Silver Lake, WI 
Fox River Park - Red Fox Share
Uploaded By: mashnut Hole #3 (Taken 11/2012)
3 / 300ft.   3 / 490ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Short Tee


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2
parklike

1    5/14/2017   6/7/2017
Review By: JLHJLH
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 0.4 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: totally enjoyable course for those of us who like to hit "3's" (or possibly "2's". Tees pads are long enough, baskets are short enough, terrain is diverse enough. At this time of the year the place is in perfect condition, green and lush without mosquitoes.
Not all that easy to find owing for bad map directions on Siri (go figger). I would travel to play this one . . . .and I would play this one to warm up for the other course accross the street.
Cons: Players with big arms and long throws will find it hard to keep them short enough . . . . brains vs braun works best on these types of courses (age before beauty).
Other Thoughts: totally likeable course for social gofling.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Beginner / Family course

5+    5/29/2017   5/30/2017
Review By: Badger45
Played: 102  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 16.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - 9 well-groomed holes in a large park.
- Innova Discatcher baskets are in good repair. I'd noticed some issues with cages in the past that have been fixed, so the parks dept is definitely maintaining these.
- Long concrete teepads.
- A mix of short and medium length holes that are good to introduce players to the game or teach people some aspects how to shape a shot.
- Good use of elevation to keep the short layout more interesting.
- Garbage buckets on most holes and picnic tables near a few for seating.
- Across the road from Grey Fox, so it can be used to warm up or practice some shots you're working on.
Cons: - Nothing really to note. It isn't intended to challenge a more avid player, so if you're looking for that, head across the road or over to Silver Fox.
Other Thoughts: This is a good place to take the family or beginners for a quick round of golf without too much risk. There's no water hazards and the underbrush that you can get into isn't so bad that you'll search forever to find errant shots. I've often done Red Fox with the front 9 of Grey Fox with newer players.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Even a Weak Fox is Worth Playing Once

1    7/2/2016   11/18/2016
Review By: Qikly
Played: 133  Reviewed: 113  Exp: 5.3 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Fox River Park's Red Fox course is a simple complement to Grey Fox. It's a solid option if you want to warm up, practice your short game, play a low key round with/as a disc golf beginner, or quickly scratch the itch to throw. There's some impactful elevation in play and a few trees that force basic line shaping, as well as some tree lines that must be avoided. At the same time, the course is easy and short enough to make it a good choice for playing with children or those who might get frustrated with something more challenging.

The biggest pro is the close proximity to Grey Fox, which is a solid course, and even the awesome and much more challenging Silver Fox is quite nearby. Given how quickly Red Fox plays there's little reason not to play it if you're visiting. Parking is ample and right next to the course. Grooming was great on my visit and seems well kept up.
Cons: This is a very simple course that demonstrates little design imagination even relative to its clear goal of being a true beginner's course. When playing these kinds of courses I look to see if they're engaging integral disc golf skills on a lesser level: Are a variety of lines required, however simple? How often does risk/reward assessment come into play? Are concepts such as landing zones and OB avoidance utilized? Red Fox doesn't fair very well on these fronts, in addition to generally failing to make good use of the land it sits on. There isn't much to learn about the game here that couldn't be done as good or better with a temp basket or even making an impromptu object course. I'd argue that beginner courses don't necessarily require very open and straightforward holes to play their role well. Unfortunately Red Fox doesn't seem to agree.
Other Thoughts: Red Fox is definitely worth bagging when hitting up Grey and Silver Fox, which themselves are worthy of a day trip.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Some hills, but not much else...

1    1/4/2016   1/19/2016
Review By: Stardoggy
Played: 336  Reviewed: 211  Exp: 6.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 9 hole course, located across the road from Grey Fox.

Concrete tee pads, one per hole. Plenty long, plenty grippy. No problems here. the site lists long tees, but I didn't see them while I was here.

Discatcher baskets, all in decent enough shape. They definitely look used, but they did the job.

Navigation is relatively easy, with large 4x4 posts at each tee pad.

Very beginner friendly. Not a ton of distance, just enough elevation and a smattering of trees for the less experienced player. This would be a really nice place to introduce somebody to the sport. Lots of ace runs for more experienced players.


Cons: Rudimentary tee signs are kind of a bummer. While it's not tough to figure out the hole, at least having distance on the post would help.

