Turner, ME 
Stevens Mountain View Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #3 (Taken 6/2013)
4 / 242ft.   4 / 311ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 7
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
Heading back to the woods

1    7/8/2019   7/11/2019
Review By: BuckeyePhil
Played: 25  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Beautiful views
Cons: Too wide open for me
Other Thoughts: I'm only in my 2nd year of playing, but I walked in there for the first time ever, and walked away with a -6 and should have been about a -10 if I knew the course. I like the wooded courses much better as I find them more challenging. The course is like walking on a sponge, so bring waterproof shoes. I will come back again, but not make it a regular stop.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

So Much Grass, So Little Time...

1    6/18/2019   6/18/2019
Review By: markmcc
Played: 262  Reviewed: 236  Exp: 7.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: If you are looking for a break from the tight, heavily wooded courses that dominate the Maine disc golf scene, then this is the course for you. Holes 1 - 6 are cut out of a grass meadow and are almost completely open. Holes 14 - 18 are similarly in the open, though generally with a border of trees along one side or perhaps a line of well-spaced trees to cross somewhere down the fairway.

There are rock outcrops, ditches, hedgerows, etc. that add some obstacles here and there as well.

The holes that were in the wooded section presented some interesting shapes, and often gave a couple of lines to the pin. None were terribly tight but they definitely required hitting gaps and lines to score well. I appreciated that a couple of the longer holes were in the woods, unlike some courses where the woods holes are limited to short, technical shots.

From the long tees the holes vary quite a bit, from 202' out to 550'. There is a rough set of short tees that knocks 1600 feet off of the total length, so about 100' per hole.

The course is mostly flat, and with the exception of Hole 1 which is a fun little downhill start I don't recall any holes that seemed to rise or fall more than maybe 5'.

The long tee pads featured concrete that was even with good texture, and tee signs with a useful hole diagram that also showed the position of the short tee. The expected hole number, par and distance(s) were also presented.

Innova DisCatchers were in good shape, though several had a pronounced lean in the soggy ground. Plenty of benches and trash cans finished out the infrastructure.
Cons: Much of this course is mowed out of huge meadows, so the challenge lies in staying in the generous fairways. There is a bit of elevation here but not enough to offset the openess of so many of the holes.

The short tees are just a rubber pad sitting (somewhere) in the grass. No tee signs, and many were partially covered by cut, dried grass. If you wanted to play from the short tees you would feel shortchanged.
Other Thoughts: Overall I didn't find this course to be as enjoyable as the more wooded, technical courses in the area. Throwing drives across open ground to exposed pins isn't my favorite kind of disc golf. But it does present a nice option in an area where courses are overwhelmingly wooded with few opportunities to air it out.

The course was quite soggy when I played and ticks were out in force, but that is seasonal and didn't impact my rating.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Wonderful Semi-Hidden Gem

2-4    7/26/2018   8/2/2018
Review By: Geer_Boggles
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 9.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Great Tee Pads
- Lots of open terrain to really let loose on long holes
- Good use of trees on most holes making strategy a necessity even with the wide open holes
- Mini Shop with products in stock
- $5 all day play honor box
- Practice Baskets
- Wonderful landscaping and maintenance by Tim Mowers (Course Owner)
Cons: - Grass can be long at times but is understandable as there is SO much of it.
- Wooded holes can be choppy in places with residual stumps and no clear route on a couple of them.
- Can be marshy in a few spots but only on a few holes if you throw an errant shot.
Other Thoughts: This is a wonderful course and one I plan on playing regularly. In my opinion, this is an Amateur to Pro course due mainly to the distance on the holes. This should in no way deter beginners though. This is one of the best courses to start out on since you have a lot of room to throw and a lot of space to account for any erratic throws. Most holes are over 300, however most are also completely open. I am now ranging at 300'-340' on my drives and played a comfortable -2 for my final score. And it felt like I earned it too.

