Perry, GA 
Rozar Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: BrianBern Hole #5 (Taken 11/2013)
3 / 320ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 13
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2
Rozar Park

1    11/12/2017   11/20/2017
Review By: craigd
Played: 111  Reviewed: 101  Exp: 9.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Rozar Park hosts a decent little beginner/rec course. Ringing up at just 3919 feet, it's definitely on the shorter side. After all, only five of the holes even break the 250 feet mark and only one of those tops 300 feet. As such, there's birdie opportunities galore and of course plenty of ace runs. Openness dominates the layout with very little trouble to tack on strokes. Overall this is a very easy course, perfect for the presumed audience in this family friendly park. Surprisingly though, where the course lacks in challenge, a lake is near some of the greens and can keep the aggressive or uncontrolled throwers on their toes. Hole 15 can give you a taste of a water carry should you choose to take that route.

As far as the park and amenities, this has a pretty nice set up. The Landscape has nice grassy areas with lightly rolling hills, mostly towards the lake. Small trees and mature pines pepper the course while a few unnatural features add to the obstacles. Hole one begins near a decent sized parking lot and an informational kiosk. The course flow is intuitive for even the non-veteran disc golfers while tee signs and next tee markers here and there help guide the way. Unexpectedly, for such a short course, the cement tee pads are quite roomy. The Liberty baskets are probably not a crowd favorite but do the job nicely on a course like this.

This is a great course for practice or experimenting with new shots. If you are in a hurry, a solo round can be knocked out in about 30-45 minutes. It would also make for some good glow golf. Ace races/par 2 challenge type events would also be tailored for this layout. For its intended design, it has everything needed to introduce players to the sport.
Cons: There's a few safety issues. Baskets and tee pads are crowded together in a few spots. Fairways can get close to one another at times as well. This is really pronounced on the last few holes. Further, other park users are bound to interact on the course, especially on nice days. An early chilly Friday morning round had me dodging a fisherman, a vehicle parked on the course, and a group of folks getting family pictures. I just can't even imagine a warm weekend day out here. There is just not a lot of separation from course to random park goers on several of the holes.

The lack of challenge will leave advanced players wanting more. Everyone loves birdie holes but a steady diet of 18 of them could get uninteresting after a while. The repetitiveness and lack of original or signature holes can also add to the feeling. Overall, this is just a recreational course leaving a gap for the advanced/open players. There is not a ton of space to expand for the addition of a longer set of tees with the existing layout.

I don't see this course being able to support a full field tourney in its configuration without some setbacks in multiple regards.
Other Thoughts: Overall, I had fun out here at this course. Again, advanced players who play the course frequently will probably become wary with it quickly but its serves its purpose well in this family friendly multi-use park. For those trying to get as many courses played on their list, this one is good one. And the challenge of trying to rack up as many birds as possible makes for an enjoyable round.

This is a good, quick course not far off I-75 so travelers passing by can swing by a run through it in no time and get back on the road.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Easy Breezy Beautiful

1    9/4/2017   9/4/2017
Review By: thrembo
Played: 150  Reviewed: 104  Exp: 42.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A shorter more recreational type course with some water hazards and scenic mature trees. Fantastic concrete tees with adequate signing. Very fun course and a quick play with easy navigation. Well maintained and with plenty of benches for taking a break on. Enough challenge to make it interesting and the real water hazards add an element of danger. One tee and one basket per hole keeps it simple.
Cons: Not too much to complain about here. It may be on the short side, but so what. Every course doesn't have to be 9000' does it?

Are you looking for the hole 17 basket? Turn around and look towards the building. For some reason the tee sign on 17 faces the wrong way.
Other Thoughts: A solid rec style course that would make a good everyday thrower and a great course to stretch your legs on if driving by on I-75.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

