Clarksville, OH 
Gulley Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #16 (Taken 5/2009)
4 / 280ft.   3 / 280ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Tee Sign



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 32
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
Hidden Gem

2-4    4/5/2017   4/27/2017
Review By: ad166809
Played: 21  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 3.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great basket placements. Elevation Changes, Dog Legs, Woods Holes.

Tee Pads are okay, not great but playable.

Maps are pretty generic, but give yardages and have decent illustrations to the baskets.

This course holds true to its namesake. Lots of Gulley's and Elevation Changes through the first 12-13 Holes, then starts to straighten out towards the last holes.

The course foliage is pretty well kept. Park is clean and usually not busy at all.
Cons: No real benches out in the park. A couple holes have man made benches.

This course is out in the middle of nowhere.

Other Thoughts: Good variety of hole distances. Some long open holes like #11 & #13. Some shorter woods holes like #16-#17.

No running water, only a porta-potty, no water fountains.

This course is usually never very crowded, however the trade off is usually a long trip out there.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


5+    3/28/2017   4/4/2017
Review By: Adownard
Played: 25  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 3.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Beatiful park/course
-Really fun holes with many gulley type holes
-Challenging but can still shoot well there on any given day
-Variety of open and wooded holes
Cons: -Nothing too bad to say about this course
-Plays a little bit easy
-Can get pretty muddy on the wooded holes
Other Thoughts: This is a regular course for me and i love playing it. The park is in really nice shape and you do not have to worry about other park attendees being in the way.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Gully Park

5+    10/22/2016   12/3/2016
Review By: Xelto
Played: 22  Reviewed: 17
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: * Nice mix of open and technical shots, good variety of distances and throw styles, and a bit of elevation
* Rarely crowded
* Nicely maintained, ample parking, and maintained port-a-potties on site
Cons: * Out of the way
* Poison ivy has been a problem at times, though I haven't noticed it recently. Others have complained about ticks, but I've never had any issues here.
* Marshy after rains
Other Thoughts: They finally got real tees in! The course sees a decent amount of disc golf traffic (though usually not so much you would call it crowded), and combined with the swampiness of the park in general, that put a lot of wear on the tee areas. And it looks like they have done some things to combat the marsh effect, especially on hole 1, although I would still be cautious about going after a soaking-type rain.

They mix the shots up nicely, with a nice selection of wide-open, lighly wooded, moderately wooded, and full-on forest, plus varying distances, and almost half the holes have some sort of elevation effect, though none have steep hills.

My ultimate judgement for any course is "How far is it worth driving to get to it?" And for Gully Park... it's worth going out of your way to play, but not worth making a special trip for, by itself (although combining it with the nearby Osage Orange course might be worth a special trip.) Definitely one for nearby players to add to their 'good course' rotation.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Last chance northbound on I-71

5+    6/7/2017   8/3/2012
Review By: sisyphus
Played: 296  Reviewed: 280  Exp: 5.9 Years
This review was updated on 6/13/2017
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Though a bit off the beaten path, the Gulley disc golf course is a worthy trip for Cincinnatians to visit the Fort Ancient Valley area and get in a fun, relatively challenging round for the recreational to intermediate player. Its location is a bit removed from larger population centers, but it also represents the only course up this way for some of the folks who live here toward the Wilmington area.
Slightly rolling hills and a mix of woods and fields make for a variety of lines and shots. The course starts with a 200 footer to a raised pin, then has three holes angling across a big back field, returning into the woods for a long blind hyzer (rhbh) on #5, and a short anny, after which you're near the parking lot for the first time. 7 & 8 require precise left bends, and 9 comes back through a tight gap to an open basket by the lot for the second time. You get to air out the open #s 10 & 11, and hit an elevated basket on 12 before one of the four long-ish holes (in the neighborhood of 400'). 13 requires you to hit a gap halfway to the pin (or I suppose an advanced arm could go over?), while 14 uses the road as a mando to limit your choice of lines to the otherwise open basket. I love hitting 15 through the narrow gap (at 150' or so) with a flex shot to set up an approach round the small grove of trees to the 450' basket. Wish I could execute that shot all the time. 16 and 17 are traditional woods holes requiring control, while 18 finishes back near the lot with just enough trees out in the open to make it a challenge.
There is a very good course map, and the flow is not really confusing. Adequate (but not terribly fancy) tee signs accompany each hole, there are next tee signs when needed, and the baskets work just fine. Park maintenance is excellent.
It feels like the park was put in just for the DG course, but there are also a small shelter, ball fields and a play area onsite. These are deeper in the park than the DG course, so conflicting activities, rarely do. While there isn't a water fountain, there's a couple of well-kept port-o-lets next to the parking lot.
Cons: Tee pads are unfortunately just a carpet material at present. They are getting worn, rutted, and muddy, and need to be replaced soon. The last time I was there, the #7 tee pad had just been thrown in the trash. #18 has been missing for a while. This course would rise in the ratings quickly with the addition of concrete pads, and would really pop if multiple tees were done at that time.
Several areas get very marshy after a rain (the end of the fairway on 1, and the woods lanes on 16 & 17, in particular), and need better drainage/ water management devised.
I don't recall seeing trash barrels out on the course, but I also haven't seen much litter here (except folks use the timbered box raising the #12 basket as a trash bin. There aren't any benches, but the course plays fairly quickly, so I haven't felt much like resting, either. I mention these as missing amenities that would increase the appeal for some players.
Other Thoughts: With some local sponsorship, tee pad upgrades would make this course an interesting combination with the Mason Sports Park and the Lebanon 9 hole DG courses! Disc golfers would have a fun day hitting those three for a casual event or a tournament.
The course is nearby (but unfortunately not within view of) Fort Ancient Valley, which boasts beautiful vistas, especially in the fall.

