Syracuse, NY 
Heritage Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #8 (Taken 8/2014)
3 / 240ft.   3 / 345ft.   3 / 420ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Basket to 'B' Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 9
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
Better, harder than I expected

1    6/7/2019   6/9/2019
Review By: DumfriesLizzie
Played: 36  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 1.4 Years
This review was updated on 6/16/2019
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Park and course cleaner and better than I expected. Other sports here to be aware of and acknowledge as equally valid: baseball, playground, hiking, picnicking. Unaffected by the disc golf are some tennis courts. Try to take advantage of the big, open field. I like how no. 9 routes and that it appears repeatable to end with a nice score. The wood holes are so-so but overall not terrible. Good to have 3 tee positions but...
Cons: Marking of the tees was hit or miss. I never found the red tee of no. 4. Tees are just bare spots on the ground. No pads. Sometimes marked with a spiked cube, sometimes not. That is not the end of the world, and in a small city park like this, to be expected.
Other Thoughts: I'm a beginner and was intimidated on the first outing. I generally always am on a course I don't know. Made alot of stupid errors that I won't next time I play. Also I was a bit overrun by some of the local regulars. No malfeasance, just causing me some degree of unnecessary frustration. And it was not crowded. Sometimes one just arrives at the wrong time.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun, easy, quick play!

1    9/19/2016   9/21/2016
Review By: Dmasland
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Relatively short holes. Three tees for each hole provide a variety of shots. Mix of wide open and thru the woods shots. Very good place to take a beginner.
Cons: Map on the score-card is helpful for finding tees... but there were still a few I never found. This multi-use park has a nice feel, but when I played there were a number of people walking the trail that winds thru portions of the course... so I ended up waiting quite a bit for people to walk out of my line. Private yards very close to some of the baskets.
Other Thoughts: As someone else said, you can play 27 holes (all the tees) in 90 minutes... I did after work one evening. I am an intermediate player, so all of the short shots and putting work was good for my game.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Begin here. Keep playing here.

5+    6/1/2016   6/3/2016
Review By: mthammer
Played: 29  Reviewed: 12
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Can play 3 times in 90 minutes. Good place to take new players. Holes are very birdie-able but they don't get boring. A few places to drive relatively long and some nice short touch holes.
Cons: Fairly busy park so have to watch for walkers and families using the fields and playground. Natural tees can get muddy and worn. Park dries quickly after rain, though.
Other Thoughts: Great use of the space. It's remarkable to have gotten 9 fairly unique holes in a neighborhood park. Great place for beginners but long time players should have fun too. I play it a lot and always have fun.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Heritage disc golf course

1    5/13/2015   5/13/2015
Review By: vcisjb
Played: 9  Reviewed: 7
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Three tees for most baskets
grills on site!!!
nearby to stores, for drinks or burgers
very well maintained park. grass cut, park equipment in good condition.
Family friendly
Cons: Tees are extremely hard to find. extremely!
Be careful when going for long distances, it could easily end up in someones back yard.
The majority of the course is on top of itself. You will see three baskets from most of the tees...
Other Thoughts: If this is your first time going here, you will be frustrated. Even with the map at the gate its hard to navigate. However, once you learn where the tees and their corresponding baskets are, this course is a lot of fun. Its fun to practice anything on. If your a medium player you'll have a solid chance of getting a birdie on most holes. Like a moped, you love to ride it, but you don't tell your friends...