I75 Pit Stop

1    7/4/2017   8/30/2017
Review By: wellsbranch250
Played: 200  Reviewed: 158  Exp: 3.9 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: (2.467 Rating) Stacked with risk reward ace runs.
- ACEABILITY - You are probably 3 or 4 times more likely to ace here than at a normal course. You will have great opportunities on holes (4, 7, 12, 14, 15 and 16) which are all under 200 feet in length. Several tee shots are however risky to run at, as an aggressive miss could make an introduction into the water.
- TEES - Better than average concrete tees. I think they were 6 x10 or so and they were in good condition.
- CHARACTER - In addition to the solid tees, there's a solid course map and community board near tee (1). There's adequate hole signage for this course showing par, distance and hole #. No artistic description of the hole is on them but for a course this short and visible, not a major drawback. Other extras include restrooms, shelter, water hose bib and a few seating areas. Missing items I would have liked to have seen, include a practice basket, a second set of longer tees and multiple basket placements.
- NAVIGATION - With a photo of the course map, I had very little issue navigating this course. There are only a couple of directional cues on the course, but not a big deal when the next tee is within 75 feet and the tee sign is viewable.
- SIGNATURE HOLE - Although a shorter hole, number (15) is a beautiful tee shot. Water frames the basket short and right. Heavy overgrowth is on the left. A well crafted wood bridge crosses the water in front and the bridge is flanked by rose bushes. The shot also plays about 10 feet down as well.
- NATURAL BEAUTY - In addition to the before mentioned hole, the overall beauty of the course is above average. Lots of water features in view. Slightly sloping terrain and the vegetation is moderately diverse and has an overall healthy appearance.
- QUICK PLAY - I blew through my first round here solo in 45 minutes. My guess is that a group of 4 would play in under two hours, perhaps even an hour and a half.
- MAINTENANCE - Other than a little bit of trash along the ponds, this course was in marvelous shape. Few branches or twigs littered about, cut grass, trimmed shrubs and little overgrowth.
Cons: Less than average uniqueness and too easy for many players.
- SKILL LEVEL FRIENDLY - Despite the short length, I'd be wary of bringing a beginner here as they'd probably throw one of your discs into the drink. In addition, pro and advanced players will find the difficultly here way to easy. Rozar, probably caters best to rec players with at least a two years experience and lower end intermediate players.
- UNIQUENESS - The holes themselves are lacking the uniqueness that you'd see on your average 18 hole course. The course is extremely short and averages 219 feet per hole. Other than maybe hole (5), many advanced players could get by with just a putter. There really aren't any doglegs. No hole twists even a little bit, perhaps one is a 5 degree bend. There is one blind basket (7). There are a few windows to hit, and a few holes that are guarded by trees. There is water in play on several shots however, see below.
- WATER HAZARDS - Lots of water hazards on this course. I personally threw one in on (11) and spent a few minutes trying to fish it out with a stick. The water looks fairly deep in spots, and if you throw a disc well in, you'll probably be leaving a souvenir. Bring a floater.
- PAR 4s - The signs really need to be updated to state all par 3s.
- ELEVATION - Really not that much. Total elevation change is not greater than 15 feet throughout the entire layout, with no hole changing by more than 10 feet. In retrospect, due to the lack of elevation, the course will work good for those that like to have the disc golf stroller caddie.
Other Thoughts: I played two other nearby bagger type courses in addition to Rozar the same day (Lions Field, Harvest Church). Rozar Park was clearly my favorite of the three. I be happy to call this course my home course if I lived in the area, but by no means is this a destination must play course. For out of Staters taking the I75 corridor, I highly recommend Freedom Park in Valdosta about 2 hours further south.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Risk/Reward & Ace Runs

5+    10/6/2016   10/12/2016
Review By: jsemales
Played: 43  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 13.5 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a fun little course. It's obviously tailored toward beginners, but advanced players will enjoy the challenge. Just about every hole is a potential Ace Run, but if you don't make it, you'll find yourself struggling to get back for par. It offers a fair variety of shots and can be played with mostly Mids/Putters. A few holes require a driver, but not many.
Cons: It's a short course, but its short enough to really get a few rounds in at a time. The water is grimy and not fun to retrieve discs out of, but otherwise the course is fairly simple. It's really easy to follow and play, but difficult to master.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Short Holes are the hardest!

1    6/23/2016   6/23/2016
Review By: WhaleParty
Played: 18  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 15 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a great course for beginners and advanced players alike. Beginners will appreciate the lesser distance of the baskets and the conservative par 4s. More advanced players will find this course to test them technically with strategy of approach drives and not overthrowing the basket and into the water. This course has nice tee pads and overall has an easy to follow layout. The upkeep of the course is very nice and the scenery is beautiful. It is a very quiet disc golf course tucked away in a neighborhood in Perry GA. Lots of ducks are Geese in the ponds. Water hazards can easily be avoided by playing conservative.
Cons: Some of the pars are a little confusing. Most of the par 4s can be played as par 3s. It can be easy to over throw baskets and drive into the ponds. The water has many Do Not swing signs and it's probably not the cleanest water but most discs should be recoverable with a few wet feet.
Other Thoughts: Bring a floating disc and retriever to go for the Ace!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  

