Murphys, CA 
Feeney Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: lion Hole #4 (Taken 10/2012)
3 / 273ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 10
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
Busy At Times, But Well-Maintained

5+    10/9/2017   10/9/2017
Review By: Kevohippo
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course is for the most part well-marked with the exception of the starting tee, and holes 4 and 17. Tees have been recently replaced with rubber mats (except holes 2 and 17) and diagrams indicating the direction of the basket, distances, vegetation/obstacles and OB areas.
Cons: Many holes are unplayable at certain times of the day due to the shared nature of the park. These obstacles include:
Parked cars (Holes 1,2,16)
Field games (Baseball, soccer) (Holes 7,8,10,11,12,17,18)
Spectators for said games (Holes 9,10,17,18)
The worst day I've had I was able to play 9 holes.
Other Thoughts: About half this course is very par-able, even if it's the first time playing. Many of the trees which in the past have created sizable obstacles have been recently removed.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Do not bother to play this one

1    9/28/2017   9/30/2017
Review By: t97pete
Played: 28  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 10.4 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: chain baskets
map at the park showing the baskets, only the baskets...
Cons: I found only one tee, that was for 18, I could not shoot 18 since someone was at the picnic table right in front of the basket...
The map does not show any of the tees, I found one tee, that was for 18.
The basket for hole one is in the parking lot.
If other people are in the park do not bother to play this course
Other Thoughts: I wasted my chance to play a course on this trip to CA. This course might be better if no other people were in the park and no cars in the parking lot...
I gave it one star, that was for the baskets.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Umm, who thought this was a good idea?

1    6/10/2017   6/17/2017
Review By: Magiken
Played: 58  Reviewed: 58  Exp: 8.2 Years
Pros:
Easy to find
Nice baskets
Restrooms and water
Decent signage
Cons:
People in the way, everywhere
Tees are just cleared dirt areas
Other Thoughts:
Tips
Use the map
Bring your left to right shot
Go late in the day

Random Thoughts:
Listen...I'm all in favor of as many disc courses as we can put on this earth, but this is a mixed-use park that the disc course sits right on top of. This means you are ALWAYS throwing into spots where there might be people in the way. What's worse is there are three shots where you're firing right into or at the parking lot. I couldn't believe we were actually staring at the correct basket. I'm a more than decent throw and I still almost hit two cars. We went just before dusk so it was fairly cleared out but I strongly suspect if you visited this course during the day, you'd be skipping holes right and left. Speaking of right and left or left to right, this course has a lot of left to right shots in it. If that's your game, you are in luck. With that said, it is a very fair course, meaning par is very attainable and errant shots aren't penalized too severely. There are also quite a few spots where you can let fly your favorite drive and not worry about losing your disc (around the baseball fields). Navigation on the course is pretty easy, although do pay close attention to the basket lengths. There are a couple spots where the closer basket is the one you're aiming for and it's hidden behind a tree, so you may need to walk ahead and take a peek. Other than that, the shots are pretty straight forward without being too difficult.

Bottom Line:
This is an odd course. I'd call it beginner-friendly but that's only if no one else is at the park. If there are people around, 'apologies' are in your future. Honestly, despite the course being fairly fun, I'd give serious thought to pulling it out and putting it someplace else. It's a bit nerve racking throwing around people and cars for an entire round. Again, I always applaud the effort, but this one may just be stretching this park too far.

A Tale Of Two Cities

5+    5/23/2017   5/23/2017
Review By: jasonandsharon
Played: 468  Reviewed: 58  Exp: 33.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Feeney Park is a large multi-use park that apparently serves much of Calaveras County's recreational activities. It serves the youth and adult atheletes from Copperopolis to Bear Vally along Highway 4. It is the home field for Ebbets Pass Little League, Ebbetss Pass Youth Soccer League, and Sierra Ridge High Schools fields. Feeney Park also provides game and practice field for AMA football, AMA girls's softball, and local adult teams playing in the California State Soccer League. It also includes walking trails, picnic areas, Skate Park, and an amphitheater. It has batting cages, rest rooms, and a snack bar. I think at times the entire population of the town can be found here, more on that later.

18 Hole Disc Golf Course

Nice mix of holes, diverse shot selection, technical shots, elevation, and length.

Navigation was decent with tee signs featuring all the usual details: map, par, and distance.

18 Mach V Baskets.

Plenty of Parking with Restrooms.

