Fort Rucker, AL 
Flying DGC @ Fort Rucker Share
Uploaded By: scottgopre Hole #3 (Taken 8/2013)
4 / 660ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee Sign



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 9
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
A good course, but bring your hiking gear

5+    7/6/2019   7/17/2019
Review By: Skyith
Played: 45  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: >shot variation >concrete tee pads >baskets are good >scenic - plays by a lake
Cons: >walk from 9 to 10 and 18 to 1. This is the biggest fault. Grueling in the summer >front 9 is open and lack luster with little shot variation >sometimes grass is not cut.
Other Thoughts: This course is great when the grass is mowed. It plays mostly open on the first 9 holes, then moves into a bit more technical area of the course. There is some elevation into play on 12 and 13. 13, 14, and 15 have water in play. Overall, a good course with lots of variations in shots. The walk from 18 to 1 is brutal though.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

A Fly By Adventure

1    5/24/2019   7/11/2019
Review By: wellsbranch250
Played: 369  Reviewed: 353  Exp: 5.5 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: (2.592 Rating) A course with a mix of moderately wooded holes and completely open holes
- CHARACTER - Fort Rucker DGC has some very good core items and a few facility pluses. To start, 6 feet by 10 feet concrete tees and DISCatcher baskets. There is seating at a few tees. Shelters, picnic tables and a port-a-potty near (18s) basket. Also a playground in this area. The DGCR course description lists multiple tees and pin placements before my play, but I did not observe any. Navigation is adequate, see other thoughts.
- SIGNATURE HOLE - Hole (15) is stellar. A 210 foot water clear with an angling water's edge. Heavy woods are 20 feet behind the basket. It's a perfect RHBH hyzer play. I was confident I would park it, but I still got an adrenaline rush on the throw.
- UNIQUENESS - Just enough variety to please the senses. There are some bombs and some technical plays. In addition to the water play on (15), Hole (13) is a stop short of water play and hole (14) has water on the left. There are couple of pockets to hit, namely (18), which also finishes on a 8 foot high embankment. A nice hole distance variation with one 660 foot par 4. While on the flipside, there are a couple low 200 foot chip shots. The tee shot on (16) is an impressive modest down shot considering the flat terrain on much of the course.
- NATURAL BEAUTY - I would have concluded awful through 3 holes, but it gets better after that. The lake was my favorite element, but I also liked the string of moderately wooded holes on (10) through (12). The overall beauty I'd quantify just north of average.
- MAINTENANCE - The course was in great shape on my appearance. Mowed and trimmed up fairways. It even appeared that they had some controlled burns along a few holes.

Cons: Add a half hour more than you think in time to bag this one.
- FINISH FROM PARKING - It's almost a half mile back to the car after finishing (18). Not fun in 90 degree heat and high humidity. I took off (0.075) points for this design flaw.
- DISCONTINUITY - It's also a seven hundred foot walk between (9) and (10). I did not see any cues by the basket or on the path between holes. I pulled out my picture of the map twice to verify my bearings. Also a 300 foot gap between (5) and (6)
- LACK OF CHALLENGE -A mid level Rec course. A good chunk of the length is in the first three open holes, after which the hole length average is under 280 feet. I threw a mid or putter on almost half of the holes and I don't throw that far. As for shot shaping, there are a couple benders or pockets to hit. But otherwise I'd say the technical requirements won't wow any higher skilled players.
- MULTI USE HAZARDS - Walking paths come into play a lot. (17) plays down a road and over basket (14).
- WATER HAZARDS - I personally loved the pucker up play on (15). Beginner and Novice level players will hate it.
- MISSED OPPORTUNITIES - Lots of unused adjacent heavily wooded areas. Seems like the course was intentionally built along the open areas with a couple basket teasers poking into the forest edges.
- ACCESS - Located on a military base. I had to fill out paperwork and give my drivers license for a background check at the visitors center . Then I had to wait for the information to be typed in and processed. The total ordeal took 30 minutes.
- TIME PLAY - The course itself took me about an hour, but because of the noted access con above, this is not a quick bag.

Other Thoughts: I enjoyed it until the walk back to the car after (18). This is a nice course overall and from my travels I'd say it's a fairly typical course. Fort Rucker targets the skill level set for the core of the player population. This would be a fine league course, but no one's bucket list course. For those that live within 90 minutes, it's definitely worth checking out once, but beyond that, you'd have to be a bagger or a helicopter fanatic to wind-up here.
- MUSEUM - The main attraction at Fort Rucker is obviously not the disc golf course. There's a huge Air museum on base and it houses the largest helicopter collection in the United States, and at one time the world. I'm glad I checked it out.
- NAVIGATION - Course map by tee (1). Adequate hole signage showing next tee direction. The course needs a few navigational cues on the longer gaps. Namely after (5) and after (9).

