Norfolk, NE 
Skyview Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #11
3 / 207ft.   3 / 267ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 B Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 8
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
Skyview Shuffle

1    9/4/2017   12/7/2017
Review By: Upshawt1979
Played: 354  Reviewed: 252  Exp: 14.7 Years
This review was updated on 12/26/2017
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Skyview Park DGC is a place where you can get a decent round of disc golf, and take a nice stroll around the lake. It has 18 holes, and all of them have multiple concrete tees. The short layout has 15 holes under 275', and plays fairly easy for a par 57. The longer set will give added challenge with not only distance, but also by having trees obscure the lines, or even playing over the water sometimes. The baskets all seemed to be ok.

There is a little elevation change, especially when you get to hole 12. I would have to call that the signature hole, the long tee is tough, downhill through a tight tunnel about 450'. The shorter tee is open until you approach the pin, where a line of shrubs protect it. I drove it pin high from the short box, but had to putt around a bush, and couldn't convert the deuce. It is a par 4, so I did get the 2 putt birdie, technically.

There are sparse trees on most holes, but still enough to break up the direct line in a lot of cases. Different shapes and sizes, from mature hardwoods, evergreens, and smaller trees and bushes.
Cons: The layout is a little choppy, and getting a map in some form is recommended. I played the short tees, but at times it was tough to find the next tee or figure out if it was short or long, even with the map. Signs could be improved for sure.

There are times where walking trails, picnic tables, or the water will have other park users in your way, so be careful. If you are a pro, Skyview is not likely to utilize all of you skill set or satisfy your technical requirements.
Other Thoughts: I played Skyview DGC on a warm, overcast morning with light wind. It was the first course on the fourth day of a road trip, and I played the short tees to warm up. I sort of wish I had went for the longs, just to get more of a test. I shot a 49, bogey free, 8 under par. Not that I don't like being under par, but I was expecting a little more resistance.

If you make it to Norfolk, this course is worth a play, but it is not a top tier course by any stretch. Turns out it was a nice appetizer before making my way to the next stop, TaHaZouka.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

meh

2-4    9/3/2017   9/4/2017
Review By: dickwolf
Played: 45  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 21.7 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -lots of nice teepads.
-baskets are in good shape.
-elevation changes are funnish.
-water comes into play on a couple holes.
-a lot of mature trees, but not really ever wooded.
-a few ace runs depending on which tees played.
-big, nice park on a smaller, pretty lake.
Cons: primary con is distance between holes and lack of signage to get you to the next hole. the course is spread out in a huge park with too many teepads and only one per hole marked. i would have played a more challenging version of the course if the pads at a minimum had a color painted on them to indicate well, anything. make some scorecards!!!
Other Thoughts: i really dont like courses like this one. i love a good, challenging exhausting course, but being exhausted because the course is laid out poorly (even after taking a picture of the course map) and having to look for holes is crap. even if marked well, this is little more than an ok course.
there is very little hole diversity or creativity of design. but is is a decent and welcome change from the nearby river course that is crazy tight all day. (the river course is a far superior design, and more fun) if you are in norfolk for whatever reason and it is kind of a cool town, you may like this course, but you also may find it to be as cliche and boring as i do.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Long Bombers and Precision w/ Variety

5+    8/10/2017   8/22/2017
Review By: JohnBearkiller
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 15.8 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Well-Maintained grass fairways
Multiple-Tee Pads
Course Map at Hole 1
Tee Pad signs with accurate distances
Restrooms front and back 9
Water fountains front and back 9
Cons: Minor: 3 placements force a shot across a walking path, might have to wait 30 seconds to throw
Other Thoughts: Water comes into play on 4/18, trees are placed just right to make it tough. The course allows/forces you to throw hyzer/ani/flick depending on the tee pad you start with. It has great variety from each tee. Whenever I'm in Norfolk area i'll stop by to play a round.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Sky View Lake DGC

5+    12/30/2016   12/30/2016
Review By: Brandonius
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great 18 hole course with 3 tee pads for each Hole.
- This course is perfect for every type of player whether your new to the game or can bomb a throw.
-Clean, 2 bathrooms on site
- Has a beautiful landscape
The lake shots are a lot of fun.
adversity
Cons: permanent baskets
Other Thoughts: This course is one of my Favorite courses to play.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great scenery and fun play