Benches and Teepads.
Cons: Rough Teepads: Uneven Rubber Pads with a toe kick

SAFETY: See Below

MULTI-USE PARK: See Below
Other Thoughts: Quick Pros and quick cons which really don't tell you much, so let's get into the details. Let me start by saying I first played this course a couple of years ago now, and when I walked off of it that first day I wanted to take the course designer and the park supervisor that authorized this course and bang their heads together for ever thinking this was a good design, I was so disgusted with this course. I arrived that first time on a Saturday the parking lot was packed; I got a spot after a car pulled out between two other cars, got out was getting my bag together with a water bottle on the back of my truck and I was promptly nailed with a disc in the back of my leg. Not the best way to start off an introduction to a course. Now to be fair it is not the first time I've been hit with a disc in a parking lot, heck I got beamed once at Dela, one of the premier courses on the planet, but still doesn't help my mood to start a course. The guy who threw the disc came up to retrieve and was apologetic and I just took a deep breath and laughed it off. I find out the reason it happened is because they were shooting at hole 1s tone(now basket) and it is located apparently on an island in the parking lot that happened to be right in front of my truck, not exactly the best design, but moving on. I have no problem shooting at hole 1 but I could see where less advanced players would definitely struggle and make errors. I then move on to hole 2s pad which happens to be just right of the hole 1 island, while there I get to witness a group behind me throwing at hole 1 who let me play first, and sure enough one of them skips up and hits the undercarriage of my truck, no damage, but at this point I'm thinking are you kidding me but another deep breath and I move on. Hole 3 plays right along the edge of the main road on the narrow strip of land dividing the parking lot and road where any errant discs will go right at cars, again thinking not the best design. I get to hole 4 which of course has a warning signs telling me I'm playing into a school and not to play when school is in session. Don't Kill The Children, Check. Get to hole 5, hole 5 and hole 6s fairways criss-cross, did I mention there's a lot of people out here, enough said. Hole 7 plays along a field where a soccer game is being played, I don't really have a problem putting it onto the green but again I could see conflict with a lot of other players. Finally I come to hole 8 which is an elevated tee to a tone on the other side of the soccer game with a lot of parents spectating on the edges and the main highway framing the right. Its not very far and I could clear it with a distance driver but under no circumstances would I ever throw over a kids game so I elect to walk around the game and skip the hole. I'm almost a quarter of the way across when all of a sudden a disc comes flying overhead hits the ground just to right of the soccer field and bounces up and hits underneath a women's lawn chair she is sitting in. A single player guy mid 20s come running through grabs the disc, throws, mutters something to the women, and goes on his way. I go up and try to be a decent ambassador for the sport after encountering an a-hole to a woman who is obviously quite angry, justifiably so, and she didn't want any apologies from me, did make a comment about it not even being the first incident of the day, and I was left with my weak apology and moving on knowing that disc golf had just made another permanent enemy of the sport. Now I will say the rest of my round was fairly uneventful, other than having to wait a little for people, but by the end of the first nine I had more than made up my mind on what to think about this course.

Had I written a review after that first round it would not be kind, heck this one is not exactly kind either. The thing is that was a Saturday, the next time I played was a Tuesday, and I ended up having the entire course to myself, with literally no one else at the park, and it is a very different experience.

The problem with this course is that it mirrors the city of Murphys itself. You see Murphys is very much a tale of two cities. Murphys is for the residents a very small remote gold rush era foothills town with quaint little shops harkening back to days gone by. At certain time you can walk all the way down the sidewalks of Main Street and never see a soul. However at other times Murphys is a tourist trap gone wild with biker gangs and thousands of tourists descending upon it making those some sidewalks feel like you are elbow to elbow with everyone else on the streets of Disneyland.

This is a very difficult course to review. I know for a fact that this course has introduced a ton of people to disc golf and made a lot of new fans. And the truth is I've given other courses a pass on poor design because of their remoteness, but the problem is I know how busy this park gets but it would be hypocritical of me to say that I haven't enjoyed rounds here. So I am left with the juxtaposition of two very different courses, one that I don't think should even be in the ground due to safety concerns and one that serves a very real local need in a very remote community. On a Tuesday I would give this course a three on a Saturday I would be advocating for its removal. I split the difference and gave it a 1.5. I still don't know if this course should be in the ground, but I understand why,

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Great course if you're in the area

