Vicksburg, MI 
Vicksburg Rec. Area Share
Uploaded By: Fraimo34 Hole #9 (Taken 10/2012)
3 / 324ft.   3 / 450ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Short Tee: Basket behind pine tree in middle of fairway.


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2
This Course Will Make Your Putter Flutter!

1    8/21/2017   8/21/2017
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 1167  Reviewed: 1115  Exp: 39.5 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: What kind of a player loves playing here? First, you gotta have an above average arm. Unlimited funds for lost discs would help. The guts of a burglar and nerves of steel are important, as well. Intermediate to advanced players should love it here. The course is long but not rediculously long. To me, the single most challenging element here were the 6-7 tricky pin placements, often sitting just three feet from the nasty, green, swampy waters. They made putts and approaches nerve wracking. And on holes 3 & 14, off the tee is an adventure as your tee off better not be 3 feet past the basket. So what does all this pressure do to a weeny player like me? It made me so tight you couldn't pull a needle out of my butt with a tractor.

The course is not overly long but # 12 Long plays 578' with the entrance road along the right side and you need to stick your drive through this narrowing gap in order to have any chance at a three. But the hole, I really liked most was # 10 from the Longs. It's 411' teeing off into a fairly, narrow window and following that the basket sits in the woods and naturally, it's set just 3 feet from the water.

# 14 is probably not that long but I'm sure it get in the head of many players. It's 291' over the pond shot, probably only a 230' carry but, but, but there are branches to avoid. Hit a branch and splash. Then add the fact that the basket just over that little hill is just a few feet from water.

With two sets of pads, the Longs and the Shorts, players have choices here. Both tee pads have signs and often give you an altogether different look. The baskets are Chainstars and the pads are nice concrete ones.

I have a question here? The basket placement on # 6 was in a cool position sitting in a small area just behind the dirt mound. But that basket set on the mound would be an extra cool position. I assume that it is switched up just for a change. I was disappointed I missed getting to play to it on the mound.

The course has a lot of cool engineering features such as bulked up areas around some baskets and the interesting raised basket on the round concrete on # 9. I understand that this course has a "course angel" who is constantly working to improve the course. You're very lucky to have this gentleman performing these volunteer tasks. Please remember to thank him when you see him around the course.
Cons: Thiis is a disc eater. Regulars must buy their putters by the dozen. Not only with the tricky basket placements but also with thick rough seemingly everywhere.

I would have loved to see the # 9 basket raised a couple feet higher. Would have been even more challenging.

I saw quite a few strong, younger players fire their discs off into the wilds. This is not great course for players with strong arms lacking basic control and also, for those players who haven't yet develop touch.
Other Thoughts: Even with the overwhelming pressure I felt, I was able to play this course, by myself, all without losing a disc. I played from a combination of the Longs and Shorts, just picking the one I thought more interesting or sometimes, just the safer choice. This is a unique course, providing more looks and crazy basket placements than probably any course I can recall. I enjoyed playing it, ONCE. I don't think I'd want it as my home course, as I couldn't afford the lost disc replacement cost. Is there a lost disc insurance policy available? Might be a money maker.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Challenging, but fair

1    6/14/2017   6/14/2017
Review By: ForearmGalore
Played: 158  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 4.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Super easy to get into the park, find the course, and find the first tee.
-Plenty of Parking
-Concrete Teepads.
-Short and Long tees allow for variety allow shorter arms to play the course, AND they still provide challenge to veteran players. 15 of the 18 are easy pars, but require accurate/strong tee-shots for birdie.
-GREAT placement of teepads and baskets to use the environment as obstacles. Every hole has a lane for you to take, but you need an accurate shot.
---I LOVE how two of the holes (I believe 6 and 15, but don't quote me!) use dirt mounds as obstacles, NOT to set the basket up higher. This course is my 150th played, and none of the others have done something like this. Simple, but a unique obstacle in my opinion. On 6 you can't see the basket, but really you want to throw just over the top of the dirt mound and fade down to the left to be under the pin. 15, you can see the top of the basket, and you probably want to hit the top of the mound to slow you down.
-Pretty easy to follow the course, but a map your first time will make it really easy.
-Good mix and long and short holes to vary it up.
-Requires forearm/backhand shots, or hyzer and anhyzer.
Cons: -Biggest complaint has to deal with the 3 or 4 holes that end with a Death putt where the water/muck is only a few feet behind the pin. Personally I like the challenge of the death putt, I just wish they were marked better so you know what your throwing at. This may be marked on the signs, I'm not sure. But I would have changed my shot selection had I known ahead of time. There may be more, but for sure holes 3, 10 and 15 have them (I think 7 is the fourth). 15 you can't see the water either because it's blocked by the dirt mound.
-Bring some bug spray. Course is surrounded by water/ a pond/ a swamp -- somewhere in between all of those. The water doesn't look like something you want to get into, but I've definitely played on worse courses for bugs.
-Not sure if there are bathrooms. There's a small building near the start of the course where they could be, but I didn't check.
Other Thoughts: Definitely worth your time, especially as a skilled player who likes a challenge! NOT a good course to learn the game.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Beautiful Course