1    5/19/2015   5/20/2015
Review By: KGustine
Played: 28  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Let's call it what it is! An excellent beginners course. The layout is risk and reward for many of the holes. There are many holes 200ft or less, but still enough holes to get beginners wanting more range. The scenery is beautiful. Great tee signs (I have dealt with maing tee signs before) and next tee markers. NICE tee pads!!
Cons: Yes there were some people walking around, but we didn't wait more than 60 seconds at any time.
Other Thoughts: The only reason this is not a 5 in my book is that there are similar courses with more variation that is simply not possible at this park. We were in town on business and I took a friend who was a beginner. Worked out great.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/16/2014   6/17/2014
Review By: StPaulie
Played: 112  Reviewed: 45  Exp: 9.3 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nicely laid out short course around two ponds and a creek. This is a good course to bring new players otherwise all you will need is mid ranges and a putter. The concrete pads are all in good shape and the signage was adequate. Navigation was quite intuitive, no real need for map. The course itself is well designed with maximum use of the available trees to force you think about your tee shots and not just chuck it. The biggest risk is water, many of the pins are placed close to the water. For elevation change (hard to find in central Georgia) everything slopes toward the ponds and maximum use of this is taken advantage of. My favorite two holes were 15 and 16 which play over the creek and on 15 it is placed behind a bridge that makes it a blind shot. For the more experienced players there are ace runs available everywhere.
Cons: While played on a weekday afternoon, I still had to watch out for a couple of pedestrians. On a weekend I can see this being a real danger. This is central Georgia don't forget the sun screen and the bug spray.
Other Thoughts: While this is a rather short course there are enough tree and water hazards to keep you interested. It also provides a chance to work on your mid-range game. I would play here again.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Great and my home course

5+    5/12/2014   5/12/2014
Review By: carpan09
Played: 9  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.5 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1. Good concrete tee pads
2. easy course flow
3. bathrooms and trash cans
4. good mix of 3s and 4s
Cons: 1. 1st, 2nd, and 10th holes are too close to other things
2. parkgoers are often in the way
3. a little confusing on the back 9
4. a little easy
Other Thoughts: My home course. Great for practice, beginners, and is worth the round.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Pretty Okay

2-4    12/27/2013   12/27/2013
Review By: mullethead326
Played: 193  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 5.3 Years
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -This course is appropriate for beginners, families, and local players wishing to practice basic shots. It has acceptable baskets and teepads, and most of the lines are generous. Signage is sparse, but enough to get by.
-Hole 13 is a great hole. It could fit in on nearly any course-- it requires a well-executed shot to reach the pin, with just enough lake danger to make me think.
-When I have played, the course has been well-maintained, with teepads clear, few leaves or limbs in fairways or intended throwing lines, and shule abutting park boundaries reasonably thinned.
Cons: -15-18 are a mess. They're the worst offenders, but several basket and teepad areas coincide--definitely not a good thing on a course with mixed user groups and occasional blind shots.
-15-18 deserve an emphatic "yikes!" as well.
-I definitely got the impression that other park users (walkers, lake users, picnickers) could pose a problem on busy days.
-Hole 9's tee sign (among others) is oriented strangely, such that I looked over the lake (the back of the pad) to try to find the basket. I get why it's there, since the course flow requires a walk to that point, but this still poses unnecessary confusion.
-Several shots are redundant. Some of that is limitations of the land and trees, but 3 holes go downhill directly to the lake, and 6 of the 7 holes between 200 and 250 can be played with a basic hyzer.
Other Thoughts: -Overall, I had a good experience at the course. The park's other amenities would be suitable for families stopping on a road trip. Don't go here as a destination, but it's not bad as a practice course or a quick round.
-I'm not aware of how much other land around the park is available, but I think the course's safety and entertainment value would improve by using about 12 holes in the space of the current 18.

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    10/24/2013   10/24/2013
Review By: antibomb
Played: 7  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7.6 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Very nice park and course
-Free admission
-Good variety
-Trash Cans
-Beginner friendly
Cons: -Can get crowded
-Course gets very close to other amenities at times
-Lots of random park goers on course and impeding holes
-Hole layout gets confusing on the last few holes
Other Thoughts: Would love to see some improvements at this course, has potential to be much better

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.