Tuscaloosa, AL 
Palmore Park Share
Uploaded By: WSP420 Hole #7 (Taken 7/2013)
3 / 327ft.   3 / 327ft.   3 / 425ft.   4 / 699ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Gold Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Good for what it is

2-4    2/18/2017   7/7/2017
Review By: sjberry2017
Played: 41  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 4.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Concrete tees

Good Discatchers

Good use of OB to make course interesting but not frustrating

No overuse of OB; while it is used to define holes it does not make them overly complicated or frustrating to play

There are some holes where you can really just let the disc fly; a really good complement to Bowers park.

Decent course flow throughout, some really unique holes and most holes don't feel identical to the last one you played, which can be tricky with wide open courses.

What little elevation and trees there are are used well; there aren't just 18 baskets in a field.

Nice warm up area with a basket on a hill.

Elevated baskets can make holes interesting.

I'm not kidding, the wind can make this an even more fun course. In the tournament I played here I was able to throw a Roc3 and get a birdie putt on Hole 11 the first round, but the second round I changed my disc choice because of the wind.
Cons: Some long walks between holes, but they tell me that's good exercise

A few of the holes can be kind of difficult to get the exact feel for, especially 16 and 18 with the sidewalks

Speaking of sidewalks, there can be interference with walkers and IIRC there's a playground near 2's fairway which a super shanked drive could land, not exactly the best for safety.

I like the added challenge and definition the OB provides but some may not dig it.

A few holes play right on top of each other; 16 and 18 and 17 and 2 immediately spring to mind.

If you don't have a map navigation could be a bit tricky.

Elevated baskets annoy some people to no end; I think what was done at least makes a few holes a little more interesting, although hole 8 doesn't really NEED an elevated basket.
Other Thoughts: I played Palmore Park as part of the Alabama Slammer collegiate tournament in February, so while I did not get the full blue and white tee experience, nor play the other pin placements, I definitely enjoyed getting to play the course. For an open course, it has some good challenges to lines, and some really good placement shots. I think the designer(s) did a phenomenal job using what trees are out there to create low ceilings, make placement important on shots, and limit the hyzer fest. OB is also used well to create risk/reward scenarios which are fun without being hilariously punitive (it's also a bonus that losing discs seems like it would be an art form out here). The wind can add a little to the course, but overall it's also a solid course to begin with. There is a decent mix of forehand and backhand holes here, and most holes can be played either way. There are some long bomber shots but also some precise upshots and shorter shots sprinkled in. Placement is also the name of the game on many drives; it can be better to err on the side of being more over this way versus that way, or need to be more on one side over the other to have a better look at the basket. However, some holes it really doesn't matter on, and the amenities out here are somewhat sparse. I don't recall if there is a map on site or not so definitely bring the one from on here. A few of the holes can be a tad confusing and some walks are very long, plus the course can criss-cross over itself so it is easy to get the baskets mixed up. You also need to be aware of people walking on the trails and cars driving on the roads; in February the park wasn't that busy but I could see it getting busier in the warmer months.

Favorite holes:

Holes 7 and 8 make a good back to back pair. Hole 7 is a well designed distance shot, as the trees prevent any sort of massive hyzer and make the flex shot much more difficult to work with. Hit the line right and you'll be sitting pretty to take a long run at the basket. Hyzer out too hard and you'll have a really long shot towards the pin from the open left side. Misread the wind and throw your D4 with hyzer and have it really hyzer out (personal experience) and you'll be OB at the road. Hole 8 is a good second hole with a placement drive followed by a scary upshot. The hole is bifurcated by an OB creek with an elevated basket and slope behind it which makes the second shot a great risk/reward scenario; run the "island" for a drop in putt or lay up short of the creek and have a death putt at either creek or road OB for a three. Super fun hole.

Hole 11: Like I said in the pros, I got a Roc3 pretty close during the first round and it is just a blast of a shot; the downhill slope and two large trees really define the shot and make it interesting.

Hole 12: another fun shot, a slightly downhill, low ceiling turnover distance shot. Another really fun one to throw.

Eh holes: Hole 3 is an arbitrary island hole. I guess it's better than just sticking the basket in the field with nothing, but it is what it is. Not super exciting, not super frustrating.

Holes 9 and 10 are basically baskets in a field with a tree or two. Not super challenging, not super engaging, but can still be fun. Just, eh.