1    5/21/2016   5/21/2016
Review By: the1discChallenge
Played: 14  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 7.6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Beautiful park with the lake backing right up to the front 9
-excellent signage and two different pads to throw from (long/short)
-Signs show the direction to the next basket
-a couple longer holes w/ placement shots. Overall, I stuck to mainly mids and putters for the course from shorts, but a few of those were 200-300ft placement shots on 450' holes.
-I don't know if it was just the day or the right time, but everyone was incredibly friendly around here. I got a very good vibe from this course.
-For a free to play course, it is very well kept and clean.
-A nice mix of open and wooded: about half of each 9 was open and half wooded. A good variety of shots too
Cons: -There weren't any holes to rip from the shorts. the majority of the holes were either 250-300 or 450' holes that force placement shots. I exclusively used putters, mids, and a couple distance drivers for forehands. Probably different from the longs, but the shorts aren't terribly challenging.
-Not any elevation. Not a huge con, but still a con regardless.
Other Thoughts: -This course is gorgeous. I love the scenery at this course and the whole park is really nice, clean, and well kept.
-Between the shorts and longs, there's a ton of different shots and lines to hit. Definitely will keep me coming back.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Just give me some signs!

2-4    9/28/2014   9/29/2014
Review By: davetherocketguy
Played: 68  Reviewed: 59  Exp: 13.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Challenging course from the longs.
- Really fun course from the shorts.
- Nicely constructed concrete tee pads.
- The layout does not seem to favor either righties or lefties.
- Brilliant pin placement on many holes. #17, #10, #8, #2, #14 are a few that come to mind.
- I love the use of water on #14 on both the long and short tees.
- Not really a pro or a con but the elevated basket on #9 is nicely done compared to some I've seen. At the same time there doesn't seem to add much of a challenge to the hole.
- Not a lot of elevation change here but what is present is well used. #13 from the shorts is a great example. Trying to find a line between the trees up and over the hill there is challenging and fun.
Cons: - The course feels like it just isn't done yet. In particular #12 where there is some piles of dirt lining the sides of the fairway.
- Signs...where are they? There are a few arrows here and there indicating where the next tee is but that's it. No tee signs, no distances. If you are going to play here find a local to guide you around otherwise you're going to spend a lot of time hunting. There are 4x4's at each tee pad so it looks like signs will be installed soon hopefully. There are stakes at each tee with hole number but sorry, that won't help the score.
- More importantly there is a serious design flaw between #10 and #8 tee. Both the long and short tees for #8 are far too close to the #10 fairway.
- I am not particularly fond of how the #1 fairway is lined on the right side with a walking path that many non dg'ers use.
Other Thoughts: This has the potential to be a great course. Signage alone would help immensely.

I find this course to be a bit like jeckyl and hyde. On the shorts its a nice, pleasantly challenging round while the longs are a big step up in challenge. Stop by and play sometime - just be sure to bring a map.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 3.85 is way too high

1    9/24/2013   9/24/2013
Review By: discNDav
Played: 345  Reviewed: 78  Exp: 31.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Two cement tees on each hole, red is long, white is shorter. Water comes into play several times. Trash cans near the tees were added recently, they helped me find the next tee sometimes. Grass was cut well when in the open parts of the course. Good new Chainstar baskets. Hole # 14 was cool shot over water plus water danger behind the basket.

