Melbourne, FL 
Wickham Park Share
Uploaded By: gottafixit Hole #2 (Taken 9/2009)
3 / 270ft.   3 / 270ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 27
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3
Fun after work round

1    4/16/2017   6/2/2017
Review By: wellsbranch250
Played: 141  Reviewed: 105  Exp: 3.5 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: (3.108 Rating) A well manicured course that's fun to play.
- FUN FACTOR - Wickham is the perfect place for the after work happy hour round. Spacious fairways, but still challenging enough to keep most skilled players pleased. There are not too many opportunities here to lose a disc. Plus I'll also mention that there's a club here that keeps the place up and schedules weekly events.
- RAW BEAUTY - I found the beauty of this course to be a touch above average. Well kept fairways, trimmed up palms and other trees, but yet also a few patches of natural overgrown palmetto patches to swallow your disc when you make an error.
- SKILL LEVEL FRIENDLY - Wickham has somehow managed to find the perfect middle ground between too easy, and too hard, and has probably attracted a wide range of skill levels. Several open plays but also a few longer holes (+400 feet) and several guarded basket placements that will dictate an ideal angle to attack a basket. If I lived in the area, this is the type of course I'd bring a newer player too.
- CHARACTER - Well above average. The concrete tee pads are adequately sized. Lots of extra pin placements making return visits that much more appealing for out of area players. There are multiple tees at more than half of the holes. There is a bunch of seating. There is a good course map and community board as well. As for the lacking items, no practice area and no bag hangers.
- EXTRA HOLES - Although listed as 4 extra holes (22 total), it appears they may be adding another one between holes (3) and (4), as there was another hole there that I played during my round. This hole was a temporary inclusion for a recent tournament and apparently it's been left out for several months now. So perhaps 23 holes.
Cons: Other than variety that's slightly less than average, I have just a few ticky-tack comments.
- UNIQUENESS - A lot of the layout feels the same, hole to hole. In totality I'd rate it in the middle but for courses I've rated this high, it's definitely sub-par among those courses. There are no Par 4's or 5's, no true dog-legs, and tunnel shots are mostly non-existent. There is water in play on a couple holes, (3) and (22), and baskets are guarded in several different ways to force shots from a multitude of angles.
- ELEVATION - You won't find any elevation here or at really any of the surrounding courses either. At Wickham Park, it's probably even below average for a Florida course. There are a couple holes here and there that bring in a 10 foot high mound or so, but that's about it. I did like the use of a mound on (4) which aids in projecting the right basket placement. There is also a nice backdrop mound on (15) and (21), but it doesn't aid in the play of the hole by being beyond. It acts more as a putting safety net.
- PALMETTO BUSHES - As with a bunch of courses in Florida, this course has some pretty substantial palmetto bush patches. When your disc finds one, you may end up with several minutes searching, and after finding it, you'll probably possess a few cuts as well.
- SPACING - Several fairways feel partially shared. My group had several shots end up well into adjacent fairways. So be aware of other groups in your vicinity.
- WIND - Due to less than normal tree coverage, wind will likely be an issue. I played 2 other courses in the same general area the day I played this course, and the wind effect here was the greatest.
Other Thoughts: I had the pleasure of playing Wickham the first time with a good friend of mine that moved away from my area. (DGCR member Neostrat). He fell in love with this game because of this course. You really can't go wrong with trying Wickham Park out. Not a game changer, but a fun round for all.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Well kept course with a good vibe.

5+    3/8/2017   3/9/2017
Review By: Shaka
Played: 6  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 1.5 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Fun for all skill levels.
Clean.
Hard to lose a disc here.
Fun park with great vibes.
22 holes.
Cons: Flat (obviously).
Standing water after a big rain.
Other Thoughts: Learning the layout can be tricky at first, but I wouldn't call that a con. If you have a digital camera (i.e. cellphone), snap a photo of the course map at hole one and refer to it as needed. People here are nice, so you can ask them for guidance as well.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

