Mt. Berry, GA 
Log Cabin Course Share
Uploaded By: lazrman778 Hole #4 (Taken 9/2016)
3 / 280ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 7
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
Bombs away

1    7/4/2017   8/23/2017
Review By: wellsbranch250
Played: 175  Reviewed: 137  Exp: 3.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: (2.274 Rating) A big bombers best friend.
- GATED ENTRY - Upon arrival your notice that the college's entry roads are gated. Thankfully they still let me in when I told them is that, "all I want to do was check out the disc golf course." A very awesome initial feeling when a private school wants to showcase their amenities. In addition, the employee at the gate gave me a map of the course with a scorecard, at no charge. How awesome is that!
- CHAINS - The course utilizes DISCatchers, among my favorite styles of basket choices.
- FORGIVENESS - Just about no chance to lose a disc. no water and few areas of overgrowth. Losing one will be limited to getting one stuck high in a tree or just plain forgetting it. In addition, errant throws are not further punished in most cases.
- SKILL LEVEL FRIENDLY - Although not necessarily a beginners course or an advanced level course, the course somehow manages to provide a prefect middle ground. The forgiveness, as stated above, is great for beginners and rec players. The fairways are just long enough for some advanced players and there's just enough obstacles to make a skilled player work for it. Pros will however, come away unchallenged.
- RAW BEAUTY - Although not an exotic masterpiece, I'd still give Log Cabin a 3 to 3.5 rating. The upkeep on the place appears to be solid. The gentle slope of the open fields and a few large oak trees along the layout adds to some of the appeal. Some of the surrounding buildings are very eye-catching as well. Missing however is that signature hole amongst the layout and RV parking along (16) fairway.
- QUICK PLAY - For its length, it plays fairly quick. I did my round here solo in under an hour, but I did run between a few holes. I think this will translate to two hours for a group of four seasoned players.
Cons: Other than tees and tee markings, no other major issues.
- TEES - They are natural and hard to find. The tees are marked by a ground level 1 foot square concrete marker. You literally have to be within 25 feet to spot them in many instances. The provided course map (see pros gate entry) is pretty diagrammatic and its tee locations are off by as much as 50 feet or more in a few instances.
- CHARACTER - Very few extras. In addition to no tee pads, no practice basket, no multi tee markers, no extra baskets, no benches, no shelter and no hole signage other than the tee pad marker with number.
- DISCONTINUITY - There are few sizable gaps in the layout, but not too bad. Holes (10-11) (15-16) both seemed to be over 200 foot walks. Normally not a big deal but with no visible tee posts, it will be frustrating first go around. Also note, basket (18) is about 500 feet from the parking area.
- LACK OF SHOT SHAPING - With the extent of the openness you can expect a round with very little thought process on the tee. Most holes I just looked at the hole distance listed on my course map, and then quickly grabbed a disk and threw. Way too many holes can be attacked from every angle.
- ELEVATION - Much less than nearby shorter University. Probably no shot changes by more than 25 feet.
- UNIQUENESS - The hole variety is fairly limited. Other than distance variation, Listed at 185 to 580 feet according to my map, and minor elevation changes, not much separates one hole to another. Way too many open plays. There are a few holes without a tree in play. No water features, no tunnel or pocket shot plays. The holes really don't twist or turn at all either. In addition, no par 4's or 5's (note, there were no par 4's according to my map. DGCR recently listed two par 4s.)
- LIMITED CHALLENGE - Other than on a windy day, the course shouldn't be too difficult to score low for players that can throw 400 feet. Being able to hold a precise line is not a requirement on this course.
- WIND - A very open layout, so expect wind on most days. I was personally blessed with a somewhat light wind day.
Other Thoughts: The second course I've hit in Rome (Shorter University DGC) Although I've rated them both 2.5s they are very much different courses and they will appeal to different players. I personally prefer the variety at Shorter but on the flip side, I very much enjoyed the more easy going nature of the Log Cabin Course. If I lived in town, I'm sure I'd rotate between the two.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Log Cabin Course

2-4    9/3/2016   9/4/2016
Review By: lazrman778
Played: 133  Reviewed: 100  Exp: 6.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Natural tees were flat and fair to drive from

Much more open than wooded fairways will be appreciated by the beginner, the power player, and any player trying new discs

Most holes have changes in elevations

Well-maintained

Had whole course to myself on a Saturday afternoon

Free parking
Cons:
No tee signs - tee markers only provide hole number

No next tee signs - course navigation can be confusing for a first-timer (consult the course map)

Most of the holes play across a road or near the road (one can expect some delays if there is some traffic)

Wide open space makes the course seem monotonous but the wind and changes in elevation can be factors
Other Thoughts:
This a nice course at Berry College that I enjoyed playing. This is the best of the four courses in Floyd County in my opinion. The course is definitely hard to navigate without a map. Even with very well-maintained grass, the tee markers are hard to spot after finishing a hole. Once you become familiar with the layout, the course does flow well. Most of the holes do play across a road or near the road so I had to wait for traffic to pass on several holes to continue play. Overall the course is scenic and the log cabins add a unique character to it. One interesting observation that I didn't noticed on my first visit is that there are RV hookups along the hole #16 fairway where there were some RVs that affected my play. The course is not a destination course but playing this and the course at Winshape does make it more worthwhile.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Scenic course, with a few flaws

