St. Paul (White Bear Lake), MN 
Lakewood Hills Share
Uploaded By: keepDGobscure Hole #13
3 / 235ft.   3 / 235ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Tee


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 42
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5
Why do you vex me so?

5+    7/16/2017   8/3/2017
Review By: Flanakookn
Played: 11  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 1.3 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Multi-tee per hole (most). Tee boxes and pins in good condition.

Some very fun shots

Technical holes plus some grip and rip holes.
Cons: Deep woods on half the course.

If you're off the fairway you're going to spend some time looking for your disc in the long grass and big trees.

I personally have lost more discs here that any other course.

Watch out for the unlabeled bog/pond at the bottom of the hill of to the left on hole #12
Other Thoughts: Definitely not a course for newbies, some holes are a bit long. I personally have never "pared" this course...not that I'm a great player, it's just a more difficult course (at least for me)

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Incredible for a Free-18

1    6/20/2017   6/23/2017
Review By: dohmenator
Played: 23  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 7.6 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: - Free 18 holes, need I say more?
- TONS of variety shots (Luxury of having 18)
- Very well kept
- Concrete tee pads
- Quite a bit of elevation play
Cons: - Quite busy
- Pretty buggy
Other Thoughts: Really nothing that bad about this course. Super well done. I will absolutely be coming back regularly.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Fun free course

5+    8/19/2016   8/19/2016
Review By: Bitter Mouse
Played: 63  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 22.4 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: One of the best free courses I have played. A good variety of holes, elevation and a bit of water, combined with long, short and medium holes.

Some challenging holes and a few ace opportunities.
Cons: The course is not super compact and doesn't flow quite as well as great courses do, with a couple holes requiring a fair walk to go from basket to the next pad.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Very Fun Course

5+    4/21/2016   4/21/2016
Review By: C.M.L.J.
Played: 5  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -This Course has a great design and it's very fun to play at.
-Great Wooded area and Open field tees it also has a uphill tee that are at 17 and 18.
- Benchs and garbage cans around almost every tee.
- 3 Par fours
- well maintained course

Cons: - Can get crowded in the summer.
- High school track team run on the course some times.
- Can get very muddy.
- hole 1 can be a pretty bad water hazard after rainfall.
Other Thoughts: It's a great free course I would put it on the top 10 in Minnesota.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Championship Course!!

1    4/6/2016   4/6/2016
Review By: mjz22
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 12.4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: FUN!! Challenging with great variety of different approaches, distances, obstacles, and elevations. Excellent course design!!
Cons: crowded (what else can you expect from an awesome course that's FREE), quite a few golfers on this course could learn some golfing etiquette (taking 3 mulligans at the tee when you have two groups standing right behind you waiting)
Other Thoughts: I would sure love to try this course again - hopefully it won't be as crowded.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great Course

5+    3/15/2016   3/16/2016
Review By: Hazard
Played: 35  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 4.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1. The course area is quite large with a wide variety of holes, from open field holes, to holes in the woods along with different levels of elevation.
2. Long concrete tee pads. Long and short available on most holes.
3. Baskets are in good shape.
4. Relatively easy to find your way from hole to hole.
5. Course is maintained well.
6. Lots of parking.
7. Tee signs that show you the lay out of the hole are pretty accurate.
8. Trash cans and benches at most holes.
9. Close to the Twin Cities.
Cons: 1. Course is usually busy on nice days.
2. During the summer they have lots of baseball games there, so parking on those days might be difficult.
3. During the summer and fall there is a lot of foliage off the fair way, so it may be hard to find your disks if you have a bad throw.
Other Thoughts: Overall this is a great course for Intermediary players. The mixture of open fairways, the woods and changes in elevation makes you have to think about the throws you make. If you are in the twin cities and are looking for a course to play, this wouldn't be a bad one to hit. Hole #18 has you throwing from atop a large hill to a basket down below, which is a great way to end such a great course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Extremely fun and challenging course

1    9/12/2015   10/15/2015
Review By: Stardoggy
Played: 337  Reviewed: 211  Exp: 6.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 hole course in a multi use park in St. Paul.

Discraft Chainstar baskets, all in good repair, and caught well. No issues here. One pin position per hole.

Concrete tee pads on every hole. Two tees per hole (on most holes). Some were showing some wear, but they were generally long and grippy, and played well.

Lots of up and down here. Not severe elevation, but enough to make you change up shots. Ends with a really nice ski hill type Top Of The World shot.

Lots of nice signage, and tons of "Next Tee" type signs made navigation here extremely easy.

Wonderful diversity of shots here. I don't often use the phrase in reviews, but you definitely have the opportunity to "use every disc in your bag" here. From short, technical 200' holes, up to long 500' legit par 4's...and everything in between. Even the open holes tended to have some sort of challenge. An excellent job was done to avoid repetitive holes, as well.

Free to play! With so many great P2P courses in the area, it's a bit surprising this is free, at least for now. Plenty of parking, as well...and brick and mortar bathrooms to boot.
Cons: No water. Not a biggie, IMO, but worth mentioning.