OG

5+    9/27/2016   9/29/2015
Review By: projectpat
Played: 68  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 9.7 Years
This review was updated on 9/29/2016
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -22 holes. 18 with multiple pin positions and long pads on 8 holes.
-Nice concrete pads with plenty of size for long run ups.
-Good signage. Bolt system on posts to indicate current pin placement. Pvc poles on hidden baskets also help.
-Benches on most holes.
-Family friendly. Park has nice playground and dog park.
-Great place to let it rip and improve your drives. Most holes are wide open with large pine trees providing obstacles and palmettos protecting a majority of the baskets.
Cons: -Drainage on many holes is very bad during rainy season. Holes 11-13 can become unplayable.
-Back 9 lost many of its large trees to fire.
-Course has been removed for country music festival in march the last few years and is usually trashed afterwards.
-New pin positions feel forced in to add distance to holes that didn't really need it.
Other Thoughts: Wickham is the oldest existing course in Brevard. Unfortunately its starting to show. Did not list but older baskets may be con for some. This is where I learned to disc so I still enjoy playing here. Just think its lost some of its appeal.

UPDATE(1 year)- An effort has been made to relieve some of the flooding by adding a large drain on Hole 1. This has helped but not totally fixed drainage problems. The new D pin position was also added to Hole 1 to avoid any standing water. The country music festival that plagued the course for several years has relocated to a new venue. There are still times though that a random event may close part of the course. A new walkway is being constructed on a few holes but should not impact play.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Wickham Park

5+    1/11/2015   1/12/2015
Review By: Peter S
Played: 149  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 23.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/28/2015
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 22 holes. The newish signs give distance and direction of next tee so previous navigation problems are gone. Sign posts indicate basket positions with a bolt by a, b, or c. Mostly red tees. However, a few holes do have seperate blue tees. Mostly open shots through pine trees. Ace runs all over. Lots of skip ace potential off the pine needles that cover the ground. Other short holes such as 9 can be aced with an air shot. Tall white pvp pipe on baskets help you see the target over the palmettos from most tees. Some long shots added recently with a number of longer alternate pins.
Cons: repetitive and nondescript open shots over/around scrub palms. The only difference on most holes is there are less or more scrub palms. Some shots to new longs are so long and blind you may not know what pile of scrubs to start looking for your disc in. Some baskets are very old and will spit out all the purest of putts. Scrub palms could hide discs causing delays.
Other Thoughts: signature holes #12 across a almost dry stream and bridge is long, 22 is a over water shot. Cross the road for holes 3 & 4. Although most holes are repetitive and nondescript this is still a fun course as mostly open to let it rip. Not a lot of challenge here. Most pars or bogies are the result of putting from inside the bushes. A solid Turbo putt or pizza toss is a good tool to have here. The review below says he could not find the course, I assure you it is still there. I tried to justify giving a 3 disc review as I do enjoy playing Wickham. However, there is just a lack of variety or aesthetics to warrent a 3.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Disappointed

1    3/8/2014   3/8/2014
Review By: dan_b
Played: 16  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 13.2 Years
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Can't review it becuase THERE WAS NO COURSE.
Cons: On vacation, drove an hour to play. Spent 15 minutes driving around an enormous park with no signage about where the course was. Finally found a single basket. There were pads, benches, holes in the ground for pins and signs, ALL EMPTY.

I am extremely disappointed about this. A beautiful March day kind of wasted.
Other Thoughts: Looks like it may have been fun, the pads were nice, the park was nice, and what looked like nice drive lines, but there simply wasn't a course to play.

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Where are the Baskets?

1    9/21/2013   9/23/2013
Review By: reposado
Played: 278  Reviewed: 276  Exp: 6.1 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I liked a lot about this course. Don't let the rating fool you. This is almost a 3.5 course. Add next tee arrows, and it would be. But unfortunately, I did have to dock at least an additional half point for what may be a temporary issue. But more on that later. I'm starting with what went right.

The best part about Wickham Park is the flags on top of the baskets. They stand on tall poles and allow you to see the targets when they are behind brush. And frequently, they are behind brush.

Most of the holes force you to find a line through scattered palm trees. The vast majority of the trees are surrounded with a block of shoulder-high shule. What's great about this is that you can visualize both the path and landing area that you are aiming for. The targets are so often protected by brush that needs to be shot over. But, because of the way the vegetation is limited to the immediate vicinity of the palms, you can tell from a distance where it will be safe to land your disc.

The rest of the terrain is mowed grass or open field. There is low risk of disc loss because if you go in the brush. It's well-kept and in an active park, most of the other activities are separated from the course by a decent amount of space.