2-4    5/18/2016   5/19/2016
Review By: jaredbrumbelow
Played: 15  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 1.5 Years
This review was updated on 5/23/2016
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is no doubt beautiful course. The grass is always manicured as the students are payed year round to cut the campus lawns. I have seen deer everytime I play which makes it a cool experience (especially watch for them on hole 16, I see them EVERY time on this hole). The baskets are in good condition and it is a nice, open course with few obstacles for beginners. The only obstacles are a few trees and bushes placed near the holes. This makes for an easy beginners course and a course many more advanced long bombers could birdie on many holes. It will lead you through a portion of the campus allowing you to see the historic Barnwell Chapel and portions of the Ford Complex castle (funded by Henry Ford himself) that one could easily take a break to explore. Also, for anyone that makes the trip out to play, there is also another 18 hole course on campus only three miles away called the Winshape DG Course. 36 holes in one location definitely makes it worth the visit.
Cons: The most difficult thing about this course is finding the tee box. I have attended this school for two years and it still took me three rounds to find them all. There is some assistance for finding most of the tee boxes as there is a scorecard and map that can be printed from Berry's website which I will give a link to below for anyone interested. However, I will warn that some of the tees (specifically 3 and 6 from recollection) have been moved or mismarked). Also, for anyone who uses Par to judge their play, some of the holes should definitely be reconsidered. Following tradition, every hole is a par 3, but a few holes, definitely 16 should be considered at least a par 4 maybe a par 5.

http://www.berry.edu/uploaded...Scorecard.pdf
Other Thoughts: This course is overall decent. It is well kept and if a few investments for better markers and signage was made, it could be improved to a 3.5 or 4 rating in my opinion.
As a Berry student, I will take it into my hands to assist my fellow DG'ers where I can. If anyone shows interest, I will download the map and edit the mistakes and post it either to my own page or this review.

Edit: Course Map Revisions are now up; here is the link and it is also posted under links/files of the course page. Enjoy!

http://www.dgcoursereview.com.../d2529f27.jpg

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Pretty setting, don't hit the deer!

1    7/18/2015   11/11/2015
Review By: Moose33
Played: 59  Reviewed: 59  Exp: 5.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful course on a private college campus. Though they have a gatehouse you are usually welcome before 7pm and have access to the course(also the course at their mountain campus).

Hiking trails, roads through the woods for biking etc.

It's overall a beautiful place and great to get away from the hustle of the city.

The baskets are not new, but in good shape and well balanced.

The layout is mostly pastoral and falls over rolling hills and though the holes are not particularly long the are well thought out and interesting.

It's a fun play for sure in a nice setting. I would take a half day to play this course, the Winshape 9 and then hike and tour the old churches or hike to the reservoir.
Cons: Navigation; you see baskets around, but there is no signage directing you to the start or which tee is next.

The tees are natural and only marked in number by a small flat square paver in the ground. Which though beautiful it's not very useful, and in the words of Tony Wilson,"nothing useless can be truly beautiful".

As I said earlier it's a bit short and the shots only vary as much as the land lets it, and for a GA course it's not at all wooded.
Other Thoughts: Great place to spend a day in nature, but probably bring a guide. I don't think a first timer could easily navigate alone.

The first hole starts by the stairs of the log cabin chapel, which is kind of cool. I played here while my wife was at a wedding rehearsal and it was a pretty good diversion.

Will be playing again.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Very good course

2-4    7/17/2014   9/9/2014
Review By: Huntsville_TM
Played: 7  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.7 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is kept in good condition because it is in the middle of a college campus.
Baskets are in good condition.
Cons: Some pins incorrectly marked. The tee markers are difficult to see because they are just square stones level with the ground.
Other Thoughts: This course has been redesigned in recent years. Some of the pins are mislabeled because of this. However, the course is laid out on a beautiful college campus. It requires a lot of walking but the scenery is wonderful. There are wild deer roaming around the course and campus.

Tee markers can be difficult to find. They are just flat stones laying on the ground which makes it easy to mow around I suppose. There are many open holes but a few of them have enough trees to create some obstacles. Several holes feature elevation changes.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Confusing

1    5/25/2014   6/3/2014
Review By: doddworley
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Beautiful setting and abundant wildlife. Course in good shape. Pretty much wide open.
Cons: Nothing technical here.
My main reason for the low rating: it is very confusing due to not tee markers, and no basket markers. I was pretty much just looking from the very small tee pad at five different baskets and throwing at one of them. It was very frustrating to play here. Not recommended at all

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Nice course.

2-4    8/6/2013   8/21/2013
Review By: gbbiv
Played: 220  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 4.2 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Beautiful campus and surroundings. Decent baskets. Cool tee markers. Not used that much.
Cons: Kind of tough to find your way around the course. No tee pads. It was really challenging that they didn't have the basket in the right holes... meaning the numbers didn't match the tee marker that was pointing at the basket... after some walking around I think I figured most of it out.
Other Thoughts: I'm very new and really enjoyed the course once I found my way around. Not sure it would be all that challenging for more experienced players. But there is another 18 on the back half of the campus so making the trip seems well worth it.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.