Bainbridge, OH 
Pike Lake State Park Share
Uploaded By: JMONEY Hole #5 (Taken 3/2011)
3 / 165ft.   3 / 248ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee Sign



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 25
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
1 2 3 Next >
 Beautiful

1    4/4/2009   4/4/2009
Review By: spookytay
Played: 46  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 21.6 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is a great challenge. There is a good mixture of short and long holes. Many many trees and elevation changes will challenge you. There is also a little creek that runs through many of the holes. Print out the map layout as this will help you find a couple of holes.
Cons: Most pads are concrete but the hard to reach tees are natural. Short tees, if you play them weren't easily spotted and it looks like an ice storm has caused some trees to bend over the tees. I played from the pro tees as most of them were concrete.
Other Thoughts: I played this in the early spring. I could only imagine how much more difficult this would be once the trees are in bloom. For a similar challenge check out Great Seal.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A serene hike in the woods

1    5/26/2008   9/9/2008
Review By: Olorin
Played: 411  Reviewed: 115  Exp: 40.5 Years
17 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is my kind of course! If you love woods courses with hills and streams then you should love this course.
There's lots to like here, so my Euphoria Factor was high when I finished (and it still is now).
I only played the long tees, so my review reflects that layout.
There's plenty of serenity and solitude. Even though I played on Memorial Day, I was the only person on the course.
The fairways are well cut with very good variety (8 St/ 1 Lt/ 7 R/ 1 S/ 1L), even if they do favor lefties.
Nice elevation changes (7 Flat/ 6 Up/ 5 Down) with several big ups or downs (e.g.: +30 ft or -36 ft.).
There's water in play on 7 holes, but my favorites were 15, with a stream down the middle of the fairway, and 10, with a pretty stream that crosses it.
I like the Chainstar baskets a lot; tee signs are good on the long tees, and there are 10 concrete trapezoidal tee pads. The 8 holes up the hills still have dirt tees, but one can understand the difficulty of getting concrete to them.
There are lots of amenities too: a map and score card online, basic restrooms, a warm up basket, a message board, and tons of benches and trash cans throughout the course.
Cons: -Tee 11 is a very long walk from hole 10. It's essential to follow the map. You have to walk back up 10's fairway. Tees 17 and 18 would also be hard to find without a map.
-The short tees were poorly marked; I only found 3.
-There are a few safety issues. Hole 8 is next to a park road but there's high visibility. Hole 18 is more serious with the basket too close to a picnic area.
-The length variety is low; 13 holes are in the 170-260 ft. range. (2<199/ 11<299/ 4<399/ 1 of 540).
-Some baskets were hard to see because of hills or trees.
-The pars listed on the score card can be goofy. I've never heard of a par 5 on a 369 ft hole with a 20 ft downhill
Other Thoughts: Course Level = Blue (most suitable for Advanced players rated 925-975) It's short for a Blue level course, but the woods add lots of challenge to boost the Blue Score Avg.
Course Difficulty: 7 (out of 10)

You be the judge-
My favorite hole: 15. Stunning beauty of a creek in the fairway that runs the entire length of the hole.

-The course is great for lefties, since it has 7 dogleg right holes and only one dogleg left.
-Hole 12 has 3 tees. There's a white tee of 420 ft.
-Several holes may be longer than the length listed on the tees signs.
-The course is way out in the country, so it's a long, yet scenic, drive from any larger cities, but it's well worth driving even several hours to play. Make the trip if you can.

NOTE: Look in the "Links/Files" section for my files with Hole-by-hole evaluations, and a more detailed Overall review. You can also read more of my reviews at http://sports.groups.yahoo.co...ourseReviews/

17 of 17 people found this review helpful.

 

7/18/2008   7/18/2008
Review By: thezac
Played: 53  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 8 Not
Other Thoughts: the course is great, i just wanted to add that the 9 additional holes are NOT installed. the original 18 are GREAT, but if you read the other review you will be mislead. they are planning 9-18 more holes, but they are not in the ground yet.

2 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Fun in the forest

5/24/2008   6/20/2008
Review By: timg
Played: 349  Reviewed: 59  Exp: 17.5 Years
17 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Serious elevation changes and tree lined hill sides define this course. Pike Lake is also relatively secluded so if you're into quiet, relaxed rounds in a beautiful natural environment then you can't go wrong here.

The course is also very well maintained by the park. It looks like they take great pride in the course and you'll also find a map/scorecard at the park office as well as discs and other dg gear at the park store.
Cons: Most pins are not visible from the tees so it can be tough to know exactly where you should be throwing without scouting ahead. Obviously that is only an issue for first-timers at the course.
Other Thoughts: Disclaimer: I am not a huge fan of wooded courses. That said, I really, really enjoyed this course. The elevation changes were awesome, the fairways weren't overly claustrophobic and the overall course design was good.

I would highly recommend playing with a friend so you have somebody to spot. There is some seriously thick rough in areas and occasionally you'll be throwing at pins behind hills; both of which could lead to spending time searching for a lost disc if you have a less than great shot.

Did I mention the elevation changes? I don't think I emphasized them enough. These are some steep hills.. steep enough that they had to build stair cases for some of them. Be prepared for a workout when you decide to play here.

I'd definitely recommend stopping by Pike Lake for a round if you're in the area. It's technical without being too technical and open enough where laser-like precision isn't a necessity. Whether you're a fan of heavily wooded courses or not, I have no doubt that you'll enjoy this course.

17 of 18 people found this review helpful.

 Favorite course

6/13/2007   6/13/2007
Review By: jtmelton
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3
5 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: This course has it all. It is mostly wooded but the fairways are clear with a lot of elevation changes. 10 of the tee pads are concrete and the rest should be concrete this year. Also another 9 holes will be added this year making it a 27 hole course. This course is very well maintained. There is a campers store that has a large selection of discs, bags and other disc golf items.
Other Thoughts: This is a state park and the staff loves having the course there. The staff are friendly and will help you out the best they can. Camping and cabins also available. Well worth the trip.

5 of 10 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.