Perrysburg, OH 
Woodlands Park Share
Uploaded By: hoyle7780 Hole #18 (Taken 9/2012)
3 / 310ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2
Typical city park course

1    10/14/2017   10/15/2017
Review By: gcoghill
Played: 71  Reviewed: 65  Exp: 17.6 Years
Pros: Clean, maintained park. Great kiosk maps, nice concrete tees. Easy to find. Course wraps back to the parking lot on hole 18.
Cons: The course winds in and around (and through) other multi-use areas of the park.
Other Thoughts: This is a decent/typical city park course, hence the 2.5 star rating. They did a decent job utilizing the space they had to work with, but holes 13-15 veer way too close to a kid's playground area. There is nothing particularly memorable or challenging about this course. If you are in the area and just want to play a round, it'll do the trick. But not worth a special trip. Most of the holes are in open grass fields, and you are just throwing back and forth in an open field.

Just a walk in the park

2-4    9/16/2017   9/19/2017
Review By: Inverted
Played: 8  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Park setting makes it family friendly. Restrooms onsite. Playground for the kiddies. Pet friendly. Very safe bedroom community with good police patrols.

The course is mostly wide open, with some strategic use of mature trees where available on some holes. Most holes are 250-350 with 290' being average, so its enjoyable for beginners, while having just enough length for advanced players.

The whole park is mowed grass.

Also, there are no water hazards and major ob lines that I was aware of, so this course rewards aggresive play.

Baskets are DGA's...adequate enough.

Teepads are nice concrete. Maybe a tad bit short, but still nice.

Course gets a decent amount of play, but it flows well, and I had no waiting. Playing solo I could zoom right thru 18 holes in just over an hour.

Wind is often this course's best natural defense. I enjoyed playing it when the breeze was up.

Layout is ok. Pretty straight forward, except for maybe a few holes on the back nine that dont flow well. Follow the arrows to the next tee on the basket. Also, there are two course map signs so you wont get lost.
Cons: There is no fairway deliniation, as the whole park is mowed grass. While its nice to walk on, it leads to a bland visual experience.

Park setting leads to the occasional wait for walkers/runners to pass.
Other Thoughts: This is a good course that will make pars possible for beginners, and all but assured for advanced players.

Birdies however, are not a sure thing, especially on the first 6 holes which make good use of mature trees, as well as several of the closing holes.

After a practice round, I shot a bogey free -6. Then I shot a -7...9 birds and 2 bogeys (ugh).

On a good day, I think I could do even better and that's this course's strength. Go out and play aggressive and make birdies, but no bogeys!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Best Course In The Toledo Area

5+    8/8/2017   8/8/2017
Review By: JerrodStevens
Played: 9  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 1.6 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Beautiful and scenic park in a great area of town, just a stone's throw away from beautiful downtown Perrysburg
-2 Course map kiosks at Holes 1 and 9
-Clean Park with nice people
-Practice Hole
-Good variety of shots (doesn't particularly favor BH or FH)
-No Poison Ivy in wooded areas
-Front 9 is lined with trees that force different shot selections
- Great teepads (unlike Ottawa Park)
-Very Nice DGA Baskets
-Clean Restrooms
Cons: A few holes cross walking paths
Other Thoughts: This is the best course by far in the Toledo Area, and my home course!!! While Carter Park is way too open, and Ottawa Park is too run down, Woodlands Park is lightly wooded and very clean. You will have to travel up to Ypsilanti Michigan or down to Columbus to find a better course