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Mostly open and fun course

1    7/1/2017   7/2/2017
Review By: KINGDUCK
Played: 38  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 10.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -nice variety of holes with distances
-can let the disc fly on longer holes
-family friendly
-on military installation for safer upkeep
-nice elevation changes on numerous holes
-a couple of water holes
Cons: -need more signs
-confusing on where hole 3 is...easily aim for 5
-could use restrooms
-a little confusing between 9 and 10
-long walk to car after 18
-a few holes too open with no obsticles
Other Thoughts: Enjoyed this course and would highly recommend it to others

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  good course

5+    3/12/2016   3/12/2016
Review By: izak32
Played: 7  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.6 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Close geographically. It has a bit of elevation change. 1 or 2 water challenges. Makes for a good round if you are in close proximity.
Cons: Not very diverse. A change to basket placement once in a while would be nice.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Underwhelmed

2-4    9/13/2014   10/2/2014
Review By: DiscKey
Played: 80  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 10.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Clean, no trash
Baskets are all the same
Most tee pads are concrete
Hole 16 best hole by far
Holes 1-5 a good loop to warm up your arm or practice on windy days, basically throwing in a big field.
Cons: - Some natural pads, poor footing
- A lot of the distances incorrect
- Repetitive shots
- a couple of long walks (9 to 10) (18 to 1 really long) definitely need more signage (9 to 10) and (13 to 14)

Other Thoughts: Course being military land they were limited to what they can and can't do, however, there is several adjustments that could be made with pin placement etc that would make for a better design, flow and difficulty. (Ex. 17 pin move left of road in the grassy, already cut area, would make it a good hole.)

- First 5 holes are wide open and only lengthy holes except maybe 16. After hole 5, walk back passed Parkin lot and #6 tee will be on left
- #6 dangerously close to 7 tee
- #7 strait, open
- #8 my 2nd favorite hole, deceiving length
- #9 stait forehand(lefty) route or strait mid/putter (followed by long walk down road to next tee)
- #10 really short strait putter (room for longer tee)
- #11 two natural tees, longer one is a little technical mid-range route
- #12 cool little turnover putter/mid would really like a longer tee for this one strait back to make a legit hole
- #13 short hyzer(righty) putter shot, there is another pin dead strait short downhill by water, I would think this would be the "riskier" putter location. (Followed by long walk beside pond to next tee)
- #14 strait putter shot for both pin locations, one by water's edge, one by road
- #15 mid range shot over edge of pond(distance is a lot shorter than sign says)
- #16 downhill mid/fairway driver shot... Definitely my favorite hole out here. Can run in tow trouble right or deep!
- #17 downhill mid-range (assume OB is road and across) would really like to see this basket moved longer and left of road.
- #18 basket placement is cool, hole is ehhhhh.....

Now enjoy your peaceful walk about a 1/4 mile back to the car.

I will say that if you putt well, you'll be double digits down here. Playing it blind, without a warmup and going birdie-less til hole 12, still managed -4.... And I'm far from a great putter.

If you're in the area and want to sling some plastic, it would be worth it..... If you're within 2 hours, may want to see what else is within that radius. It does have potential, but not sure the military would allow much change.


4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Ft Fun

2-4    4/2/2014   4/3/2014
Review By: dutch_22
Played: 61  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 25.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is on the military base, in a well controlled multi-purpose park. Hole 1 is well marked. There is a large bench along with a board with a complete map of the course if you are not familiar with the layout. You might want to consider taking a picture with your phone, so you can find the transition between holes 9-10, and getting back to the parking lot after hole 18. Holes 1-5 are basic, grip and rip holes. They are wide open with few challenges other than the wind found in the open fields. The remainder of the course offers more natural obstacles such as trees and water. Holes 10-12 have tighter fairways and turns that will require you to shape your shots. Hole 13 plays down to Beaver Lake with a challenging pin location. Holes 14-15 are mostly open however, you must take the water into consideration or risk permanently loosing your disc. Hole 16 plays long, and holes 17-18 offer good birdie attempts to close out your round. This course is beginner friendly as long as you guard your shots around the lake. The more experience arms will be hunting birdie opportunities, and will find them in abundance.
Cons: There have been some comments early on about the natural tees being acceptable however, after much play they are rutted and quite frankly are not safe. This course would be much better served with concrete tee pads. Hole 6 needs to be cleared out on the left side. All of that dead fall is an invitation for snakes to be found. There is no restriction on parking when playing down to hole 13. The enjoyment of challenging yourself to throw down to the lake may be lost by vehicles parked around the basket. I was told that the designer was limited to putting the course in on currently mowed areas in this park, which is why there is greater distance between hole 9-10 and hole 18 and the parking lot. The path back to the parking lot is paved, so enjoy the exercise. The holes could use a few more benches, especially along the back of the park. It would be nice to have water available, along with a restroom facility. Hey, wouldn't that be great everywhere we play?
Other Thoughts: The course is on a military base however, a valid driver's license will get you on the base. Go directly to the gate guard and he will scan your license. They do not know what disc golf is, so be sure you know where you are going before you drive in. Be disc golf park board has a packet with sign up sheet. Be sure to sign in. The more it is used, the more attention it will get for further improvements.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Good mix of skills

