Boulder, CO 
Valmont Disc Park Share
Uploaded By: Leroy Hole #2 (Taken 12/2012)
3 / 183ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Basket to Tee


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 31
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3 4
Prairie doggin'

2-4    7/9/2017   7/12/2017
Review By: enragedmullet
Played: 61  Reviewed: 49  Exp: 6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Great maps on premises and decent signage

- Concrete tees and baskets in good condition

- I feel like I've been saying this a lot for the area, and I've never gotten one, but ace runs abound, if that's your thing

- Easy to navigate, though I'd have a map handy the first time out

- There is a mix of elevation, albeit lopsided, and a hint of variation in distance and shots needed. Nice usage of the available foliage, especially on the front 7.

- If it isn't crowded it's a great place for a quick 18, and wouldn't be a terrible choice to bring a beginner either
Cons: - Gets crowded, more on that below.

- The front 7 could be considered crammed-as-hell, with potential for creating bottlenecks that last the rest of your round

- After getting to stretch your arm a bit on 8 & 9 the rest of the course is just as short as the front 7, as a result, it gets repetitive
Other Thoughts: I played most of Valmont one weekend recently and quit after 11 just because I was tired of being just too far to play through but close enough to be delayed by a group in front of me. I went back a few days later and was able to finish the course though it was still crowded as all get-out however I was able to play through more than a couple groups. So yea, crowds, man. Maybe it isn't that bad on weekday mornings, but be prepared.

There are some places to sit along the course but I don't recall trash cans. I agree w/ Parataxis's Other Thoughts in 2016.

Valmont has some good qualities but w/ 16 holes under 300' it's definitely a niche course. If you want to practice your short game it's awesome, but if you're looking for a well-rounded, balanced round, I'm not sure it's here. I'll play it again I'm sure, and it's definitely worth the stop if you're in the area, but I wouldn't go so far as to call it a destination course.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Fun first 7 holes

1    4/14/2017   4/14/2017
Review By: sjroesinger
Played: 37  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 1.4 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very well marked, great tee boxes, placards, and baskets
Fun first 7 holes
Creative, intuitive hole flow
Cons: Holes 8-18 began to back up (very crowded)
Not very imaginative (straight, short holes)
Other Thoughts: Pretty fun course, took a bit longer to play because it was so crowded (Friday at 3 pm), chances for aces

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.


1    4/6/2017   4/7/2017
Review By: bobmcnelly
Played: 135  Reviewed: 104  Exp: 6.5 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - great large cement tees
- good baskets with double sided number signs on them
- great tee signs with all the info you need
- navigation of the course is pretty easy
- good mix of short technical holes and long open holes
- the first 7 holes offer some fund elevation change
- a good course for anyone from a beginner to a pro
Cons: - really only 3 or 4 holes to actually throw a driver on, definitely a shorter course overall
- a few tight fairways and close baskets could be a bit of a safety hazard when the course is busy
- after a fun start to the course, holes 8 - 18 are a little bit boring
Other Thoughts: A quality course in the boulder area. Definitely the best course for a few miles. I would recommend it to anyone in the area.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Hand me my Roc

2-4    9/23/2016   9/23/2016
Review By: MonDragonDisc
Played: 14  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 1.4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Front 9 is wooded and has some challenge. I'm a beginner so having a chance to practice touch shots has been beneficial. Back 9 allows you to get 2 distance throws and the rest are wide open (some trees). If I can shoot a -3 here than a good player can probably get into -10 or better territory.
Cons: Crowded as any course can be. Routinely waiting on every hole to throw. The back 9 is somewhat boring compared to the front nine. They need to figure out a way to incorporate a the woods into all 18 holes... not sure how, but the back 9 is lacking.
Other Thoughts: Beat the crowd and get there early.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Quick 18 when it's not crowded

5+    9/2/2016   9/2/2016
Review By: Badger Dan
Played: 86  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 14.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Easy to navigate. Signage is good with a large format map at the start, scorecards often available, and color signs at every tee (not that they're necessary).

-Great tee pads. Long, flat and wide poured concrete. No dropoffs after tee.

-Good practice for short/mid game. Can be played quick when it's not busy making it easy to get in 36+ in under what it takes to play a full 18 at a mountain course.

-Usually clean with most patrons being responsible with their trash despite the lack of bins at the holes. Porto John is a plus too.

-If you play this course enough, you will rack up aces.
Cons: -Very short. Only 3 holes require a driver. Not much variety on the back 9. Essentially all open.

-Many holes are bland and uninventive. After 10, you virtually crisscross the field with short midrange shots for the next 5 holes followed by the shortest, most-open hole I've ever played, #16.

