Mooresville, NC 
The Bridges DGC Share
Uploaded By: C.piteo Hole #1
3 / 228ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2
 Maintenance needed

1    8/3/2016   8/3/2016
Review By: NateB
Played: 62  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 10.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice topography and lots of potential.
Cons: Don't be fooled by the nicely mowed first few holes, the next 14 have had ZERO maintenance done. There is waste to head high brush and grass everywhere that makes finding discs and even baskets nearly impossible at times. There is a very deep ravine that runs through the course that has not one set of steps for retrieving stray discs. Possibly the longest walk from 18 to 1 that I've ever seen.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    12/5/2015   12/16/2015
Review By: ncdgp
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The overall park is very well maintained and holes 1 - 5 were playable.
Cons: - Bad layout of disc golf course
- No safe access to the ravine/creek to retrieve fallen discs. I saw someone slide down from the top to the bottom to retrieve their disc because the ground gave up on them.
- No natural logs or any type of barrier to keep discs from rolling into the ravine.
- Fairways are not clear
Other Thoughts: Would not play again unless the safety concerns are addressed and the fairways are created.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great potential...but...

2-4    8/27/2015   8/28/2015
Review By: Notverygood
Played: 56  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 8.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is located in a beautiful park! A great example of a city park with a list of nice amenities. Ball fields, tennis courts, walking trails, playgrounds etc. All well maintained and clean every time I've been.

The course itself seems well maintained as well.

-The tee signs are nice, new looking, and mostly accurate. With the exception of one hole in particular on the back nine. Which some local has taken the courtesy of marking with a sharpie...

-There was a bench, or makeshift bench at just about every hole.

-A nice mix of par 3,4 and 5 holes throughout the course. A good change of pace from the normal par 3 courses.

-After the first 4-5 holes, you're mostly in the woods which results in a beautiful, quiet walk through the woods.
Cons: -Design and layout of some of the holes.... Nice tee pad, nice basket, but no discernable fairway. It seemed like there was great intent to make a nice course, but no work put into clearing fairways. Very frustrating at times just trying to figure out where to even try and form a line. The only guidance being the tee signs. Several times I found myself walking down the "fairway" just to find the basket, then trying to determine the best way to make it there. Frustrating

-Not much variety. The first 4-5 holes are "easy" wide open holes, where the remaining holes are a trip through the woods.
Other Thoughts: Unfortunately, the tough to non-existent fairways are a giant turn off. This course has all the right things it needs to be a great round of golf if there were just a few improvements. Take out a few trees, and my rating would instantly go up.

The well maintained amenities of the course are it's saving grace and the reason I still gave it a 3 rating.

If you're local to Mooresville, or in the area possibly playing Stumpy, it's worth a stop to play a round!
Otherwise, until improvements to the design are made, there are more rewarding and fun courses to play in the Charlotte area