All of the other holes are definitely fun but those are the ones that stuck out to me. Overall I'd say Palmore is definitely a course I would enjoy as my home course and if you drive through the area I highly recommend it!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

2-4    4/9/2016   4/10/2016
Review By: jwhite
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Mostly well mowed
-Interesting mixture of long, straight holes and blind shots around woods lines will challenge any player
-Good use of OB areas to help define and individualize each hole
-Brand spankin' new tee signs next to each tee on each hole
-Pin positions rotated monthly, each change presenting a different challenge than the previous
Cons: -Lack of shade, bring sunscreen and water
-Other visitors to the park can sometimes be a distraction with loud music
-Layout can be confusing if you aren't familiar with the course so take a pic of the course map with your phone at the kiosk
-Drainage isn't so good, so avoid after heavy rain
Other Thoughts: Overall, a pretty great open space course where you can work on accurate distance

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Let's walk together

1    6/30/2014   6/30/2014
Review By: Lhowell
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great course wide open.
Fun distance course. Be ready to use your distance drivers.
New signs that are very nice.
Practice put and driving range.
Cons: Out of bounds is funny on some holes so read the tee marker fully.
Not all tees are concrete yet but they are marked off for them.
Just be ready to walk
Play course in the morning because there is not much shade in the afternoon.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Good workout

1    10/5/2013   10/8/2013
Review By: James Powell
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 15.2 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Grass cut
Fairly easy to navigate for the first try
Lots of throws
Good use of what was available (tree, elevation, ob
Cons: Don't get to throw all your shots
Very few trees in play
Other Thoughts: Good walk and chance to work on drives. Concrete to be added to all blue tees. Gonna be hot in the summer!

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Open spaces

1    7/15/2013   7/16/2013
Review By: bpartrid
Played: 81  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 6 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The park is easy to find and holes 1 and 10 are right beside the parking lot. There is a practice basket near 1st tee (don't mistake it for the second basket). The course is on a very large park with multiple tee pads and pin positions. New and great baskets that mark hole # . The best thing about this course is that you get to work on your long drives on nearly every hole. 3rd hole gives you ample opportunities at an ace. The final hole ends along a small creek/stream to an elevated basket right back to your car.
Cons: I know this is a new course in progress so I will say that it will benefit by adding distances and hole layout signs. Also, fix the signs on the baskets and put more up so players can more easily find the next hole. Unfortunately, because of the extremely open park, most holes haven't any obstacles to avoid. So, this course does not challenge you in making different types of throws (u will just use your primary distance throw for nearly all throws). Just about all holes are around 335' or further in length. Only some holes have a concrete tee pad (others are grass or carpet). Since the course is wide open, u can get very hot and sunburned in the summer due to the very long holes and very long walks between holes. Even though this is a very large park holes/baskets seem intersect oddly (this could also be because of the poor signs pointing u where to walk and throw.
Other Thoughts: This is just a wide open, long course with nothing interesting to really offer. Tee pads and signs will better the flow for players but that's about it. I think the design course layout could be better but again what else can u do in open land?

Until the signs are updated, here are my helpful hints to walking this course:
-take ur smartphone to have this website's hole lengths
-don't trust the signs on baskets pointing to next hole (only some are right currently)
-look for posts and use hole # s on baskets to find ur way

Course layout:
2nd tee is left of 1st basket along the woodline.
Follow woodline towards the back of the park/old driving range for next 4 holes.
The next 5-9 holes come back to the middle of the park (hole 8 is right by rundown pool).
The back 9 holes go along the left side of the park working along the left perimeter going towards the back of the park and ending by returning close to the middle of the park and to ur car.

Ultimately this is not a course u need to go out of ur way to play but it is a complete change of pace compared to nearby Bowers park.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great New Course! Still needs a little work...

1    7/12/2013   7/14/2013
Review By: WSP420
Played: 51  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 15.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/16/2013
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Brand new baskets
-Multiple tees on most holes
-Multiple pin locations on most (maybe all) holes
-Great use of O.B. and tree lines to accommodate lack of elevation and obsticles
-Course runs along edge of park and mostly avoids other commonly used areas
Cons: -Very little shade
-No benches (on course itself)
-Elevation doesn't come into play (exceptions: #8, #16 & #17 have noticeable elev. changes)
-'Next Tee' signs on the baskets DO NOT point to the next tee.
-Tee sign (when available) are in poor condition
-There are no signs directing you where to walk from #6 to #7 (pretty long walk, too)
-The walk from the front 9 to the back 9 is long enough and the holes are separate enough that the flow feels more like two 9 hole courses than an 18
Other Thoughts: This course has potential to be great. With better signage, a course map, benches and more concrete tee pads it could easily be a solid 4.
There are tees for ALL skill levels: Gold, tees for pros with several +900' holes, Blue long tees, White short tees and Red tees for beginners. Right now there is minimal shade, so bring PLENTY to drink in the summer. Maybe In a few years if the park trees get larger and provide more shade this won't be an issue but as of now sunscreen and water/Gatorade are a must.
With 2 great courses in Tuscaloosa, if you live nearby it's worth the trip.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.