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Nice for begginers

5+    1/14/2015   1/25/2015
Review By: BgGrls Dont Cry
Played: 141  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 7.8 Years
This review was updated on 1/21/2016
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Multiple tees. Many birdies. Easy enough for beginners.
Cons: Poor markings of tees. Natural tees. A number of the gold tees have yet to be completed over a year after the installation was 'completed'. A few of the baskets lie too close to the surrounding yards.
Other Thoughts: This is course offers a fun round for even the most novice players. Wide open fairways on most holes, with usually only a single obstacle to avoid. Will not offer experienced players many challenges.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Solid 9-Hole Course

1    8/15/2014   8/17/2014
Review By: S.Cann
Played: 150  Reviewed: 83  Exp: 10.8 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Great map at Kiosk. Scorecards are available.
-Great use of the space available! The holes here give experienced players obstacles and challenging par 3s while not being too frustrating for newer players.
-Three tees per hole give completely different looks on almost every hole without being just long vs. short.
-The course plays in a circle with the bathrooms, course map, and parking lot all by holes 1 & 9.
Cons: -This course would be nearly impossible to play without a map. You can take a picture of the one at the Kiosk or grab a scorecard.
-There are no signs marking each hole or directing you to the next hole. Some tees were marked with small wooden squares, but many are missing.
-Tees are all natural and difficult to find if the wooden squares were missing. You find yourself looking for a worn patch in the grass and cross-referencing it with the map to figure out where to tee off from.
Other Thoughts: Overall, this is a good 9-hole course that plays in and through trees in a small park. It's perfect for a fun, quick play or to take inexperienced players out.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Short and sweet

5+    10/15/2013   10/17/2013
Review By: Swade
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -Multiple tees allow for a nice variety, especially when playing more than one round.
-Course stays in nice shape and is always improving.
-I really like the layout and try to maximize the multiple tees.
Cons: -No permanent tee pads.
-Lots of dog walkers.
-Small setting can get crowded quickly, especially evenings.
Other Thoughts: This is a great little course that plays around the outside of a small neighborhood park.

Its a new course so there is still some room for improvement. A couple holes are being worked on. It's only going to get better.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great local course

1    4/19/2013   4/19/2013
Review By: jedimasterbryan
Played: 18  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 8.7 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Nice park setting, looks pretty well maintained
-Quality baskets
-The layout is very straightforward, you never have to search for the next hole, even without a map or signage
-Good variety of holes
Cons:
-Most of the holes are pretty short
-The park itself is pretty small and I can see it getting pretty busy, especially during weekends and summers (I played in the middle of the day on a friday and didn't run into any issues)
-I'd like to see a main bulletin board with a course map and par listings
-Signage at the holes would be nice, though you can see the basket from most holes so its not a must
-No concrete tees, its a brand new course though so this doesnt surprise me.
Other Thoughts: Overall I would highly recommend this course. Considering it just went up its in great condition. The hole layout was well thought out and really takes advantage of the parks size. Its also pretty close to the area's main course Clay Park which could make for a fun day of disc golf. I think the addition of concrete tees and some extra signage over time could really make this course special. I will certainly be back.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Diamond in the rough

5+    2/12/2013   2/13/2013
Review By: EvilTwin
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 39.7 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The final design / layout will offer 3 tees for all 9 baskets.
This course offers something for all levels, shorter holes for the new and recreational players.
Midrange for all around challenge and even some length for the advanced and pro arms.
This course has true disc golf holes, hyzer, anhyzer, shaping shots, and true fairways for most of the holes.

Great couse for your winter game, keeps your walking to a minimum and lets you play different lengths.

Family friendly, pavilion, playground, tennis, and basketball.
Bathrooms open seasonally.
Great place to get a quicker round in, or play this as a warm up.
CLAY Central is 2 miles (NW)
Cons: Multi use park, use have to watch for walkers and dog walkers.
The course is surrounded on all sides with residential property. If you end up in a back yard please be considerate and don't go in someones backyard. (Maybe knock on a front door)
This park / course has limited space, it is still under some development.
It will have a summer youth program for several weeks in summer and I am sure it will a very popular course.
Be patient. this course will get congested at times.
POISON IVY, is abundant...However the village has taken big steps to remove and and stop the spread of the IVY..
Other Thoughts: This course still in development......
I have markers / flags for all tees.
Blue, white, gold
Please be respectful,
REMEMBER WE HAVE NEIGHBORS!

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.