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Improving

2-4    11/19/2014   11/19/2014
Review By: 1978
Played: 263  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 9.2 Years
This review was updated on 12/29/2014
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great quiet park and a beautiful woods. The natural features here would make for a really amazing course. Great big trees, relatively thin underbrush. The course starts out pretty easy through the first 4 holes. If played in a loop, these would be great beginner holes and should be marketed this way. Holes 5-18 weave through a mature forest up and down hills. There doesnt appear to be a lefty or righty bias. The fairways are fair for the most part. A few holes just dont work or fit but you can score birdies. There are some risk reward shots and that is always a plus in my book. Teepads are large and ok on the grip meter. There are some interesting tee placements that force you to throw over hills before continuing down the fairway. I think this is an underused feature and this reviewer appreciates it here. Signage is nice. The local club is dedicated to improving the course and has regular events and is starting to do regular work days there. The attention shows. The course is trashfree. There appears to be an appropriate number of bridges, although some more could be used. If you are in the area I would absolutly recommend you playing here and I challenge you to see what the course can be with some small improvements and write a fair review.
Other Thoughts: I figured I would lump the cons and thoughts together. The Bridges has a bad reputation. It is better'ish than the rating. I think the reviews are a reflection of the lack of design consistency and style, attention to detail, the dangerous aspects of the course, and because it is so close to Charlotte. I think most people that play in Charlotte or visit the area expect a better design from such a great piece of land.
The Bridges just leaves an odd feel after many of the holes. There are 1 or 2 things that get you scratching your head on almost every hole that make you wonder who designed the course. 1-4 are so basic, that they dont seem to fit. Then you go through 14 holes where almost every one has something that was so easily avoidable; that it is confusing to review. These are simple fixes that would absolutly leave players with a sense of satisfaction.
-baskets that are way too close to ravines: there are just too many of these and they will only erode away and make for even more dangerous or unrealistic greens. Not every basket has to be on a drop off. If it is, build some retaining walls around it to stop the dirt from eroding away.
-baskets that are in the run off ditches for the park. They will erode out and wash away.
-one of the prettiest, best fairways (#9) is 320' but the basket is like 2.5' past a giant tree...there was plenty of room to make a great looking green. The tree hide was careless,extra punative, and unnecessary. Just move that basket 15' farther. See #9 basket picture in the Media section and look at that beautiful green...50% of that basket is useless and cannot be putted at.
-2 of the tees end directly into a hill...these will continuosly erode down on to the tee box
-a number of the tees are pointed 15-20 degrees in the wrong direction of the fairway.
-Hole 7 should just be completely changed it is dangerous and not appropriate.
-odd fairway lengths. = too many trees and short high par holes or too long/short par 3's
-odd fairway finishing turns with unfair blocking trees. Discs simply do not fly like a number of these fairway ends are designed.
-forced and long parallel or shared fairways with the ravine. Throwing up to and over the ravine or quickly over is sufficient. The designer took care to use the ravine, but obvously from the reviews it was not done in a good way.
Finally, personally I just find that this course seems to be plopped onto some land. For example. Hole 15 is a 460' par 5, then there is a 361' par 3 to a 10' green on the side of a hill into a ravine. (See #16 Basket picture! What happens when this hill erodes!?) It is impossible and not necessary...then you go to a 200' straight no risk down hill shot to a wonky zig zag #18. I'll always mark down a course that has the feel of...I'm tired of designing ill just put in a random 200' hole.
This course appears to be the typical "design in a box." a design is purchased and followed but the details (retaining walls,steps,erosion) go unnoticed or left for a volunteer force that does not get paid for the additional work created by design that is not forward looking.
Small changes of basket locations by 15-30' on 8 -10 holes would bring this course up to a 3.5 or 4. While I personally see better ways to utilize the land, there is a 4.5 level course here. its just covered up with poor basket locations and dangerous fairways.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Troubled Bridges over water