While the layout of trees and tees will give you a variety of distances and lines, it is the fact that you nearly are shooting over stuff that makes the course distinct. Shots must be kept low, but not too low.
Cons: The problem here is that not all baskets are present. It seems in retrospect as if the 22-hole course as been transformed into an 18-holer. That would be fine if there was some sort of notice. But we ended up playing from several tees to the eight basket, because there was no way to tell from the tee or the sign that the proper basket had been removed. Some of the signs had new numbers taped over them, and by the last few holes, where 20 was now 16, 21 was now 17, we somewhat figured it out. But it was no picnic. On an additional hole we ended up playing to the 8 tee. For whatever reason, some baskets are not where they should be according to tee signs and maps, or are just gone.

If that is the case, than the new hole eleven shoots directly over the seven tee? Strange.

Beyond that issue, which I would assume is temporary or new, the course needs next tee arrows badly. Sometimes, the next tee was visible from the basket, but often I had to consul the map downloaded from this site, but even using that, it was often a chore to find tees here. It is just not obvious what direction you are supposed to begin walking in. 3 and 4 were skipped since I did not assume to walk across the road and had not started using the map until we had found 5.
Other Thoughts: It's pretty simple. A solid, playable course, with debilitating navgation. Next tee arrows, an updated map and the return of missing baskets and this course would be very good.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 New in town

5+    1/10/2013   2/2/2013
Review By: Zigzaggler
Played: 42  Reviewed: 14
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Every tee has a concrete pad and tee sign, which I found to be fairly accurate. The park is well maintained and the baskets are moved what seems to be about once a month or so.This is nice so you don't get used to the same throws. The holes are of good variety as far as distance and basket placement goes. I would suggest an afternoon if you are gonna be close to the area.
Cons: The course is in a VERY busy public park. There always seems to be some person or peoples walking from out behind shrubs as you play and the park is used for a lot of different things so sometimes the entire course is unavailable.
Other Thoughts: Being from the Ohio/Michigan area, I have found Florida disc golf VERY FLAT. Like most disc golfers I am a fan of elevation and trees. But so far this is the better of parks I have found on the Atlantic side.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Where's the next hole?

1    12/4/2012   12/4/2012
Review By: xrayskid
Played: 8  Reviewed: 6
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: 22 holes and you can really air it out on several of them.
Cons: Really a poorly marked course. Several of the tee maps were incorrect.
Short tees on a lot of holes. Thought I was gonna break my ankle if I didn't start my run from behind the tee.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Wide open spaces

1    3/8/2012   3/8/2012
Review By: w8nforhim
Played: 74  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 8.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A well thought out and well-maintained course. Each hole has a concrete tee-pad that is of adequate size to tee off. Also, each tee pad has a hole map on it that shows you the multiple basket locations, the mandos, and the direction of the next tee pad (crucial). The park itself is very clean and well-maintained. The course itself has an excellent layout, with mainly wide open shots on most of the holes. Scattered throughout many of the holes were clumps of palmettos and undergrowth, which made for a nice challenge in placing drives. Another plus was that many of the baskets had poles with flags attached that would stick out above the brush so you could see the basket location when it was obscured from the tee.
Cons: Not a lot of shot variety as most holes play straight ahead and wide open. If you don't have a 300 foot drive, you can only hope to par the course.
Other Thoughts: This was a lovely course that really gives you a chance to let loose and get some serious flight time to your drivers. It also did reward precision on several holes in order to avoid palmettos. The last hole that plays over a pond is a nice finishing touch. All in all, a great course!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fav Local Place

5+    3/3/2012   3/6/2012
Review By: cesar32935
Played: 10  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 8.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Baskets are "protected" by shrubs and other natural greenery
Alternate Baskets provide different feel and course so I never get bored
Even though I'm a "Recreational" player, I feel like I have a shot at a Par as long as I can keep from hitting a tree
Concrete Tee areas
Sign posted in each Tee area with hole map and location
Well maintained and clean
Cons: Some times the mark on the post, location "A" when the basket is clearly on location "B", etc
Needs a couple of drinking water spots
Other Thoughts: I'm fairly new to disc golf, but I love this park, different Tees, and different Basket Locations, makes it fun to play every single time. I enjoy having to approach the hole around the shrubs and palmettos

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.