1    4/12/2014   4/14/2014
Review By: bluedvl228
Played: 31  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 7.6 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Really loved this course - played this right after River Run and it is a great complimentary design. Lots of wide open shots on the front 9 with large elevation changes throughout the course. This is a course where you can let the disc fly. The back 9 offers more technicality and definitely tons of fun. Course is very well maintained as this is in a nicer area of town and the lake really adds some scenery. Definitely will play this again.
Cons: Not very many, but if you are looking for short technical shots this course does not offer many. The course will get very busy on nice days as it is park of a large park. Obviously you have to be aware of the hazards of the lake and the nearby busy street.
Other Thoughts: Definitely one of the best maintained courses I've played, plus the great offer of multiple tee pads and pin locations makes this course very fun to play. This course is for all experience.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Tees and Rolling Hills

1    9/9/2013   9/9/2013
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 366  Reviewed: 358  Exp: 9.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Nice rolling hills make up this courses character. There are a few fun hill shots.
-2 or 3 tees for every single hole. They make holes sometimes twice as long or offer a way different perspective. This will keep the course fresh for the locals. All tees are concrete.
-Detailed signage with maps and distances for all available tees.
-This is a huge park that circles around the lake and then some. It is scenic and seems to be a very active part of Norfolk.
-Nice baskets that are in good condition.
-This course is one of those that is fun for many skill levels. If it's too easy take the long tee.
-A decent amount of trees to provide shade and challenge.
-Shouldn't lose a disc here, the course doesn't get too close to water. No underbrush.
-I don't think disc golfing is too big in the area despite having a couple of high quality courses so you probably won't have to wait much while playing.
-Bathrooms, drinking fountain, lots of parking, playgrounds, paths, etc for amenities
Cons: -You might have to wait a little bit for someone to pass on the path or something like that but it's not long or a big deal.
-It is way too easy to overcome a horrible tee shot. There are a lot of ways to get to each basket and no shots are ever forced with few exceptions like 12 and 17 off certain tees.
Other Thoughts: This park is a good contrast to TaHaZouka park in the South part of town. That course is very hard and tight and this one is easier and more open. Both courses are enjoyable and make Norfolk a destination for disc golf in NE Nebraska. I would recommend playing both of these courses if you happen to be in the area.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Skyview DGC review

2-4    3/31/2013   4/5/2013
Review By: Burd
Played: 12  Reviewed: 10
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Fun city park with a disc course built in throwing throughout the park across walking trails following around the park lake. There are A, B, and even C tees for every hole. Very well maintained and clean park to play disc at. Some elevation change and widely spaced trees make this a great course for the average player. Every time I am in this part of Nebraska, I play this course.
Cons: For about half the holes in this course you are relatively close to the lake and if there is a large wind or you catch a roll, it is easy to lose a disc in the lake itself.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    12/23/2008   7/2/2009
Review By: Karroll
Played: 51  Reviewed: 1
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Multiple tees offer many different ways to play this course.
-Located in a city park, plays partially around a lake, well maintained as far as trash and signage, fairly easy to navagate.
-Nice use of the avalible space to create variety, nice elevation changes, well thought out design. Some blind tee shots that are well conceived (over hills, one up and around a wall of imposing pines.) A couple decent bombers from the back tee postitons.
-A nice test of arm strength and endurance on a summer day.
-The park itself is an enjoyable walk, well kept with both mature and newly planted trees.
-Stand on hole 12s B tee and wonder at the sadism of a 400 footer down a 10ft wide fairway of thick trees.
Cons: -A bit too forgiving of poor shots on most holes (with a few notable exeptions.) Most of the time a very errant shot is still very workable for a par. May not be a con in every players opinion.
-It does play through a park that is heavily used at times by walkers, picnicers, etc. Has not usually been a huge issue in my experience but the potential is there.
Other Thoughts: A very nice course in my opinion (it's also my hometown, so I'm rooting for the home team a bit here.) The problems and shortcomings of the course are primarily unavoidable issues (foot traffic etc.,) the design itself is quite satisfying and the multiple tees really allow you to adjust the course according to skill level making it more than worthwhile for both pros and those just getting started. Also there are some newer trees that appear to have been planted in order to shape some fairways for a particualar shot. They're somewhat effective now, but in a few years look for them to really be a factor.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.