Ridgedale, MO 
Branson Cedars Resort Treehouz DGC Share
Uploaded By: Discette Hole #9 (Taken 4/2016)
-- / --   3 / 337ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Basket to Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 34
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3 4
Nice Fun Course

2-4    7/6/2018   7/9/2018
Review By: shyguy30
Played: 83  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 15.5 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Hole Variety: Lots of long open holes, with a few lightly wooded and several heavily wooded holes.

-Baskets: Discatchers are in good shape and perform well.

-Well Defined Fairways: Whether playing along the ball golf fairways or through the woods, the fairways are well defined and play fairly. #9 is a great example with a 50 foot wide fairway playing right to left and uphill through the woods.

-Risk/Reward: Here is where this course excels! 4 holes play across ponds or have baskets near the water. Some cart path OB throughout. The astro-turf greens provide risk for your approaches if you come in low and hard or at a steep angle. Even the open holes have trees along both sides that make you carefully consider your next shot should you find them. Not that I would know... ahem.

-Loops back to the parking lot at hole 9. I don't know why you would pay $10 to only play 9 holes but you could grab a snack, drink, or extra disc if you fail to navigate the ponds successfully.

-Course maintenance: All of the grass was recently cut and tee pads were free of debris. On the wooded holes the rough can be really rough but to me that just provides a better contrast to the more open holes. Next tee arrows on each pole help with navigation.

-Benches at every tee. I prefer to play quickly but there a couple of holes that I like to take a seat on to enjoy the views.

-Use of Elevation: Excellent mix of downhill, uphill, and valley holes. The third time I played the course I thought, "This is hillier than I remember". Several baskets are perched on or within a few feet of a severe slope.

-Scenic Beauty: This is a fabulous property with rolling hills, mature trees and nicely manicured former ball golf fairways. I would love to come back in the fall when the leaves have turned.
Cons: -Open holes can feel repetitive: 2, 10, 11, 16, 18, and 19. If a few of these holes were on the front nine it wouldn't feel quite so repetitive. I can't reach any of the par 3s so they are all drive, upshot, putt.

-Tee signs: The wooden posts have a great look and provide good information but at a 45 degree angle they are already fading pretty badly from sun exposure. No hole location indicator poses a problem on holes 10 and 17.

-Shot shaping: The open holes don't require you to shape your shot much. You can throw all hyzers or all forehand shots if you wish. There aren't many holes where you can choose between different routes. Holes 8, 12, and 17 are the only exceptions and they are each <300 feet.

-Potential Safety Issues: There are often people running which causes delays at some of the tee boxes. There are a few places where other resort-goers could be in a bad spot. For example, the tether-ball pole is about 50 feet in front and to the left of the tee for hole 7. 14 and 15 are both blind holes where you could throw into someone accidentally. After teeing off on hole 7 you walk around the pond along the green and fairway for hole 3. As we reached the pond we discovered someone playing hole 3 that we couldn't see from the tee.
Other Thoughts: -Others have referenced the narrow tee pads but they are level and pointed in the right direction so I don't have any issues with them.

-Long walks from 7 to 8 and 9 to 10 could use another navigational sign along the way to let you know you are heading the right direction.

-I wouldn't call this a championship level course. I am a Rec/Intermediate player and usually shoot around +5. If you have 425 feet of distance and can hit a narrow gap halfway to the pin on a 250 foot throw you will have no problems with this course.

-$10 to play may be a little steep for some. It is a nice course and they obviously keep the grass well-mowed, but having played other high-quality private courses it seems to be on the pricey side.

-Hole 4 is one of the better-designed holes I have played. You can go for the 425 foot water carry to attack the pin from the tee, lay up short of the pond to leave a 220-260 foot approach, or play it out to the right where there is a small landing zone and a gravel path along the pond. Too far right and you end up above the basket with an awkward stance on the slope throwing back toward the pond.

- I really like this course. It is a fun play but has plenty of risk/reward decisions to keep you engaged mentally. Poor shots will be punished on most holes. Could improvements be made? Absolutely, but I always walk away from here having enjoyed myself. If you find yourself within 50 miles of this course, go and check it out. You won't regret it!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Great Ball to DG Conversion

1    4/4/2018   4/4/2018
Review By: markmcc
Played: 271  Reviewed: 248  Exp: 7.5 Years
14 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This resort community has installed a 19-hole disc golf course on the grounds of a defunct 9-hole ball course. This is a beautiful piece of rolling, wooded land with two ponds.

