Farmington Hills, MI 
The Farm Share
Uploaded By: DirtyMittenDG Hole #5 (Taken 3/2009)
3 / 336ft.   3 / 300ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Pro Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 25
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3

1    9/16/2019   9/16/2019
Review By: TimSyl
Played: 116  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 14 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: A couple decent holes, like hole 8 over the pond. Holes 5 and 6 are ok, 3 is not too bad.

Plenty of parking available in a multi use park.
Cons: Some of the holes are just silly and overgrown. Bottom line is this course, other than the aforementioned few holes, simply isn't very fun to play.
Other Thoughts: The course sign near the first tee calls this course "world class disc golf". Believe me, this is the most false advertising I have seen.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Tough for a 9 hole

5+    7/4/2018   7/4/2018
Review By: jkiselewski
Played: 21  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The new cement tees and signage are great. It is a nice mix of tough shots with small room for error to make it hard enough to be worth playing but easy enough that you can go for a quick game.
Cons: Some of the holes can tend to be a bit overgrown and the design is not the best. We will normally park near the bridge for hole 2 so that our walk is split between hole 1 and hole 9.
The path from hole 8 to 9 is very narrow and tough to navigate if you bring a stroller with you.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 A pleasant surprise

1    7/20/2017   7/20/2017
Review By: glassila
Played: 81  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 9.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - There are two brand new cement tee pads for each hole.
- Chainstar baskets are in perfect shape.
- While the first 3 or 4 holes are weak, the last 5 or 6 holes are really nice, playing through huge trees with well mowed fairways.
- Hole # 8 plays over a small pond and requires about a 240' carry. An alternate tee allows you to play to the left side of the pond.
- Hole 2 plays along the right of the larger pond, not over it as it was originally designed. This helps with course flow by getting rid of a 700 foot walk. (the course map is wrong)
Cons: - The biggest knock against the Farm is the layout - if you park near hole 1, you will have a +800 foot hike back to your car when you finish hole 9.
- Hole 3 plays very close to some picnic tables which are beyond an outfield fence for a softball field. If there are people sitting in this area the hole should not be played.
- The course could use a few more "next tee" signs as there are some longer walks between some of the holes.
Other Thoughts: Based on negative reviews, I have avoided playing this course for some time. After playing the Farm I was pleasantly surprised. While there are a few throw away holes, there are several that are really nice with a good deal of challenge.
Other than the long walk back to the car, I thought the course was OK.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Maintenance or Design could have helped

1    11/16/2016   11/18/2016
Review By: MisterJ
Played: 35  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 4.5 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Signage - Some signs were very nice, with distance and layout, sometimes there was nothing.

Variety - There was a bit of variety. Thick underbrush, open space, water holes.

Congestion - In November on a nice day, it wasn't congested and this area is for just the disc golfers.
Cons: Aesthetic - I would say, it's just a forest. Nothing really pleasing or different. I may be jaded after completing the course, the water hole at #2 was nice.

Challenge - It's not that this isn't challenging, its that it's not a thought out challenge.

TeePads/Baskets - Where's the teepads? Sometimes I found the wood board, sometimes not. Baskets I would typically walk to and find and then trace back to find the start of the whole if it wasn't marked, some weren't.

Fun - It wasn't fund searching and searching. And after 9 then what? Nope, not a fan, not fun.

Locatability - finding the park is easy. But everything else, not so much. Perhaps after the first time you can, but I cannot see going here more than once.

Maintained/Bugs - In November no bugs, but I bet they are deadly in summer. But with the overgrowth, even in November bare branches from where they start you, some holes are well thought out or maintained.
Other Thoughts: Whats holding it back from higher rating - Better design and maintenance of the course.

Kid Friendly - A kid showed up and had a blast, kids don't care about much I think.

Older/Less Active Player Friendly - I don't think they would like this much, lots of long walks.

Rookie Friendly - Lots of difficult shots in thick brush, not great for these guys.

Average Player Friendly - Perhaps some average players may get some enjoyment, the water holes are neat, but is the risk worth it?

Pro Player Friendly - there are so many other better course, why waste your time with this.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Close...very vlose

5+    4/27/2014   4/30/2014
Review By: mball1684
Played: 29  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 23.9 Years
This review was updated on 7/10/2014
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Some fun and challenging shots. A good combination of wooded and open driving scenarios. Tricky basket placement on a few holes.
Cons: Very dense woods in the midst of summer make the course difficult for the beginner. The awkward layout of the holes makes it difficult to find the next hole if you don't know where you are going.
Other Thoughts: With a dedicated club this course could be well above average. It just needs some knowledable TLC.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Where's Waldo

1    11/5/2013   11/5/2013
Review By: apdrvya
Played: 319  Reviewed: 298  Exp: 10.8 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Aesthetic-- plays through woods at a large park in the suburbs. most areas seem relatively DG exclusive but I'm sure walkers could intermingle.

Teesigns-- where there are teesigns they are reasonable. the signs have hangers on them for your bag.

Signature hole-- #2, for what it's worth, is a nice hole. huge carry over the water with nasty lanes to the pin.

Challenge-- #2 and #3 and #8 use the water effectively. other than that the rough is the only challenge here.
Cons:
ROUTING-- in big capital letters. the walk from 1 to 2 is rediculous. I mean straight REDIC... it would be SO MUCH better to start the course on the OTHER side of the lake rather than having one hole on the front and other side of the lake with a huge walk between. the Next Tee signs are nice but don't really help with the walks between 3 and 4 and 4 and 5...The maps that are on the kiosk are barely legible through the foggy glass.

teepads-- it's odd, there is sort of a teepad for #2 in the corner of the parking lot but other than that there are natural teepads only. it's very hard to find the 2nd tees for many holes. it would help to have next tee signs similar to mason county where they show the color of the tee you're heading towards.

