Minneapolis (Edina), MN 
Rosland Park Share
Uploaded By: tonyroberts Hole #4 (Taken 12/2014)
3 / 201ft.   3 / 268ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Long Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 31
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3 4
Some TLC could go a long way

1    5/15/2020   5/15/2020
Review By: primedisc
Played: 21  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 8.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Some nice holes for a public park 9. Make use of mature trees in spots.
- Makes use of some elevation change on a few holes.
- pretty setting
- Clean
Cons: - Two big cons: No tee signage and it's a split course with 6-9 played on the other side of the park. There is absolutely no way to know this without playing with someone who's played it before or consulting Udisc. No signs at all make navigation tricky.
- Another decent sized con: it's a mixed use park that has a lot of other non-disc golfers on nice days. There were people in the fairways several times in my round.
- Small teepads
- Short
Other Thoughts: I liked how the holes played, it's a nice quick, short course to work on your midranges or go for some ace runs. Nothing crazy but not super boring either. The lack of signage really hurts the ranking in my book - some tee signs and some direction on where to go between 5 and 6 would be huge improvements. It's too bad because the course was actually getting a fair amount of use when I was there. The lack of signage combined with the fact that the park can be crowded when it's nice out means I'm not likely to be back, but there are worse public park 9s.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Nice course for beginners, nothing special

1    6/7/2019   6/7/2019
Review By: NoFoxDG
Played: 10  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 1.7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Shorter holes make it a decent intro course, though better "first courses" exist.
- Putter rounds here can be interesting and challenging.
- Nice variation of shot lines exercise your base repitiore.
Cons: - Odd, split layout for a 9-hole course, required by the nearby water and children's parks.
- Nearby park means that course is often also home to non-golfers, though most are respectful of golfers in play.
- A few of the holes are VERY close to both the highway and nearby roads, making a slice a fairly dangerous proposition.
Other Thoughts: Overall, I'm glad I played the course, but I won't be going out of my way to return. It's a good course, especially if you live in the area, but not one I'd expect anyone to go out of their way to visit, given MSP's other options.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Great Executive 9-Hole

5+    7/12/2016   7/12/2016
Review By: MPLSLam
Played: 10  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 12.5 Years
Pros: Great variation of holes. Not a lot of woods. Easily play all 9 holes with 4/5 people on a lunch break.
Cons: There is a water park in the middle of the course, so if there are groups of kids they will picnic in the middle of a hole.
Other Thoughts: More signage would be better. Right now they could use some TLC to the holes to get more wood chips down. Otherwise a great course.

 Good for what it is

5+    8/19/2014   8/21/2014
Review By: Muskiebite
Played: 174  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 10.6 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -It's a short 9 hole course in the middle of Edina, it makes the best of it's limited size.
-a Pitch and Putt for experienced players but for new players will provide a great place that isn't discouraging.
-Ace Runs on 1,3, and 9
Cons: -The concrete pads are small and raised inside the larger teeboxes. These teeboxes can fill with water during the wetter months.
-No signage, 5 holes on one side of the park and 4 on the other side, for people new to the course they may not know to go across the park to finish the course.
-Can get busy with huckers that will throw on you.
-The back 4 holes play very close, the basket for hole 5 and tee box for hole 7 are very close to the fairway for hole 6 and a grip locked disc could very easily hit someone putting on 5 or driving on 7.
Other Thoughts: It's a small park in the middle of the city so a large sprawling course isn't possible just a fun rec course for lunch breaks or after work. I'm always nervous about sending a disc over highway 62 and I wish there was a higher fence.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    7/19/2014   7/23/2014
Review By: dutchrunningriot
Played: 28  Reviewed: 8
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The Kenneth Rosland disc golf course is a great nine hole course located in the suburbs of the twin cities. It is a simple course that offers moderate elevation change and is a great course to develop your abilities as a disc golfer. It is a shorter course, but still challenging enough that a serious disc golf will enjoy the 9 hole tune-up.
Cons: The cement tee pads are small and several of them are raised which is a concern for those who have long run ups or those who step through after their release.

After hole 5, the 6th tee is a long ways away (600 plus feet) and there were no markers seen pointing out where to head next.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/10/2014   6/11/2014
Review By: Arnie
Played: 52  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 12.5 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Everything is well maintain. The layout is good for the space they have.
Cons: Signs, would be helpful. Tee boxes are nice and big, but the concrete pads are to small. Safety on Hole #3, because of a walking path.
Other Thoughts: There were some other players who did show some common since. Park is busy with kids.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Great for beginners and short game practice.

