Goshen, OH 
Osage Grove DGC Share
Uploaded By: nickharrington Hole #2
3 / 200ft.   3 / 230ft.   3 / 280ft.   3 / 310ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Blue Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 31
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3 4
Very challenging and sometimes frustrating

5+    5/16/2020   5/21/2020
Review By: grohilkin
Played: 5  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 0.9 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very fun course, lots of tough trees to get through, shorter front nine followed by a much longer back nine, great tee pads, multiple pin positions and multiple baskets on some holes, excellent tee signs and directional signs to next tee.
Cons: Very muddy at times, some holes have more to do with luck than skill.
Other Thoughts: Overall great course, playing the reds gives you a chance to score very well, while playing from the blues is much more challenging, trees are plentiful and exciting, Love this course!

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 This course keeps getting better

5+    12/15/2019   1/28/2020
Review By: Abwitty
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1. Signage and upkeep-Clear signs, beautifully maintained course, clear OB rope.
2. Multiple layouts-Two sets of teepads (painted red and blue) for every hole. Multiple basket locations for most holes, and the baskets are frequently moved to provide new challenges. The possible layouts are almost endless. There are 24 holes, but there are several "shortcuts" that easily allow you to play 18 of your favorite.
3. Variety of landscapes and holes-Much of the course is wooded and technical in keeping with the style of Cincy disc golf exemplified by Idlewild.
The newly added creek holes (A-E) are very short but incredibly technical, with an OB creek running to the right for A-D, a challenging peninsula green on hole C, and mandatories with tight gaps.
Variety of shot shapes. Doglegs in both directions, decent elevation change, multiple fairway options that are fair to both righties and lefties. A couple mostly open holes (2,3,13 and 16) which throw out of or into groves of trees. There is also an elevated basket on hole 18 to add drama, and two hanging baskets.
4. Good amenities-Public restroom, putting basket, driving range with distance markers, driving practice net.
Cons: 1. The layout takes some getting used to for holes 10-16, specifically the "backwards" 14 and 15.
2. This is a very flat course. The designer used pretty much all the elevation possible, but there aren't any big downhill shots or steep climbs.



Other Thoughts: The multiple layouts and variety of shot shapes allow you to cater your round to the difficulty level and length of round that best suits you. If I lived closer to this course, this would be my most played course!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

GO-sage to O-sage Grove!

1    2/3/2019   2/6/2019
Review By: jjtwinnova
Played: 148  Reviewed: 94  Exp: 4.9 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Osage Grove is an amazing course set in the mostly wooded portion of the small Kathryn Stagge-Marr Park. Other than the playground near the parking lot of the course, this park is almost all disc golf. There is a trail that goes along the course, but it doesn't interfere with play and I did not see anybody using it while I was playing.

This course has an absolute abundance of layouts. Every hole has two concrete tee pads, a Red and a Blue. I believe every hole as multiple pin placements, some as many as four. And, if that isn't enough, nine holes have multiple baskets! Even though there are many courses nearby, I could see playing here mostly everyday just because of the multiple layouts.

On top of the layout variety, there was a huge variety in shots needed. There were a lot of tight wooded fairways, but also some fun open holes. These came in a large range of distances, with shots ranging from under 300 feet, to a whopping 1180 feet! The course does a great job of mixing it up, so you don't play all the wooded holes in one cluster, and then the open holes in the other.

Concrete tee pads are dyed the color of the tee, so the blue tees are blue, and the reds are red! That was really cool. The tee signs also had matching colors. The tee signs were quite nice too, with a detailed map, as well as a pindicator, and a note if the hole had multiple baskets.

There were a lot of navigational signs leading you to the next hole, and the online map was also very helpful. I never got lost.
Cons: Osage Grove is a very solid course, and it is definitely a step above your average course. However, there are a few things keeping it from being the absolute best of the best.

With so many layouts, it can be a little overwhelming for a new player, and the drive-by player. There were a few times I had to walk the fairway to make sure I was going to the right place. The tee signs were a huge help here. If you were to play a tournament here, I would strongly recommend a practice round.

This course does not have a huge amount of elevation, and other than the occasional creek, does not have a true water shot. This means, by my standards, there isn't a true signature hole. While a lot of the holes were very fun, they don't make my "Dream 18" that I am still yet to complete.

The fairways are all very fair, but the rough is very thick in some spots. While this was not a huge problem for me, because I always land in the fairway (sarcasm), the less experienced player may have trouble navigating the thorn bushes and thick foliage.

