Lancaster, OH 
Flat Rocks DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #9 (Taken 10/2010)
4 / 385ft.   3 / 385ft.   3 / 454ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee Sign



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 33
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3 4
Good all around course with lots of fun to be had

5+    1/1/2018   8/5/2018
Review By: Bub2010
Played: 82  Reviewed: 13
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Lots of fun holes with a lot of different shots. Quite a few elevated holes and a couple of interesting pin positions.
Cons: Tee pads are carpet. Better than the slippery rubber they used to be, but still needs concrete.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Whoever Cuts the Grass Deserves a Raise!

1    7/24/2018   7/24/2018
Review By: DiscinOhio
Played: 128  Reviewed: 124  Exp: 10.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: + Ok, Flat Rocks is just a perfect piece of property for disc golf. It features rolling hills, and a perfect mix of wooded and open areas. It's really a beautiful piece of land for a course.

+ You've got just about everything you could ask for with this one. The wooded holes play through dense forest with plenty of different lines to choose from, some bolder than others. The more open holes take full advantage of the scenic rolling meadows. Most holes here are pretty straight forward, but the strategic patches of taller grass keep you modest in your shot selection.

+ Props to the guy that cuts the grass. He/she mows around perfectly placed patches of grass. These patches kind of act like bunkers, making the open holes more enjoyable than they would've been if everything was mowed.

+ A good mix of lefty and righty holes. Thinking back, #1 might be the only opening hole I've played with a sharp right turn.

+ The tee signs are really awesome. Provides elevation, distances, and a detailed map with great presentation, all without being overly complicated.

+ The kiosk is very nice. Huge parking lot, 2 practice baskets, a restroom, scattered benches, etc.

+ The front 9 and back 9 both make loops back to the kiosk area. Perfect if you only have time to toss nine holes, or if you need a break in the middle of your round.

+ Flat Rocks is pretty hilly, so luckily there are benches everywhere.

+ The tees are very firm carpet. I had no issues on the tee boxes and they seem like a decent alternative to the typical concrete.

+ Lots of great holes throughout the round, but my favorite is probably #13. Makes a half horseshoe shape around a dense wooded area with a tricky pin position.
Cons: - The long tees have sign posts, but many are completely overgrown with grass. Really, there's just the one set of established tee boxes.

- There's a few "meh" holes out there that feel like they were thrown in to make 18. #16 was the one that stood out the most in that regard.

- Not a ton of variety in hole distance. Most are somewhere between 250' and 340'.
Other Thoughts: Flat Rocks is a gem in east-central Ohio, and is treated like royalty by the locals. Very good mix of shots, come give it a shot!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Lovely Hilly Course Featuring Friendly Locals!

1    7/15/2017   7/17/2017
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 1409  Reviewed: 1356  Exp: 41.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Flats Rocks DGC in Lancaster (pronounced lank' a ster) occupies a just about perfect piece of land for a disc golf course. Keller-Kirin Nature Park features gentle rolling hills of emerald green grass, pockets of thick trees and meadows of grass, which by the way is mowed in multiple fairways strips still leaving strips of tall grass but thereby eliminating some, but not all of the hunting for discs in said tall grass. There is a sign at the entrance stating that the Lancaster Disc Club has taken over guardianship of the course or something to that effect. Club members-feel free to correct me on both my pronunication of Lancaster and the exact words on the sign. I'd be happy to make some editorial corrections.

Upon entering the disc golf area there is a decent sized parking lot. There is a kiosk with course information, sani can, practice basket and some picnic tables set under the shade of some large trees. This is a wonderful spot for awaiting friends or hanging out after your rounds or on the Sunday morning I visited, a staging area for tournaments. Speaking of tournaments, I showed up just a few minutes too late to participate in their weekly Sunday morning at 11:00 random doubles draw. One of the Lancaster locals was extremely fortunate to have missed the burden of being stuck with the likes of me.

The tee signs are nice colored ones with all the pertinent information including the next arrow. That's the next tee arrow that I can never remember to watch for, only rembering it as I putt out. The pads are nice long, carpet with railroad ties for borders. There are two tees (blue and red) for each hole. Besides the cleverly mowed strip fairways, Flat Rocks has one feature that I have not seen on my over 1000 courses played. Hole # 4 has a spotting tower set behind the long tee box. The basket is sitting atop a small hill and not visible from the tee pad. This tower is probably 4 feet high and is well constructed. It looks like it could be set on a children's playground.

The course plays at an intermediate level. It was a pretty comfortable round for a complete recreation level player like myself, playing alone. Advanced players would have their way here. There was a group of rank beginners starting a round and they weren't going to have a fun experience here. The course is way over their heads, too long and too much rough.

Many holes stand out to me. # 1 is a big, slightly uphill Annie toss. # 9 is a 325' downhill with the basket hidden. You have to throw to a spot on this hole. 17 was perhaps my favorite. It's 298' down and up again with a very pretty natural looking fairway.


