Niceville, FL 
Anderson Pond Share
Uploaded By: wellsbranch250 Hole #13 (Taken 3/2017)
3 / 265ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 10
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Major Upgrade

1    3/11/2017   4/19/2017
Review By: wellsbranch250
Played: 110  Reviewed: 88  Exp: 3.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: (3.013 Rating) This course must have went thru some major updates in 2016 and 2017, and I was totally not expecting what I got, after reading a few older reviews.
- CHALLENGING - The revised layout is much more challenging than the old layout. Nearly a 1000 feet in length was added to the layout. Some holes it was just a little but other holes were lengthened by a hundred feet. In addition, as before, there are a lot of tight lines to hit, but most of them are fair. (see cons forgiveness)
- SHOT SHAPING - I appreciated the amount of thought I had to put into my throws. Some courses you'll play, any disc or angle will do on many holes. Not the case here at Anderson.
- NEW TEES - They were literally installing new tees during my round (compacted pea gravel) clearly a step up from the natural tees.
- CHARACTER - In addition to the new tees, other course character items include seating at most holes, a practice basket, finishing shelter with picnic tables, a good amount tee shading and satisfactory navigational directions. If I were allowed to add one missing item, I'd definitely add a second set of shorter tees. In all, a touch above average.
- ELEVATION FOR FLORIDA - Compared to the 67 Florida courses that I've played as of this review, Anderson is in the top 10% in terms of elevation usage for Florida. There are probably 7 or 8 holes that change 20 feet or so, up or down. None of the nearby course have anything close to this. This said however, there are probably a few parts of the country that would still consider this course flat.
- UNIQUENESS - A touch above average. In addition to the elevation, there are tunnel runs, a couple open shots and baskets pocket both ways. Water can also be in play in the wetter months as well. All this stated, some of the holes kind of meddle together as its mostly technical wooded shots. In addition there are no par 4's or 5's and the course lacks a true dogleg.
- SPACING - Superbly spaced out holes with no chance of running one into another fairway. The walk between holes however is sometimes bothersome. The journey between hole (9) to (10) is about 500 feet.
- RAW BEAUTY - The natural elements here top every nearby course. There are marsh lands, older pines, scenic terrain changes, great fauna and minimal man-made features in view. Until I played here, I had considered Ferry to be the mirco-region's most beautiful course setting.
- LOCATION - Only a two mile drive from another course (Boggy Bayou) so a good opportunity to extend an afternoon to hit both courses. In addition, only a 15 minute drive from I10.
Cons: Anderson is not for everyone's taste. I could see many beginning players hating this course.
- FORGIVENESS - Having an off accuracy day here will be quite punishing. Not the tightest course around but when you get off fairway the terrain will start to eat you up. In addition there are a few holes that are boarder-line poke and hope shots. Hole (1) in plainly unfair. It's one of those holes that you can clearly read the 6 foot lane but they left one 6" tree in the middle of the lane 150 feet down fairway, on a 300 foot hole. I personally refer to this type of hole as the "Middle Finger"
- OVERGROWTH - I played in early March before the vegetation re-growth exploded and still found myself searching. If you play this course in the summer near the peak overgrowth period, you may end up leaving a few disks behind as well taking home a few scrapes and cuts.
- SKILL LEVEL FRIENDLY - Way too difficult for beginners and many recreational players. I could also see higher skill lever players also not liking this course if they don't like wooded technical courses.
- FINDING THE FRONT NINE - Don't take the first left after entering the park. You'll find only the back 9 and promptly get lost trying to find (1). Take the second left after entering the park to find (1).
- CHILL AREAS - This is Federal Land. No alcohol and other extracurricular activities, or you might end up in jail. They don't mess around here.
- PAY TO PLAY - You'll need to get a permit to play here. Cost recently went up to $20 for the year, but it is still $5 for the day. I personally thought it was worth the price of admission.
Other Thoughts: I consider Anderson to be a solid course. If you haven't played here in a while, you'll be surprised by the greatly enhanced challenge. Definitely the most difficult course in the Destin Fort Walton Beach area.
- PERMIT - You can purchase a permit at Jackson Guard (aka Eglin AFB Natural Resources), which is located about 3 miles further south of the course, on FL-85. The process takes about 20 minutes. They are closed Sunday.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good, Varied Course That Underachieves

5+    10/10/2016   10/30/2016
Review By: Majshark
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
This review was updated on 11/1/2016
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18-hole course in a primitive campsite area with a nice variety of challenges, including turns, narrow fairways and, a phrase you don't hear in Florida, elevation changes.
This course rewards accuracy.
Benches at most of the holes.
Appropriate signage that marks tees and the next holes, especially on the front nine.
Encountered few other players, thus crowds are a non-factor.
There is even a mando hole for those looking for such a thing.
Walking one hole to the next is a lot like trail hiking, if one likes that sort of thing.
A modest, covered picnic area somewhat close to the first tee.
Cons: Requires a pass from Jackson Guard to have access to Anderson Pond.
Tee boxes are loose sand and dirt.
Fairways are overgrown with tall grass. Spotter is recommended as errant throws means wading through thick, barb brush (wear pants to avoid what can be some serious scratches). Would not take much to lose a disc on any of the 18 holes.
An overthrow on a hole (can't remember exactly which one) on the front 9 could end up in water.
Signage could be improved on the back nine. Not always clear which way some baskets are from some tees (most baskets not visible from the tees). While most tee areas were signed well and obvious, there was a hole on the back 9 where our walked past the tee and to the basket.
Hole 17 is a swamp after a rain.
Hole 17 also has stairs that lead down to the fairway, and with the otherwise primitive nature of the course, disc-toting buggies are not recommended.
Walking one hole to the next is a lot like trail hiking.
Playing in the summertime could mean encounters with snakes and hives of bees.
Other Thoughts: This course has arguably the best variety of holes in the immediate FWB/Niceville area. However, it is shackled by the lack of routine maintenance and brutal vegetation off the fairway. This course is worth playing at least once (some will enjoy it, some will hate it) and best played during the cooler months.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Definitely needs attention by maintenance

5+    2/1/2017   8/17/2016
Review By: HumDyn
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
This review was updated on 2/4/2017
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1. Very challenging with a few elevation changes.
2. Heavily wooded
3. Recent maintenance by a super group of volunteers have immensely improved the layout.
Cons: If possible, the areas outside of the flyways could be thinned out. This would help discers find those errant shots.
Other Thoughts: It is amazing what a group of volunteers can do with the support of management at Jackson Guard.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Good enough.