I played on a 60 degree day in February, which is quite rare for the area. It happened to melt all of the snow on the course in under 24 hours, making the low lying areas, and a lot of other places, a soupy mess. This is definitely an extreme case, but I don't believe that the course usually drains well.

While no fairways cross each other, and nothing plays extremely close together, the course is definitely on the more compact side. This course, even though it's mostly wooded, does not play like a private course. On the plus side, here isn't a lot of unnecessary walks to the next hole, so I was not passing out after the round, which would be possible after playing three courses that day.
Other Thoughts: All in all, Osage Grove was an extremely fun course, that matched my expectations. It was a whole lot of fun, and reminded me a little bit of my home course, Knob Hill in Pittsburgh, in a few ways.

While this course wasn't the most punishing I have ever played, or the course that gave me the most enjoyment, it was a nice balance between the two, which I think can make any course great. It was like if Idlewild, Lincoln Ridge, and Mt. Airy had a baby, if that makes sense.

I would definitely recommend this as a course to play in the Cincinnati area, and along with the other three courses mentioned, makes for a weekend of fun disc golf!

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

This Community knows their DG, and it shows, great job Goshen

5+    8/18/2018   8/20/2018
Review By: Bagger Vance
Played: 23  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 35.1 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Pro course, a variety of shots and angles.
2 Tee pads Blue(longs) & Red (shorts)
Reds are perfect and challenging as is, and Blue can be reserved for a beastie pro tourney.
Nice benches, and pathways.
and a driving range, are you kidding me?...Awesome!
Cons: Some fairways can have a bit of luck to them. But to be fair to the designers, age of trees and deforestation has to play a role.

Course has a few drainage issues.

Also, there were obvious changes at one time where the hole numbers are a mess and now confusing. They do not match the targets, i will update this review upon correction.

The one ding on the course layout when comparing to other pro courses, is the lack of wide open legit long holes, not once did I have to go to an ultra long driver, all wide open holes are reachable with fairway or mid range drivers. Yes many holes are listed 350 plus, but all those have obstacles or thick woods near fairway that you wouldn't risk your big boy over stable discs. For example 13 is wide open but reachable with a fairway or even a mid. And 16 is a bit tight on the left for RHBH throwers to risk a firebird or nuke. Just my opinion, but it would be nice to see atleast 2 holes on a pro course(one on each front and back 9) that you can showcase power without having to thread the needle or deal with luck.
Other Thoughts: Great Job Goshen!
Wonderful course that rivals Airy, Banklick(Lincoln Ridge), or Idlewild.
It shows the community cares and is knowledgeable about our game of disc golf, very impressive.

One last thing.
The Blue pad on 18 should defiantly be the short, and the Red pad should defiantly be the pro tee.
There is no doubt, the Red is way more difficult than the blue on this hole, so if its your first round here and you're playing the Reds, just use the blue on 18.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Great mostly wooded course

5+    10/1/2017   8/5/2018
Review By: Bub2010
Played: 104  Reviewed: 13
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great wooded holes with well defined lines.
Cons: Osage / thorn trees.
Other Thoughts: Really tough course that could test your temper, but it is very well maintained and has some really nice tee pads.

Some elevated holes, but not too extreme.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Great addition to Cincinnati area DG

5+    1/23/2020   7/31/2018
Review By: Aestheticflight
Played: 149  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 27.2 Years
This review was updated on 5/21/2020
4 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Fun AND challenging 24 hole course for all lovers of Woodsy golf. Multiple good concrete Tee pads per hole with multiple pin placements. Good signage and easy to navigate.

It's always exciting to play a new and well executed course. The first time you see a hole.
It can be a Wow. Cool!! response or... oh, how blah and stupid. This course has several of those oh yeah cool holes in my opinion and some nice surprises which made for some fun rounds of golf.

I find the course fairly balanced for right or left handers.

I won't do a hole by hole review here and now People have done that already...though I may later.

You can Choose your level of difficulty by your picks of tee pads and pins. Multiple baskets Up on many holes.

Fun factor is high. Challenge factor high.
Aesthetics moderately high as well in my opinion.

Good bridges and stairs and benches and the good course maintenance give it that special Cared for feel. The locals have poured their energy into creating a noteworthy jewel in the Cincinnati Area.

