Mt. Vernon, IL 
Veteran's Memorial Park Share
Uploaded By: Wood Chuk Hole #5 (Taken 4/2015)
3 / 264ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 7
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
Adequate Recreation Course

1    9/5/2017   11/8/2017
Review By: wellsbranch250
Played: 200  Reviewed: 158  Exp: 3.9 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: (1.256 Rating) A nice introductory course.
- BEGINNER FRIENDLY - Beginners and Rec players will like this course. No threat of losing a disc unless it gets lodged high in a tree. Fairway widths are generally wide and forgiving. Four holes are in the sub 250 foot range, so even newer players will get a look at birdie from time to time to keep things exciting.
- ACEABILITY - Several good looks aces on this course for skilled players. (1, 2, 7 and 8) are all fun light obstacle ace runs.
- QUICK PLAY - I had this one wrapped up in 30 minutes and I spent some recon time to find the next tee. Figure a group of four should play this one in about an hour.
- FORGIVENESS - Errant shots are not further punished and there is no overgrowth to be found.
- CHAINS - DISCatchers that are still looking good.
- MAINTENANCE - The grounds appear to be mowed weekly and it was very clean despite a lack of garbage cans along the layout.
Cons: Veteran's Memorial Park is lacking in a lot of key areas.
- UNIQUENESS - I played 13 courses on a trip from Florida to Wisconsin and I had this course at the bottom for variety. All the holes play though undefined fairways with a spattering of trees. There is no elevation or water features to consider. Other than maybe hole (9), none of the holes are exceedingly difficult. None of the holes are doglegs or have defined pockets. All of the holes play fairly straight. There are no par 4s or 5s and the longest hole is sub 400 feet.
- LACK OF CHALLENGE - Skilled players should be able to break par with ease. I could see advanced players shooting 5 or 6 down on a routine basis. Rec players should break par from time to time. I'll also add that for the most part, shot shaping is limited.
- MISSING SIGNAGE - Four holes had missing signs, making judging the hole distance to the basket on these holes a guessing game (2), (4), (6) and (9). Hopefully they'll be back in place for the next reviewer.
- NAVIGATION - In addition to the missing signs, figuring out where to go can be confusing. I walked to the wrong post several times due to no tee sign and just a faded sharpie mark on the hole post. I threw to the wrong basket on (5) as the signage that is here, is just a number and the distance.
- TEES - Natural tees with a concrete paver defining the front of the tee. A couple tees had sizable tree root protrusions making a wonderful tripping hazard. According to the tee signs that are in place, there is suppose to be a second tee, but I never stumbled upon a tee marker indicating as such.
- MULTI USE HAZARDS - Several walking paths parallel the hole fairways. I had to wait several minutes during my round for walkers to clear. Don't you just love it when they stop to check their phone by the basket.
- CHARACTER - Basically just nice baskets and natural tees. You won't see the amenities here like that of well established courses. No seating, no course map, no practice basket and no extra basket placements. There are nice shelters with picnic tables and I'm sure there's a restroom somewhere in the park.
- NATURAL BEAUTY - Nothing exotic about this park. As stated under the uniqueness con, no water or elevation features. The backdrop views comprise of park buildings and residential houses. The tree coverage in the park is light to moderate.
Other Thoughts: The first course I ever played in Illinois. It was a good leg stretcher after a 3 hour drive. Only a 10 minute detour off of the interstate if you're looking for a quick pit stop course. This course is perfect for beginners and recreational players or for those looking for a laid back round. Players in town that have advanced beyond the recreation level will need to start looking elsewhere though, as the challenge here is limited. This course could impede continued development for those wanting to expand their game.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Nice park needing TLC

1    6/3/2017   6/4/2017
Review By: mrbro855
Played: 209  Reviewed: 93  Exp: 4.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: My usual review disclaimer: I love city park courses!!
I'm a 55+ y/o disc-er with a mediocre tee shot and city park lengths generally give me at least a few birdie opportunities...

That said, this course was very enjoyable.

Love the mature trees as basket protection and while this course was relatively flat, the trees were obstacles enough to make it challenging.