2-4    4/16/2016   4/18/2016
Review By: Ginganinja
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -marked pretty good but not great
-you can navigate through it pretty easily
-good veritie of holes
-cool Florida feel to it
Cons: -allot of tall grass
-the rough is rough but that's not unusual for a disc golf
-we seen a 3 foot diamond back rattle snake out there
Other Thoughts: I'm happy there is a disc golf course close by but I do wish it was better but at least its hopefully growing the sport! If your going to Destin just go play there it's super simple and family friendly more than this one.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Anderson Pond Disc Golf Course

1    8/5/2015   10/11/2015
Review By: calebwilliams507
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Narrow fairways
- Secluded course (no walkers, runners, etc)
- Challenging course
Cons: - Poorly maintained
- Poorly marked

Other Thoughts: The Anderson Pond course is a valuable asset to Okaloosa County's disc golf courses with its technical shots and narrow fairways. It is a great course for a player looking for a challenging course. The rough is really tough. There are plenty of briars, thorns, tall grass, and bushes to brush up against, which gets annoying. I would advise players to play in jeans/long pants to avoid getting torn up by the underbrush. Undoubtedly, there is an abundance of snakes, but thankfully, I didn't find any when I played. The course is overall unkempt, but a mowing is all it would take to knock it back in shape. The signage is a real problem at the course. There are no distance markings, or even signs telling players where the holes are. Difficult to find hole one, but once you do, it is easy to navigate the rest of the course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    4/15/2014   5/12/2014
Review By: nolzwin
Played: 7  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 8 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Living in Florida there are very few hilly courses, so this course is a great change of pace. The natural Florida wilderness is a sight to behold. There are NO walkers, joggers, workout stations. The tee shot from hole #17 is pretty cool.
Cons: Natural tees that are pretty worn. Mowing of the fairways is few and far between. And being a "natural" course bring bug spray. expect bugs.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  

2-4    12/15/2012   12/17/2012
Review By: afwolverine
Played: 22  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 18.9 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good signage to direct from one hole to the next tee. Easy to find discs off the fairways. Good mix of wide and narrow fairways mixed with some straight but also dog legs left and right. Nice use of elevation changes. Good distance for amateurs. Beautiful scenery and not at all crowded on the three days we have been there.
Cons: Signs just indicate hole number, not distances. Fairly long walks between some holes and the next tee (seems like that could have added some length to the holes). "Path" from 17th tee needs some work (either add stairs down or clear a path on the left or right side down a less steep slope). Pay to play, make sure you plan ahead to get your pass from Jackson Guard (closed Sat afternoon and all day Sunday).
Other Thoughts: Once the concrete tees are in (and if they make a clear path from the 17th tee down to the fairway) I would give it a 4. We're so glad to finally have a course on this side of Eglin because it seemed liked every time we made the drive to Ferry Park it was so crowded. We navigated the whole course with a jogging stroller but anything with smaller wheels would not make it since the ground is still so uneven from being recently cleared. We did have to take the long way around on 17 by going to the 18th hole and walking back to the 17th fairway.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Nice challenging course

1    11/7/2012   11/7/2012
Review By: KINGDUCK
Played: 32  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 8.4 Years
This review was updated on 1/2/2013
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Not as hard as it looks. Allows for some variations of shots. You can play a hole different ways. Easy to spot discs that go off paths. Elevation gives it more of a challenge. Signs are very helpful.
Cons: Work in progress. Needs tee boxes. Hole 17 could use a sign to show how to get to the fairway after disc is thrown from the tee.
Other Thoughts: Nice change of pace from playing the other courses in the area. Very fun to play.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Worth the short drive

1    11/3/2012   11/6/2012
Review By: sugarnot
Played: 4  Reviewed: 1
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course has the benefit of being new and a change from other local courses. The semi pay to play concept on federal property MIGHT discourage illegal activity. Course design requires skill and variation of shots, without being overwhelming. Some elevation changes are also a welcome change from other local courses. There is a nice pavillion/rest area with very scenic views.
Cons: short holes with natural tee pads.
Other Thoughts: Once the concrete/other pads are in place it will be much easier to enjoy the course. Fresh land clearing has left the course very uneven. Once people get out there and are trampling the ground down it will flow a lot better. Due to the nature aspect this course could be rough on the body (joints, heat, bugs etc). Overall once it gets settled in it will be a very enjoyable course with some memorable holes.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Very new but nice

1    10/31/2012   11/1/2012
Review By: westflagator
Played: 24  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 5.4 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Finally got new course in Florida. Pros are nice scene to look at. Very technical. Have to throw low and straight to get a good score. This is the only course that has hill and slopes in my area. Most courses I play are pretty flat. And there is water hazard if you throw to far.

Camping/Picnic area on course also there is a pond for fishing.
Cons: Not very long. Natural tee's. But cement tee's will be in soon.
Other Thoughts: Carry bug spray in summer.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center