Hole Descriptions
Hole 1: Slight dogleg left with a fairly guarded hole
Hole 2: Slight uphill with trees lining the fairway near the basket
Hole 3: Tight Tunnel Shot, one of the most difficult holes on the course
Hole 4: Large tree 20 feet ahead and to the right of the teepad, forcing a forehand shot or turnover backhand
Hole 5: Fairly tall grove of trees 50 feet in front of tee, forcing a hyper backhand, or a sneaky and risky forehand line
Hole 6: Trees lining the fairway, but fairly open on the right side, making it easy for backhand throwers. There is a sneaky forehand line around the grove of trees to the left that works rather well.
Hole 7: Wide open 411 foot hole
Hole 8: Teepad sits on the top of a small hill. Large trees line the right side of the fairway, forcing a forehand shot, with the hole tucked behind the trees
Hole 9: Wide Open 412 foot hole
Hole 10: Wide open to the right, but left side has scattered trees
Hole 11: Teepad sits on the top of a mound. Wide open hole but with a tree to the left that occasionally causes problems for forehand throwers.
Hole 12: Wide open, church parking lot to the left, but protected by line of trees
Hole 13: Throws over a path, so be careful of walkers, Hole sits on a mound which is lined with trees
Hole 14: Short hole (198 ft). Easiest hole to ace (which I have)
Hole 15: Line of trees to the left, but otherwise wide open, forcing a backhand or forehand turnover shot
Hole 16: Line of trees to the left, which catch forehand shots that turnover too quickly. Otherwise wide open, with the hole tucked in a grove of trees
Hole 17: Large grove of trees to the left, hole somewhat protected by a small mound
Hole 18: Starts by throwing over a small mound, but then is wide open, with a small grove of trees and shrubbery to the left of the hole

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Pit stop

1    7/22/2017   7/22/2017
Review By: COONDOG
Played: 52  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Well maintained course
-concrete tee pads
-pretty easily navigable with a picture of course map on hole 1
-felt course designer utilized the park as best he could
-right off route 80 if your traveling through
Cons: -safety issues on several holes throwing near walking paths
-next tee signs would be a nice touch
-not a very demanding course very flat/open after the first couple holes (but is nice for beginners and turning on new players)
Other Thoughts: Pitch and putt course if you're in a pinch to throw with limited time. Two of us played in an hour and a half throwing multiple shots just passing through.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

My "Second Home" Course

5+    4/16/2017   4/18/2017
Review By: cmsieja
Played: 17  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.5 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: covers a relatively small area, good for beginners, has a few really long open shots, nice atmosphere
Cons: course crosses a running/walking path which can cause a bit of a hold up on a busy day
Other Thoughts: I like this course a lot especially for a quick round. It's not an extremely hard course but it has some interesting challenges. They recently moved hole 5, so it is now directly behind a large bush, making for an interesting shot. Lots of nice places to sit and take a break too!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Gorgeous All Around

1    6/29/2016   6/29/2016
Review By: Caveman1829
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 7.4 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -The WHOLE park is amazing. Parking right by hole #1 and loops nicely back to the cars at hole 10 and at hole 18 so makes it easy to play half or full course
-Bathrooms right by start (so again can hit them at hole 9/10/11 and at end)
-Very well marked to which hole you're on and where the next hole is.
-Concrete Pads
-Good for all levels of play, as most is open but certainly certain holes have nicely played trees (and no wooded areas). There is a mix of long and short
-Practice basket at very start, but really no room around it so practice short puts, but that's about it.
-Nice map at hole one showing the entire course layout so you can take a picture if you think you'll need it later (doubt you will as it's marked clear)
Cons: -You're close to some walking paths, though it would take a "bad" throw to actually go over a path/people.
-If you're looking for lots of long holes I'd say this isn't your place, more 200/300 range.
Other Thoughts: I thought it was a gorgeous park and the nice crowd of people of all ages there on a weekday morning though it had quite a bit of traffic for a Wed. morning so I bet on a weekend even busier. Perfect for families, we brought our two toddlers, played the front then broke for lunch at picnic tables and playground, then finished the round.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Woodlesslands Park

1    8/10/2014   8/13/2014
Review By: Derek B
Played: 203  Reviewed: 42  Exp: 15.6 Years
This review was updated on 10/28/2014
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1) Good place to go to get your tan on
2) Lots of women walking and jogging around
3) concrete tees
Cons: 1) lack of trees and elevation
2) no pro tees
3) pedestrian paths are dangerously close on quite a few holes
Other Thoughts: There's not a whole lot to say about this course. It's got some holes where trees come into play, but they are scattered about and don't significantly guard the target for the most part. There's very few elevation changes. There's quite a few holes where you can air out a drive.