Hole lengths vary considerably from 230' out to 640. The longest holes utilize the old golf course fairways, so are relatively open. These holes offer either downhill drives or drives across valleys so you can let let 'em fly. An interesting feature of some of these holes is the placement of the basket on the remaining artificial turf greens. These greens are large, flat and lightening fast, so anticipating huge skips is key.

In contrast, good use is made of the forested areas surrounding the fairways to create shorter, technical holes. Some of these holes are very tight with challenging narrow lines to the basket. There is elevation on most of these holes, with uphill, downhill, and sidehill configurations. Many of the baskets are on sloped ground adding rollaway potential.

Two ponds are in play, with pondside baskets for Holes 3, 4, and 6 and a 225' water carry on Hole 7. Steel pond rakes are provided for disc retrieval.

Concrete tees on every hole are flat with excellent texture. They are strangly narrow, around 3'. Two holes offer shorter tees. The short tee on Hole 4 creates a 220 foot hole directly over the pond.

A big improvement since previous reviews is the installation of excellent, permanent signs at every tee. They have the expected hole number, par, and distance, along with an accurate hole diagram and a next tee arrow.

Innova baskets catch great and show up well in the shadows. Huge red "next tee" arrows hanging from each basket make navigation simple.
Cons: This well designed course really doesn't have any serious cons, so these are a bit nit-picky.

The Par 4 holes are simply longer, with typically open fairways. So there is no specific line or landing area to hit, just open ground between you and the basket.

The path from Hole 7 to Hole 8 crosses directly behind the Hole 2 basket. Could create a conflict.

Holes 4, 5, 6 and 7 play in an area of the resort that also has a volleyball court, playground, and other activities. I wonder if when the resort season is in full swing if the area gets crowded
Other Thoughts: Course is pay-to-play. $10 for all day or $25 for a "Frequent Flyer Pass" which is good for one year from date of purchase. Outstanding bargain in my mind.

Very nice pro shop with a good variety of discs. The young lady that checked us in was very pleasant.

Restrooms in the office next to the pro shop as well as near hole 6.

14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Freakin' Awesome Course

1    11/25/2016   11/28/2016
Review By: SirDreward
Played: 35  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 10.2 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: - Concrete tee pads with benches at practially every tee
- Quality baskets that are well maintained and properly installed
- Course is well cared for
- Excellent use of the terrain and the old ball course
- Legit pro shop
- Restrooms along the course
Cons: - Tee signs were missing when I played
Other Thoughts: It was free to play when I headed down there the day after Thanksgiving, but it's well worth the $10 or whatever it is. I love the disc golf putting greens. If you hit them just right you can get a pretty good slide going on for your disc!

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Easily One of My Favorites

2-4    11/26/2016   11/28/2016
Review By: AeroPurt
Played: 52  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 11.2 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Concrete tees
- Quality baskets
- Course located on old ball golf course
- Course is well cared for
- Beautiful course!
- Very good use of landscape
Cons: - Pay-to-play, though the lady at the front desk did let us play for free the Saturday after Thanksgiving
- Needs detailed tee signs - only way to know distance is to grab a scorecard from the front office.
- The only way to know the Par is on DGCR, the scorecard and map do not show par.
- In the fall/winter months, be careful about losing discs among the fallen leaves.
Other Thoughts: - After a couple rounds, this course easily became one of my favorites. I loved holes 2, 6, 18, and 19 in particular. Don't miss out on playing this course.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Very Imperssive

1    7/27/2016   8/12/2016
Review By: tyler4coop
Played: 20  Reviewed: 8
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Lots of big elevation changes. Get ready to walk a lot!
- Very neatly cut grass. Some of the baskets even had turf around them like a ball golf course would have.
- Get your throwing arm out cause there is some pretty big throws that you'll have to do.
- Open shots mixed with Wooded shots. They had a good course layout that weaved in and out of the woods that was along the big open fairways.
- It looked like they were building a gazebo at the tee box of hole 1. I always like to see a course that is being improved on. It means that it will become better.
Cons: - Since I had to pay to play I was disappointment in the lack of signs! Sometimes I even got confused as if I was on the right hole. They gave us a map but it wasn't very detailed and poorly made.
- I have seen better concrete tee boxes and like I said before, since I paid to play I expect more.