Edit June 2017: This past year, new tees were installed throughout the course using boxed, compacted gravel (almost concrete consistency), covered by AstroTurf. They did a fantastic job and easily raised my rating a half point all by this one upgrade. Kudos!!]

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Country drive tight and open play

1    10/11/2011   10/11/2011
Review By: LightsOut
Played: 24  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 32.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Today was my first time to play this course and I'll add it to my rotation of playable area courses! The fall day was sunny, dry and had winds gusting to 15 MPH at least when I started. Holes 2, 3, & 4 go west and they open into the prevailing WSW wind for this part of the country. It didn't look good for me today (starting bogey, bogey, bogey). Once I got over it and into the woods on the front nine things improved once I was protected from too much breeze.
More than half of the tee drives on the course require going through either tree line openings or through tunnels. A couple you can go over and a few suggested to me that I should be using controlled approach disc play off the tee. The effect of which is elation once you get a chance to let a couple discs fly when the opportunity for open play arrives.
The elevation changes are effective through the woods and out in the open. I liked open #12, as you check it out as you play up to it. There is a blind tee uphill drive 220 ft to an elevated basket (check out the photo). Hole 13 is a controlled window shot par 5 challenge over a ravine. The last 5 holes give you a chance to rip both drivers in the open, over, and around trees and controlled approach discs in the woods.
The wind was still gusting but after #4 the rest of the course was fairly well protected from the WSW winds on this day.
Course navigation was fairly straightforward. There is a course layout sign and an instructional sign off the lot on the way to the first tee. There are nice tee area signs for each hole with par and distance listed. The front begins and ends at the parking area and #10 begins there also. Basket #18 is a short distance from the lot. The park is in good shape and maintained well from what I can see from this visit. The tight front nine helps makes this a quick play course.
Cons: Other reviews have mentioned that the tees are either dirt or carpeted which could be problematic in wet weather. Other than the one disc course sign there isn't an office or general store at this Warren County Park that I noticed for scorecards, discs, or munchies. There is a Port-o-let onsite, but no running water that I saw.
Other Thoughts: Overall I had a great time playing Gulley Park as I finished strong today. The parking was ample and neat as was the picnic awning with tables and grills. There are soccer fields to the east of the course/picnic awning and I didn't go any further into the park to check out what else might be available.

I found and drove to Gulley Park using the DGCR website no problem. It's about a winding mile south, off of OH 350 between Ft Ancient and Clarksville. The next closest courses would be in Lebanon, Mason, Springboro, and Monroe. Not a spectacular course but offers play worth looking into if you want a light traffic course and a nice out of the way country drive.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    10/17/2010   3/14/2011
Review By: DrewMillerRH
Played: 115  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 8.3 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great mix of holes, good mix on distance, excellent flow, good use of what little elevation is available, well designed course.
Cons: Natural Tee Pads, that's the only thing I can say negative about the course.
Other Thoughts: Worth stoping and playing if you're out that way

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Multiround Goodness

5+    8/9/2010   8/12/2010
Review By: LStephens
Played: 78  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 10.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: One of the best designed courses given the land available that I've seen. Some may say the tunnel shots are repetitive but I disagree. I find the course refreshing in the sense that it is different from the other courses I play and it forces me to slow down, hit my lines and not try to force shots. I think Hole #1 is a great starting hole that is tight and a great Ace opportunity straight from the car...while #2 is a tough follow up hole. Then the dance starts of deuce or die holes with #5 thrown in just to humble you. I feel the over the top shots of #13 and #15 force me to throw shots that I rarely throw anywhere else and can only elevate my game as a traveling tournament player.

The course plays extremely fast eventhough there is some distance here. The safety factor of next tee from basket is great. The elevation changes play nicely on the holes but your legs never feel it. You can play multiple rounds here without getting beat down. The course is always clean and rarely is it ever crowded. The baskets are in great shape and will hold an Ace.
Cons: I really wish this course would install some concrete tee pads. I'm just not a fan of dirt tees. If it has been raining all week this course will be very wet. Hole #1 will have a nice mini-pond before the basket. #16 and #17 can flood as well. The wooded holes have a lot of poison ivy as well...but that is being taken care of little by little and is no where near as bad as it was a few years ago.