1    7/6/2014   7/10/2014
Review By: heelboycraig
Played: 255  Reviewed: 250  Exp: 13.4 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Bridges at Cornelius Road Park is one of the hardest courses I've tried to review and rate. Everything people have said and written about this course - the good, bad and ugly -is correct. In time, though, this does have the potential to be a really solid course.
- Let's get right to the point. This is intended to be an advanced-level course. Until my visit to the course and this review in July 2014, this course has failed to live up to expectations because of poor design, lack of upkeep and a failure to execute. That said, this course has a higher ceiling than most other courses in the same ratings stratosphere.
- There are some exceptional holes on this course, giving players a taste of what this place could look like. There are holes on this course that require, shorter, target-to-target placement throws versus players just pulling out drivers and letting it rip. The best example of this, and one of my favorite holes on the course is #13. It's a 411-foot par four, with a ravine (and a little water) that plays to the left and long sides of the first target area. If you throw straight, or slightly to the right in the 225 - 275 range, you're in perfect position for to get a three. You throw too long, even if your shot is dead straight, you missed your target and you're in the ravine. I think this is a great, thoughtful, well-designed hole. Others don't like that a 325 straight shot puts you in a worse spot than a 225 slightly off-line shot. Those players are missing the point of this type of hole. A hole like this has a (ball) golf feel to it, something you'd expect to see in one of the Majors.
- In addition to #13, there are some other very good to great hole layouts. Among some of the enjoyable ones: #4 is a 494 foot, par 4 that's a mostly open hole with a semi-protected basket off to the left. Put it this way, this is the only hole to pull out driver without major risks. Enjoy your last open hole of the round. #6 is a 423 foot, par 4 with a ravine on the left side of the fairway. It's similar to #13 in that playing target-to-target is a smart choice, but it is more open and allows more aggressiveness. Case in point - I had an tap in 4 on this hole, and would have had a legit chance for a 3 if my second shot hadn't been knocked down by a branch.
- #9 is a great risk/reward, 321 foot par 3, with the same ravine coming into play. This time on the left side of the fairway. An aggressive shot around several trees will put you in birdie territory. A bad shot will end up in the ravine or some of the thick stuff, and leave you scrambling for a par. And to close things out, #18 is another station-to-station type of hole. It's a 576 par 5 that forces you to be patient. You start in the woods, forced to throw around a mando towards a dogleg left. A good shot will allow you to throw into the opening into the grass, allowing you to be more aggressive for your third shot. The basket is across a walking trail, back in the woods, with trees and a small ravine as potential barriers. Birdies can be had, or at least easy pars, but the key, and the frustrating part is that you have to be patient and resist the urge to be overly aggressive.
- Tee signs are really good - good visual of the hole layout, pointing out key land marks (walking trails, ravine, desired flight paths) along with arrows directing you towards the next hole. With poor signage, no maps available and some blind holes, having descriptive tee signs is crucial. Navigation is tricky enough as it is. Without good tee signs, this course would be extremely difficult to almost impossible for first time players. Still, other navigational tools are needed for the course, but at least this one is done nicely.
- There is a good mix of easier, birdie-able holes, kick-your-butt, challenging holes and all levels in between. The first three holes are three of the five easiest on the course, so you better be aggressive off the first tee. If you play them as simply good warm-ups, get into the flow holes, as I foolishly did, you're killing easier birdie chances. From there, your other two easy holes are #8 (short, uphill layout) and #17 (shortest hole on the course, but slopes away if you go long). Both holes come after tough stretches of holes, so it's nice to catch a break before things, yet again, get tougher.
- There are some true risk/reward holes where aggressive play will be rewarded. There is also the element of poor design, as seen on #7, but for now, I'm focusing on the positive. This is a course, similar to Nevin in Charlotte, where par is a good score, and getting a birdie is a great score. Many DGers are conditioning to thinking any hole should be 'birdie-able,' which isn't the case here. However, on certain holes a successfully aggressive tee shots will give you a chance to pick up a stroke or two. A couple holes on the back 9 really come to mind here: the aforementioned #13. #11, which is a downhill 394 foot hole with two tight lines. I pulled out driver on this hole, managed to avoid the trees and had a 30 foot birdie putt. I won't say what happened next, but I will emphasize that I had a birdie putt due an aggressive shot. And finally #15, a 497 foot hole with a semi-narrow fairway. Two solid shots and you'll be putting for 3. Less successful shots will lead to a 5 or 6 on a scorecard.
- Very nice park overall with lots of amenities - tennis courts, ball fields, walking trails, playgrounds, restrooms, etc.
Cons: It all centers around one thing: the design on some holes needs a major overhaul. Some holes have no discernable fairway (#7), others have narrow ones (#15 ), others have awkward layouts/transitions (#16 and it's sharp dogleg left shortly off the tee) and others just seem like they could just use a makeover (#4). Add in the lack of bridges to get over the ravine (is that irony?), poor signage/navigation, lack of benches and trashcans, and you can see how a lot of smaller problems can quickly turn into a frustrating play. Not one issue is a deal breaker, but the sum of the problems is.
