Niskayuna, NY 
Blatnick Park Share
Uploaded By: CaptainAnhyzer Hole #8
3 / 142ft.   3 / 208ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 White Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 8
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
 Open Bomber Course

5+    3/31/2018   4/5/2018
Review By: kenjiac
Played: 106  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 12.2 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 Holes 2 tees for every hole.
Mostly Grip and Rip with elevation changes and a few shorter technical holes.
Has you work on your approach shots as baskets for me are not quite reachable from the tees.
Nice contrast to the mostly wooded technical courses in the area.
Next tee arrows under all the baskets. Blue Arrows and White arrows point in different directions to correspond to tee location.
Much better course now that it has expanded to 18 holes.
2 set of tees Blue and White to accommodate skill levels.
Hole number signs now installed at all blue tees and most whites. Missing signs coming very soon.
Kiosk with course map at hole 1
Great views of the Mohawk River
Cons: Not enough trees for my liking. A little too long and open as I have a noodle arm. Big Arm players enjoy the course.
Gravel Tees are OK. Could be much improved.
Certain holes can be a little squishy wet. (Hole 4 is pretty soft)
Landfill vents can give you a bag egg smell whiff when you get close to them.
Other Thoughts: So I'm the local club president and one of the workhorses that contribute to this course. The town has funded the entire course and done most of the installation. So this is good and bad. It's wonderful to have them use heavy machinery to get tees in and cut in fairways and have them pay for baskets and supplies. But as most of this work is done during the week day time they don't get as much guidance that is needed for the little details that matter in a course. We are having to go behind and improve work they have done and take on some tasks by hand so that they don't blaze through with a bulldozer when we want to carve a technical fairway. They also wanted a more open course. We asked to get into areas of the park where we think we could create some better holes but were not allowed. The tee material is ok not quite hard enough and not properly compacted. The club will come in and improve the tees to get them flush with the ground properly compacted and hopefully astroturf topped to eliminate rutting. The course will continue to improve as we upgrade and improve some of the work done by the town. It has been great to have their help and support. We had our 1st PDGA tournament and got positive feedback about the course from players. If you haven't been back since the expansion to 18 holes come give it another try.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Good Practice

1    7/27/2015   7/27/2015
Review By: CTPowell
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Two tee-pads each hole...
Easy to get around course...
Tee-pads and course in good condition...
Didnt conflict with other parts of the park...
Cons: Built on old landfill, not many trees, holes were creative given the terrain, but more of a practice course...

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Hot, Hot, Hot

1    5/8/2015   5/11/2015
Review By: sherryfraser
Played: 5  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.5 Years
This review was updated on 7/10/2018
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Update: I played this course before it finished and left a bad review.

Open shots to really work the paths of your discs.
Cons: Be prepared if it's a hot day. Course gets blazing hot w/ little shade.
Other Thoughts: If your disc goes into the landslide area, you could be injured or even die trying to retrieve it.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Exception that proves the rule

1    7/10/2013   9/2/2014
Review By: space mann
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 29.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It gives you 27 holes to play in Schenectady NY. It has potential. Reclaiming land counts for something. There is a interesting hole that plays over a water hazard.
Cons: The course was not mowed well. I had a hard time finding discs on the fairway. The course is a reclaimed dump site and it stunk the day I played. No rain for a week before I played but the woods holes were muddy and mosquito prone. No signage to get you from one hole to the next.
Other Thoughts: "All disc golf courses are great", blatnick is the exception that proves the rule. I plan on trying it once a year. My biggest complaint was the smell and no signage. Signage should come in time, and the smell is something you can work around (ie. play on days you have a stuffed nose)

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Incomplete

1    4/6/2014   4/6/2014
Review By: Godard
Played: 57  Reviewed: 45  Exp: 12.2 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The only game in town. Great views of the river from the 7th tee. Hole 6 over a rocky drainage gulley is great. Wind is challenging.
Cons: It's on a landfill..is that even safe? There is practically no signage so navigation is tough. Tee 2 to basket 3 is better than holes 2 or 3. Too long for beginners. No benches.
Other Thoughts: I hope the course is a work in progress. Will return every time I visit to see how it's coming along.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Grand Opening!

5+    11/3/2013   11/13/2013
Review By: bhoff
Played: 32  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 9.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Town is having a Grand Opening on Thursday 11/14/13. Parks crew has worked hard on tee boxes, clearing brush and other course prep. Course already receiving lots of play. A round from each set of tees is a great 18 hole layout. Lots of exercise as the course winds up & down cap and in and out of woods (and ravines if you go awry). In spring we will build a kiosk and other refinements. Come try Blatnick... MORE BASKETS!!
Cons: Going to be a cold and windy winter course.
Other Thoughts: Thank you to the Town of Niskayuna for taking our suggestion of a course in Blatnick Park and running with it. Town crews did most of the work and provided most of the supplies. They took almost all our suggestions and were very enthusiastic. Thank you Nisky!!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 open shots

2-4    11/2/2013   11/3/2013
Review By: 3ertram
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 12.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: mostly open, but very nice use of elevation, we liked #6 most, was a day with no wind, but on windy days, the layout and hills should create a lot of extra fun
Cons: nothing really, we played the course back in summer - plenty of bugs, so best to play now till late spring, I guess
Other Thoughts: nice tees, we will see, if the sand is strong enough to stay inside the boxes

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Windy and open

5+    2/23/2018   10/28/2013
Review By: CaptainAnhyzer
Played: 100  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 34.4 Years
This review was updated on 3/15/2018
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course is installed on an old landfill. Mostly open fairways are hilly and grass covered. Town has unlimited supplies so all pins have a mulch circle around them. Long and short tees are well packed stone dust & wood framed. Basic tee signs aid with navigation but no hole diagrams or distances yet. Bathrooms/water are a bit of a haul unless you stop on the way into the park. Walking/biking trails are also within the park so keep an eye out for non-golfers. Ball golf driving range is useful when there are no ball golfers around.
Cons: Being a landfill presents an occasional odor, depending on wind direction. Barking dogs in the dog park may be an issue for some people but only two holes are near it.
Other Thoughts: The Town installed the back 9 tees. Some are not as well done as expected but the local club is working to improve them. Thorny rough in some areas. A few holes border on a wooded ravine and disc retrieval can be tricky. These are not cons IMO.
Awesome view of the Mohawk River on tee 9.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.