Melbourne, FL 
Wickham Park Share
Uploaded By: gottafixit Hole #13 (Taken 9/2009)
3 / 260ft.   3 / 260ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 27
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Wonderful Wickham

1    2/11/2012   2/25/2012
Review By: harr0140
Played: 947  Reviewed: 480  Exp: 8.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Nice sized concrete tees are always my favorite. Red and blue tees are marked on the concrete so you know if you are on the correct tee.

2) I really enjoy the overall feel of this course the way it works in and around large pockets of palmettos and mature evergreen trees. It is an interesting feel I have never had at a Florida course wither, normally the palmettos are just wild and invasive, but here they have limited them to small pockets around the course and the baskets weave in and around these pockets and help protect the basket locations. This is truly something unique . . . it feels almost like a Midwest favorite Anna Page East where they use pockets of woods, but in this case the Florida vegetation is Palmetto shrubs.

3) Mandos are marked well so that you know when there is something the design forces you to throw a certain direction.

4) Nice signs on this course with Hole #, distance, and a map. Next tees are also indicated and the multiple basket locations. They also have indicators with large letters on the pole for the current basket location

5) This is a very clean and tidy looking course . . . partly because of the feel under the evergreens and around those palmetto areas, but also because there does not seem to be a lot of garbage around. This seems to be a well used park and I am sure the population in the park has a lot to do with how the park remains so clean . . . there is no chance for you to litter without someone else seeing you.

6) Very busy park but the course is well isolated to avoid other park users except in a couple places. There was an RV park I think, ball fields, soccer, what seemed to be like a fairgrounds or something, and they even had a RC sailboat regatta in one of the ponds.

7) Water is used on a couple holes to really make for some interesting shots.

8) Routing on this course is pretty intuitive . . . and they have renumbered since holes were added . . . a welcome sight after playing F. Burton Smith earlier in the day and being frustrated with the hole numbering.

9) Restrooms (portos) are available in a couple places on the course and would be a welcome sight during a tourney round or a long busy day on the course.

10) Plenty of benches and garbage cans around the course complete the amenities of this great course.

11) Multiple tees offer up varying challenge and distance.

12) Excellent variation in hole distances with some in the 100's into the 400's too. There is plenty of variation on the holes in the 200's and 300's to make for different feeling holes. You will have plenty of options for disc selection out here.

13) This is a very beginner friendly course because it is relatively open, but it will still challenge the intermediate level player from time to time.

14) Rollers could be a usable shot out here . . . the turf is consistent and the ground is firm. I love having this as an option on courses.

15) The pine needles make for an interesting feature . . .they seem to play more of a skip off the needled areas. I am not sure if they firm up the soil or if they just make the disc skip more because of less friction with the turf. . . and I know it was probably not an intended effect from the design, but it is something you will need to consider.
Cons: 1) No real variety in foliage density here because the palmettos are just pockets and typically lower than your throws would be and the evergreens are so mature that there are very few limbs that you would encounter with your throws.

2) Most holes can be attacked from whatever direction you want to. I usually like to see a few holes per course that force certain shots, but there is nothing in the "airways" that will force you to do any particular shot. You can pick your favorite shot on each hole and try to execute.

3) I had a lot of drop in 3's out here because if you cannot park the basket you will likely have a simple upshot. This gets a little repetitive and is partly due to my current distance limit (300' or so). If I could throw further I would be able to deuce more holes.

4) No elevation change on this entire course really. It is what it is, but this lacking feature takes away from the course.
Other Thoughts: I cannot believe this course currently sits under a 3 disc rating . . . perhaps the upgrades and added holes made this course that much better than the old ratings, but this is by far a more fun and scenic course than F. Burton Smith which was rated over 3 discs. I would choose this course anyday if it was local because it is not just fun and challenging but also very scenic in my opinion. I do not have a lot of negatives about the course because there just isn't that much wrong, and the pros are overwhelming. The lack of the tighter wooded holes keeps this course under the 4 disc rating but it is so close. A little more diversity and it would be right up in my favorites. With that said . . . this is just a solid course.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Open, Fun Play

5+    2/5/2012   2/13/2012
Review By: bdaigle20
Played: 6  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful park full of amenities. Restrooms are easy to find. Plenty of parking. Free.