- A fair amount of the holes do still need more work done. Some could settle for just having one or two trees cleared away; others need much more than that. During my round, I ran into a fellow DGer who works for P&R. He says the course will be getting much needed attention, making it more playable. It sounds good, we'll just need to see the results in the coming months.
- I'll just say it. #7 is a terrible hole, at least in its current state. Through the first six holes of my round, I was starting to think some of the more vocal critics might have been wrong about the course, or that the course had improved. Then I got to this hole. There's no good way to play it. The guy I ran into said many locals avoid the wooded (non) fairway, opting instead to throw to the right, in the opening, only to come back into the woods at the basket. If that's the way to play this hole, then there needs to be a natural opening from the woods to the grassy area and back again. The idea of a hidden fairway, especially on a hole like this, doesn't cut it. In its current state, this goes beyond the bounds of being a 'fair, but tough' hole to simply being unrealistic.
- Part of the problem on #7, along with holes, 5, 6, 9, 13 & 18 is that there are only two bridges to cross over the ravine. If your disc crosses over to the other side, which is apt to happen with narrow fairways, you better hope you're in a shallower part of the ravine, there's someone on the other side to chuck your disc back to you or that you're close to the bridge. Otherwise, you've got a long walk to the bridge and back. In many ways, it's better having to deal with that than if you end up in the ravine. Some parts of it are steep and don't have good ways to get in or out of it. Bridges and ladders (as Bracketts Bluff has for its ravine hole) would be huge helps.
- Improve the signage. From the beginning, there's no signage where the first hole is. If you didn't see the baskets for #1 or 2, you wouldn't even know there was a course here. From there, there are some akward or confusing transitions. I was told it's easy to go straight from #11 to 14 if you're not careful, and sure enough, shortly after that, we ran into a group who did just that. Then you have a hole like #18, with its length and layout, people may have no clue whatsoever where to throw or where the desired opening in the trees is supposed to be. Better signage, and in this case a more obvious clearing, are big helps.
- As much as I enjoyed the station-to-station holes, this course did lean too heavily on that type of hole. Nevin is well known for its station-to-station holes, the well documented hole #5 and #17. Having one or two per course is enjoyable. Having more than that, as this course has, can get old after a while (or pretty quick depending on your perspective.) Opening up a couple more fairways, especially #18, would allow for more variety and more enjoyment for some.
- No benches or trashcans throughout the course. This is a more physically demanding course than most and having a chance to sit down and catch ones breath would be desirable for many a player. Or you can tough it out. Either way.
- There's a long walk back to the parking lot and first tee, once you finish #18. I was pointed out to a bonus hole, throwing from the walking path to the basket for #4 to help make the long walk back more enjoyable. That extra hole actually ended up being one of my favorites, so maybe there's a way to eliminate one of the lesser holes and make this one #18. Just a thought.
Other Thoughts: Bridges is still a work in progress, two years after it opened. There are many reasons to blame for this, but it comes down to poor planning. That said, if P&R is really committed to fixing the problems, I'm cautiously optimistic this course can get much closer to its intended level in the coming months.
- As mentioned early, I think all of the reviews up to this point have levels of truth to them. Some people have been overly optimistic about this course's potential while others have been frustrated with the course's massive failures. These ideas are both right.
- That said, this course has more potential than any other 2.5 rated course I've played. Potential might not even be the right word. We're not talking about redesigning the entire course because there's untapped terrain in the park. We're talking about actually finishing clearing out holes, cutting down trees and widening fairways. Simple stuff that should have been done before the course was even opened. Because of that, this course could go from having many 1.0 - 2.0 ratings to having 4.0s rating in a matter of weeks once the work is completed. This is a course to keep an eye on because if/when that work is complete, the rating will start shooting up and it will suddenly be garnering more attention.
- Like everyone else, I had the feelings of enjoyment and frustration in my one round. The enjoyments did outnumber the frustrations, just as there are more 'good' holes than 'poor' ones.
- I'm giving this course a 3.0 rating. I feel this course is probably around the 4.0 range, being comparable to Bradford and Stumpy Creek for local comparisons, when its cleaned up. Based on that, I think this course is two-thirds to three quarters of the way there, which is where I'm getting my 3.0 rating. That said, it doesn't live up to its own expectations, but it's still better than many courses I've played.
- If you play this course, you will have an opinion on it, whether you enjoyed it or hated it. In due time, for the sake of growing our sport, I hope this course gets cleaned up and can really be enjoyed.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 A beautiful disaster