Only one pin position per hole isn't great, and there seemed to be options, for at least a large amount of the holes.

As mentioned above, some of the tee pads could use some cleanup.
Other Thoughts: Based on some of the standalone features, this course would usually rate a 4.0 by my standards...but sometimes you walk away from a course with a giant smile on your face, and it just feels good. Lakewood was that sort of place for me. As an Int player that throws around 350-370', I had an absolute blast here. From what we were told, they've done a ton of work here (see: long wooden bridge on hole 1), and it shows.

This was definitely the biggest surprise of our weekend in the Twin Cities, and if I get back, I'm definitely playing it again. Don't let the current rating fool you...this is a gem.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Excellent course.

1    6/27/2015   6/27/2015
Review By: Rotala
Played: 33  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Consistent teepads. My first time playing the course was met with excellent signage for hole information and where the next tee box is located.

The difference from the front 9 to the back 9 is amazing. Open shots on the front and tree punishment on the back 9.

Elevation changes were nice to see compared to flat courses.
Cons: Trash in some areas, but typical of a free to play course.
Other Thoughts: A lot of people playing today, which is nice to see.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Winter Review

2-4    11/17/2014   11/23/2014
Review By: joelwpg
Played: 92  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 8.6 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -This review was based on 2 winter rounds so the first pro i will list is shoveled tees! I play a lot in the winter and have huge respect for those who shovel tees at their local courses!
-Very easy to find with just a quick read of the directions on this site.
-Great course map, both on site and online.
-Long and short tees on every hole.
-Nice tee pads, great baskets.
-Beautiful course design! One of the best "balanced" courses i have ever played. *It does not favor Lefty's or Righty's. I found myself using forehand and backhand equally. .*Great pin placements meant even most approaches seem to have both options. *About half the holes were more open and half more technical through the woods.*A good mix of longer and shorter holes, and excellent use of elevation.
-Even under a layer of snow it was easy to see the level of landscaping that had gone into this course. Very impressive for a non pay-to-play.
Cons: -Not much in the con department from what i saw.
-I had come map in hand due to previous reviews mentioning this course could be hard to follow. I can say that those reviews must be a little old or i was just lucky to come play after they had installed a great network of "Next Tee" signs. Navigation was easy.
-Hole 17 could be a challenge in the winter, it being a nicely polished toboggan hill. Besides potential tobogganing traffic...just hope your drive or approach shots don't flip upside down and slowly slide ALL the way down the hill. (like mine did :p)
Other Thoughts: This course was very challenging yet still very inviting. It will challenge even the best of players, and with the short tee option, shouldn't intimidate newer or intermediate ones. It was such a beautiful course that i would happily spend entire days here if i lived in the area. Maybe the best non p-t-p course i have played but will reserve that judgement until i come back in the summer. :)
**For now i would say the locals here are lucky, and this is a great place to get your fix or keep up your skills during the winter!

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/18/2014   6/18/2014
Review By: Blaaaake77
Played: 47  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 6.6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - A free 18 hole course what more can ya really ask for?
- This course is well maintained, grass in the rough is about knee high which made it a pain to find a few discs off some bad drives. (My fault obviously)
- Lots of elevation changes, some great landscaping all along the course was great to see.
- Wasn't very crowded today, a good amount of groups were both in front and behind me but I didn't have to wait very long to tee off when I caught up to the group in front of me, which was nice to get a quick 18 in after work.
- Some of the best tee pads I have seen for a free course, extra padding around the pads for your follow through.
- Some very challenging holes, at least for me on this course which made it fun to play on!
- Front 9 were on rolling hills and nice and open to soak up the sun before you head to the back 9 that run through the woods.
- A few nice ace runs throughout the back 9, came close to nailing 2 of them, but took a birdie instead!
- Huge skatepark at this park as well, for those of you who skate, it looked pretty flooded today, so I am not sure if they really manage the skatepark as much!
- Very easy to find right off 694 and White Bear Ave.
Cons: - If your going to play this course, make sure you bring bug spray, once I hit hole 3 it started to get buggy and didn't let up whatsoever, once I got to the back 9 it was miserable, bugs all over the place, hard to focus on your shot when your ankles are getting bit up left and right
- Very confusing layout if it's your first time out, I got lost after hole 3 and couldn't find hole 4 till I ran into someone coming to play hole 2, needed to ask where the hell is hole 4?
- Was a little flooded on some holes that don't always have water, but we have had a good amount of rain the past few weeks.
- A lot of walking paths cut right through the fairways, which was a pain had a ton of walkers that I needed to wait on to get through so I could throw.
Other Thoughts: - Some signage directing you to the next hole would be nice besides just on the tee pads of previous holes, quite confusing layout.
- Fairways were nicely cut at normal grass length, but edges were rough, maybe spend a little extra time and cut those down a bit, can be a pain looking for a disc in that, with all the blind holes!
- Other than that I couldn't complain to much, hopefully I will get back out there for the league they have every Sunday!
- I will defiantly play this course again and again, just a little bit of a drive for me.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.