Lots of space for the long bomb plus a few holes that require some technical play.

Benches on every hole with trees to provide shade and cover from the Florida sun. Nice launch pads.

The baskets are moved every 8 weeks or so, which helps mix it up a bit.

Hole 22 is right over a pond, which is fun.
Cons: Very flat and open.

It can be difficult to navigate the course but there are always people playing who are happy to help.

Other Thoughts: There are often guys selling discs out of their truck and the Walgreen's down the street carries a nice selection of discs too.

If it has been raining a lot, the park may flood, meaning you might have to wade through several inches of water to play. Depending on who you are, this is either great fun or horrible!

In general, this is a fantastic park. It is the largest and best-maintained park in the county and offers all kinds of things besides disc golf (camping, swimming, dog park, volleyball, horseshoes, there's a senior center now, sports fields, playgrounds, etc).

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Fun course to play, bring a map!

1    12/23/2011   12/23/2011
Review By: jcf5083
Played: 43  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 7.8 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -There is a ton of life around the course! There is a pond for fishing, a large archery range, a dog park, as well as volleyball courts and softball fields.

-Holes are a decent distance, not too big and not too small.

-All teepads are in great shape.

-Multiple tee and basket placements for a lot of the holes.

-Good use of the trees and bushes, there were "protected" baskets and no random trees that bother you.

-Hole 22 (the lake hole) is beautiful!
Cons: -The holes do not always play into each other, and there are no maps or "next tee" signs.

-Lack of elevation change, I do not recall a hole that wasn't flat.

-There is not much signage as to where the first hole was, so I started on hole 5 and continued from there. Reading other reviews it seems like this is a common problem.
Other Thoughts: I was lucky enough to have a smart phone on me so I could look up the course map. Otherwise I would have been completely lost on the course. You can find a copy of the map on the club website listed under Links/Files.

I am from Ohio and was very pleased to play at Wickham park with the great Floridian scenery and the great locals playing the course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Not the Best

5+    6/15/2011   6/20/2011
Review By: denny ritner
Played: 167  Reviewed: 113  Exp: 19.3 Years
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: The course is located in a big park with other amenities such as volleyball, swimming, fishing, and camping. The schule factor and resulting chances of losing discs is on the lower side. There are plenty of opportunities to crush the disc. The course provides a great place to practice playing in the wind. The ground is friendly for rollers. At one point in time this was the location of one of the biggest events on the pro tour.
Cons: The course is totally flat and mostly wide open. Few holes require much technical skill and the course overwhelmingly favors the power player. All par 3's. There is almost no tree canopy to provide any respite from the hot Florida sun.

The navigation is extremely difficult. The tee sign hole numbers don't match the numbers on the baskets. There are no directional signs between holes.

Several of the baskets are dangerously close to tee pads.
Other Thoughts: Don't be a dirty discer. Leave the course cleaner than the way you found it.

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Hmmmmmmm

2-4    3/8/2011   3/9/2011
Review By: brockkcorb
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
3 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Long enough to stretch the arm out, on a afew holes.
Cons: most of the holes feel like deja vu. the same holes over and over again. There are some tight fairways ( open for 250+ then play into the woods), which make it reasonable, but there are no unique holes, most of them seem pretty much the same. if you can throw a roc or buzz 250-300 accurate, and you can throw a fairway driver 300- 350 and you can throw a s curve beyond that ( no huge left turn holes), you are golden... lefties should have no more problems than righties at this course. overall: its flat, most holes call for the same shot.... i thought about doing the melbourne open, but not now. i was dissapointed.
Other Thoughts: i'm from daytona... i wouldn't make the drive again.

3 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Wickham is not the best.