Cons: Terribly marked, hole one is a blind shot and the cement tee wasn't marked like the rest of the course with a short wooden stake.

Most other tees had a wooden stake with the hole # but not the distances marked on them.

Questionable layout. Thought some holes could have been designed better. A lost disc is very possible in many places.

Muddy in places.

A few "next tee" signs would be helpful since the flow isn't instinctive in places.
Other Thoughts: This course is very new and will get better with some TLC. Visually not very aesthetic, some of the woods, the dirt path on 12 and land were rather ugly in places.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Good addition to an already spoiled area!

5+    7/18/2013   8/18/2013
Review By: landon77
Played: 63  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 18.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/7/2016
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -
Update 7/716
Shorts have become a favorite of mine and I think the course is awesome. High fun factor from the shorts. Longs your asking for a much harder and time length extended round. Well worth playing.
-Good challenge
-Secluded
-dog friendly
-cement tees

Much improved. After playing again on 5/3/16 i came away more impressed. Great signs. Great benches. Much more improved flow to the course. Highly challenging and great water holes make this course one of the best around The Kalamazoo area.
Cons: -
Other Thoughts: -
-i would like to rate this higher and have sat on the review thinking upon itexcept for the Most of the holes offer a challenge, multiple lanes, and are fair as in you should be able to get there for a par at worse.
My main problem is it isn't that fun for me. I really appreciate course amenities and this has very few. I like signs telling me hole stats and benches to sit. Almost none here.
-The course is solid in its play. It does offer up decent challenges and a wide variety of discs will be helpful.
-windy days can present an additional challenge
-good mix of wooded and open holes
-i think time will improve this course. The more people who will work on it and improve on it will up the fun factor.
-overall a solid addition in the areas disc golf. I would give this course as the second most challenging in the area behind oshetemo. And rate it near the bottom in the fun factor.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    6/9/2015   7/11/2013
Review By: Mark R
Played: 97  Reviewed: 75  Exp: 15.4 Years
This review was updated on 6/13/2015
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lots of new improvements since 2013 move this course up a notch. These include amenities such as trash cans and picnic tables and several slightly revised holes. Hole 12 has been improved greatly by addition of fill dirt and lot of grass seed.

Disc golf exclusive area, with no walking trails or other activities infringing on the course. New cement tee pads (both short and long) are outstanding, and are comparable to those at the best courses. Has the area's most exotic water holes on the back nine, with Hole 14 being the most dangerous example, with a 250-foot straight drive being necessary to avoid losing a disc. The long tee positions provide challenge even with Oshtemo's long tees. Hole 12 is a super long and challenging hole with an extended low-land fairway. Also has some good meadow holes, such as the Hudson Mills-style Hole 15.
Cons: One of the area's most flat courses, with Hole 12 being one of few examples offering elevation changes. Several woods holes are unfinished and have low cover that eats discs, but this also has been improved recently. Holes 3 and 4 come a little too close to each other.
Other Thoughts: Now a great addition to the courses in the greater Kalamazoo area. Offers some open fairways for big drives, and favors those with big arms. Oddly, the bugs were not as bad as expected given the lowland surroundings. A free course with relatively low traffic for those sick of waiting around at Oshtemo.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 great

2-4    6/1/2013   6/20/2013
Review By: DoobieDiscer
Played: 10  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: pretty good and above average technical course, but still highly playable as an amatuer or beginner. mostly wooded areas, but has some real open shots too.
Cons: a couple holes can get muddy, and a few water holes sneak up on you if you dont pay attention.
Other Thoughts: an overall good course, however the path lines to the next hole can get confusing past hole #7-8...do not walk all the way down the path past hole 8, its a dead end, and hole 9 isnt that way..