Cons: Certainly nothing major comes to mind. I guess more next tee signs would be helpful. I got turned around a couple of times and had to ask the friendly local players for help.
Even on the grass strips, I witnessed players hunting for discs.
I read other reviewer's cons and feel they were just stretching to find something to write in the cons section. I mean, no water fountain. Com'on! Well, I was disappointed there wasn't a Coke machine. I coulda used a cold Diet Coke after my round. Get on it, would you guys!
Oh yeah, I thought of another con. There is another spotting tower somewhere on the course but it was shoddyily constructied and I was sure of it's holding my weight.
Other Thoughts: Beside being a lovely green course with wonderful rolling terrain, this course was a perfect fit for my game. Challenging enough, some rough but not menacing, some nice downhills, a couple of ace runs and a nice variety of hysers, long bombs and annies. This is a course that I would love to transport back home with me. My congrats to the local club scene and I was told that the other Lancaster course is a good one, with more challenge involved.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful course

2-4    9/18/2015   9/23/2015
Review By: Puckstopper
Played: 25  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 18.1 Years
This review was updated on 3/28/2016
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Multiple tees and pin positions.

Solid mix of wooded and open holes, as well as long and short.

Nice amenities such as elevated viewing platforms so your playing partners can keep and eye on your shot on hilly holes.

Hilly terrain means the open holes play harder than they look with even a mild breeze.

Well manicured rough makes it hard to lose a disc, but punishes errant throws by restricting run ups.
Cons: Tees are carpet (long) and rubber (short).

Open holes can be somewhat repetitive, but could certainly be worse.
Other Thoughts: Flat Rocks is is a beautiful moderately hilly course set roughly half an hour southeast of Columbus. I've only played the course a couple times on a single weekday morning, so I didn't factor in potential issues I could foresee, but that didn't come up on the day I played. Those issues include the fact that the course looked like it wouldn't be much fun at all on a 90 degree hot summer day, and the fact that as the best course in the area it looked as though the course gets quite busy at times. But as I said, I played the course under near ideal conditions (65-70 degrees, light to moderate wind) so I graded the course on those.

Flat Rocks offers minimal challenge to an Intermediate player or above from the short tees. However, the course is fun from the short tees regardless of your skill level, and I'd recommend playing the shorts first to learn the course. The long tees up the level of difficulty on all holes, and are creatively cruel on a couple. I mean that in the best possible way, as the long tees on certain holes provide a significant opportunity to separate yourself from the pack or make up strokes with a good drive.

Grooming the rough on the field holes by leaving ~3' of rough for every 6' that's mowed is a great idea. As I mentioned in my pros, this allows you to find your disc, but punishes you for a bad throw by preventing a run-up.

I'd play this course frequently if it were only 20-30 minutes from my home. At 45 minutes, it's competing with Lobdell and Deleware, and comes up in 3rd when compared to those two. However, it's a close third, and overall I'd rate this in the top 5 courses within an hour of Columbus.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Like ‘em Flat…or Hard?

2-4    7/3/2015   7/6/2015
Review By: sisyphus
Played: 317  Reviewed: 299  Exp: 7.9 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: ...either way, the Rocks aren't really that noticeable here in Lancaster, Ohio, but the disc golf course is really wonderful! A popular course that gets a lot of play, Flat Rocks has something to challenge all levels. If they wanted to set the baskets in all the shortest positions, it would total 4894 feet: a fun Recreational level layout. If they set them all as long as possible, and you play all long tees, the course can muster up 7538 feet: enough to challenge Advanced and Open players.

The course features shot shaping in both directions, excellent use of elevation, woods, and gorgeously mown tall grass, rolling fields (see pictures for a tease). Amenities include really long, narrow, well-maintained rubber (short course: "Flat Rocks") tee pads and similarly sized, flipped carpet (long course: "Hard Rocks") tee pads. Signage is fantastic at the short tees, including map, distance, obstacles, alternate basket positions, and other details, all protected in an aluminum frame. Really classy. The long tees have simpler posts indicating distance and hole number. Baskets are top quality Chainstars with the orange logo on the center post for increased visibility.

They've added benches, and (leave it to folks likely to have a little hunting in their backgrounds) two climbing stands behind the teeboxes on holes 4 & 8, where a spotter can get up and see over the blind rise to track a partner's tee shot. There's a practice basket right by the parking area, course kiosk/ info sign (with scorecards), port-o-let, and at least four picnic tables in the shade of a group of mature trees. For the most part, the course flow is intuitive, and does feature two loops of nine holes.