5+    1/31/2010   2/1/2010
Review By: scauzilloc
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 27.6 Years
This review was updated on 7/27/2010
9 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The front nine has a lot of open area to throw a good long powerful drive. There are multiple basket placement areas so things get mixed up often. The back nine is a bit more challenging than the front nine since it is more dense with foliage. You have to be more precise.
Cons: This course is not very well marked and for anyone playing the course for the first time can and will get lost. The signage is in disarray and for some holes there is nothing. They laid some new pads down and made them much shorter. Some of the brush on the back nine can gobble up discs. A lot of campers and RV'ers tend to use this area to walk their dog and they don't clean up after. So be careful, you might get an unwanted present from a pooch.
Other Thoughts: Also. This is not the best course in Brevard. try out the other course at Burton before making a judgment. Be careful of the disc golf stealer. There is an older gentleman who lives in one of the RVs that comes around when the course is not busy searching for discs. If he gets yours he will not call the number, but he will sand it down and turn them in for cash to Play It Again Sports! I had a great drive and before I could get to my disc he came by on a golf cart, scooped up my disc and drove off with it. I hunted him down and made him give it back. He also hides around the 18th hole and waits for you to throw, especially if it goes into the lake. He has a contraption that retrieves the disc and then he will drive off in his car.

9 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Fun for the family

1    6/28/2009   7/1/2009
Review By: BILL7718
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 16.6 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I liked the mix of clean fairways and obstacles, which consist of trees with clumps of saw palmettos and other bushes around them. The tees for the next hole were close to the baskets from the previous hole, so we didn't have any problem following the course for the first time.
Cons: Its very flat and does not have a lot of shade. Bring sunscreen. Some of the tees are close enough to the previous basket with parallel fairways that you have to be aware of who's ahead and behind you on the course.
Other Thoughts: I'm introducing my family to disk golf now that my shoulder is better, and this was a fun course for the whole family. The trees and bushes provided just the right level of interference, and we easily recovered our disks. We couldn't immediately find basket 1, so we started on hole 12. The water shot on 18 was tempting for me, but there's no way the rest of my family could play the hole, so we skipped it. We played in late June the day after rain, but the course was dry and we did not have any bug problems. The 4 photos posted as of this review are a good representation of what most of the course is like.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Watch your discs

1    11/14/2008   3/29/2009
Review By: kuhlbeans
Played: 50  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 12.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Course has a decent variety of shots and the large palm-like plants make for a lot of guarded pins that are hard to get at. The closing holes have water hazards to give a little bit of interest. Plenty of holes where you can really try to rip a drive without much penalty for an errant shot.
Cons: Pins are rotated by there are no alternate tees. Most holes were signed but no markings for the next tee, so sometimes it was hard to figure out where to go. Signs and baskets seemed to be in a bit of disrepair.
Other Thoughts: I joined up with a local half way through this round (I was in town on business) and he told me this park was by far the best in the area, though I was not all that impressed. There is almost no elevation change on the entire course, which normally I'd count against the course, but this is Florida by the coast so there isn't much choice for the course designer.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Local

5+    3/21/2009   3/23/2009
Review By: DarrenFL
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 9.2 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I play this course about 2 times a week sometimes more. It is a really fun course to play! Often change basket placements which adds a lot more variety of play.
Cons: too many bushes!! sometimes have to wait for players due to losing disc.
Other Thoughts: love it.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Course

5+    2/21/2009   2/22/2009
Review By: rjgarment
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Front 9 fairly open. Tees and baskets in good condition. Challenging back 9. Friendly locals. Handicap league 3/4 Sundays a month.
Cons: Palmetto thickets surround every pine tree, sometimes gobbling up discs. Back 9 has blind holes where it's best to get a spotter about halfway up the fairway, or you will spend at least 15 minutes looking for your disc. Signs aren't very descriptive.
Other Thoughts: Alternate tees would be nice. I've been going 4 weeks in a row, and never encountered these "drunks" I keep hearing about, just friendly, helpful locals. Nice course overall.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.