Couple of memorable holes:
#1 Solid mature trees providing basket protection.
#2 Low hanging trees forcing a solid low throw
#7 Had a narrow path through the matures trees as did #8. Picturesque view of the basket from the tees!!

There was some subtle elevation (either #2 or #3) which probably added about 20 ft to your shot and was deceptively longer.

Again, while distances aren't long, the obstacles make the course a challenge and enjoyable to play.
Cons: Some missing signage... though the poles were intact marking the tee spots...

Natural pads getting rough... couple of throws had to watch footing
Other Thoughts: Course #1 of a 6 course So. Illinois trip originating from St Louis.... was the second best of the lot, only trailing the new 18 recently installed down in Marion.

Add concrete pads (which none of the 6 courses on my trip had- is that a So. Illinois thing??) and get the signage redone and complete and this is easily a 3.5 in my book. As it was it was the most fun of the 6 courses today...

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Nice local course

1    10/17/2015   10/17/2015
Review By: drsecond
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Course is in decent condition and enjoyable to play. Nice public park with only minimal numbers of dog walkers, joggers, etc Baskets are in good condition.
Cons: Tee configuration is a little confusing. The signs are at the front tee, so to find the back tees (a block in the ground with no sign), you simply walk away from the hole the required distance until you find it. Course seemed to be a bit long for the distances given, but maybe I was just having a bad round.
Other Thoughts: Probably a good course for a beginner like me. There is enough distance that you can try to open up with a fairway driver (and usually hit an obstacle when you do!)

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Typical 2.0

2-4    7/5/2015   7/5/2015
Review By: ElementZ
Played: 145  Reviewed: 136  Exp: 8.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great Dispatcher baskets!

Disc Golf!
Cons: In my eyes, this course is the stereotypical 2.0 course. Nine very similar holes in a small public park in a small little city.

The design is very plain, the landscape/terrain is very plain, the whole park/course is very plain.

This course offers you standard, vanilla disc golf. No hole will "wow" you and nothing stands out as special in a good way or a bad way. If this course was a high school girl, it'd be that plain, average looking girl who does some average activity (like band), but doesn't stand out as being great or bad. Just completely unmemorable.
Other Thoughts: I don't know what else to say. I've been reviewing courses for over five years and not a single thing struck me as worth mentioning. This truly is your average joe course.

Going here instead of Centralia is a decision I will probably regret for the rest of my life.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 The Vern

5+    9/28/2013   9/29/2013
Review By: cannon15
Played: 11  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Mt Vernon has a great course with lots of potential.

It currently has nine holes but has red and blue tees so it can be played as a 18. There is not much elevation variety but plenty of right and left variety. If you mix in the blues you will also get plenty of distance.

The park is groomed and mowed weekly no fear of ticks and snakes here.

There is a local club that host plenty of tournaments and a league.

The snow cone stand has the best snow cones in the world! Yes the world! When you come be sure to try one.
Cons: No concrete tee pads yet. I hear they are planning on some in the future.
Other Thoughts: This is a heavily used park be cautious of people walking, biking that sort of thing.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Update

5+    2/8/2013   2/8/2013
Review By: bean13
Played: 13  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: There is 9 holes at this course now.
Cons: Not the placement for the last two holes we wanted, but they play nice.
Other Thoughts: possibly adding more holes in the future, the park has seven acres across the street that they might let us use.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    11/17/2012   12/18/2012
Review By: ervin
Played: 10  Reviewed: 8
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: There's a course in Mt. Vernon, so that's a pro. The course is laid out in a fairly simple way to figure out where to head. I hear they're moving this up from 7 to 9 holes soon, so that's a pro as well.
Cons: The course is really easy. The holes are fairly short and they have so many lines of attack that it'll be a huge ego boost for anyone playing this course for the first time. I think I shot a -3 the first time I played the course--and that was from the "pro" tees. I'm not a pro, but it seems like a super easy course. Also, some of the shots go over walking paths and there are very often pedestrians on them. It's a little dangerous--especially considering most of the people walking the path have no idea what you're doing.
Other Thoughts: Overall it's a nice way to spend about 30 minutes, but it could really use some reshaping for a little more challenge on the course.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.