1    7/21/2013   7/21/2013
Review By: thebeard
Played: 10  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The park itself is easy to find and once you find the first hole it isn't that difficult to navigate the course (as long as you remember that 6 starts on the opposite side of the pool area from the 5 basket)
The park is cleanly groomed and well maintained. The holes take advantage of the space the park has and gives you a full 9 hole round of short and forgiving disc golf. It is well suited for the beginner. No need for a full bag of discs. Driver (optional), mid and put is all you need.
The thing that I love about this course is that the pin placement does offer you some options to make the shots a bit more challenging if you'd like to work on certain techniques. It makes good use of the elevation changes without making it a shirpa required journey.
Cons: If you are looking for a challenge, this course is probably not for you.
The holes are fairly short and don't offer much for difficult shots without using some imagination.
The biggest downfall to this course is there really isn't a place for a grip and rip opportunity. The holes are too short for any serious driving to be done.
The pads are short, but I use a short approach so it doesn't affect me in the slightest. If you use a long stride approach, you are going to hate these pads.
Other Thoughts: Overall, as a beginner myself, I do like this course as it offers me a safe (very difficult place to lost a disc) and convenient course for me to practice this new hobby of mine.
I've played nearly a dozen courses in the twin cities and I would rate this one as one of the top for beginners tied with Central Park.
Beginners and short game practice is what this course gives you in a very nice, clean and well groomed manner.
I don't care how good I get at this game, I will play this course without hesitation.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Avoid Course!

1    8/6/2012   8/6/2012
Review By: aajpity
Played: 47  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 9.6 Years
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: The baskets are functional and girls are in bikinis at the waterpark. The grass is also kept short.
Cons: The course is very very very easy. No challenges what so ever. No signs or maps to help you find holes, it is extremely confusing. Tee-pads are extremely small.
Other Thoughts: Avoid this course because it is so confusing and easy. There are other courses in the area that are far better. It is a nice area for walking, biking, swimming, or having a picnic but the disc golf is not worth a trip.

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Don't sprain an ankle on the tee pads...

1    10/22/2011   10/23/2011
Review By: bigbeano
Played: 32  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 14.6 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Grass kept nice and short
-Bathrooms on site (however they were closed for the year when I was there, not sure the operating times on them)
-Nice fully grown trees which force you to shape shots on several holes
-Cement tee pads are present...however
Cons: -Aforementioned tee pads are ridiculously short
-Ground is badly eroded in some areas, especially around the tee pads
-Course layout is suspect at best as the course is split into two essentially
-There is a dangerous intersection of the approach for hole 7, green for hole 6, and tee-off for hole 8 that is just a disaster waiting to happen
-Navigation is poor at best, I had numerous difficulties finding the next hole, especially because...
-No signs
Other Thoughts: First off, I was thoroughly unimpressed with this course. I wasn't expecting a lot going in since it was an urban course in a city park; but in my opinion it still fell flat even with that expectation.
The tee pads are joke, it would be better if they were removed. They are so short that they are unusable. If you do insist on trying to use them you'll either commit foot fouls and fall off the front into the deeply eroded ground that is nowhere near level with the pads, or you'll have to start from behind the pad and trip on it again because of the badly eroded ground. It's best if you just tee off from the side of the pad and ignore it all together.
Navigation is a challenge the first time here as well. There is a map posted up on one of the boards in the park, but it is nowhere near the start of the course or on the path that you would take at any time during your round; so unless you know it's there you're not going to see it. There's a mailbox that is supposed to have scorecards in it at the beginning, but of course it had no scorecards in it; just a candy bar wrapper and an empty energy drink can. Compounding the navigation problem is the fact that there are no signs. The short tees (which have no tee pads) have a hole number and distance on a 4x4 in the ground; but they are not near the main tees and can be hard to find.
I had a big problem with the course layout at hole 7 as mentioned in the cons of the course. Hole 6 ends awfully close to the line you'd take on a drive from hole 7 which is also right next to the tee pad for hole 8. To make it even worse, after you finish hole 6 you are required to walk back, essentially on the fairway, to the hole 7 tee pad. It's a horrible design and I'm sure more than a few people have been pelted by a disc at this intersection in the past. This would be a huge bottleneck during a time when the course would be busy as well.
The length and difficulty of the course is typical of your standard rec course. Everything is reachable from the tees if you are decent at driving and if not it's still a pretty easy par. There are better rec courses around than this one, I doubt that I'll be visiting this course again.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Lots of trees and litter, no signs.

5+    9/19/2011   9/19/2011
Review By: Badgerman
Played: 451  Reviewed: 62  Exp: 17.3 Years
This review was updated on 9/25/2011
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Well groomed. You can tell that the city is out here every week mowing, there's no rough at all.

2) Good use of natural elevation, #1,4, and 6 are all slightly uphill, 8 is slightly downhill. 2 is up a fairly steep hill and 3 throws down that same hill.

3) 6-8 were full of nice, mature trees.

4) Dual tees, although the shorts are kind of hard to find.
Cons: 1) No Tee signs anywhere, you have to backtrack across the parking lot to get to the back 4 but there's no sign telling you where to go.

2) While there is a mailbox for scorecards, there were none just some garbage.

3) Speaking of garbage, it was everywhere, doesn't make sense, there are garbage cans scattered throughout the course

4) I'm not a fan of water hazards at all, but for a park with 2 small lakes on the property it doesn't make sense to me to not incorporate them somehow.
Other Thoughts: The raised concrete tees on the front 5 are nice because they stay clear of wood-chips but they're just a little short.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.