5+    9/30/2013   10/1/2013
Review By: Woodpile
Played: 9  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.1 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The front and back 9 are like two different courses. At first there are most open shots - at most requiring some gentle technical curves. The back has narrow gaps and tight turns plus danger from water hazards, and a lot of elevation changes.
Cons: The pond is nasty - your disc is probably not worth getting (or don't throw it). The back 9 are a considerable distance (both start and ending) from the front 9 - but you can drive down and just play the back 9 independently. The natural Tees are showing some wear - bare dirt with small depressions retain water for a while
Other Thoughts: Well marked and generally well-maintained, this is a rewarding course to play.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Saturday walk in the park

1    8/11/2013   8/11/2013
Review By: scottgopre
Played: 48  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 8.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great mixture of long and short holes; open and techincal holes; & beginner friendly to experienced player holes. The techincal holes are great for testing the limits with a mid-range or a putter. The open holes are great for those with a long bomb (drive, probably shouldn't say bomb on the Military base). The short holes almost make you want to unload your bag to try for an ace (I did a few times). The signage is great and has an arrow pointing you in the direction of the next hole - easy to navigate through. I am planning on coming back to play this course again.
Cons: I could not find much wrong with this course other than the fact that hole 18 does not end near hole 1, like most courses do. You walk atleast 1/2 mile from 18 back to 1, if you want to play a second round. I'm not saying that to sound lazy, just doesn't flow well if the ending isn't close to the beginning. I would have like to play a few holes shooting uphill. Some of the open holes are a bit too open (meaning that there isn't a tree or some sort of landmark to help you get an idea of what to throw).
Other Thoughts: Bring plenty of water when you play, especially on a hot day. There are no water faucets or water fountains on the course. The lake makes you want to just chill out during the middle of your round.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Ft. Rucker

1    12/13/2012   12/13/2012
Review By: StPaulie
Played: 113  Reviewed: 45  Exp: 10.9 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: As the first DG course in the Dothan area this is a welcome addition indeed. The course itself was fairly easy to find with a nice board in the parking area with course map. Be sure and take a good look at the map on your first visit, it will help with course navigation. Finding your way around the course is mostly intuitive; however there are a couple of longer walks between tees. From hole #9 you take the road left of the basket , you will see the tee for #10 on the left. The tee for #17 cannot be see from the basket at #16. Just follow the tree line on the left. Another longish walk is from 18 back to the parking lot. Again just follow the road back and you will find it. There are nice signs at each hole that while small they have all the information needed including route to the next tee. Located on the Ft. Rucker military base I assume the designer was not aloud to remove any trees. With this in mind this is a nice layout and interesting course. There is not much elevation change available in this part of the country but every bit available has been incorporated. Good mix of long and technical holes with a balanced mix of hyzer, anhyzer, and straight shots. The course is mostly open with some wooded holes and three holes bringing a small lake into play. Hole #13 is 260 feet downhill with the basket only about 20 feet from the lake, definite test of courage and distance control here. Hole #15 is 405 foot hole across a corner of the lake. To go at the basket you will need to be able to carry about 390 feet to stay dry. There is a safe route available to the righ but it will require a long second shot to save par. The course was incredibly clean, I did not see a single piece of trash lying around, I hope it stays that way. I was fortunate enough to play my round with one of the pilots stationed here, nice treat for me.
Cons: There are very few negatives here. The tees boxes are natural; however they are well marked and maintained. Trash cans and benches would be a nice addition. There are signs warning of snakes in the area so watch where you walk.
Other Thoughts: I found this a very fun course to play with plenty of obstacles to navigate but not so difficult that you would not want to bring a newbie to play. This is a brand new course so we need to view it that way. It is sufficiently complete in its current configuration. Additionally there is a multitude of opportunities for improvements in the future. Such as multiple tees and pin positions. Besides where else can you play a round of golf with Apache helicopters flying around you?

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.