1    5/3/2014   5/4/2014
Review By: KMynatt
Played: 17  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The land this course is on is beautiful, and the tee pads are huge. Sadly that's it...
Cons: Whomever designed this course grossly misused the terrain in many places. I like both tightly wooded and longer courses, but there are a lot of places on this course where if feels like the designer was just packing in distance, playability be damned. 500' holes with no decernable fairways, holes crammed together when they don't need to be, and almost no green on 90% of the baskets (thorns/brush within 10 of a lot of baskets).
Other Thoughts: It's truly a shame such a beautiful piece of land was almost wasted with this one. A good redesign is needed badly or this course will always be forgotten with all of the good courses in the area. There is SO much potential here it drives me crazy. I can honestly say short of a near complete redesign I won't be back, and that goes for all 6 of the people who went with me.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 What Bravethrower said

1    6/20/2013   6/22/2013
Review By: BrotherDave
Played: 146  Reviewed: 143  Exp: 10.2 Years
12 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Really, just read Bravethrower's review, he nailed it. But I got to write something so...

Great effing terrain for a course. Elevation, ravine style creek, trees galore, and some nice open field holes to warm up on.

Nice park. Nice, big concrete tees. Tee signs.

I wasn't brutally murdered by a marauding horde of Visigoths on their way to sack Rome.
Cons: Ugh. I feel like this course was put in during the winter and everybody was like "Good enough!" and then it leafed out with spring (way to screw things up as usual, mother nature) and revealed that the course is actually a whirlwind mess of fairways and OB.

Practically every hole in the main woods is just a mystery of what you're supposed to do. The tee signs would have been more accurate if instead of the dotted lines that denote the fairway were simply replaced by a big question mark. Eventually I concluded that those lines couldn't possibly be the fairway but a line of giant ants that happened to be there the day they made the tee signs.

I literally quit trying to finish hole 15 because I couldn't even pitch out safely onto the fairway BECAUSE I HAD NO IDEA WHERE THE FAIRWAY EVER WAS. You could play some holes well and feel like you made nothing but "get out of trouble" shots the entire hole. Plus, if that's not enough for you, how about the appeal of spending almost as much time looking for your thrown discs as you do actually disc golfing?

Also, a navigational nightmare at times. And to further insult you after you unravel the mystery of "how the holy f*#k do I play hole 18?" you are rewarded with a long trail of tears back to the parking lot.
Other Thoughts: This course can be saved. If some actual fairways are created and certain holes don't force people to use an OB creek as the fairway then this course can jump into the 4's easily. The terrain has that much potential. But yeah, Stan or Pat or any # of guys that worked on the World's courses need to work their magic tout de suite.

12 of 14 people found this review helpful.

As of 2017, this place is about dead.

1    6/15/2013   6/15/2013
Review By: Bennybennybenny
Played: 110  Reviewed: 108  Exp: 6.6 Years
This review was updated on 8/10/2017
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -I first reviewed this course in 2013. Because it was new, maintained well. I thought the negative reviews saying how this course was "unfair" or "had no fairway" were ridiculous. I thought they were fair enough.

