review was updated on 9/9/2014
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very little traffic. Nice drive through country. Nice tee signs and easy to navigate. Nice variety of holes.
Cons: Tee pads could use some work. Looks like at one time they were carpet like. A lot appear to now just be gravel. Some holes require you to have a very straight shot or you will be in the woods.
Other Thoughts: We were very pleased with this course. It's about a 25 minute drive for us from Bellbrook. It's a really nice drive through the country and easy to find. We took a Friday off and there was only one other group on the course. They were starting hole 9 when we started so it felt like we had the course to ourselves. I've heard it doesn't get a lot of traffic so there's a good chance you won't feel rushed. If they updated the tee pads, I would have no problems giving this place 5 stars. I'm anxious to play it in the fall with the leaves changing colors. We will definitely play again! If you go through Waynesville on your way home, stop by and eat at Village Family Restaurant- great food!

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  

1    7/13/2014   7/13/2014
Review By: jeremiah h
Played: 13  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.6 Years
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Clearly posted map, excellent, custom-made metal hole signs on every hole. Most holes have "Next Hole" signs as well. The short, semi-wooded holes are well-designed. the more open holes feature the flowing elevation changes you like to see in these shots. The course was immaculately tended - I picked up one aluminium can in the entire course, very clean too. Beware of missing the fairway, as shanked shots may be in some seriously nasty, overgrown you-name-it. Perfectly tended fairways justify this in my opinion. Bring your game and your DEET, you'll need 'em.
Cons: Not a good choice for a first-timer, unless they're looking to throw away discs. Plenty of nasty off-fairway shots, during the mid-summer anyway. Probably a friendlier course for people new to DG in the fall. Bugs are bad, just bring repellent. EDIT The tees are carpet, if you're lucky (a couple are dirt). take that as you will. Taking a single step as I generally do didn't matter much. But slabs would make this a seriously event-class course.
Other Thoughts: We played disc golf here 7/5/14, and it was great. First time there with my buddies and we were all impressed with the care to detail that went into this amazing park. To whomever's in charge: well done! We will be back!

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Fun Course

1    5/31/2013   7/23/2013
Review By: remraf
Played: 28  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 6.5 Years
This review was updated on 10/31/2016
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Real nice variety of holes.
Not much traffic other than disc golf.
Nice, big, open area just past hole 1 where you can throw some warm up throws.
FRIGGIN' TEES HAVE BEEN INSTALLED! They are turf, and they're short, and they're narrow, but they are SOMETHING. And they even elevated the tees on holes 5 and 12 - probably previously the worst 2 tees. Now when I'm standing on the tee at 12, I can actually see the tippy top of the basket (I am 6'), and the hole doesn't seem so up hill anymore.
Cons: Location - off the beaten path. However, Osage Grove is only a 20 minute drive from here, or vice versa, and the 2 together are nicely contrasting, and make for great back to back discin'.
Other Thoughts: Nice, fun course with good variety. In my original review, I stated that Gulley is similar to Turtlecreek, and in some respects it is - mainly that there are a good mix of open and wooded holes. But I've played the course a few more times, and it does have it's own charm as well. Typically not as much dg traffic as Turtlecreek, which is nearly always crowded.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.