-Very crowded at times. I've been there recently when the entire parking lot is full. Large groups of college kids on the course often clog it up.
Other Thoughts: After spending a year living in Boulder, I'm ready to move up into the mountains and get closer to some real disc. With that said, it's been fun having an 18 hole course nearby where I could hone my short game and meet some cool local discers. Valmont, it's been real. Hope to see some improvements in hole design in the future.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


5+    7/8/2016   7/10/2016
Review By: Parataxis
Played: 23  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 1.5 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Front 7 provide fun, short, more technical throws.
Location.
Cons: Holes 8-16 don't have much to them.
Gets packed in the afternoon.
Other Thoughts: It's sad that Boulder doesn't have a more exceptional dg course, seems to me it really should have something to shine for the region. All things considered there aren't any other public courses in Boulder county I'd rather go to. I think the course designer did a great job with what he was given (at one point the course was going to go where the bike park is now).

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Solid Course in Boulder

5+    4/12/2016   4/13/2016
Review By: nolan24970
Played: 9  Reviewed: 4
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Front 9 and back 9 are completely different. This leads to some nice variety.
-Quick round; can get through all 18 holes in around an hour
-Park is reasonably well taken care of
-Course uses the space it is on very well
-Short drive from anywhere in Boulder
Cons: -All of the holes on the back 9 are pretty similar, a good sized drive and maybe a tree or two to shoot around
-Course can get crowded on weekends
Other Thoughts: A very fun course to play early in the morning.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Really short course!

1    3/26/2016   4/1/2016
Review By: Ginganinja
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Very good tee pads and signs.
-clean course with a good feel to it.
-good elevation usage.
-easy to navigate
-good for someone just passing through wanting to get a quick 18 in.
-very begginer friendly.
Cons: -really short.
-Allot of baskets really close.
-no others really and i guess short really isn't a con
Other Thoughts: This course is great for a casual round and especially good if your looking for your first ace. It's really easy to navigate and to keep going.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/16/2015   8/16/2015
Review By: thecolorofhue
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Full 18 hole course
-A few dog legs
-Good view of the mountains
-You're probably going to make some birdies
Cons: -Ridiculously short for an 18 hole course. People are not kidding when they say the distance posted on the signs are incorrect. Hole 18 was especially disappointing.

-Not much here as far as technical shots go. Most holes simply follow the walking path from the hole to the tee, though there are some dog legs in the beginning.

-The simplicity of the course does get boring on the back 9. These holes show almost no creativity, simply being a little over a 100 feet from the starting tee in a straight line.
Other Thoughts: It's really disappointing that this is all Boulder has to offer. Coming from a small town in Oklahoma that had multiple 18 hole courses (many of them technical courses) this course (the only 18 hole in Boulder) just does not hold up.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 It Fits

1    12/20/2014   12/22/2014
Review By: TalbotTrojan
Played: 112  Reviewed: 104  Exp: 9.1 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There was clearly some thought put into this course. There is a local crowd who loves this course and seem to be doing a great job of getting things done and done well. There are lots of features to this course that are clearly designed to keep the course in the ground. The baskets are all in great condition. The tee pads are quite nice and very consistent from hole to hole. Baskets are placed in thoughtful spots. The design uses just about every possible good inch of this piece of land. There is a port-o-potty on the back side of the course. There are other things to do in the park that shares land with this course. There is a good variety of shots in the first seven holes. This would be a very good place to take a beginner to play disc golf. It does a descent job of keeping more advanced players somewhat entertained for at least a few holes.
Cons: This course is mostly short and they really tried to fit a course in on a piece of land that is not really well suited for a full 18 hole disc golf course. The best holes are the first seven and they are squeezed onto a small mound in the park. Holes are close to each other throughout the course and there are a few times when one needs to ask which basket they are throwing to. There are only three holes over or at 300 feet. There are plenty of holes under 200 feet. There are so many filler holes it really takes away from some of the better holes on this course. There are some erosion issues that appear to be noticed at this point, but hard to say what can be done moving forward. There is a prairie dog issue that is mitigated at this point as long as people keep the fences working correctly.
Other Thoughts: This course also has a nickname of the Junkyard since holes 8 through 16 are on an old junkyard. There are still random rusted car pieces that can be found on the ground. Really the first seven holes were enjoyable, even if one of them is basically a jump putt. After that it gets boring for the most part. The last two holes are in the green part of the park where other people may be using the park and may cause some issues with pedestrians. Otherwise the prairie dog fences should keep out other park traffic fairly well. This really isn't a course to go out of your way to play but may be a great place to take people who have never played before. It really does just barely fit into the land that it is on. I am sure with the local crowd that is there, it will get good care.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.