-Holes 1-4 are playable. I still love hole 4 and the downhill bomb it is. Also turns out that hole 3 is a better hole than I remembered. Cool hyzer or anhyzer option around a tree.
Cons: -She gone. It's so overgrown to where if someone offers to PAY you to play here, you should tell them "Keep your money and go away!" Hole 5 is hardly playable. Hole 6 is so overgrown to where it's just embarrassing that a course is here. And 7 is so bad that I didn't think that kind of overgrowth existed. You can't even walk to this hole safely because you'll cross many rows of weeds. This hole looks so bad that a herd of beasts that love to maul innocent human beings could be living here without us even knowing. I wasn't dumb enough to try and play this hole because there is no chance that you'll be able to play it without losing 90% of the discs you throw on it. Luckily, hole 8 is still playable and in decent shape. But 9-16 await you. And there is also no way to play #18. You can't even walk to the basket because one of the bridges is out. So I had to walk to hole 7's basket and cross the bridge because there's no way I'm walking over that ravine and up a steep 25' hill to where I'd split my pants once I fall.

-The Bridges was a great course. It was unique, had really cool wooded holes. But Iredell Co. gave up on it, because the place is strictly used for ball tournaments or whatever. It's like it started off as a great young person, but had a weakness of wanting attention, and after some players thought it was unfair, or thought the "person" was crazy, it turned a life to drugs and died of a heroin overdose.
Other Thoughts: -This is the underbelly. The baskets need to be removed from here immediately. Because no one seems to care, as a lot of people complained how it's "too hard" when it was really just a stationing course that may have seemed overparred. Course had potential, but this is what happens when locals refuse to play the course when they could've made it better. Sad because the fairways still looked pretty fair in my opinion, but grew underbrush for hair and got head lice with probable creatures hiding out.

-Don't ever ever ever ever EVER ever ever ever ever ever play here. Unless somehow, someway it gets revived. It's history dudes. Don't know why it's still here in 2017 with no one playing it, as it is unplayable. I seriously felt like an idiot playing here, because a woman walking her dog saw me and was like "Why do you play this game? This course looks SO bad!" So messy to where it would be dangerous to try to fix it up. I guarantee you there are millions of snakes, and probably at least 10 different kinds here. If snakes pay for habitats, this course is Hollywood for snakes. Maybe in the next few years we will walk around the trails, laugh and say "I remember what this looked like!"

-Overgrowth is SO tall in places to where you'll feel like you've be shrunken, or feel like the size of a 2" action figure. Hate to sound overreactive, but I'm not exaggerating.

It's sad. In 2014, locals tried really hard to fix it up. A few fairways may have been strange, and a couple holes needed to be fixed. But I thought it was a good course when I was a 16 year old rec player. Must say, it hurts to see it this way. Wish some Charlotte people could come out here and fix it up, and I'd definitely be up to working on it as well when it's wintertime.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Hopefully a work in progress

1    5/12/2013   5/12/2013
Review By: terptwerp
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful park with hilly terrain, mature trees and a stream. There are also good baskets, tee pads and good tee signs.
Cons: As others said below:
1. Numerous drag piles right next to fairways
2. A number of holes with no fairways
3. The ravine that about 1/3 of the holes across or play next to, has no safe way in or out of it
4. Next tee signs needed (we never found hole 13s tee pad)
5. 18 may be the worst hole that I have ever seen
Other Thoughts: I am hoping that this is an unfinished course, sinse it has potential to be a 4-4.5 rated course. Creating fairways and landing zones on some of the holes would greatly improve the course. I assume that the drag piles will be removed. I will not play this course again until I hear that improvements have been made. Once again this course has potential. Lets hope that improvements are made, which could make this another great course in the Charlotte area.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Fun New Challenge in Mooresville

1    5/4/2013   5/4/2013
Review By: Alexmadsen
Played: 9  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.7 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Interesting & challenging terrain, clean new park, scenic woods/creek, big cement tee pads, very nice new disc catchers
Cons: Tight fairways, heavily wooded, still some clean-up needed, poison ivy, shortage of river crossings, hard to find tee for 13 and basket for 18, buggy
Other Thoughts: Fairways could use some thinning, but overall we enjoyed the challenge, and scenic meandering creek w/pretty ferns. Could use map & scorecards. Needs better signs for mandos.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.