From time to time #2 thru #5 can have super high weeds. Sometimes the parks will cut out 30' wide fairways and sometimes they will cut the entire field...you never know until you play. #7 & #8 can have high weeds and briars as well. When #15 isn't cut very well the up and over shot can have you looking for a while for your disc since you are throwing blind over the top right.
Other Thoughts: Gulley Park is an hour from my house. I rarely get to drive up and play but when I do I really enjoy myself. I always play atleast 5 rounds when I go. The rounds go quickly and I rarely feel tired afterwards and I'm 41 years old. If this park was close to my house I would most likely choose it to be my daily park before work. Three years ago this was my first exposure to elevated baskets(#12).

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Suprised by how good it was

1    7/31/2010   8/1/2010
Review By: Bikinimower
Played: 152  Reviewed: 67  Exp: 14.9 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great use of the Land they had available to them
Very High Fun Factor
Visually great course
Clean, Maintained, Mowed
Nice flow not to hard to Navigate
It's beaten in pretty well, even if you throw you disk into the brush it's not hard to find.
Some great tunnel shots
Great for beginners and advanced players
Cons: Can be repetitious
There are some big holes here but for reasons I can't explain it just felt small

Other Thoughts: This course didn't look too exciting when I first pulled up, but I turned out to be very pleasantly surprised. The main thing that kept popping into my head as I was playing was how great of a design job this course has. The fun factor is Huge! A quick look around and you could see that the land they had to work with was not that good but they really made the best possible use of what they had. I think this is the best course I've ever seen in terms of squeezing all that you can out what you have to work with. Props to whoever designed this course. I loved the tunnel shots.

There is a good mix of shots here but there are also a lot of similar holes. It feels like you play the same hole several times.at one point you zig zag across a field and there are 2 or 3 identical holes. Also the tunnel shots are the bread and butter of this course but they may have gone to the well a few too many times

It seems hidden and out of the way but it's right off the highway. I would recommend it for both newbys and longtimeers and for locals and road trippers


5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Warren County's Best Course

5+    12/25/2009   12/27/2009
Review By: RogueArtist
Played: 26  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 8.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:

Variety in Hole Design
Never Crowded
Clear Signage
Good for Beginner to Advanced Players
Thoughful Course Layout
Cons: Muddy Tees
No Restroom Facilities
Other Thoughts: Gulley is a quality course hidden in the countryside of Warren county. I've taken both experienced and new players here and everyone has enjoyed it. The designers really did a good job of using the land they had to thoughtfully construct the course. Hole #1 is deceptively difficult especially in summer when foliage creeps in. #2-4 are open holes with a tree line close to the pins again requiring some control with approach shots #5 is unique and challenging with its risk/reward opportunities. #6 is a forehand Ace opportunity
7 and 8 are good risk reward and 9 requires a straight initial throw to get you out of the woods into the open field.

The back 9 are longer more open holes which is a nice change of pace from the tight 5-9 on the front 9.

10 is a reasonable par 3 with a deep bunker cut out just past the pin on the leftside. #11 is an open downhill hole good for practicing drives. #12 is uphill with an elevated basket that can cost you a stroke if you arent careful. #13 is probably the best hole on the course, it has an elevated tee through a narrow corridor of forest that opens up into a slow open uphill area with a few large trees. A well placed drive and/or approach shot gives you a chance for eagle. #14 is open with a very large tree that seems to grab your disc more than it should. #15 is the courses longest hole. It requires shot through a very narrow gap in the trees, then a wrap around an extraordinarily thick stand of trees that protects the basket. A good drive usually gets you a birdie. 16 and 17 are both through narrow corridors of woods. Both seem to have overgrown a bit from when the course was originally installed. 18 is open and somewhat long.

This course is a great course for people looking to get into disc golf and get some experience under their belt playing the game. Its a little easier than some of the other courses I have been to, but a lot less frustrating.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great Hidden Suprise

2-4    8/23/2009   9/5/2009
Review By: Innovastar
Played: 16  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 8.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This has a good mix of wooded and open holes. Small corridors off tee pads and in the fairways make what could be easy holes very challenging. It has a good mix of short ace-able holes and holes where you have a good sized approach shot or even another drive. The signage is great, only confusing spot was between hole 8 and 9.
Cons: This course doesn't not have concrete tee pads, not a big deal for me but would like to see more defined tee pads. Maybe add a board at the front of the tee or something. Some locals seem to use #9 basket as a practice basket so it got confusing when you come out of the woods and are trying to figure out where to go next.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course for all levels. I took guys out with me that is was their first time and they had a great time. The course can play tough but still be fun. There are some areas of rough that are just mean and thick with tall grass and briers. I would definitely recommend playing this course if you happen to be in the area.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.