Uninspired-- the majority of this course is very uninspired and boring. I don't know who planned and designed this course but it's boring.

Other Thoughts:
Just not a good course. Didn't care at all for the routing. the water holes were the only bright spots.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 lackluster

1    5/31/2013   6/3/2013
Review By: jptaylor86
Played: 12  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.9 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: challenging course and baskets were easy to see from the tee
Cons: very mucky not set very well. hole one and two are hard to find tee pads were piles of mud and water. not very well kept and there too much crammed into to small of a space
Other Thoughts: overall not on of my favorite courses probably will not be back to play it

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Not my cup of tea

2-4    5/8/2013   5/11/2013
Review By: BogeyNoMore
Played: 341  Reviewed: 165  Exp: 16.8 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Individual holes play pretty well, and most are challenging.
Dual tees provide more/less challenge depending on what suits you.
Tee signs with clever names for holes (adds a nice touch), distance, and hole layout showing both tees. Pegs to hang bags.
Next tee signs in a few spots
Not much traffic = no waiting for other players.
Signature Hole 2
Pleasant, suburban city park with plenty of amenities, including snack bar and restrooms, ice rinks, ball fields - fairly well insulated from other park visitors, but not completely.
Good use limited elevation where available. Decent use of small chunk of park property that would otherwise not be used.
Cons: Flow is abysmal and navigation is tough to follow for the uninitiated - makes it hard to get a rhythm going. Easy to get confused after 3 and after 4.
Chance of hitting a car on 1st hole (a slim, but definite possibility).
Could have made better use of water:
I love throwing over water, but signature hole 2 is a bit ridiculous IMO: 452' total, but it's about 400' to carry the water, with essentially no way to lay-up (although it plays a bit downhill from the long tee for a bit of help).
Nasty water hidden behind basket 3, close to the basket on a downhill ... bad.
Low traffic means paths to next hole aren't as well-worn as other busier courses - tough to follow peak season when growth is thick.
Long walk to 2nd hole, somewhat long to 4 and then 5. Very long walk after 9 back to 1st tee or parking.
More frustrating than fun.

Other Thoughts: I try to be objective, but honestly, I just don't care for this course. Despite what they got right (some decent holes and clean park, signs) I simply don't enjoy playing here that much. I prefer tight, technical courses to open bomber courses, but this course really makes you pay for leaving the fairway, and seemsto be lacking any real "fun factor." Water carry on hole 2 is unfriendly, and hidden water on 3 is rude.

I realize the layout tries to make the best use of the available land, and given the plot of land, they made some decent holes, but the flow sucks and they could have made things a bit more accommodating. A well laid-out niner 9 leads back to 1 and parking so you can play a quick 18 and get going - not the case here. It's at least a 1200' walk back to 1st tee. Only worth it if you need to kill time while your kid's at hockey practice. They tried, but fell short. OK if you live in the immediate area, but not worth a drive from a different part of town. Do yourself a favore and play Cass Benton Hills instead.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Needs Upkeep

5+    4/28/2012   5/7/2012
Review By: dirtdog48188
Played: 9  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 10.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Hardly anyone ever on this course allowing you to practice shots and diffrent discs. It is a quick course to play. Good for beginners
Cons: There is a long walk down 8 mile road to get to hole 2. The upkeep is terrible here. Trees fallen everywhere and the grass is hardly ever mowed. Many snakes on this course. Bridge on last half of course is washed out and navigating it is a mess.
Other Thoughts: This is a great beginner course to learn how to throw, or if you are looking for a quick, quiet game.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Bad Form

1    4/8/2012   4/9/2012
Review By: otherguy14
Played: 10  Reviewed: 9
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good parking
Some good shots to b made
Holes 3, 7, 8
Not alot of traffic
Cons: Thinking up pros for this course
The walk from 1 to 2
Hole 2
Hole 4 pro
Finding hole 4
Where's the am tee for hole 2?
The lone tee for hole three could easily b missed
Miss leading "next tee" signs
Other Thoughts: I shoot on par with this course on a windy day from he pro tees, that beIng said this isnt a very good course. Clearly from the location of the holes this was thought of well after the park had been built. I'll just save everyone some aggravation and reading every other reveiw to find the holes and list them all here for convince:
1 main parking lot right next to 8 mile road and the skate park
2 follow he sign that says next tee out the space in the fence walk along the sidewalk till u see the next Parking lot walk to the very back right corner of second parking lot and there is the pro tee for 2 have fun and try not to lose ur disk
3 over the bridge next to basket 2 through the lil patch of woods youll come up to a table and look Next to it for the blue plank that's the only tee for 3
4 follow the sign over the bridge to he right of basket 3 turn left just before the main parking lot in front of u walk along tree line till u see a path take it walk about 3 yards and you'll see the insane pro tee for 4 just walk along the "fairway" and go to the am you'll see it about 300 feet up its yellow
5 take little path to he right of basket 4 back out to parking lot area turn left and look slightly right he pro for 5 is just at the top of the lil hill you'll see the sign
6 the next tee sign is missing for this one so after 5 turn left in the clearing you'll then see what use to b a sign for 6 that's where the pro is
7 right in front of 6
8 walk past 7 path opens up to the left is the yellow am tee for 8 if you go right and follow the lil beaten trail you'll come up to the pro for 8 it's over the pond only shoot from there if you know you can make it (totally worth it when you do)
9 there's a fallen tree somewhat blocking the path to 9 but just turn around after 8 back to the left you should see it 9 is bout 100 feet up that trail in the brush looks dificult but with the right drive it's not at all

Only go to this course if you need to feel better about ur game

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.