I eluded to the grass being long in my cons but there is honestly more thick grass on this course than I have seen on any other and I have nothing but respect for Tim doing his thing to maintain it. I would be shocked if it was all mowed down completely even if he had 6 people mowing all day.

Bottom line is this is an excellent course and a great use of space. I recommend anyone passing through or even those from out of state to check this out as it should be on your list of 'want to play' courses in Maine.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 SMV '17

2-4    5/11/2017   5/13/2017
Review By: Im_Ryno
Played: 312  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 10.1 Years
Pros: Very good mix of open and wooded holes. Clean place, well maintained. The open holes really give you a chance to test your arm and the wooded holes gauge your accuracy. Looks like the owners are always trying to improve the course.
Cons: The first few holes feel a little redundant, you're kind of teeing off and driving through the same row of trees from the opposite side. Still a newer course, a couple of the wooded holes need to be broken in more before there is a good flow.
Other Thoughts: Bring waterproof footwear!

 

5+    8/10/2015   8/12/2015
Review By: Jmewhite1
Played: 24  Reviewed: 13
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Breaks from the Maine norm of fairways cut out of the woods. This course is a long open course created off the hillside of old farm land. Breathtaking views of the mountains. This is not just a field course, it is very well designed with large tee pads and great use of trees and rock wall outcrops. Being a very new course this is shaping up to be one of Maine's finest.
Cons: Drainage was always the issue in its first two years, these problems have been mostly resolved and continue to get better everytime out. Signage and finishing touches are all this course needs!

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Favorite course in the state

5+    11/2/2014   11/9/2014
Review By: Koldes
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is my favorite course in the state. Although Sabattus and others are great, SMV does it for me. I love the layout, open opportunities to rip some drives and the balance of the variety of holes, towards the middle of the course.

Tim, the owner, is a great guy. Talk to him about his course and he'll share lots of details about his plans for upgrades over the next few years to make it even better than what it is.

For any travelers visiting our state, I highly recommend this course. The country hillside and views you get while playing really represent our beautiful state well.

Over the past year, concrete teepads have been put in for 17 out of 18 holes.

Although it's a great course, it's not extremely popular as of this writing. I've never had to wait for groups in front or had them come up behind me.
Cons: The biggest con with the course is the wetness of it. There are several areas that are awful during the winter and the few months of thawing out afterwards. You WILL need rain boots or your sneakers will get soaked on several spots.

The signs for each hole are not up and some of them are inaccurate (slightly) for where the previous tee pads were. It's not a bother as you can see many of the baskets from the tee bad, but it would be nice for newbies to the course if the signs were better.
Other Thoughts: Overall, I love this course The Pros far outweigh the Cons. If you have an opportunity to play here, grab your distance drivers, hit the course, and thank me later!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A Nice Addition to the Maine Disc Golf Scene

1    12/16/2012   12/16/2012
Review By: Menacewarf
Played: 60  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 10.8 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is nicely designed to ballence playability with challenge. Although most holes are fairly open and use the undulating landscape or sparse trees to define the hole, there is a nice wooded section of about 6 holes which adds some variety and challenge.

The baskets are beautiful new Innova Discatchers, the frequent choice of courses in this part of the world. There are signs directing you to each teebox.

The layout is well done with, very few walkouts to speak of, and good buffers between different fairways and greens. The course is well ballenced in terms of shot shape and hole distances. Also there are three legitimate two drive holes, one early and in the woods, with two more in the final stretch of holes. I had a great time playing even with the temperatures well below freezing and the back of my hands numb. My girlfriend just walked but also said she'd come back to play which is always a plus as far as I'm concerned. Overall I was impressed with this course and will play it more.
Cons: Many of thhis fairways in the field were solid Ice beneath the grass so I imagine the course floods and can't be played in wet conditions.

No improved tee pads are in yet and simply flagged. The addition of improved tee pads will make my rating go up at least a half disc.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.