Irvine, CA 
UC Irvine Share


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
Wow, was I surprised!

1    7/22/2017   7/23/2017
Review By: The Katana Kid
Played: 74  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 1.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Aldrich Park is beautiful, spacious, and about perfect for disc golf, as long as you go there when students aren't around, which I did on a late Saturday afternoon. Here's the apt description Google gives the park: "Circular, 19-acre botanical garden in the center of UC Irvine, site of many ceremonies & events."

Object disc golf! I've always avoided disc golf courses that do not have baskets. But I've had a paradigm shift after playing to concrete street posts all around Aldrich Park with different varieties of colored tape on them. One benefit to object golf is that all you need to do is hit the object. I've missed many birdies and a few aces in the past when my disc hit the chains and did not stay in the basket. That problem goes away throwing at an object. I heard some object courses have an audible gong when you hit the object, but none of that here.

The park is not flat. It is kinda like a 19 acre bowl with ups and downs throughout. Therefore there are elevation shots galore.

There are a lot of mature trees that add to the challenge.

I haven't been on a Sunday morning yet but it sounds like that's when the locals come out in force. I can't verify that.

There are FOUR different courses here. The information says to study the course maps beforehand, which cannot be emphasized enough. I just played safari since I had not studied the maps and that was fine for me on my first trip.
Cons: People will likely be around at any point in time because this is such a nice park in the middle of a university. But if you compare that to the options in Southern California for disc golf (Huntington Beach, La Mirada, or El Dorado) then UCI looks really good if you can miss the busy times there.
Other Thoughts: Since this is a university I'm surprised all the distances have not been calculated and entered for all 4 courses. Come on students! You're tempting me to go back with a GPS and do your job for you.

mashnut, one of the senior reviewers of this site, gives this place 1 disc. I agree with his pros and his cons, but compared to the other Southern California courses (mainly Orange County) I think it deserves a 3.5.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Play on weekend, no baskets only tape on poles

1    1/17/2017   1/17/2017
Review By: travelsurflive
Played: 23  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 0.4 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Fun and different kind of shots
- some elevation changing shots
- good practice to hit a pole, get better at hitting basket
Cons: - no baskets
- cant play when school is in session, to much traffic
- can lose a disc on top a building
- little confusing, tee boxes only marker on sidewalk in paint
Other Thoughts: Bring a map! i would advise probably not drinking on campus...

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Commando style

5+    10/31/2015   1/1/2016
Review By: Larswar
Played: 13  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 19.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great park in the middle of the UCI campus. Very beautiful and well matained park.
The best way to have fun, Ive found is going commando style. Where we make up are own course using all the different colored taped trees, some great shots on this course with lots of elevation.
Not always that crowded, you just have to pick the right times.
Cons: Really hard to follow course, unless your a student or with a guide.
No baskets only different color tape around trees.
Other Thoughts: If you could have baskets in here the course could be great.
We bring in are own portable basket and have a blast.
Everyone is nice. And great place to show the positive side of the disc golf lifestyle.
You can get some great elevation shots, if your creative and know where to look. I'm talking about 300+ feet up!
They have maps on line here that you can print out and try to follow.
I would say nicer then Local Deerfield, if you do it right.
Epic Sailing Away
LW

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Object golf at its best

2-4    7/11/2014   7/11/2014
Review By: ibgollie
Played: 61  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 12.3 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Other Thoughts: The previous review summarized it pretty well, the thing is that it is in the center if the "commons" so to speak of a university. Of course you can't play during the year when students are there.

The time to play it is early weekend mornings. There is a group of guys that plays every Sunday morning and have for 38 years. Some of the nicest, genuine dgrs I have ever met. The courses are unbelievably fun and harken back to the origins of the sport.

It's target golf, it's tiny dots marking tees, it's throwing at light poles, and it's incredibly fun.

I would prefer it wasn't on this site so that it's kept as a secret. If you play here you must respect the public, the university and the campus police. Do not be the guy that f-s this up for the ones that know and appreciate this place.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Lots of options

1    11/10/2013   11/21/2013
Review By: mashnut
Played: 828  Reviewed: 775  Exp: 15.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a large park-like area on the UC Irvine campus. It's a really nice area with manicured grass and lots of great mature trees. With 3 18 hole layouts and 1 9 hole layout, there are a ton of different shots here. It's really a set of semi-established safari holes, leaving open the opportunity for making your own shots up as well.

There is a little bit of elevation, offering some tricky uphill shots and some fun downhills. Some of the spots offer some fun technical lines including some quasi-tunnel shots and some low ceilings. The marked layouts do a pretty good job of mixing up different shot shapes.
Cons: During school hours, this area is full of students and the course is completely unplayable. There are some blind spots where someone could walk around a corner unexpectedly. Lots of benches and nice spots to sit are in play, definitely some safety issues when other people are using the area.

There are no baskets and no real tees, many of the marks on the sidewalks are worn away and the ones that are there aren't that easy to find. Some of the tape is missing off the light poles that serve as targets. There is a lot of crossing back and forth in the one small area even within each individual layout.
Other Thoughts: This is really just a glorified practice area. It's really cool that people have taken the time to mark out some possible layouts and that there is so much potential to work on different shots. The safety issues mean that it's not really viable as a course for multiple groups to play at once, nor is it playable a lot of the time. That said, beginners and experienced players alike can get some fun practice in here.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.