Outside of a few holes, it's pretty much wide open here. Decent enough for practicing upshots and what not, but there's really no reason to play this often, especially with the Grey course right there.
Other Thoughts: For what this course is probably intended for (beginners, or warming up for Grey) this course definitely serves its purpose. As a standalone course, it's pretty blah.

By itself, nothing to go out of your way for, but run this, an then play Grey, and you'll have a fun day of tossin' saucers.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome 9-holer

1    3/21/2015   3/21/2015
Review By: boston
Played: 56  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 5 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Really awesome, very quick 9-hole course. Wicked nice scenery and layout. lots of elevation and shot selection.
Cons: No signs at tees. Other than that nothing to complain about.
Other Thoughts: Could really see this being a great course to play several times in a row and just practice practice practice. Can't wait to go back.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Home Course

5+    12/27/2014   12/31/2014
Review By: tp3terson
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.5 Years
Pros: Nice Ace Run Course, Good people, Nice mats and baskets

All holes are playable all year round. Only course I go to where people return loss discs.
Cons: Hole 9 is overgrown most of the year.
Other Thoughts: Favorite course I have played out of 16 love that its so close to home.

 Nice introductory course to the sport

1    8/22/2014   8/23/2014
Review By: little oz
Played: 80  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 6.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I am from Colorado so our courses are different. However, if I lived in Wisconsin this would be a perfect place to introduce someone to the sport. The holes are manageable, mostly wide open with a small amount of challenge. For the experienced player there are a lot of Ace runs and Birdie opportunities. Excellent, grippy tee pads. Trash buckets at every location. A beautiful setting.
Cons: As previously stated, the holes are not necessarily for the experienced player. There is a lot of graffiti on the benches that reinforce the stereotype of the Stoner (blunt charger, Dick charger). I would hate to bring my kids to see that. The majority of the tee signs and distances were absent.
Other Thoughts: This is a exceptionally well maintained park, and the parks department should be applauded. It does Pale in comparison to the difficulty of the gray fox course, but on it's own it is a solid, fun course for beginners.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Good warm up for the grey fox

2-4    8/10/2014   8/10/2014
Review By: wolfhaley
Played: 269  Reviewed: 185  Exp: 13.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course serves as an excellent warm up for the grey fox 18 hole course on site. The baskets are discatchers that are in pretty decent shape and catch fine. The flow of the course is very intuitive and easy to follow. The tee pads are nice very level and grippy concrete. They also have mulch long tee pads on each hole as well to add a little length. The posts have the hole number on them. There's a little bit of elevation on this course but it's used really nicely. A number of trees serve as obstacles throughout as well. There are trash cans at every hole too which people actually use. The course is always very clean, well mowed and maintained.
Cons: The holes are all pretty short and aceable so it's not too exciting for more experienced players. The bugs can get pretty nasty but it is WI, so they are everywhere.
Other Thoughts: This is a pretty decent course itself. If it was located in a park by itself it would get more respect but with grey fox being on site it gets overlooked a bit. It's definitely worth playing if you're here for the grey fox.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Skip Red, play Grey Fox twice!

1    8/1/2013   6/1/2014
Review By: gcoghill
Played: 71  Reviewed: 65  Exp: 17.4 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: In a very nice park. Clean. Easy to navigate.
Cons: Too easy to navigate. No thought to many of the holes.
Other Thoughts: Not worth it when you have the incredible Grey Fox course literally next to this one. Go play Grey!

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Warm Up Course

1    4/20/2014   4/20/2014
Review By: sgamerp
Played: 89  Reviewed: 65  Exp: 9.6 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Baskets - Nice new Innova baskets.

- Teepads - Nice and long almost a bit too long for the course, but that can't be a con right.

- Great as both a beginner course and a warm up course.

-Two tee pads - I didn't play the longs, but they have a long tee pad made in mulch from every hole.

- Trash cans at every hole- this is huge, and you could tell the locals don't throw trash/cans all over the place, making it easy sometimes pays off :D
Cons: - a lot of point and shot style holes.

- Navigation - This is a huge nit pick, but they don't have tee signs, hole 4 was the only hole where I couldn't see the basket from the basket, but figured I would bring it up as it "could" be a problem for someone.

Other Thoughts: This course is super super easy, I was waiting to meet someone and played it in about 30 minutes from the normal pads. If I had my bag I would only use putters and mids here (had to use a FW only because it was my only under stable disc.)

The wind seemed to play a huge factor on this course.


3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.