Athens, GA 
Sandy Creek Park Share
Uploaded By: whalaw Hole #13 (Taken 12/2009)
3 / 155ft.   3 / 255ft.   3 / 300ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 White Tee: Pin Position B



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 37
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
1 2 3 4 Next >
 The Real Deal

1    1/28/2009   1/30/2009
Review By: hooboy
Played: 52  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 13.7 Years
This review was updated on 2/17/2009
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is the real deal. You will need all your shots, and you will get a real workout. Three sets of all cement tee pads, and three pin positions per hole (also a con - fusing). Course is basically two distinct 11's. First 11, relatively open, with good use of terrain changes, and the trees / obstructions available. Second 11 is heavily wooded, though with decent fairway pathways, i.e its fair. Elevation changes, lots of walking, you definitely feel "on your own" in these woods. Last hole, 23 is an open bomber. This course is a great challenge, and a real workout. Locals are friendly, guy came out of the guard shack to direct me from 8 to 9 (across the road). Wooded holes are relatively well marked, having a map is a real plus.
Cons: I don't like the three basket locations. Combined with three tee pads you have up to 9 possible combinations. I could rarely tell which pin I was shooting to, and/or I had to walk half the hole to figure it out. First 8 holes somewhat mingle with rest of park / sheds / roads, etc. Hole map / distance / par is only at back tee, sometimes a long walk back. Course can be confusing to navigate, be sure and get a map from the guard house. Some long walks between holes. With 23 holes, elevation changes, long walks between holes, bring water. You'll be tired when you're done. This is not a quick play. Park is a bit out of the way, north of Athens.
Other Thoughts: Cons aside, I loved the layout, and the workout. If this were just a little better marked, and more compact I'd go 4.5. Here's where I got lost - Number 9 is across road from 8 (directly behind number 1 tee), 11 tee is left of ten basket at the end of the parking lot. To get from 21 to 22 you walk right by 13 tee (I stopped to play it, and then had a deja vu). Number 11 is a beautiful throw down to the edge of a lake. This is a really good course, but be ready to walk.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 variety

1    11/12/2008   11/12/2008
Review By: Innovadude
Played: 234  Reviewed: 185  Exp: 23.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 3 different areas, beginning with open and some massive holes on gradual grassy hills, with some patches of rough woods. Then moving into a more manicured park area along the park road, then into tight but old growth woods with little rough. Has 3 sets of cement tees per hole. Up to 3 pin placements per hole (also a con- see below). Major difficulty change from long-long to short-short. Makes you throw everything you got from roller to tomahawk to skip shot off a road. Long woods holes make for upshots, landing zones and smart playing. Must be able to throw straight. Very well cared for and mowed. Clubhouse type building, secure park, course map and scorecard, restrooms, vending.
Cons: Doesn't flow too well at several junctions- without the map you may have trouble but with it no worries (available at msg. board, at gatehouse, and online).
*Multi-pin placements shown on sign, but not WHICH is current, so even if you know it like the back of your hand, you may still have to walk far up on some blind holes to find the basket.
Other Thoughts: I talked to the people at the gatehouse and recommended some system for pin placement markings.
Awesome course overall.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  

2-4    11/1/2008   11/3/2008
Review By: Steve Adams
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This is a very beautiful & challenging course. Nearly every hole has some type risk associated with it. There are so many great holes, it's hard to pick a favorite. But 21 is pretty awesome-driving through the narrow fairway, across the bowl, to the basket ontop the far bank.
Cons: Walk from 21 basket to 22 tee pad has to cross #13 fairway.
It's not within 5-10 miles of my house.
Other Thoughts: Can't wait for the final 4 hole to be put in, making this a 27 hole "must play" course.
Park personnel are very 'disc golf' friendly.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Sandy Creek

5+    11/8/2010   10/24/2008
Review By: Fender088
Played: 25  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 14.1 Years
This review was updated on 11/10/2010
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has 23 beautiful holes. All holes have concrete tees and nearly all of them have multiple tees. The variation here is great. There's downhill shots, uphill shots, extremely wooded fairways, completely clear fairways, and a great mix of distance and difficulty. I've only played a handful of courses, but this is the most complete course I've ever seen. Park personnel drove past us twice to pick up trash and to see if we'd lost any discs while we were playing. That's the kind of commitment that's needed to maintain a premier tournament course. Supposedly they are supposed to add more holes soon. Did I mention that this course is beautiful? One of the middle holes overlooks a lake.
Cons: You do have to pay to play which kind of sucks, but it's worth it if you're just visiting. It's $4 to play, but you can buy a season pass. Hope you're in shape if you're gonna play this course. The last time I played this course the hole that plays up to the club house was taken out due to people hitting the building and taking out windows. You still have over 18 holes to play though.
Other Thoughts: It would be really hard to get bored with this course because there is so much variation. Make sure you take advantage of the simplistic front 9 because things get a little more difficult when you get towards the woods.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    10/14/2008   10/16/2008
Review By: rgarcia140
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 12.9 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is the best course I've played yet, lots of open field drives par 3, and tight wooded, long par 4. very well manicured, very pretty landscape, Dog Allowed! I Love It.
Cons: they should finish up making the last 4 holes. A little better markers directing to the next tee woulb nice on the first 14 holes.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 A+ Course

2-4    10/7/2008   10/7/2008
Review By: abarger1
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 14.1 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great Great course! Wide variety of holes. The first 11 are all very open and then the next 12 are through the woods. Located in the middle of a great park so after a round of disc golf you can visit the lake or even camp there if you have to. Has great upkeep, the holes always look nice with little to no trash. 3 different concrete tee boxes and maps of the holes on each tee. Also has 3 different hole locations the hole feels new every time you visit.
Cons: The pay to play kind of stinks. Its $2 to get into the park and $1 to play. If you want a disc golf membership for the local players you have to get a park membership too which totals out to be $55 for a year. If i had to get picky i would say....no water fountains??
Other Thoughts: There are more holes to come! When its all done there will be 27. Hooray!!


P.S: If anyone finds a pink innova eagle on #13 please let me know!

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Worth admission price.

8/7/2007   12/25/2007
Review By: mactavius
Played: 17  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 14.1 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great layout. Concrete tees. The wood's holes are challenging (especially #12). First 11 holes fairly open though use natural foliage wisely. The rest (excluding the closing hole) are a true test of skill and placement.
Cons: Not the easiest course to walk
Other Thoughts: PDGA Open Qualifier held here in the spring of 2007. 22 holes and counting.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 4 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.