Blairstown, NJ 
Patriot Hills Share
Uploaded By: HyooMac Hole #7 (Taken 7/2019)
3 / 200ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee Sign



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
No Frills At Patriot Hills

2-4    6/28/2020   6/29/2020
Review By: Ryal
Played: 78  Reviewed: 75  Exp: 3.1 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: + All 9 holes have tee signs with distances and pars and an illustration of what's ahead.
+ This course has a surprising level of elevation challenges.
+ The course takes places in a quiet and peaceful series of fields surrounding the high school's athletic areas.
+ Because it is on school grounds, the course is very well upkept. However....
Cons: - ...Because it is on school grounds, the course's window of playability is limited to when there are no students or athletes on the premises.
- All holes, except for the second half of hole 6, play within wide open areas, so there are almost zero course navigation puzzles; just throw far.
- Tee areas are just lumpy grass with a red, white and blue painted wooden beam serving as the upper edge of the tee.
- No 'next hole' indicators at all.
Other Thoughts: My favorite hole to play here is hole 6 because of its multi-tiered hill climb before taking a sharp left into a nice tunnel. It is the hole that most incorporates woods. My favorite hole to look at here might be hole 3 because the player's back is to the school, parking lot and sports equipment. All you see is a mighty hill, a cornfield and a disc golf basket. My least favorite hole here is hole 4 because of the solar panels in the middle of the fairway. (For the record, a champion-plastic orange Innova Thunderbird doesn't damage them!)

Patriot Hills was a delightful surprise. It's missing basic tee pads and next hole signage, but infrastructure doesn't make the whole disc golf experience. Of the dozen or so 9-hole disc golf courses I've played so far, this course has one of the most dramatic shifts in elevation. Hole 9 especially feels like a happy finale throwing from the top of a hill to a guarded basket below. It's amazing what elevation can do for a course.

It nearly makes the player forget that just about all of these holes are wide open and mostly short. Many birdies are possible with most holes playing 350 feet or (much) shorter until the middle two holes that slap you with a sudden 400 and unexpected 485! The hills and inclines give the player something to focus on other than the plain and direct nature of most of the holes, but they're still rather straightforward. In this case, I think that's a good thing.

I say that because, despite how underwhelming it might seem to a seasoned player, Patriot Fields is a good beginner's course. It introduces the newbie to distance and elevation in a plain wide-open setting instead of overwhelming them with elevation, trees, distance, water and OB all at once. Actually, there probably is some OB in the form of the roads and the solar farm, but the tee signs don't say so. (The fence is easy to climb, anyway!)

In closing, Patriot Hills is a fine beginner's course for those new players who really want to improve under somewhat demanding conditions. True novices may find the course's challenges a bit unfair at first, but that can be overcome with persistence and repetition. And experienced players may be impressed with the hills here, but maybe it ought not be your main destination. Still, if you're in the area and have time for 9, then come fight like a patriot on the hills.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

A Good 9 for beginners and for practice

1    7/17/2019   7/18/2019
Review By: HyooMac
Played: 128  Reviewed: 112  Exp: 3 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
+ Good signage, good baskets
+ High School grounds are nicely maintained - which means the course is mowed
+ Most holes require some thinking (about placement, elevation, wind). The course design does a lot with what it's been given
+ Chances to use forehand (4, 8), overhand (7)
Cons:
- It's true that the solar farm changes Hole #4 for the original intent. But it's a great chance to use a forehand, and let it fade into the hillside. Place an upshot, and you're up and down in par 3. The only thing to be careful is to not mistakenly throw at the #9 basket down at the bottom of the hill
- Hole #6 is a great dogleg. When I look at the picture taken from the basket in 2012, I'm amazed at how well the hole has been allowed to grown in. The tee sign is accurate regarding the dogleg, but the tee marker in the ground suggests aiming directly at the basket (and that would be a mistake)
- Not open during school hours. I imagine that includes team practices, because holes 1 and 2 throw across a marked practice field
Other Thoughts:
~ I love finding 9's that are designed with care, and are then maintained. Patriot Hills fits that bill
- Not enough here to be worth a long drive on its own, but if you're in the area (maybe playing Yetter), it's a fun 30+ minutes of throwing
~ This might be a little frustrating for the really new player (hazards and rollaways), but if they have some experience, this is a great place to get the feel of a course without getting them in too far over their heads

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Good for locals, Not a destination

5+    3/1/2013   3/19/2013
Review By: tarel
Played: 53  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 11.1 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 9 new baskets new chains.
Hole 1: 2 lanes
hole 2: fun hole with a nice terrain use to the left
hole 3: great uphill shot to work on uphill placement
hole 4: good shot for placement drive
hole 5 uphill slopes and fun basket placement
hole 6 signature hole here uphill to tight green,
hole 7. it has a basket on a slope hill putt carefully
hole 8. fun shot go to deep you are in a road
hole 9: fun elevated shot to lower basket. can be throw to 4 or 9's basket.

close to food
Cons: Hole 1 basket is close to a large bush, summer have fun big kahuna if you are in it.
Hole 2 tee box is next to a shed, could be out more.
hole 3. no con
hole 4 knowing which basket to throw to
hole 5 cons, you can throw into a shed and disc can slide under losing your disc, or errant throws can go into the highway,
hole 6 throw to far and your in 2 separate home property backyards
hole 7. this hole is another signature, and its design should never is repeated in any course in history also you might laugh to hard as you wonder what someone was thinking.
hole 8: none I like this hole, basket is in nice spot and is a decent pitch and putt
hole 9: knowing which basket to throw to, crosses with 4

some bathrooms avail depends on time of year


Awkward poor use of land and distance on some of the holes.
Other Thoughts: This design may be suitable for a gym class which only has 30 minute or so to throw some discs out or if you need to test out a putter or a mid range, or you new speed 15 driver. As a former student of this school many years ago I can tell you there is plenty of property that could make this place a useable 18 hole if redesigned, but it would be a course, probably not suitable for your gym period, we have no way to tell what the designer had to work with.