1    11/12/2016   2/22/2017
Review By: WikiWags
Played: 8  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: All brand new baskets throughout the course (photos need to be updated, no more tone poles). Beautiful landscape for this course. Good course maps (http://www.feeneypark.org/DiscGolfMap.htm ), signage seemed accurate.
Cons: Tees could use brooms. The season in which we played had oak leaves completely covering the tee boxes, had to use my foot broom :-) Holes #9, 10, and 11 were super soggy, be sure to have your shoes tied tight!
Other Thoughts: We happened to have been camping in Columbia and brought our discs with us. We arrived around 1pm on a Saturday and were the only folks on the course! Plenty of parking, well maintained, restrooms available near the sports fields. Played on Veterans Day weekend so no school and no sports taking place on the fields.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

decent local course that gave good driving practice

1    2/16/2016   6/16/2016
Review By: ScottishDiscman
Played: 5  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I enjoyed this course in that it was a good use of natural other uses of the park (playing around baseball courts and through woods) signage was adequate to get a good round in but it is a good local course.
Cons: due to the make up of the course I would check for other local events as the course would be unplayable when the pitches are in use. Also the dirt and rubber tee pads are slippy when wet (it was wet when I was there)
Other Thoughts: Certainly worth a shot if you are in the area, I wouldn't travel to do it though! Please be careful around the baseball courts and school which is nearby.

If you come accross the roc I lost on the restroom roof, please let me know!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 unplayable

1    7/19/2014   7/22/2014
Review By: mhulkman
Played: 45  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.2 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: none
Cons: This has to be the most unsafe course Ive ever tried to play. I cant believe the park and/or county officials gave the ok for this design. 1 basket is right at the park entrance no more than 15-20ft from the road. 3 more baskets are on the edges and in the middle of the parking lot to where you are throwing over parked cars or cars entering and leaving the park. Another basket is between the baseball field and main highway with no more than 15ft between them. Its just a matter of time before a disc causes a major car accident or at the very least a busted windshield. This is the type of design that gives disc golf courses a bad rep and prevents future courses from being approved by city officials.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  Feeney Park DGC

5+    6/30/2013   7/1/2013
Review By: discgo
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Close to home. It is very easy to go out a throw some holes. I like this course as it makes good use of the perimeter of the community park. Some good challenging shots; long, short, hyzer, anhyzer. 18 holes with 9 baskets and 9 very nice tone poles createdd out of old propane cans each uniquely painted provides character to the course. This is an ongoing community effort, another fundraiser next week to purchase 9 more baskets.
Cons: It gets hot in the summer time, get your rounds in before or after the heat! Little League and Soccer season have an impact with the disc golf course as people and cars will be in the way. Course etiquette dictates courtesy to other park users.
Other Thoughts: This is a work in progress. 9 baskets in play with 9 more very soon to come. The tone poles are great! We now have 5 course within 30 miles + some private courses. Good fun in the foothill gold country!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Making the Most of It

5+    1/24/2013   3/7/2013
Review By: ChainSlapper209
Played: 9  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.5 Years
Pros: Free. Good parking. Restrooms, water fountains, trash cans and park benches. Right next to the historic foothill town of Murphy's. Has nine nice baskets and nine tone poles.
Cons: Course winds through municipal park. You will play in road, on baseball and soccer fields, and right beside an elementary school. (Not supposed to play #4 when school is in session.) I can imagine course is basically unplayable at times due to all the other various activities going on. Just the nature of the beast. Pretty short holes. Dirt tee pads. Not a whole lot of elevation change. 4 holes in a row about 100' or less. No memorable holes.
Other Thoughts: This is just your run of the mill, very average park course. Designers did the best they could but didn't have a whole lot to work with. Don't get me wrong, you can have fun here. It's got some good quality baskets and the tone poles have propane tanks that ding loudly when struck. I wouldn't call it a destination course but if you're a dischead you might as well check it out if you're in the area.

 

1    12/25/2012   12/25/2012
Review By: Skullpunisher
Played: 99  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 17.4 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice course w/ elevation & distance changes.
I played 60+ courses this one is in the top half , (?)

Play this course eat in town & tour a cave
It will be a good day !
Ps. Find the deli w/ Belgian beers ! ! !

Cons: Plays around the parking lot then around the soccer and the baseball fields so it may be unplayable if the park is in use
Other Thoughts: There was 4 "short" holes in a row & I got 4 no-throw dueces
( they were still challenging & cool shots)

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.