Memorable holes abound, from the hard bending 1st and 16th (long), to the run into the woods on 2, the long downhill glide on 9, the views across the smartly mown grassy lanes on 11, another tough turn into the woods on 13, all the way to the incredibly tough line required on 17 long, and another downhill finish on 18.
Cons: The only issue I had was as a traveling player getting used to some of the transitions. After 5 (in the longer, 'B' position), you need to double back left, and not go forward down the path, even though there appears to be a path sign down the hill to your right. It's really confusing after hole 12, as the tees for 13 and 17 somewhat overlap towards the woods line, and after finishing 18, the natural tendency is to wander back to the left, where you'll be crossing the 10th fairway and the 9th green (I assume there's a more direct path in the woods to the parking lot). I would guess that, if the folks doing such a good job here with course upkeep and improvements visualized playing it for the first time, they'd spot the areas that need improved 'next tee' signage.
Other Thoughts: When you drive in, look for the sign for Keller-Kim nature park at the 2nd drive (Bogear Circle is one way, counterclockwise). Finally, when I first started playing, I committed myself to giving courses multiple looks before considering writing a review, so it's actually been a few years between plays for me here. But if I were road-tripping to the area around Pickerington and Lancaster, Ohio, I'd make time to play Simsbury and Flat Rocks again and again!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Flat Rocks: I'm in love!

1    9/20/2014   9/26/2014
Review By: Billy K2
Played: 34  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 9.1 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Flat Rocks DGC was the final stop on my southeast Ohio disc golf spree. I had a ton of fun here and it is one of my favorite courses. The design was phenomenal. The designer really took advantage of the epic terrain, and delivered a great course! There was a lot of landscaping throughout the course, and it really caught my eye. I'm a fan of rubber tees, and these ones were pretty grippy.
Cons: I couldn't find any restrooms on the course. I could see a few areas where navigation could be a problem, but I didn't have a hard time finding my way around the course.
Other Thoughts: Flat Rocks was tag perfect course to end my little roadtrip. It wasn't overly frustrating, or too easy. I reccomend you check out this course if you are in the area!

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 One of my favs

2-4    8/21/2014   8/26/2014
Review By: W7amf
Played: 10  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 14.4 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Fun fun fun! Nice tees, fairways are clean and clear, holes are marked well and it's a great place for the average player to take his game up a notch!
Cons: Sometimes it's crowded
Other Thoughts: Great fun! One of my personal favs. Good combination of woody and open holes. Plays in a couple hours or less.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 fly by review here

1    5/17/2014   5/17/2014
Review By: blazerico
Played: 296  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 14.1 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: -course seemed well cared for.
-good mix of open and wooded holes
-great piece of land dedicated to dg
Cons: a lot of blind shots that could be fixed by putting a mark on the signs telling you where the baskets are.
Other Thoughts: no memorable holes

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 A nice course but can be confusing to navigate

1    6/20/2015   8/20/2013
Review By: Nasty Nate
Played: 12  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 16.3 Years
This review was updated on 9/28/2015
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Practice putting area
-Picnic area
-Porta potty on site
-Trash cans
-Tee signs
-Score cards
-Pro and Am tees
-A nice park in a nice area
-Dog friendly
-Nice use of space and interesting course design with loads of different shot opportunities
-Lots of elevation change to keep things interesting
Cons: -No water fountain
-Tee sign maps are inaccurate with their distances and they only display one pin location. Numerous pins were not where they were said to be on the map. The Pro tee signs are just a wooden post with the hole number carved into it.
-Not a single "next tee" sign in sight so there is a lot of guessing where you need to go next. Some of the course direction is confusing and you will definitely be searching for the next tee.
-The entrance to this park is hard to find
Other Thoughts: This is a decent golf course that will have you throwing every disc in your bag. It is a nice park in a nice area and makes for a good stroll through the woods. The course is in good shape and looks like it is well taken care of. It has numerous memorable shots and scenic views. It is challenging and the natural hilliness makes for a good workout.
My first time playing here the park entrance was a bit difficult to find. The flow of this course is confusing at times because there are paths all over the place and no signs to point you to the next tee which is not always immediately apparent. The Pro tees finally got pads of their own, which is an improvement from the clunky natural tees they were. The tee signs that are on the Am tees are way off on their distances and the pin placement is not always correct. The holes have multiple pin locations but the tee signs do not account for this.

This course is a nice change of pace from my usual home-base courses. It offers many shot opportunities and has its own sense of charm. The confusedness of the signage or lack thereof is kind of annoying but it can be managed. It would be nice to see something done about that and if they put in concrete tees it would make this course even better. Also a drink machine would be nice. Regardless, Flat Rocks is a nice course that should definitely be in anyone's rotation in the area.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Flatrocks Rules

5+    4/10/2013   4/12/2013
Review By: DETROIT
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Great balance of shots off the tee . excellent vibe here. Nice rolling hills , some tighter wooded holes and the long tees . . . . are a MUST play. Motivated club for just one course; LDGA .
Cons: No concrete pads allowed .

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.