Other Thoughts: - ITS PAY TO PLAY! $10 per person. If you bring a big group ask for a group discount and she'll bring the price down. She let the kids go for free.
- If you lose your disc and have your name and number in it, the store will try and return it to you if it's found.
-The store had a good selection of discs for sale. They also had a used bin where they sold used discs for $5 a piece.
- There are some water hazards and heavy foliage that could potentially lead to a lost disc.
- Bring bug spray

Definitely worth it if your on vacation in Branson.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Amazing Course

5+    2/16/2016   3/16/2016
Review By: Prez017
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
2 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Great elevation
On a great resort
Beautiful area
Great mixture of long, short, wooded, and open holes
Course is never crowded
Cons: Pay to play
No tee signs
Other Thoughts: My favorite course I have ever played. GO PLAY IT!

2 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Regal Golf

1    2/14/2015   2/14/2015
Review By: Brokensaint
Played: 292  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 12 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Branson Cedars is a luxury log cabin resort that offers, along with numerous on-site recreational amenities, a high-caliber 19 hole disc golf course. It is built on a rolling expanse on rocky hills and valleys. Elevation is a factor on every hole, water comes into play on four holes.( A nice touch are the welded rebar retriever poles that are along each pond, assisting in reclaiming water discs)
Starting on one and just going from there, you throw down and right, and then two is Very Down and longish to an elevated putting green. And on. The blue tees made for some long holes, many of which turn right. Winds, the poltergeists of long elevated diosc golf, played havok with me on the front nine (not otherwise what you call a windy day, just while I was playing this course).
All in all, this course requires distance and touch, a solid anny throw and some grit. The up and down of this course made shot judgment a very real considersation. Of course, there are few holes where you just stand at the top of the rise and launch a couple all the way down!
Navigation between holes is pretty straight-forward most of the time, but I did consult the map provided by the office a couple of times.
Several holes have red tees, which is nice.
Benches and trash cans... also nice.
Aesthetically, this is a beautiful property. The holes are pretty to the eyes and fun to play.
Cons: Permanent tee signs. The laminated maps are very nice, stapled as they are to a log. Don't get me wrong, I love the log. Mount a nice, classy plexiglass map on it and done and done.
Restrooms. There is a restroom in the main office, which is the hub of 1, 9 and 18, but that's it. Unless you've rented a cottage treehouse...
Pay to play. I was told $5 on the phone, clerk said it was $10 for me. (She did say she wouldn't charge me for my 9 yr old son, so I guess its a wash for me either way)

Other Thoughts: This course seems to be an integral part of the resort, and is well-maintained, pretty and very fun to play. It was very tranquil when i played. There were assorted family groups that I encountered, but largely I had this place to myself. I can also see this place playing differently come summer, as the rough that was burned off when I played will ratchet up the risk/reward factor quite a bit.
I will bring the family, rent a tree house and play this course several more times. Worth making the drive.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Great course, super fun!

1    10/31/2014   11/7/2014
Review By: LaneH
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: The course is excellent. The scenery is beautiful. There are many challenges including water hazards, hills and many trees. The holes are well laid out, and most are long. An xcellent challenge.
Cons: The signs at each tee could be improved, but the course is not hard to follow.

1 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 very nice

1    10/25/2014   10/26/2014
Review By: cheese dog
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: many holes that make you take a minute to stop and admire the beautiful property. nice fairways,pads, and baskets, turf greens with a basket stuck on them.
Cons: very little signage, most the laminated paper signs are gone. basket location, I kept thinking that some of the holes could have better basket locations,
Other Thoughts: overall this is the best course I have played to date. but a course of this high caliber has to have permanent signage. In my opinion some of the hole could benefit from new basket locations.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Review

2-4    10/21/2014   10/22/2014
Review By: Loomis
Played: 519  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 12.3 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: It's a picturesque course with wonderful vistas.

There is a great diversity of shots: Huge bombs, Water Shots, Elevation, a few short technical shots.

It's very well-maintained
Cons: It had a bit of damage to one tee sign. The tee signs are oddly designed but you can glean the appropriate information you need from them if you take a little time.

The only real con is that I wish the course was 27 holes.
Other Thoughts: Absolutely worth the trip to the course. There are rumors about the course's existence but there doesn't seem to be any interest in pulling it at the moment. Still, I would play it before they start to think about it.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.