The design has some S shots, some lefty and righty shots, and a few shot shaping shots as well. Even so, after playing it, I just felt that it was "ok." Not very impressed. I don't recommend traveling very far to play this, especially when Ottawa Park is only 15 minutes away. If you're in the area and have some time to kill, then hit it up.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Play Perrysburg :)

1    5/10/2013   5/11/2013
Review By: danhyzer
Played: 1520  Reviewed: 102  Exp: 29.7 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: young developing park with a variety of flowering trees that appear like they we're planted just for a disc golf course.

good enough sized tee pads

I appreciated the arrows that pointed (me, the tourist visiting and playing this course for the first time) to the next tee area. Each arrow was easily found near the crown of the basket on the main pole :)

Though most holes seemed to be in the straight up the main fairway variety. Each hole had it's own particular kind of charm. I really liked # 14 as it appeared that the hole was developed big mound of dirt the whole fairway (and then some) by placing and then planting beautiful rows of pine trees to on the outside of the mound to build a natural fairway (at least it appeared as such)

very clean park, with highly visible police presence (not that it was needed, as Perrysburg is a very nice community)

good directions to the park.

I liked the main shelter that was between hole # 1 and basket #




18. It had great potential for a future Ice Bowl tournament as it had a pretty large fireplace and plenty of picnic tables.

2 kiosks on the course.
Cons: only one tee pad per hole

on the kiosk, (and this is a very correctable problem) the distances we're displayed in a light green color. So even to the naked eye it was hard to see the distances. I would suggest keeping everything as is on the kiosk, but use a black color to identify the distances so it would stand out better.
Other Thoughts: I don't think this course is geared for the top pro player, but then again. I don't think the top pro's would shy away from playing this course as it was a very nice grip and rip type of course. That as the park/trees matures so will the courses challenges (as mentioned above the trees seemed like they we're planted in mind of the course)

Playground and walking path at park for family usage.

clean restrooms.

close to interstates (highways)

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 An OK Park Course

2-4    5/4/2013   5/5/2013
Review By: DG_Josh
Played: 14  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Well manicured park is very beautiful. Especially in the spring when the trees are blooming.
-Some well designed holes that make you think.
-Lots of benches and water fountains.
-Nicely sized, concrete tees.
-Good signage and easy navigation.
Cons: -Too many holes are just wide open field shots.
-Busy park and the course comes close to the playground. I've had people in the way on hole 14 numerous times. They've always moved for me, but it's still a hazard.
-Busy path and road come into play at several places.
Other Thoughts: This isn't a bad course, but it has limitations. Unless it's a very windy day (which is fairly common in this area) it is very easy. There are a number of fun and interesting shots through tunnels of trees. However, the large number of wide open holes is why I gave this course a 2.5. Still, it's a nice play and a great course to take new players to.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Clean, well manicured course

2-4    12/23/2012   12/30/2012
Review By: lukejones
Played: 68  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 5.4 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -clean, well manicured park
-concrete tees with hole #'s and lengths
-a few longer holes to heave it on
-baskets are newer and in good shape
-solid front 9 and closing holes
-restrooms located near the 1st hole
-navigating the course is quite easy
Cons: -not a lot of shot variety needed
-really just a 2-3 disc course in my opinion
-most of the back 9 is somewhat monotonous
Other Thoughts: Worth a visit if your in the Toledo area. One of the safer places to play from what I read in other reviews compared to Ottawa Park.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.