In my book it's Idlewild, Mt. Airy, Lincoln Ridge and then Osage Grove. I haven't yet played some well rated newish courses in the area to be fair as I moved away 15 yrs ago.





Cons: Few come to my mind. There is some rough but not too much. Haven't had to hunt much so far.
I suppose when it's wet season or after big rain you will find some wet spots and footing on the hillsIdes in the mud could be a bit tricky for some.
Other Thoughts: I'm a 942 rated 60+ yr old who has played 230+ courses across the country and I like what this course offers. I usually play the long tees but the short tees are fun too.

I highly recommend this course to the lovers of DG in the woods. Well worth the drive if you're in the area. Many thanks to all those workers who created and maintain this Jewel.

4 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Nice course

5+    5/29/2018   5/29/2018
Review By: Ozdiscs
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 26.4 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a beautiful course. The tee pads are clean, flat, and come in long and short options. Fairways are clear, lines are available, and baskets are in great shape. There are a variety of different options to keep the course challenging, fun, and worthy of top tier status. Close to restaurants, parking available, shelter, portapotty, and small playground. Throw a couple drives to warm up on the driving range. Great place to put on your bucket list. Leave a couple bucks for the crew that maintains this beautiful course. Well worth it.
Cons: Not fully complete with tee signs in the works. Need some trash cans. Can't remember if there were any on the holes yet. Other than that. "Pretty pretty...pretty nice" course.
Other Thoughts: Add more baskets to make it 24 holes!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Disc Golf Paradise

5+    5/24/2018   5/24/2018
Review By: discgolfmt
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Red and Blue pads offer different shots and variety, not just a short and long every time, it's more to adjust the angles of shots off the tee. There are multiple pin locations as well which is an added bonus. This course has a good mix of tightly wooded and reasonable gaps and fairways to hit. The crew of volunteers that works to maintain and improve the course are top notch.
Cons: A couple of the new short pins are better for the blues. Hole 18 red is harder than 18 blue and blue is supposed to be more challenging of a course. 18 is a frustrating hole to play from the red because it's just the same risk throwing risky vs conservative.
Other Thoughts: Everyone within 200 miles should come play this course, spend a day here, donate some money to the crew that has made this course and is continuously working to make this course incredible. There need to be more tournaments at this course and eventually, I think there will be.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 The Next Step

5+    5/12/2018   5/12/2018
Review By: LightsOut
Played: 31  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 35.1 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I'm a recreational player, sometime tournament competitor. I really have to hand it to the folks who've worked on this course. All of us get to enjoy a course that has seen steady work and effort towards improvement. Today I played the longer blue tees, shooting a 13 over. This rates today as a 911 round on DGCR, which is descent for me, and might help you gauge my perspective.

This course has been stretched and upgraded since it arrived and there isn't any doubt for me that this is one you should play if you are in the Greater Cincinnati area. As of 2017, the pro tour came to Idlewild in Burlington KY, and it reigns as the king course regionally, but Osage Grove 40 or so miles north, is definitely worthy to be included in the conversation about hosting competitive disc golf.

Upgrades: The most recent efforts reveal added longer tee options with both short and long concrete pads. I didn't see every last pad but these are nice flat low-level jobs, long enough to get a lengthy X-step in. They're usually gravel lined to aid during the rainy time of the year. Definitely meeting an addressed need. The stairs between (newly numbered) 3 & 4 are a big plus. Other bridges and field stone placements through the years continue to make this an enjoyable trek through the woods. Having benches at most every tees pad too is so very nice. We have the helpful "Next Tee" arrows hanging from most every basket too, plus other assorted signs to guide you.
To surmise the pads are in and beautiful. I know spiffy hole diagramed signs are coming (see cons), and are a minor point to the upgrades that have happened here. This course has come from opening raw and good, to a now more polished and better.

The layout offers a good variety of straight / left / right, and now more length where you dare. Wow, 12 and 14 now take distance and accuracy from the blues. Number 12's blue pad with Olympic like length, could give javelin throwers run-up space, or would allow you to land a small plane on it!! I then almost had to take a compass with me to find 14 blue this first time to find and throw from it! Cool.