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Worth the drive

2-4    4/29/2013   4/29/2013
Review By: BlueBells
Played: 27  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.6 Years
This review was updated on 7/25/2013
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Definite shot variation here. Classic Knollwood sidearm bros would not succeed; you need to have multiple shots in your arsenal to score well.
-Open shots and wooded shots galore. Variety is beautiful
-Risk v Reward (as others have touched on): very prevalent here, but not in a "mean" way. Water in play on ~4-5 holes.
-Distance variation is superb here. Power drives followed by powered down drives occur multiple times.
-Love the pin placement. I think it's in the best possible spot on almost every hole. Obviously designed by somebody who knows disc golf well.
-Pro tees offer true challenge. Both tees offer challenge and fun. The way it should be.
-New baskets that shine in the sun. Glorious.
-Practice baskets right off to the side of the parking lot
-Uniqueness is here, particularly the hole with the basket behind the mound of dirt. Nice touch.

~May '13 Concrete Teepads are ready to go!
Cons: -Permanent signage would really be a plus (on both teepads would be a double plus)
-Elevation is really pretty average here. Not non-existant, but not enough to be a true factor
-Rough is a bit "rough" in spots. Time will fix this.
Other Thoughts: Not a whole lot of downside here to speak of. For me, a lack of elevation would stop this course from ever achieving a 5-disc rating, even if it was kept as well as The Masters golf course in Augusta. Tee pads and permanent signage would land this in the 4.25-4.75 range easily, but not a true "5".

That being said, this is a really fantastic layout. Pro tees would offer a real challenging tournament setting even for top pros. I love the intelligent design and design execution. Truly, those who live in the SW michigan area are DGCourse-spoiled (myself included). This course adds to that fact. GO PLAY!


3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Tasty Water Hazards. Solid.

1    11/17/2012   11/17/2012
Review By: Jukeshoe
Played: 217  Reviewed: 169  Exp: 8.2 Years
This review was updated on 9/3/2013
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Vicksburg Rec. Area (VRA) deftly combines water hazards, woods, scrubby undergrowth, and grassy open areas to create a challenging but accessible 18-hole course suitable for a broad array of skill levels. Long tees (marked red) offer challenging lines and some significant distance for more advanced players while the shorts (white) still pack a punch in places, with trees, water, and scrub still waiting to ruin a round.
- Good use of limited elevation. Two holes (#'s 6 and 14 each have an earthen bump with a crop of trees on top in front of the basket. Several holes have slopes down into water near the basket (#3, 7, 10, 14, and 17). #'s 12 and 13's gradually sloping fairways make good use of minimal but effective elevation.
- Great use of the water. Several basket placements will more often than not leave you putting with water directly behind the pin (#'s 3, 7, 10, 14, and 17). A cute tiny little island sits in the middle of the pond on #16. A fallen tree serves as a bridge out in case anyone lands on it. Long #14 has a reasonable water carry for RHBH hyzer and a bailout zone to the left. The earthen bump-with-trees protects the pin. What you can't see from the tee is that another pond lies directly behind the basket. Advanced players taking ace runs will lose anything long, and casual players could have any number of things go wrong.
- Good risk/reward. Go for those birdies or pars, but bang it home or go fishing on many holes. Other holes (#12 from the longs) encourage pushing the distance but wayward drives are punished brutally in the thick undergrowth off the fairway. Punishment is fair, but the schule can be a handful in a few spots.
- The flow is intuitive and straightforward. Each tee is marked with a stick labeled with the hole number. Long tees are painted red and shorts are white. Practice baskets labeled #'s 19 and 20 are located near #1 long's tee.
- #18 offers a big annie or hyzer route through a patch of trees to the final basket.
Cons: - The biggest drawback is the natural tees. As of now, the tees are in okay condition; but with the amount of traffic a course of this quality will see, they'll be muddy rutted messes in no time. Already they are muddy and slippery in a few places. I assume a tee upgrade is in the works, as this is a newer course but well-deserving of concrete pads.
- Likewise, tee signage could use an upgrade.
- A few rough spots (the schule left of #12's fairway; the muddy walkway from #18 to the parking lot) could still use some clearing and maintenance (stuff that will come with time, undoubtedly).
Other Thoughts: - VRA is a solid discing option that only stands to improve with time.
- My rating reflects the state of the course on the date I played it (11/17/12) and takes into account the lack of proper tees. With a tee upgrade and a few more minor tweaks I see this course easily maturing into a 3.5-4 disc rating.
UPDATE: Concrete tees are installed (quite a while ago...sorry, forgot to update last time I was there). This course is settling in quite nicely, and I bumped it up .5 discs to reflect the positive changes.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.