Course Extinct
Checotah, OK 
Hummingbird Beach DGC Share
Uploaded By: Winger Hole #1 (Taken 12/2012)
3 / 274ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Basket



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
 Jekyll and Hyde course

1    3/19/2019   3/30/2019
Review By: Pizza God
Played: 982  Reviewed: 352  Exp: 33.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Map at parking lot
Plenty of Parking
restrooms
Tee signs for all the holes
mowed fairways
Cons: uneven grass tee pads
ridiculous holes on the back side (see below)
Other Thoughts: A Re-Tire course. You see several of these in State Parks in Oklahoma. I actually don't mind them. They tend to hold up well.

The course is set up almost as 2 nine hole courses. The front 9 start behind the bathrooms just past the practice basket and tree's. You have holes 1, 2 and 3 are all wide open shots.

Hole 4 is a hard dogleg to your left. Hole 5 is a softer dogleg left.

6 is another wide open short hole.

7 is a huge turnover with OB fence line of you go long.

8 is a very long dogleg that hanges right at the very end. The grass was mowed short so I threw a roller and was in the evergreen next to the basket.

Then 9 is a short straight shot.

That is the tame side, then you get to the ridiculous holes.

The back 9 holes are on the other side of the street and mostly go though the woods.

It is easier to start at hole 18 than hole 10

18 is the longest hole on the course, but it pretty open and slightly downhill. Basket is next to an evergreen tree that blocks the big hyzer and there is an OB fence line behind the basket.

Then it starts to get fun

Hole 10 is a hard dogleg right into the edge of the woods

11 throws back our but is a dogleg right again.

Then some real fun, these holes are mostly clearings in the woods.
Hole 12 heads off to the left, but is not a wide fairway and very hard to get to off the tee pad.
Hole 13 is a crazy left, then right shot You basically have to walk the hole to figure out where to throw. Even then, it is a tough shot to land where you can get a 3

Hole 14 is not quite as crazy, but has several large evergreen trees you have to navigate to get to a basket tucked back into the woods.

Then you have 2 crazy holes, 15 and 16. If you thought 13 was crazy, these are even harder.

Your basically throwing down a walking path, but it goes back and forth. Unless your able to throw over the top, I don't see how a 3 is even possible on these holes. You have to play them to understand what I mean.

Hole 17 is a decent hole with the basket tucked up between some trees on the right.

Would I play here again? Nope, the holes are either easy, or ridiculous. I do recommend playing here one time though, just to see probably the most crazy disc golf holes I have ever played. (don't forget how many courses I have played to be able to say that)


1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Hummingbird Beach DGC (18 hole)

1    8/18/2016   8/18/2016
Review By: reezyF
Played: 221  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 12.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: My three pros:

-I always enjoy state park disc golf courses because they have a wooded-hike feel that adds to the enjoyment of the round for me. This course has some open holes but several more that wind through secluded woods. Add t o that the lake in the backround on 18 and 10 and this course is fairly scenic.
-There is a courses map & bathroom at the parking lot and tee signs at all but one hole. Also a nice playground, camping and swimming beach all right next to the parking lot.The course 'fairways' were recently mowed and lower than the surrounding rough, with mowed walkways between holes to help navigate.
-Some holes were a little too 'technical' for my tastes (see below) but I did appreciate the mix of wide open and closed holes with turns both ways to test out FH and BH throws.


Cons: My three cons:

-Some of the holes at this course were unlike any holes I had played before. #7 & #12-17 had such extreme turns, twists and doglegs that the posted short distance and par were demoralizing eventually. Some holes like #13 or #15 were still a tough putt with 2 well placed shots, and a misplaced shot will undoubtely put you in a mass of trees and brush- so forget the roller.
-The rough here was super rough. Many of the crazy doglegs at this course will put you in the thick brush or trees if you miss the right window. I spent 15+ minutes looking for a disc between 2 of the easier holes. AND THEN THERE'S THE BUGS. I was weary when the course description mentioned 'insects' but now i see why. There was some sort of waspbeething that defended the treeline anytime i came close making it tough to search for discs in the trees or throw from the treeline. I was the only person out there and Ive never felt so rushed.
-Dirt tee pads that were a little uneven and sloped in some places
Other Thoughts: I love state park courses because i love state parks but this course was a beatdown in some ways. Between the tough rough, the flying bugs and the crazy dogleg shots i was ready to be done on hole 18. With that said, i enjoyed the course allot and felt the newer front 9 holes were pretty fun and a good warmup for the tougher, original back 9 holes. I was skeptical about the tire-baskets but they did just fine and didnt bother my round one bit. The thing that made this course something i would come back for is the onsite camping (a sweet yurt 100yds from #1) and swim beach. It felt awesome to finsh my round and go jump in the beautiful lake for a nice cool-down.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Short and sweet!

1    4/21/2013   4/22/2013
Review By: Dan H.
Played: 81  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 13.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -The course is in a beautiful and well maintained park with a nice view of the lake.

-The fairways are tight enough to provide some challenge despite the shortness of most of the holes.

-Good variety of dog legs (left and right)

-I love the re-tire baskets. They catch really well. I would probably get spoiled playing those often.

-Good tee signs

-easy to navigate

-the park was very clean and did I mention the fairways were mowed? Very nice!

-Hole 9 is about 400' and wide open which added a nice little distance challenge after playing all those short and winding holes.
Cons: -Very short

-Pretty flat

-No tee pads, but the tee markers were a good design and worked well.
Other Thoughts: I definitely recommend this course to anyone traveling through. Adding 9 more holes with more distance and elevation changes would make this an AWESOME course.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Hummingbird Beach DGC

2-4    1/19/2013   1/22/2013
Review By: Curtis H
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is the toughest in this area. The tight fairways which wind through the trees force players to be creative with shots.
Cons: The tee boxes are slick during the winter and need solid footing.
Other Thoughts: The course is challenging and yet there are no water hazards to lose discs in. There is talk of adding 9 more holes.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.