This course is woody but not so tight that you're afraid to look away during your reach back. Elevation change is involved but not dominant. If you had a big ole Lizotte arm, you would be restricted from going over trees on most holes, so it's a bit tight in that perspective. Water plays a fairly minor part on the course. Creeks and streams might catch a wayward throw or bad tree kick on occasion.
Cons: New laminated tee signs are temporary with the new numbered (old #1 is out and new #7 is in) signs mixing with older paper/laminated signs. These original signs (w/hole layouts) will one day be replaced, but still help you navigate this wooded course.
Other Thoughts: You could break away from your round and walk the 600 - 700 feet back to the community park, parking lot and port-o-lets after 9 holes which is a nice mid-round option. The course is in a fairly quiet rural setting with maybe a couple houses lining the park / course edge, but still within 1.5 miles of State Route 28, with gas and food right there. Traffic from Cincinnati's circle freeway I-275 varies and it may take you 15 minutes to travel East on SR 28 to Goshen Road and this course.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Osage Grove

2-4    12/19/2017   12/21/2017
Review By: ad166809
Played: 54  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 6.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Baskets are in good shape and seem to catch a lot of discs compared to other courses I have played.

The tee pads out here are excellent! They are brand new and in great shape. There was even a broom on one of the holes to clean off the tee pad! Nice touch course maintainers. Be careful on some of the holes they can be surrounded by slick mud patches so if you step off you may slip. (Yes this happened to me, yes it was hilarious, yes it did look like I soiled myself the rest of the time I played).

General course design is great. Loops you through the whole park and you will end a short distance from your car at the end.

Benches and Trash Bins galore! This was great to see at this course and major props to the course maintenance for making it really easy to relax and make sure this great course stays clean.

There are some elevation changes at this course. I would not say major elevations changes but enough to keep you on your toes. #1 used to be a major up and down but now with the changed course it is not.

I had to think about this one and ended up giving it a pro. I would def say there are a couple epic holes at Osage. I am thinking #11 with it winding through the trees and a great pin location, although I hate the hole #16 with its skinny tee shit into a wide open field and pin location on top of the hill, and my personal favorite #17 with its epic tee shot over the gulley but short enough to birdie or ace if you have a good shot. There are some really really fun holes out here.

Great variety of hole distances. Short wooded like #3, #4, and #5, long wooded like #11 & #18, Short open like #1 & #2, and Long open like #13 & #16.

You will absolutely use a lot of shots in your bag at this course. A solid approach is necessary on the wood holes. I found myself using my Shark if I had an open approach, I used my Drone to get myself out when I was stuck behind a tree and needed a sharp turn to the basket at the end. You will not shoot good if you cannot throw a decent mid-range.

For sure a mix of technical and open bombs. This course will test your technical game more but you will get the chance to show off your distance on some holes. Some may require you to be a little more accurate than just throwing as hard as you can.

Osage is for sure an overall challenge. The woods holes can be very tough. Although with the short distances you wont see a lot of 5s there are a couple holes that might cause you to shoot high because you found your way into some trouble. This course will make the long throwers be extremely accurate on their approach or the more technical players will find themselves rapidly gaining strokes through this majority wooded course.

Parking is fine, large parking lot about 1 minute from Goshen High School.

Scenic Beauty is top notch. I played this course in the Summer and it was beautiful. I played it in December and even though most of the trees were dead it still had a nice feel to it. The tee pads and pin locations help to make this course look nicer as well.

When I went in the summer it was super crowded, when I went out in December it was only us out there. No mind the locals were nice enough to let us play through as they were in a tournament.

I have seen a lot of events played at this course.

Locals were really nice and friendly. They let you play through, gave some hole tips and were generally just some nice nice people.

Cons: Tee signs are a con. I cant remember the first time I played here if they had legit tee signs up. Right now they are just temp tee signs with yardages. I really hope they get some money to make legit ones with pin locations and maps, it would help a lot at this heavily wooded course.

Foliage. I mean what can I say. This course runs through so much woodage it cant all possibly be maintained. I gave it a con simply because the mud and there are some areas they can clear out foliage. I had a great throw on 10 and ended up in a thorn bush in the middle of the fairway. I thought that was unfair.

No Camping I assume?

No restrooms from what I saw around the course.

No running water around the course.
Other Thoughts: I love Osage I really do. The drive out there can be a bear but if you have some time I highly recommend the trip. I really wish they would put in tee markers and looks like they will soon. It would totally increase the overall experience of this course. These are some of the best woods holes in the area and is extremely fun to play against a huge group of people due to the variety of holes out here. Plus my buddy had an Ace on #5! Highly recommend Osage!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.