Do not travel to play this its not a destination unless your local or you have no other options. With the 9 baskets you can use the rolling hills and sloped terrain to practice pretty much anything you want here as its almost no traffic.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 May the Wind Be in Your Favor

5+    11/26/2012   11/26/2012
Review By: geminiguy88
Played: 13  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 8.1 Years
This review was updated on 12/5/2012
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Challenging at times even for experienced players, but not impossible for intermediates


Intermediate and experienced players may find this course to be a good place to practice medium distance/fairway driver shots.

Great usage of land available

Almost all open terrain, little chance of lost discs

Signage is very well done and accurate
Cons: Mostly very hilly

When it is windy, forget it

Safety an issue at times as
high school students and athletes are often present, even over the summer and holidays

Probably not good for novices/beginners

Not ideal for power players

Course probably not playable when school is in session (police will likely ask you what you are doing) After normal school hours is fine, but again, athletes and students still may be using the fields.

The pars set for some holes seem unreasonable (i.e. hole # 4, 5)

Many holes on a steep grade, appearing almost crooked. Expect disc rolling.

Structures such as sheds and a newly installed solar panel array present hazards and obstacles.

Grass tees boxes maybe slippery when damp or wet
Other Thoughts: North Warren Regional is my alma mater, so my review maybe a bit biased (probably against it more than for it!)

I was amazed that not only did the school admin allow a course to be built there, but there are legitimate DISCatchers, meaning that the student who designed it had some decent funding behind him to support his ambitious and productive senior project. He did an excellent job of using the land available, a tall order to say the least. However, as my friend commented on some of the holes when we played there last, "you can tell a teenager built this course, because he tried to make a lot of holes EXTREME, man."

The course starts off simple enough, with the first two holes being pretty straight forward and simple, with spot on signage and directions, great for warming up. In fact, the signage is some of the best, most accurate, and "visually pleasing" I have seen in NJ and PA, which is a definite plus in my book. (It puts the nearby River's Edge DGC signage to shame. Seriously, their signage is useless. Its better than Yetter's Park DGC, which is confusing at times, and I feel its even a little better than the venerable Field's of Dreams DGC signage, which is mostly spot on.)

Anyway, here comes #3, up a short hill, simple enough. Except if its windy, which it often is. Heading toward the solar panel array to tee #4, well, I hope you have a disc that flies straight as an arrow because you will soon find yourself chasing your disc down a grassy hill, then shooting back up repeatedly if you use a typical distance or fairway driver. (Even my tried and true Sidewinder didn't stand a chance, as far to the right as I could throw it) A par 3 is listed for hole # 4? For who, world class DG pros? Give me a break kid! I suppose its doable, but you have got to be on point and precise. And have no wind that day. Good luck with that.

The next hole, #5, follows suit in difficulty. You may find yourself scratching your head in disbelief. The tee sign tells it all truthfully, but its hard to believe. On the access road you will find the fifth tee. Hole #5 is down the access road on the right side, behind two sheds, then close to a tree, right by the solar panel field that is out of bounds. Oh, and if you happen to overshoot the shed and over the fence by a hair, your disc is landing in the middle of Route 94. Play it safe. Hole #6 is atop a hill, which is much easier, IMO, to get to if you cut corners and aim for the tee, then shoot up the hill. The hill is very steep and muddy when not approached as intended, but its fun to take a blind/semiblind shot off the grade, safety permitting. Tee # 7 is down the hill past the baseball diamond. Hole # 7 requires you to shoot over some brush, blindly, and to the right a bit. The hole is up a small hill, so rolling discs are a possibility. Hole #8 is pretty simple and straight forward. This one lies on the slope of a hill, so aiming right is a good strategy. Again, rolling discs at this course can easily dash your hopes of par at times. Hole # 9 is one of my favorites out of many courses for some reason. Its on a elevated hill, throwing down hill, over the access road found at tee #5, then around a tree. I usually make one under par on this hole, which helps my ego recover after the beating I get playing this course when it is windy. Its a nice way to end the round because its simple, fun, and a nice change of pace.

If its not windy out, you stand a decent chance of making par on MOST holes if you are experienced, but be prepared to be challenged at times. Challenge is good, it makes you a better player. Take in the nice fields, and rustic atmosphere of small town NJ. Enjoy yourself and have fun... But if it is windy out, be prepared for some weeping and gnashing of teeth. And maybe even cursing the name of the young designer who has created this hilly, windy hellscape. Is it worth the drive there if you aren't local? Thats for you to find out. If you are new to the game, you may want to save this one for later, some time down the road. Potential power players will not be able to fully test their arms at this course, one reason why it is not very beginner friendly. Remember, it is located on school property, so being there during normal school hours may be frowned upon, if anyone even notices you are there. Tobacco usage can get you into some serious trouble if you get caught, and don't even think about drinking/doing whatever you aren't supposed to do since you are in a Drug Free School Zone. Cheers.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.